Leicester, MA 
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: HyzerBerryPie Hole #4 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 321ft.   4 / 501ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Gold Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Enjoyable and Challenging

1    9/26/2016   11/5/2016
Review By: Discette
Played: 356  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Pyramids is a very well maintained 18 hole course that winds through the woods, along creeks and through a meadow. Each hole has one tee and two different targets. I played this course as part of a trip playing 12 states in 12 days. Pyramids and Maple Hill were the only courses I played on this trip through Massachusetts. Be sure you stop in to the Marshall Hill pro shop to pay before you play.


I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.

Two Targets
This course has one tee and two targets installed on each hole. Two targets on every hole is not very common in other parts of the United States. However, in New England and the East Coast, this is not so unusual. This was one of the better two target courses I played on my trip.

Variety
I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of variety here. Even though this is a fairly small plot of land, there is a great mix of holes and a surprising amount of elevation changes. There are some tight wooded holes, a few open wooded holes, holes along and over the OB creek and couple of holes with more open meadow shots. The wooded holes do require a variety of shots to score well.


Signs and Navigation
Course is easy to navigate, even if you forget to bring your map (like I did). There are two fantastic full color tee signs for the Silver and Gold locations on every tee. The massive tee signs have tons of information. They list the distances and even include photos.The signs also provide direction to the next tee.

Amenities
The course has signs and well maintained and ample rubber tee pads on every hole. There are broom holders with brooms on all of the tee signs. Many of the tees have benches, tables or logs. There were really nice bridges and wooden walkways over creeks and wet areas. There is a full service pro shop on site and portable johns in the parking area.

Amazing Upkeep
This course has top notch maintenance. Grassy areas were kept mowed and there is no real rough off the fairways. There were wood chips located throughout the course. The wood chips were not just around the baskets and tees, but also on the fairways keeping the grass down and preventing erosion. It had rained for two days before I played and there was no need to worry about mud or standing water.

Silver or Gold
Even though I am not a gold level player, I played the gold course on my visit. The gold target locations are usually longer and they are much more straightforward than the silver targets. Some of the silver targets are in dog leg locations or are located deep left or right of the main fairway (like an afterthought). While the Gold course is not a Gold Level Championship course, I would consider it a top notch Advanced level course. There is plenty of challenge for players of all skill levels. While I don't really know which came first, I would venture Gold was here first as it seems to flow better.

All 18 in Row
Once you tee on Hole 1, you do not return to the massive parking area until after Hole 18. However, it is possible to take a quick run to the car after Hole 7 and maybe again while you are playing Hole 14. I appreciate the compact design here. There is very little extra walking from tee to tee to play the course.

Solo play
No problems playing solo here. While a couple of targets are "blind" from the tee, there is no risk of losing track of discs on these fairways. It was nearly impossible to play the neighboring Maple Hill as a solo player, so this easy compact and easy to navigate course was a welcome relief for me.

Restrooms
There are portable restrooms in the parking area. They were clean and well maintained.

Litter Free and no Graffiti
One of the benefits of a pay to play course. No litter, no butts, no beer cans and no graffiti. Continue to keep it classy people!

Kids and Strollers
I wouldn't bring kids in strollers because of the inherently rocky terrain. I suppose you could bring a disc cart, but the elevation change and rocky ground might make it tough. The Pyramids course is pretty compact so it would be easy enough for older kids to walk along. There are no restrooms on the course except the portable johns in parking area. If you come with kids that want to play disc golf, start out on the nine hole Pink course located by the Pro Shop. This is a perfect course for young ones.
Cons:
Not big, bold or flashy. Just good solid disc golf.
I am having trouble thinking of any cons here. A couple of the wooded holes could have used a wider fairway. Even though there was a good variety of shots, some holes started to look and feel the same.
Other Thoughts:
Overshadowed

This course is definitely overshadowed by the more famous Maple Hill down the street. However, I found this course so much more enjoyable and far less confusing. As a solo player, Pyramids was much more relaxing and fun to play solo than MH. Pyramids was easier to navigate and there is no risk of losing a disc in the middle of the fairway because you did not have a spotter.

Rating
The course is just shy of perfect, so I will rate it a 4.5

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pyramids - The Gateway to the Heavens

1    3/27/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 166  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice private course with large single rubber tees with excellent signage and benches and brooms. Course is easy to navigate especially with the nice bridge-work to cross the creek several times. Two baskets on every hole short Silver Chainstars and long Gold DisCatchers providing good difference for skill level and changing the look of each hole.

