Radcliff, KY 
Radcliff Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #12 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 273ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    3/23/2014   3/24/2014
Review By: broseberry1808
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging. Tests the skills of a novice player.
Cons: Signs are confusing and not accurate. #6- sign shows it being on the opposite side of the road from the tee, but in fact its on the same side. Other signs show straight shots but some are actually to the right.
Other Thoughts: Good course. A good challenge for novice players.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun fun fun

5+    11/15/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: KyHyzer
Played: 65  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Again another course with every shot. Lots of birdies and very fast greens make for a good fun round in a small hidden park. A couple of challenging shots playing along a road going through the park. A few ob's and some great use of the land. Birdies will come a plenty if you play to the land.
Cons: Up and down hills takes a little wear and tear. Hole 2 and 3 play along side a neighborhood fence and if you throw a disc over its likely you won't get it back. Some holes if your an out of towner are difficult to follow but not far walks... A lot of baskets look playable from multiple tees.
Other Thoughts: Just a great fun course with lots of challenging shots that can make or break your round. I've shot -11 and +4. It is worth the round!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Noob Review

1    3/22/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: Redleg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a city park just a couple miles from front gate of Ft Knox. Well laid out course that uses the rolling terrain well. Most of the holes but a few are between 225 and 275 with a mix of up hill, down hill, across valley and over small hills. So it doesn't feel like they are all around the same length. Trees or OB comes into play on most every hole so decent drives make most holes capable of being done in 2. But if not placed well it is going to take a good up shot just to save par. Concrete tees and decent baskets. The holes flow pretty well. The park is clean and seems well maintained. The park as a road system in it but it was blocked off so cars were not an issue.
Cons: No hole signs on the baskets so on a couple holes it could be confusing. It could also use a marker on the basket pointing to the next Tee. Only one (marked) Tee box per hole and all holes have single placement. Looks like they are building a amphitheater that may kill one of 2 good lines to # 11 basket (I think). #13 pole hole has been moved a good distance from placement shown on sign, and also changed the distance a great deal.
Other Thoughts: I am from out of state and overall it was worth the stop. I played the course twice and was not disappointed. It was a great day out and I only saw 6 other players during those 2 rounds which was surprising even for a Wednesday. They have a skate park at the entrance which has a decent population of teens to early 20s and I saw at least 2-3 small packages change hands that could explain why. If in the area go play!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Chip and fall

2-4    8/7/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: johnabsher87
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, goid tee boxes and baskets...great challenging course. Mostly shorter holes with constant elivation change. A bad up or missed putt can easily cost you two strokes
Cons: Only one our two long holes ( coming from an interm player) direction can b confusing...easy to tee off to the wrong pin...lol not that I did that
Other Thoughts: One of my fave...very pretty. Great for players rec to advance

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

1    7/12/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: Hossinburger
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging holes that appear easy, but large trees and hilly terrain make almost every hole interesting. Beautiful park and everything was well kept. Interesting greens and lots of variation. Had a blast!
Cons: Confusing layout. It's hard to figure out where the next hole is.
Other Thoughts: Would def play many more times again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun hills

1    4/16/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly city park with lots of nice mature trees. There are enough trees in play to define some lines on several holes, which is a bonus for a park-style course. There is a decent mix of left and right turning holes so you'll need to have at least a couple different shots in your bag to score well. The distances are all pretty similar, but the elevation is used well to make them feel very different. Because of this, there are some putter ace runs, and some holes that most players will pull out a distance driver to reach.

The elevation is also used well around several greens. I like seeing baskets placed near slopes to add some risk to the short game, and there are a few of those here. The concrete tees are in good shape for the most part. There are basic signs that are fairly accurate and not broken or vandalized. The baskets are in decent shape and catch fine.
Cons: There's no underbrush or any kind of rough at all, so errant shots aren't really punished here. Nearly all the holes offer a pretty easy recovery for par after a bad drive, which takes away some challenge and fun. The road comes into play on several holes, it doesn't seem like the park gets much traffic but it's still a possible safety issue.

