Leicester, MA 
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: HyzerBerryPie Hole #14 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 479ft.   4 / 605ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Gotta love it Grange North

5+    8/15/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.1 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private property courses are just inherently cool. Home to "Marshall Street" and Pyramids DGC, owner Jason Southwick is an invaluable asset to DG in Massachusetts.
The course occupies a mostly wooded plot of (I'm guessing) 20 something acres, and it's broken up into two main areas. One area is mostly flat and has one large stand of mature trees, and a large field peppered with christmas trees (that are pretty much too big to fit in anyones house). The other area is a steep/wide gully with a creek running down one edge - headed by a small pond. The flat area holds about 1/3 of the course, the woods holds about 2/3.
I like the variety and change in difficulty offered by the different tee/pin layouts. The long course plays significantly harder than the short course ( I think they are referred to as the Gold and Silver layouts). The woods are fun, as you get to play up down and across the gully (it's not a little gully - from hiltop to hilltop is probably 700') that's heavily wooded, but not really tight.
Cons: The nature of the topography makes the back and forth layout a tad redundant (holes 6-11?), which takes away from the overall quality of the course.
Other Thoughts: Camping is allowed on site (at least for big events in the past). The property owners are just fantastic.
As was mentioned elsewhere, there is a lighted DDC court which just plain rocks!
Small gravel parking lot seems adequate.
Pro shop on site is VERY well stocked with a wide variety of plastic and other DG goodies.
Lots of local events makes this course a local favorite.
I understand that Pyramids has suffered from ice storm damage this winter, so I'm sure the nature of the course has been altered a bit, but the overall quality/character I'm sure will remain unchanged.

The first time I played this course was in 30" of snow - and I went back the first chance I got. (If that says anything)

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly and Fun

2-4    4/28/2012   1/30/2009
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 112  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2012
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a course built by people who know disc golf and have been around the sport for a long time. You play up and down a wide, wooded ravine on the earlier holes and later through some Christmas trees and in some more open spaces. There are a lot of holes on the front 9 that had me laughing at how cool they were. The hanging basket on #4 is pretty unique (I've only seen a hanging basket on one other course, in Iowa). The wooden bridges crisscrossing the creek give the holes a lot of character. One of the holes has a basket on a very steep incline; if you go for it and miss, you could be putting from even farther away. The long hole (#13, I believe) has one of the longest, tightest fairways I've seen. The later holes are a bit less wooded but not easy. There are two baskets per hole. The silver course is pretty doable but has some challenging holes. The golds are tougher. Jason and the other guys who keep this up are really friendly and willing to share their thoughts. They were clearing tee pads of snow one of the first times I played. The signage is some of the best signage I've seen.
Cons: The course is pretty hilly, which is mostly a good thing, but the course probably isn't ideal for complete beginners or people not in decent shape. You do have to pay $6 for a round or $10 for the day to play to help cover their insurance costs, but that is hardly a con.
Other Thoughts: The Marshall Street pro shop is great. There were thousands of discs there, and the guys working there are happy to help you find the right one. This is a fun course on a nice piece of land. It probably doesn't get the recognition it deserves.

UPDATE:
Holes 17 and 18 have finally been changed! Hole 17 brings that old decrepit shed into play and is a narrow tunnel shot to start. You do have to cross the road for the gold basket on 18, but a) you're not playing along the road like the old days on 17, and b) no shots over the parking lot! I appreciate their work to address these.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Love the pro shop/advice from Jason!