Excellent course design providing a myriad of challenges playing over a variety of terrain. The first 3 holes play through speckled woods with gentle elevation slopes and requiring some line shaping. Holes 4 and 5 add to the challenge playing next to or crossing the creek with the gold basket on 5 on a fun and dangerous approach to a peninsula green. Hole 5 was my favorite. Hole 6 through 11 play up and down a steep wooded slope and across the creek. Hole 12 is a beast multi-shot hole that starts uphill through the the woods and into a more flat open area with the baskets. Hole 13 is a long tight tunnel that plays alongside a steep ridge to the left. Hole 14 changes up the pace playing multiple shots through the more open flat Christmas tree area. Hole 15 is a short flat ace run with two distinct lines and I aced the short basket on the hyzer line with my putter. Hole 16 is a flattish right curving shot. Hole 17 and 18 play through the woods alongside the driveway, with 18 Gold back into the open by the parking lot.

Loops back to parking lot/pro shop. No underbrush, very clean and well maintained. Marshall Street pro shop onsite. Portapotties by parking lot.
Cons: Nothing major. Only one set of tees per hole and rubber. Holes 6-11 were a little repetitive playing back and forth the creek and up/down the hill side, and holes play a little close together. Hole 18 long basket could be a safety issue.

Rollaways can happen to good shots on some of the holes. I parked hole 7 short and it rolled all the way back to the creek.
Other Thoughts: After my long drive to the course, I stop in the Marshall Street pro shop to take a gander at all the shiny plastic and try to resist buying more than I need, but that didn't work out very well. So with all the plastic I bought, I got a free round to the Pink course which was a great warm up and confidence boost after acing hole 1. :-) The 18 hole course is still $6 to play unless you have a club membership. If I lived in the area I would definitely buy the membership and play here often.

I think the Pyramids complex gets a little unfairly over-shadowed by it's world renown neighboring Maple Hill complex, but IMO the Pyramids can hold it's own weight and provides a more relaxing and fun playing atmosphere. Playing both of these complexes provides for a fantastic disc golf destination experience. Highly recommend playing both if in the area.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

At least 4 stars, but not quite perfect...

2-4    6/11/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: Areometer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Beautiful brooks and scenery, it can rival Borderland's
- 2 colored baskets
- attached disc shop is largest in N.E. I think
- parking is spacious
- paid course means fewer players but it also means players who like to hang out and play slow...
Cons: - Some more trees need to be cut down please.
- Packed gravel road is a lil' rough on tires
- Next tee box isn't really clearly marked although there's a very useful map/pamphlet that you can get from shop. But please reference Muldoon Park's taped arrowed method.
- $6/play or $10/day
Other Thoughts: This course is quite amazing, but more trees need to go unless you enjoy playing pinball bouncing / russian roulette type of play. Just too narrow spaces between all these trees! But otherwise, I really like this course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Marshall Street is the Best

1    5/31/2015   6/7/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 30.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: See Buchas post for similar description
Best pro shop in the NE, if the the US. That alone is worth a visit
Scenic course with stream flowing through several holes Very wooded but not much understory. Great use of elevation on most holes - a lot of back and forth up and down the side of a hill
Multiple tees and two baskets per hole provide a lot of variety
Cons: None, really, though I didn't enjoy the holes at the top of the hill (flat) as much as the first 9.
Other Thoughts: A memorable course. I played on a rainy day, unfortunately, but enjoyed it none the less. The greatest pro shop ever. Marshall Street makes me want to take a disc golf vacation. Or go back to college somewhere in Leicester..You really need 3-4 full days to experience Pyramids and Maple Hill. It is Disney for Disc Golfers. Keep it up, people!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Kid in a candy store

1    7/5/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and enjoyable "home style course." With maple hill just down the road, you can plan a great vacation with these two courses. First off, the pro shop is fantastic! It adds to the experience and really helped this course earn an excellent rating. As my title describes, the pro shop gave me the feeling of being six years old and walking into a magnificent candy store.

Now on to the course. The course is well laid out, with some significant elevation changes and good variety in hole lengths. Variety in shot shapes as well. OB stream comes into play on several holes and makes for some extra challenge.

Where this course really earns its stars is the immense fun factor. With maple hill down the road, this course would provide a break from the many challenges of maple hill. Two permanent basket locations for each hole, add variety and challenge to each and every hole. The long pins will challenge even the mist seasoned of players.

The awesome elevation changes is what really drives this course home for me. There is a good mix of downhill touch shots and tougher uphill shots. The designer(s) did a good job by incorporating the hill on as many holes as possible with out it getting to cluttered.
Cons: Some of the holes in the middle of the course get somewhat repetitive. There are many holes that kind of blend in where you play down he hill and the back up, down the hill and back up.

#16s gold basket is relatively unreachable because of the angle you have to throw, over a 90 degree turn right.

#18s gold basket is right by the driving net. A well placed second shot can land next to the net a mere 15 feet away from the basket.