There are a few challenging spots in navigating the course. At times several tees are near the basket, and it might take some extra walking to figure out which one is next. Also, a few tees have multiple baskets in sight, not a big deal after the first time through but it's a little frustrating not knowing which one to throw to.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, the hills are used quite well to add interest and challenge, and are creatively put into play with several cross-slope shots and some that play down and back up. Beginners can easily have a good time here, there are several holes that play pretty short, and there isn't any rough to frustrate less accurate players. Intermediate players and up will find lots of birdies, but will need to be reasonably accurate, it's not all that challenging but there are definitely some fun shots.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/20/2008   1/6/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice city park, that is relatively small, but the 18 holes take up most of it. The baskets, signs, and tees are older, but still effective. Challenges are navigating around trees and throwing up and down hills. As others have said, you have to choose your line. The course has a variety of straight, hyzer, and anhyzer and many holes have multiple approaches. As is usual of parks courses, the trees aren't impossibly dense and there is little to no undergrowth. The biggest challenge here is the elevation. The course essentially plays up, down, around, and across a giant bowl! When you first arrive you might think the course looks repetitive, but there is tremendous variety from hole to hole.
Cons: Like others have said, the fence is a nice challenge, but it is really close to a couple of holes, and chances are if your disc goes over it is gone. Because of the openness of the park, you sometimes see multiple baskets and may end up throwing at the wrong one. It is also kind of tricky in spots to know which way is the next tee, but for the most part navigation is fine and it is easy to find the next hole even if start to head in the wrong direction.

If you don't like playing disc golf on big hills then you won't like this course.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a solid course. It has its own unique personality as I have never played another course like this one. I enjoyed that it was challenging without being insanely difficult making for a nice relaxing round in a beautiful setting. This course is worth traveling too, especially if you plan on playing many of the other good courses in the area between Elizabethtown and Louisville.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Over hill, over dale...

2-4    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great work out as this city park is very hilly; albeit fairly compact. It is a very clean course; yet with plenty of mature tree's to make it technically satisfying. There's really only a couple of small places where you could possibly lose a disc; so that's a plus for those who tend to stray from fairways.
Cons: Courses like this, while fun to play, do not offer much in the way of scenery as the entirety of the course is fit pretty much within a 'square'. One of the hole maps was so off, that someone had to take permanent marker to point out which way to tee off.
Other Thoughts: This course makes for a fine day of DGing when combined with the other two courses on the same highway (Freeman Lake with lots of water hazard shots; and grip 'n' rips) and Muldraugh (100% through thick woods where having a knack for getting out of rough is a must!).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 O.B. Roads

2-4    5/10/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Lightly wooded course with many elevation changes.
Cons: The roads in the park often come into play as O.B. Although then on one hole you have to throw across a road to get to the basket. Also it was sometimes difficult to figure out which basket we were aiming for from the tee.
Other Thoughts: The two guys I was playing with disagree with my opinion that O.B.s being involved in most holes is a negative thing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 KY (jelly and the state) = always smooth!

1    2/4/2010   2/5/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large concrete tees. They grip pretty well when dry but can be a little slick when wet. Either way they are necessary for this course because of the slops around the tee areas.

2) DGA signs in good shape and DGA baskets and all are in good shape.

3) Elevation is a huge factor on this course. The slopes are up and down and across, even throwing over a couple valley from one ridge to another. These make for a wonderful variety of shots. Some need to be thrown low and some need to go high in the air, and some go high in the air naturally because of the slopes. These throws all act differently and add to the challenge.

4) Wonderful mature Oak trees and other hardwoods. These trees make for a big part of the challenge of this course. There are a lot of them and there are many areas where they are grouped tightly together to force specific lines. There are no s shots through them, you need to stay inside or outside of a lot of these areas or you will be hitting one of them.

5) The combination of the trees and slopes is simply Kentucky disc golf. This setup is prevalent in many of the course I have played in Kentucky . . . and elsewhere. Armco, Lincoln Ridge, Charlie Vettiner, Fun Farm, are all very much like this course . . . and that is a good thing. I love the challenge and I love the setting of this course.

