Disc Golf Store
Leicester, MA 
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: HyzerBerryPie Hole #8 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 380ft.   4 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Baskets



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Love the pro shop/advice from Jason!

2-4    1/17/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2010
22 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is the home course of Marshall Street Disc Golf and all you have to do to play is give a $6 donation. the tee pads are all rubber slabs so you dont have to worry about slipping when teeing off, regardless of weather. Course has several water holes but everytime you cross a small stream there is a nicely made bridge to assist you. The two baskets make it nice and challangeing. If you want an even bigger challenge you can drive .5 miles down the road to one of the top ranked courses on DGCR. All the holes are very well marked with colored signs for each basket, and pictures showing you possible routes to take. There is only one tee box for each hole but two pins; one each of Innova discatcher and Mach V(I believe). The first thirteen holes are wooded and get boring between six and nine (just up and down fairways next to each other). However, holes six to nine do change somewhat so they aren't mirrored images of each other. Hole 13 is probably the signature course in my mind. It is a long tunnel shot that shoots over to the left for a nice view of the Worcester Airport and is one of two par 4's (silver baskets). Holes thirteen to eighteen are pretty much wide open with a slightly wooded ace run thrown in.
Cons: Due to massive ice storm there are a ton of trees down; the good news is that all of the tee pads are cleared and fairways themselves are almost all of the way clean. I also lost three discs due to the snow, but two are in the fairway so hopefully I will get them back. As far as course negatives it was a little hard to locate some of the next tees because holes 5-8 zig zag back and forth between each other.

Update (3-11-2010)
All of the wood from the ice storm has been cleared. The storm did a number on the course and opened up quite a few new alley ways that didn't used to be there.
Other Thoughts: If going in the winter go in the afternoon. I went at 10:30 am and it was five degrees! When you go to the course make sure to stop in the garage and talk with Jason (owner of Marshall Street Disc Golf). He helped me with my grip and release and was very generous with his knowledge. Plus the disc selection is amazing and overwhelming (especially if you want everything you see). There is a really clean porta pottie on site right next to the parking lot. There is also a tee pad with a mesh net in front of it to practice your drives close to the parking lot as well.


March 28, 2009 Returned to play again and Marshall Street has several bins of discs all alphabatized that were found on the course. I got two of my disc back, I'm pumped!


22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Pyramids

5+    1/9/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: Hoey
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A "5" in my heart, Pyramids is where I got my start so I gotta lotta love for this place. A good mix of shots need to be had to make this course easier for yourself. There's a lot of trees to hit, but fairways are clearly seen, so if you miss, it's on you. Pyramids has a bunch of ace oppurtunities, while keeping a balance of holes that make you throw smart.

#13 overlooks the Worcester Airport, which I would say is its signature hole, a pretty tight fairway with tall trees ~8-10ft apart.

The pond is gone now, it got washed away in the Spring of 2007. There is now just a casual stream running through the "pond." Pond rules still apply, but at least you get your disc back. The hills are good to practice elevation change. I believe this course is definately beginner friendly.

Don't forget to visit the shop, its something else!

Great vibe, everybody there is friendly...
Cons: Hills can be difficult for some, but it's great exercise. Dropped foliage can wreak havoc on finding discs, Hills can be tricky in the winter conditions
Other Thoughts: An ice storm demolished the course in December 2008. Wondering how it will look come spring...

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 marshall street

5+    1/10/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: central mass
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: the home of marshall street. what more need''s to be said? it has a lit ddc course. pretty wooded with a nice stream that runs along several holes. it has a hanging basket on hole 5 gold.
Cons: don't pet the dogs.
Other Thoughts: also has a huge pro shop open 365 days a year. everything you could dream of is there.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Home of MSDGC

11/19/1999   7/6/2008
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 108  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty tough course to play for Pros and Adv. Its not friendly for newbies.

Interesting holes to shoot at. Like #5 for shooting out of the narrow wooded trees to get across a small pond to the basket to make an easy deuce. Don't worry, there will be either a small boat or retrieval tool ready for you to get your disc from the pond if you screwed it up.

Worth checking out the Marshall Street Pro shop and its owner!!
Cons: Tricky course, need course map. Bit confusing to know where's the next tees or baskets are at or have local DGers to show you around.

Pain in butt for finding disc during the fall season in the wooded course and Christmas tree field (# 14) as well.
Other Thoughts: Its one of "Must Stop, Visit, and Play" courses if you are planning to visit MA for awhile.

It was cool to meet the owner of Marshall Street (marshallstreetdiscgolf.com) and makes good deal on buying various discs. I didn't have enough time to finish checking out the entire "warehouse" disc store because its too much to look at!! Need to stay half a day to see it all!!

You wouldn't be disappointed when you get there. Perfect place to bring your wife, husband, girlfriend, boyfriend, or friends to shop for your favorite discs and/or gears for Christmas or birthdays (hints, hints!) while you are gone discing around the course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.