Disc Golf Store
Sheboygan, WI
Jaycee Park Quarry Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #8
3 / 125ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A little disappointing

1    7/2/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park area that seems mostly dedicated to disc golf. The beginning and end of the course are in a grassy field with scattered small trees, and the middle plays down in the lower area of the park in dense woods. A couple holes have some fun elevation that adds some challenge and interest to the course. The wooded holes have a nice balance of left and right turning holes to make you throw some different shots.

The short tees are concrete and other than one that was in several pieces, they were in pretty good shape. The long tees were level and mostly rut free. The baskets were in good shape and caught well. Some of the long tees added some interesting shots that were different lines than the short tees, always a plus.
Cons: The beginning and the end of the course are quite boring, with very few obstacles in an open field. Many of the holes on this section of the course have only one or two small trees that don't really provide much challenge. The first hole going into the woods is a lot of fun playing down the steep hill, but the hillside is eroded and slick going down. The lower part of the course is more interesting, but is very flat other than the hole going down and the hole going back up, and doesn't have all that much variety of hole lengths. The lower area of the course is quite wet, so it can be really muddy and buggy.
Other Thoughts: This course has some nice holes, but the beginning and end really bring the experience here down a lot in my opinion. It also felt a little neglected, and obviously doesn't get as much play or attention as Vollrath. It's not a bad place to play once you get down into the woods, so don't avoid it, but don't drive too far out of your way for it either. Beginners will find the top part of the course approachable but not all that interesting, and the lower part of the course iis a reasonable length but a little thick on the schule. More experienced players won't find too many real challenges, and not enough variety even with dual tees for it to be worth playing very often.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Time to come back to the Quarry

5+    7/6/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: danabike
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of new pro tees have really widened the challenges available
Cons: It's low-lying areas & proximity to the river can make for a buggy round down in the hole (7 thru 15). Bring your Deep Woods Off. Parking could be better.
Other Thoughts: Since I consider this one of my home courses, I was really glad to see some area guys that were unemployed go wild on this course with some help from the city. Signs have been replaced and a world of landscaping has been done. New pro tees and fairways....it's like night and day. Definitely much better than Vollrath now.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 alright course...

1    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Shuie
Played: 611  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: i really like number 7 346' down hill with a slight left fade.......... adn number 16 along the quarry. the wooded hole were nice some were challenging.....
Cons: Signs were damaged.. a lil' confusing to navigate but found our way... Hole 8-10 with the exception of 7 were really soggy, the hillside on number 8 was really wet..... the wooded holes could use some more length even from the pros... some were ok tho....
Other Thoughts: over all i wasn't overly impressed with the couse but i'd hit it up after a round at vollrath

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Quaint, Quiet Quarry

5+    8/31/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 15.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. The wooded holes especially utilize as much of the land as possible, with an intimidating sharp downhill tunnel shot to begin the wooded holes, a good mix of righty/lefty/straight with nearly every tree and bush a potential shot-killer, and a few blind holes (especially if you play 9A and 9B). Even the more open holes on the front use some mandos to keep things interesting, and the wind can play with your shots on these short, flat holes.
2. Dual tees. The long tees are a bit lacking (rutted gravel pits), but I understand some new funds have been made available for improving various aspects of this course. The short tees are concrete and for the most part in decent shape.
3. Not too crowded. The big groups of kids and less-experienced players tend to flock to Vollrath Park, so it's usually pretty quiet and peaceful out here.
4. Nice baskets. There were some issues with a lot of basket theft out here (and I'm sure it'll still be a problem in the future), but the baskets seem to have been upgraded since the last time I played in early 2008.
5. Optional holes. You can play the 2 blind holes, 9A and 9B, for a 20-hole round. A spotter is recommended unless you're a local intimately familiar with the neck-high grass, multiple bushes, and tight fairways.
Cons: 1. Vandalism. I'm so sick of seeing the way Sheboygan people treat their courses...no, it's not everyone; in fact, a lot of the locals I've met and played with are very respectful of the courses, but there's such a high rate of theft, litter, vandalism, and general no-goodery that a travelling player passing through and playing could get very easily turned off. Some dumbass even scrawled "N*gger Basket" on the basket of 9A--Whatever that's supposed to mean, I don't know, but whoever did that is an idiot and should be stripped of all his/her plastic and banned from the game. I guess you'll see that kind of crap in any metropolitan area, as there's always worthless douchebags that think the stupid sh*t they do is funny.
2. Maintenance. The upkeep is mediocre from what I've seen. I don't expect the whole front grassy area to be mowed (I like the "defined fairway" look, even if the "rough" in these areas isn't much of a factor to errant shots), but the long tees definitely are lacking in upkeep (when and if concrete gets installed may impact my overall rating), and the slope/steps leading you down into the woods on #7 could be a little safer.
3. Short tee drop-offs. Some of the concrete tees have been extremely worn on the front edge, to the point where in places there is a 1" to 2" drop-off from the front edge...not too much of a safety issue, but having your toe slip off the edge on the moment of release can definitely affect your shot.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a really fun course with plenty of challenge. I suppose the ne'er-do-wells negate the maintenance, so I can understand if those responsible for the upkeep have gotten fed up with taking 2 steps forward and then 3 steps back. I personally would like to see a heavier police presence out here, and I'm no fan of cops in general, but somebody needs to scare off or teach a lesson to the douchebags showing such disdain for a sport that is such an integral part of the Sheboygan area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Standard