2-4    1/17/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2010
22 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is the home course of Marshall Street Disc Golf and all you have to do to play is give a $6 donation. the tee pads are all rubber slabs so you dont have to worry about slipping when teeing off, regardless of weather. Course has several water holes but everytime you cross a small stream there is a nicely made bridge to assist you. The two baskets make it nice and challangeing. If you want an even bigger challenge you can drive .5 miles down the road to one of the top ranked courses on DGCR. All the holes are very well marked with colored signs for each basket, and pictures showing you possible routes to take. There is only one tee box for each hole but two pins; one each of Innova discatcher and Mach V(I believe). The first thirteen holes are wooded and get boring between six and nine (just up and down fairways next to each other). However, holes six to nine do change somewhat so they aren't mirrored images of each other. Hole 13 is probably the signature course in my mind. It is a long tunnel shot that shoots over to the left for a nice view of the Worcester Airport and is one of two par 4's (silver baskets). Holes thirteen to eighteen are pretty much wide open with a slightly wooded ace run thrown in.
Cons: Due to massive ice storm there are a ton of trees down; the good news is that all of the tee pads are cleared and fairways themselves are almost all of the way clean. I also lost three discs due to the snow, but two are in the fairway so hopefully I will get them back. As far as course negatives it was a little hard to locate some of the next tees because holes 5-8 zig zag back and forth between each other.

Update (3-11-2010)
All of the wood from the ice storm has been cleared. The storm did a number on the course and opened up quite a few new alley ways that didn't used to be there.
Other Thoughts: If going in the winter go in the afternoon. I went at 10:30 am and it was five degrees! When you go to the course make sure to stop in the garage and talk with Jason (owner of Marshall Street Disc Golf). He helped me with my grip and release and was very generous with his knowledge. Plus the disc selection is amazing and overwhelming (especially if you want everything you see). There is a really clean porta pottie on site right next to the parking lot. There is also a tee pad with a mesh net in front of it to practice your drives close to the parking lot as well.


March 28, 2009 Returned to play again and Marshall Street has several bins of discs all alphabatized that were found on the course. I got two of my disc back, I'm pumped!


22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Pyramids

5+    1/9/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: Hoey
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A "5" in my heart, Pyramids is where I got my start so I gotta lotta love for this place. A good mix of shots need to be had to make this course easier for yourself. There's a lot of trees to hit, but fairways are clearly seen, so if you miss, it's on you. Pyramids has a bunch of ace oppurtunities, while keeping a balance of holes that make you throw smart.

#13 overlooks the Worcester Airport, which I would say is its signature hole, a pretty tight fairway with tall trees ~8-10ft apart.

The pond is gone now, it got washed away in the Spring of 2007. There is now just a casual stream running through the "pond." Pond rules still apply, but at least you get your disc back. The hills are good to practice elevation change. I believe this course is definately beginner friendly.

Don't forget to visit the shop, its something else!

Great vibe, everybody there is friendly...
Cons: Hills can be difficult for some, but it's great exercise. Dropped foliage can wreak havoc on finding discs, Hills can be tricky in the winter conditions
Other Thoughts: An ice storm demolished the course in December 2008. Wondering how it will look come spring...

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 marshall street

5+    1/10/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: central mass
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: the home of marshall street. what more need''s to be said? it has a lit ddc course. pretty wooded with a nice stream that runs along several holes. it has a hanging basket on hole 5 gold.
Cons: don't pet the dogs.
Other Thoughts: also has a huge pro shop open 365 days a year. everything you could dream of is there.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Home of MSDGC

11/19/1999   7/6/2008
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 114  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty tough course to play for Pros and Adv. Its not friendly for newbies.

Interesting holes to shoot at. Like #5 for shooting out of the narrow wooded trees to get across a small pond to the basket to make an easy deuce. Don't worry, there will be either a small boat or retrieval tool ready for you to get your disc from the pond if you screwed it up.

Worth checking out the Marshall Street Pro shop and its owner!!
Cons: Tricky course, need course map. Bit confusing to know where's the next tees or baskets are at or have local DGers to show you around.

Pain in butt for finding disc during the fall season in the wooded course and Christmas tree field (# 14) as well.
Other Thoughts: Its one of "Must Stop, Visit, and Play" courses if you are planning to visit MA for awhile.

It was cool to meet the owner of Marshall Street (marshallstreetdiscgolf.com) and makes good deal on buying various discs. I didn't have enough time to finish checking out the entire "warehouse" disc store because its too much to look at!! Need to stay half a day to see it all!!

You wouldn't be disappointed when you get there. Perfect place to bring your wife, husband, girlfriend, boyfriend, or friends to shop for your favorite discs and/or gears for Christmas or birthdays (hints, hints!) while you are gone discing around the course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.