Leicester, MA
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: goofboy Hole #15 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 218ft.   3 / 241ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: Dexter's head in foreground



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 DG'ers paradise

5+    10/3/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: MadChillMojo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For me this is where it all started.
The Pro Shop here is outstanding with a HUGE variety of discs, gear, and schwag with recent updates to the layout making it even more appealing.
The course itself is laid out nicely with a good variety of terrain. The first 11 holes working back and forth across a creek bed, (the creek itself is "casual" and small enough that you can easily retrieve any wet discs) up and down the fairly steep "valley" sides. Its fairly wooded here with a mix of big deciduous trees and saplings but the lanes are wide enough to make it playable, yet challenging. The elevation changes keep you on your toes and can cause some nasty roll-backs if you should hit a tree or get up on edge on your landing.
The mix of Gold and Silver tee/basket options gives you up to four course options for play. They also have a lost & found should you lose track of a shot (say down into the valley off the left side of hole #13 for instance)

Cons: Hole #17 & #18.
After such a great day at the course, taking those last two shots down the ho-hum driveway/parking area is always a bit of a let-down. There's always a good chance your car will get nailed by an errant shot off the #18 tee pad.
To offset this, I've played both the Silver AND Gold on two other random holes sometime earlier in the day and skipped #17 and #18 altogether.
Other Thoughts: Don't worry about Baxter, the white Lab Retriever. He's all bark and waggin' tails though he can come across as imposing.
The old, grizzled German Shepherd however, is rather picky about whom can come near. She'll let you know if you're not...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Home of the Pharoahs

5+    1/19/2012   9/28/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Special note: My rating went up a notch since they revamped the course in late 2011. Now, the worst hole on the course (#18) has been changed for the better - thank you!

Woodsy adventure that takes you through narrow, guarded fairways, through undulating elevation changes, and through a Christmas tree farm. Has two permanent pin positions for variety and immaculate teepads and signs. The course is fairly short for the most part, with many birdy opps., but a poor drive can be punishing due to many small trees outside the fairways, or some steep hills along the creekbed.

One of the greatest things about Pyramids is the disc golf pro shop on premeses. The selection is quite phenomenal (thousands of discs) and the staff most helpful. Give yourself extra time here.
Cons: These are quite minor- some of the long (gold) pins are quite close to the silver pins, such that they really don't change the difficulty or approach to the hole much (#10, #11)
Other Thoughts: A couple of the holes, especially #13 by the airport, and #14 can be maddenly tough if you don't play them smart. If you do, then you can par.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Just plain fun

1    9/14/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: whitewaterhelix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, super clean fairways, great pro shop on premises, friendly 'locals', white layout not too tight but still a challenge for most DGers, gold is tough.
Cons: Only one I think of is hole 18 plays over the parking lot. It's not a tough or long shot, but the thought of hitting someones car kinda sucks.
Other Thoughts: I got to play league with the locals when I happened through the area. Ended up on a card with owner Jason Southwick and two other really nice guys. The course itself was gorgeous and so well maintained, but playing with the local crew made it that much more fun, thanks guys!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: sikaranmonkey
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right down the street from Maple Hill. Large trees in nicely wooded forest. Longer technical shots. Plays up and down a stream valley for half of the course. Just enough long drives to keep the arm limber. Nicely layed out and well maintainded.
Cons: slopes of the valleys can get slick in inlclement weather. Don't like shooting towards the parking lot on the eighteenth.
Other Thoughts: More of a technical course than wide open. Definatey fun and the terrain is right up my alley.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pyramids

1    6/26/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: benlh15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Great variety of hole styles. A good challenge with two sets of pins. Great scenery and a lovely walk through the woods.
Cons: If you have no money you cannot play.
Other Thoughts: The pro shop is astounding. Every disc I have ever heard of was there.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

2-4    8/8/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: andapos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout through the woods. The first 11 holes are especially fun to play with many trees and a creek in play. It is not too challenging for beginners, who will find the length rather accommodating. Allows experienced players a chance to throw up some aces. Tees are well marked and signs are clear and very helpful. Silver (easier) and gold (more difficult) holes make for more variety and a fresh take on each hole for multiple play throughs.
Cons: None of the holes are really designed for long range drives. Not a great variety in hole types, mostly wooded, so if you don't like a technical course, this isn't for you. Hole 17 is by the driveway, so watch out for cars, and hole 18 goes over the parking lot, so on busy days that could be treacherous.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the $5 and the hour and a half drive! You can play a round in the morning, head down the street to Hotdog Annie's for a quick cheap lunch, and come back for an afternoon round or two.

The Pro Shop on location is fantastic and the staff is very helpful. You can easily spend a while in there just looking over the discs before heading out to the course.

I highly recommend this course for all skill levels. It is a great use of space with some very memorable holes.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great course

2-4    6/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course,,,very wooded with amazing use of elevation. Well kept with good tee pads. Amazing pro shop. Id go here everyday if i lived close.
Cons: last couple holes are less than great. they follow the driveway in and the 18th you pretty much throw over the parking lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Loads of fun

2-4    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: rootcanalsarebad
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of wooded holes, but the woods are "clean" so it would be hard to lose discs. Also several open holes in the back 9. Plenty of "ace" opportunities if you can weave through some trees! Several baskets are near mini-ledges with a river running beneath, which makes for great risk/reward putting. Two sets of baskets--"Silver" for amateurs, and "Gold" for more advanced players. Clean rubber tee pads--with brooms at each tee--to clean debris (if needed) and prevent slippage.
Cons: Hole 18 is a terrible design, unless you want to risk hitting your own car, or someone else's. Have to be careful of oncoming vehicles on hole 17, as you tee off down the driveway. Not many wide open holes. Very short course--almost entirely par 3 for the Silver baskets. Very hilly, so it's tiring to manuever.
Other Thoughts: Since I am a huge fan of wooded holes, I highly enjoyed Pyramids. I've seen several reviews stating this this is not a course for beginners, and I vehemently disagree. My wife had a blast and it was her first "true" time out. Since the course is short, I think it's great for beginners. The woods are very, very well kept, so there aren't fallen tree branches everywhere.

There is also one of the best pro shops around in the basement of the house. Every disc imaginable is in stock.

All in all, this is a phenomenal course that's well worth the $5. And, since you sign in when you play, you could come in the morning, go home for lunch, and come back at night without having to pay again.

I would highly, highly recommend playing this course, no matter your skill level. You won't be let down!

EDIT: They have since "fixed" hole 17 (silver) so that it no longer crosses the driveway. Upping this course to 4.5 discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great date day!

2-4    7/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: tpelletier
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Amazing pro shop. Very helpful staff. My wife and I bought our first discs (we are very new to the sport and have only used rentals to this point) and the staff was very patient, answered all of our questions, and helped us pick out our first discs.
2) Great tee pads!
3) Very well groomed!
4) Tees and baskets are very easy to find.
5) Course makes great use of elevation and water.
6) Even though this course is 1.5 hours away for us, we had a great time and want to drive down to play again soon! Highly recommended!
7) Yes it is $5, but you get what you pay for. This place is well cared for.
Cons: Wish it was in New Hampshire and closer to where I live!
Other Thoughts: My wife and I had the day off from work and our two kids in daycare. This was only the third time either of us had ever played disc golf. We had a fantastic day and will make the 1.5 hour drive down to play here again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    6/4/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of short, long, up/ down hill, open/ wooded. An great pro shop in the garage, with helpful & friendly staff. The water is casual and shallow. Nice tee pads. Friendly locals.
Other Thoughts: Ask before petting the dog, I was told he bites.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.