Radcliff, KY 
Radcliff Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #18 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Multiuse Park.

1    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful use of elevation changes in a small area as was said. Some long nice holes with just enough trees to make it challenging. Hill are abundant and big in some places. A roller will get you in to deep trouble as most of the park is in a bowl shape. Trees play a major role in this park, some test your accuracy some it takes a little luck. I enjoy palying this course. A well thought out design.
Cons: For me, 45 minute drive from Louisville. For you, several holes are right by a fence line behind homes. This would not be a problem but the owners do not understand why we want our discs back.They have No Trespassing signs everywhere and dogs to boot. If they put gates in there would be no problem, otherwise their fenses will continue to take beatings. Like yesterday when my 220 lbs butt went over one. Several holes go over park streets, watch for traffic before shooting. Several baskets are close, it was a little tricky to figure out which one to shoot at the first time. Other then that it was a lot of fun to play and I will again.
Other Thoughts: Whole lot of wooded area by 18, might be a good spot to move the holes that are in folks backyards. JMO

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Compact and hilly

5+    5/31/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My hat is off to the designer who was able to shoehorn an 18 hole course onto this plot of land. More elevation change than any other course in the area, and the course design makes good use of it. Lots of uphill/downhill play, but rarely an excessively steep angle to walk on.

Mature trees provide lots of shade, which is welcome because those hills will have you sweating!

Signs and teepads are good.
Cons: None, really, aside from the shortness of the holes as dictated by the land available.

Some people might think that this course has too many trees, but there are never so many that you just have to throw your disc and hope it gets through cleanly.
Other Thoughts: Freeman Lake is just down the road and provides a great contrast in style when you play them back to back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    7/20/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the best use of a small piece of land for disc golf that I have ever seen. Hills are abundant, so if you only like flat courses, I would urge you to pass up Radcliffe. The challenge is strong and the groundskeeping is great as it is a city park. There are playgrounds and a skate park in the park but they don't come into play unless you throw an absolutely terrible shot.
Cons: On the first few holes there is a fence line with private properties on the opposite side. This is an odd element of the design because if you look at the holes, a hyzer route makes the most sense....but in order to do that you have to throw over people's backyards. Me, I threw over the yards. An anhyzer route can be taken but is not as effective. Knowing this, it seems as if they should have thought about this during course design. A few of the baskets were close together causing a little confusion as to which target was correct. No major flaws.
Other Thoughts: The park was clean. Tee pads were solid. Baskets were in good condition. Only one restroom and it was close to the parking lot, but it is a compact course anyway. I think the layout could best be described as a course with many trees on each hole, but not a wooded course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

7/17/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: kyflash
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Radcliff is a super course tucked away in a small park. The layout is top notch. This course is very technical. There are very tight fairways and lots of trees. Very good use of elevation change.
Cons: There are 2 holes that you could loose your disc into someones yard other the fence.
Other Thoughts: Great use of such a small space.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice

5/4/2008   5/4/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots, very pretty especially with the dogwoods blooming
Cons: A couple of the holes are right along the property line and your disc can wind up going over a fence and into someone's back yard.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course with a lot of trees but it isn't a tunnel course. If you miss the fairway you generally have a shot a the basket. All but one hole was udner 300 feet with most in the 250 range.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 22 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love this course. Definaltly my favorite place to play. Extreme elevation changes, lots of trees yet plenty of cieling to deal with. Miss a shot at a basket and be ready to loose 2 or 3 strokes. With the hills that baskets sit on you can end several hundred feet away if your disc rolls.
Cons: none to speak of.....
Other Thoughts: Favorite course to date!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2/25/2008   2/25/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was installed on a SMALL bit of land. The course is excellent for the amount of land avalible. Lots of elevation and a varity of differant shots. It IS a pitch and putt course but it is VERY fun to play. OB could come into effect on nearly EVERY hole.
Cons: Short course with only three or four holes at or around 350-400 feet. If you throw over the fence on holes #2 or #3 you can NOT retreve your disc.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of walking up and down!

12/8/2007   12/27/2007
Review By: ambroze
Played: 135  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very simple course that plays mainly on 2 sides of the park which creates a lot of walking up and down the hills back and forth. If you're looking for some exercise this is a good course. From what I remember the baskets were in good condition and the course itself is average at best.
Cons: Lot's of hills, not too challenging.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.