5+    6/20/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: Sensai Scuba
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First few baskets offer good warmup shots. The middle holes take you into the woods in a beautiful down hill shot and then throws you in the swamp but brings you back up for some nice cool down shots. Nice wildlife.
Cons: Tee start point signs are not all up or marked correctly, the Tees are (cracked on some) concrete and/or dirt. This course gets very confusing to navigate once you get inside and swamp (my least favorite disc golf food group) is prevailant in the middle holes. Throughout the summer you have a good solid two weeks of dry weather when this course is actually fun to play, otherwise it's just too easy to step into swamp or lose your disc in all the vegitation.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 U could always Jump In

5+    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: thefranchise3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Holes go through heavy woods for nice challenging shots. Pro tees, and 2 extra holes.
Cons: First holes kind of open. Lots of bugs in summer. Not maintained very well.Most holes are short.
Other Thoughts: If ur not playing good and ur fed up u can always jump in the quarry!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed, challenging course, lacking only in safety and maintenance.

1    5/9/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Awesome property for a disc golf course. Not much other activity butting up to the course which is always positive. Has large elevation change on a handful of holes. Has lots of somewhat densely wooded holes which I enjoy thoroughly, runs along a river (apparently it is called the Mullet River (which I know is a type of fish, but it is also an awesome 80's hairstyle (which I think is an underused hairstyle)).

2) Lots of fun factor and challenge on the middle holes from #7-16. The first few holes are open and at the very least warm you up a bit before getting ver technical in the middle holes.

3) Some of the holes are beginner friendly, but many of the holes will cause them to struggle mightily. I guess as the very least it will teach a beginner how to throw in the woods. Nothing outrageously difficult however.

4) It has a handful of ace runs (I even hit my first ace here on Hole #9B) which is positive to have a few on every course. You shouldn't always have to struggle to make par on every hole in my opinion.

5) Nice concrete tee pads for the am tees.

6) I ran across about 10 young deer, plentiful squirrel and rabbit population, and a very wide variety of nature. Lots of unique plants in certain areas makes this a fun walk through the woods.
Cons: 1) 8 of the holes are boring and wide open with little to no challeneg.

2) Maintenance is nonexistant on the wooded holes. They could seriously use some woodchips and some stairs would be helpful in a couple spots.

3) While the concrete teepads are nice for the am tees, the pro tees leave a lot to be desired, there are a couple that are obviously getting overgrown from lack of use. Plus they are gravel which is very loose in spots. The one Am tee on #9 is also broken up completely. Pick one to throw from but they are all fairly small portions.

4) Vandalism is apparent in spots, missing tee signs and some of the teesigns are so old the paint is peeling off, why even put those up. Save yourself 1 hour of labor and repaint one or two of them per year!