6) Cool park with only a few other activities. It is nice to have the DG course to ourselves. There is a skate park, a few swingsets, a pavillion and that is about it. There is no walking trail through the park to worry about hitting passersby. Sure there is a road, but it is only for people inside the park so you likely won't have to worry about cars very frequently.

7) This course has 2 nine hole loops which is always nice for those that want to play 9 and not have to walk all the way across the park.

8) Shot shaping is essential and you do need to be able to work the disc both directions. The front 9 has more of a hyzer focus, and the back 9 has a good variety of hyzers and anhyzers and some straight shots. Bring all your shots and you should feel fortunate if you have backhand and forehand shots in your bag!

9) Although hole distances do not vary by much, the effective distances change a lot. Most of the holes are 200-275 but those effective distances might play more like 150'-350 or 400. There is a hole over 300' in raw distance but the elevation really makes the holes play differently than their distance. This variety also allows for a lot of different disc selection which is integral to a good course in my opinion.

10) The use of the slopes by putting baskets where they are was done very well. There is enough challenge from basket placement, but nothing to unfair that a rollaway would be too devastating.

11) The fun of this course is picking your favorite lines and watching the disc sail. The downhillers are a lot of fun and although the uphillers are tough you have to pick some lines and make good upshots to get your pars.
Cons: 1) No room for runup on many holes because the level concrete pad is simply built into the hill. Starting on the teepad is you only option on some holes because of the severe slope around the teepad. It isnt a huge issue because the holes are generally not TOO long so you shouldnt need a full runup.

2) Erosion around the tees is both dangerous and disappointing. It is going to happen sure, but a better design of a little bigger area around each concrete tee would go a long way to making these stand up to the test of time and erosion would be less of an issue. One of the teepads is sloped downhill substantially. This is not only dangerous but annoying.

3) Road is in play in a few areas. I do not like the use of manmade features as OB and I think they should not be on the course. Sure I understand they needed a road, but holes could have been designed differently in my opinion.

4) Navigation is not horrible but there are a few points to be mentioned. Generally you can see the next tee from the previous basket, but the problem is tht you can see multiple tees from a handful of the baskets. Another issue is that you can easily see more than one basket from multiple holes and this can be the most confusing thing. WIthout the # plates on the DGA baskets sometimes figuring out which one is the one to throw at can be a little difficult. Finding #6 tee is tough because the sign is behind a tree and the concrete tee is not visible because it is above eye level. Hole 16 is in its own corner of the park, and #17 and 18 are also in their own corner. But at least most of this is only an issue the first time you play. A few directionals would be helpful in the trickiest of spots like 5-6 and 16-17.

5) I know I played this course after it had recently received some significant snow. It had mostly melted but many spots still had some snow on the ground. That isnt surprising because the slope doesnt all get sunlight and the trees are dense enough to shade the snowy areas even in wnter. This seems like it would be slick and muddy during the winter, and also after any rains. In the woods the turf isnt the best and the soil is visible and bare in many spots. This could lead to slippery and slick muddy areas. Just something worth mentioning.

6) Not very beginner friendly because of the slopes and the density of the trees. There would be some serious frustrations I am sure.

7) Only 1 or maybe 2 garbages on the course and no benches. Walking those hills would leave me wanting a bench from time to time.
Other Thoughts: I was very disappointed in my score on this course because I was struggling with my drives. I had recently figured out a technique that added like 30-50' to my average drive. I had been grabbing the disc (with my left hand) before starting my pull through, thus inhibiting the full pull back. I figured it out just a few weeks before, but apparently reverted to that grabbing of the disc. I really think if my drive was on I could have been around par or slightly better. I simply hit too many trees and missed too many lines. I did not let this affect my review or my rating. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and the challenge is presented. I would play this cours every day and I can guarantee that playing this course over and over could easily drop a handful of strokes from anyones game. There simply are intangibles you need to learn about this course and each drive you are faced with. The factors of the slope and the altitude that the disc flies play a major role in the challenge. All in all this is just Kentucky disc golf. It isn't the finest course I have played in KY but it is just what I view as KY DG. Hills, woodes, ridges, and valleys. It is just unique land that other states would be jealous of!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center