These are all pretty nit picky cons as there are not to many to puck out at this great course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable and fun course to play. However it really lacks the memorable or picturesque holes needed to give it a higher rating. All in all if you can I would highly recommend planning a day road trip to play maple hill and pyramids, two great courses just down the road from eachother.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well varied course

5+    6/22/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Well maintained
+Great tees
+Good mix of woodsy and open shots
+Very fair
+Great intermediate course
+Great mapping
+Also, it has the BEST pro shop around
Cons: -It can be busy on weekends and therefore it will slow down the speed of play, but that is hardly a problem
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses, it's a bit of a drive for me but it is well worth it. Plus, the pro shop is amazing and has great prices. If you live within a couple hours away, get in your car and drive here if you have yet to play it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Whereas neighboring Maple Hill feels like a vacation, Pyramids feels like home. Seems like a perfect league course, with plenty to challenge you and potentially ruin your score, but the course itself isn't going to wear you down. The terrain is what I would consider light woods with multiple paths to the basket on most holes. There is plenty of elevation and a stream runs along a few holes and comes into play on about a third of them. There isn't much here that will slow down play since the water will affect your shot but won't require difficult recovery and underbrush is non-existent.
There are two layouts. Each hole has one tee and two baskets. I played a mix of the two, depending on my interest level in the layout as shown on the tee sign. Sometime, the gold basket provides a good deal more length than the silver. Often, this was unnecessary as the silvers provided solid hole designs. But on many occasions, the gold basket has a much more interesting pin position. Especially on 13. It's a solid hole to the silver pin, but gold requires crossing another ravine to a precarious location with plenty of roll-away danger. You will regret not throwing at it. That experience, with the gold basket making the silver basket look boring is recreated on about a third of the holes.
With two basket options, it really is one of those solid courses that you can play again and again without getting tired of it. It has that kind of terrain that is well suited to a fun game. No towering peaks or massive drops but the kind of elevation change that improves every hole both aesthetically and challenge-wise.
Cons: Still, there really isn't much that will you remember here. If you play it once, you won't be recalling fond memories in your elder years. There are no epic holes. Nothing stands out. There are some moments of repetition. There's not much done wrong here. It just lacks that extra umph to boost it into the realm of the elite courses.
There are also some holes in which the two baskets are close together and not much is gained by having the second pin location. If there is one area of improvement, it would be to take those gold baskets and move them somewhere more intense.
Other Thoughts: With Maple Hill, just down the street, it is the perfect course to be in the area. Really nice contrast in styles and lots of possible playing options.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice setup with fantastic pro shop

1    6/19/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 269  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent setup, especially in the smaller space available.

Nice, grippy concrete tee pad on each hole. One tee at each hole.

2 baskets in place for each hole. One plays for the Silver course, one for the Gold. Both sets catch extremely well. The Gold course offers mostly longer lines, as well as different looks. Very nice for a smaller space.

Very nice mixture of woods, clearings and combination holes. Basket placements are excellent and bad shots are usually punished with unhappy lies.

Excellent tee signs, with all the information you could possibly ask for.
Cons: $6/round or $10/day is somewhat steep, even for such a nice course, especially with Maple Hill close. I guess you can get away with that when you have a top notch pro shop on site. Yearly memberships ($100/year) are also available.

One set of tee pads...this is relatively offset by the dual baskets, but it's still a bummer in such a nice setting.
Other Thoughts: The price of playing here might turn off some players, but it's definitely worth playing a few times if possible. The Marshall Street pro shop on site is excellent, as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hard to leave without spending Money

1    10/4/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Adventureortiz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great wooded course... one or two really open holes to huk on. some tight corridors for technical play. Fit a nice course into a small space.
The guys at Marshall Street are Extremely nice and helpful. Great group of guys.
Cons: Swatted by a tree in one fairway may put you in the previous holes fairway.
It is very hard to leave this course without spending a lot of money...though they let you play if you do spend.
Other Thoughts: I had a tough round getting beat up by the trees. Everything seemed to just mis my target and get swatted our bounce off a tree. I only played this course once so far... So I might get better at finding the fairways but I struggled this first time.
Second Hole was built for me.... Love that Anny corridor. My Lat64 River and I love it. There are actually a couple of these right bending fairways. I got to try out a few Hyzer Flip shots on the narrow low ceiling corridors. Fun course I need to play again. Might have to spend a long day and play both this and Maple Hill together. You would get a complete compliment of all types of courses that way... wooded, tight, open, water, right and left bending... that would be a challenging day.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pyramids

1    8/28/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: Policygnat
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course. Excellent signage all around, interesting elevation changes, unique basket placement (especially the Pro Tee on Hole 4), and a prudent mix of distance/tactical holes. I would love to come back and play this course again.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.