5) Garbage isn't a huge problem, but some more garbage cans would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: This review is based more on challenege and fun factor than it is on maintenance. There isn't much they could do to improve the maintenance because the bare areas will never grow grass. It dtracts from the safety on a few places, especially when it is wet (and I played it after an inch of rain and it was still raining when I was there). The fun factor on this course is awesome because of the memorable holes like #7 (massive dropoff), #8 (short short hole with a basket tucked on a steep sideslope) #9B (admittedly only because I aced this hole, blind teeshot, all I heard was chains, but saw nothing). The rest of the holes (#9, #9A, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) are also all good wooded holes. There were serious puddles on some of the lower holes because you are set right down in a valley where all the water from surrounding area must end up. I started here and had wet feet all day because I had to trounce around in the puddles. This is a cool fun course that will challeneg many of your shot making skills. Half of the holes however leave a lot to be desired (1-6 and 19 and 20). These also happen to be the wide open holes. There just wasn't lot of challenge with these holes.

I KNOW THIS RATING MIGHT BE INFLUENCED BECAUSE OF MY FIRST ACE, AND I WILL CONSIDER IT OVER THE NEXT FEW WEEKS AND IF THE GLOW WEARS OFF I WILL ADJUST THE RATING BUT I DO THINK IT WILL STILL BE NO WORSE THAN A 3. I DO THINK THIS IS A GREAT COURSE WITH LOTS OF CHALLENGE AND FUN, DESPITE THE LACKING MAINTENANCE, TEE SIGNAGE AND PRO TEES.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Lack of upkeep kills this

1    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -a few memorable holes. #7 in particular with it's elevation drop through the woods
-beautiful location next to a huge man made quarry. Perfect for a summertime dip
-a few holes next to a trout river that adds to the wilderness feel
-pro/am tees(some)
-am tees concrete, sometimes
Cons: -first six holes completely open and lackluster
-baskets in horrible shape
-signs SOMETIMES there, or sometimes findable
-pro tees a thin strip of gravel. some dangerous
-one am tee in the woods was in four pieces. looked like it went through an earth quake
-a few sketchy walk paths to the next hole or basket
Other Thoughts: Played the course for the first time this past weekend and was disappointed all way around in so many things.

Holes1-6
Typical open filed community park holes. Non-technical throws around trees and short. Can use the non-cement pro tees but they are very thin gravel filled/packed patches which seem more dangerous than fun. Signage? Forget about it. Some holes have signs attached, some don't. Some baskets have the correct numbers on them some don't. This seems like an early implemented DG course that has had almost no upkeep since it's inception.

Holes 7-16
Now the course presents it's main signature hole. An elevated drop shot from approx 50 feet down to a basket that sits 250+ away and through trees. Very cool hole. Going down the hill to the basket seemed sketchy at best. After this you play the next 8 or nine in the woods and the weeds near the river. Signage missing on many holes and on one tee (10 I believe) the concrete tee pad is in four unusable pieces. I imagine during the summer that finding wayward discs here is next to impossible with the weeds and marsh. Mosquitoes must also be unbearable in late spring,summer. Hole 16 is neat, uphill.. although down a two track that people were using to access the quarry.

Holes 17-18
nothing special. Back into the open field.

Overall, ok course that I imagine at one point in the past was a very well maintained and appreciated course. This seemed like the local course that time forgot about and no one cares about anymore.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

6/26/2007   6/26/2008
Review By: joshdarkstar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is run by the same group that maintains Vollrath, so it definitely looks great. Most of the pins are clearly visible, and well marked.
Cons: The first 5 holes are wide open. Some people might like that, but I don't. Because of the course layout, after a moderate rain the back holes can get very soggy. Bugs are also a bit ridiculous at this time of year.
Other Thoughts: I prefer to play Vollrath any day of the week. This is still a nice course, though. When compared to other courses I have played, the Quarry holds it's own. It is definitely worth a round if you are in the area. If you only have time for one round, I would go to Vollrath, however.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Quarry Park

4/10/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: andymeunier
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Magnificent course with lots of variety, hills, long grass, and trees. There are 6 holes in an open field and the rest a tightly guarded by trees. It forces you to throw many different ways. A Shorter course but very tight. Fun for beginners and advanced players, it wont disappoint.
Cons: First time it can be a little hard to find your way around. The mosquitoes can be very bad at certain times, and if there is some rainy weather it can be extremely wet.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.