Disc Golf Store
Radcliff, KY 
Radcliff Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 281ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Radcliff course much elevation and OB

5+    10/10/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Radcliff is a course close to Ft. Knox. This course has lots of elevation changes, many mature trees, and many OB with which to contend. The course leads back to the parking lot after the 1st 9 and again after the 18th hole. All of the holes are guarded by mature trees with the last two holes going through a wooded area. There are anhyzer shots, hyzer shots, and straight shots.
Cons: There aren't any benches near any of the tee-pads. There may be some trash cans near some of the holes, but they are few and far between. Most of the holes are under 300 ft; you can leave your long range game at home and still come up with a good score. The tee signs can be misleading at times.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is great for beginners to test their accuracy; errant drives do not rule out a par.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, technical, course

2-4    1/23/2009   1/24/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Note: I played this course just after a light snow had melted, so it was SLOPPY, in case that inadvertently influences any of my comments.

Great facilities, and the park seems well maintained. I believe the baskets are all DGA, and in excellent condition. All Tee Pads are concrete and also in great condition. Tee signs are present on all holes and well marked.

There is great use of the rolling hills to give a nice elevation change on most holes, no boring, flat, open holes here! Also, the variation of shots is great, holes that require anhyzer as well as hyzer, or give the option for either.

A lot of the holes have many obstacles (trees), and offer very tight fairways that will require accuracy to place your shot well, which I love in a course.

My favorite holes were:
7 - Tight anhyzer alley between OB on left, and trees and dropoff on right, and slightly uphill. LHBH with a nice turnover and recovery does very nicely, and proved very rewarding for me.
11 - Another anyhyzer (or hyzer if you want) hole, again uphill and right. Perhaps I just like this type of hole, or maybe because I deuced it.
14 - Have to keep the shot in a tight right-turning fairway with trees right, and OB road left, nice challenging shot.
16 - Throw over a big bowl dropoff, to a basket on the slope of the far side, and clear trees on the way.
17 - Very narrow path through a heavily treed fairway, with a ravine that goes from side to side, creating a neat drop then rise in the fairway.
Cons: The ground REALLY retains water. I can't count how many times I almost took a mud bath. But this is likely due to how much snow had just melted. Regardless of this, wear boots, as even dry this is a little bit of a hike.

Getting from hole to hole by someone who hasn't played the course before would be a little difficult. Tee signs are the saving grace, but next tee arrows would be nice, since it is not always intuitive. Luckily I played with a few guys who has played it before, so no problem for me. Also as mentioned in some reviews before, some baskets are close together, and if you didn't know better you might end up throwing at the wrong one.

I'm not a fan of hole 2 and 3 running RIGHT next to people's yards, who are quite obviously NOT DG fans! Threw my Roc over the fence on 3. Luckily it was very close to the fence, and the MEAN sounding German Shepard was tied to a tree on the other side of the yard.

Other than the above, the only other thing I can think of as a con is that it could be hard to find the entrance to the park. There is a decent sign, but if you aren't paying attention you could drive right past it, as I almost did.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course, and the pros FAR outweigh the cons. But as it stands, i can only give 3.5 stars, since it is somewhat short, even if quite technical, and could use a few improvements.

This course also seems to be slightly biased to a LHBH or RHFH player as far as fairway turns, and perhaps that is meant to be a challenge to the majority (we RHBH throwers).

Definitely be ready for a little mild hiking, and bring your accurate shots. Oh, and be careful if you have to go fence-hopping!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/1/2009   1/1/2009
Review By: dgjunky27
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Liked the tight fairways with the mature trees.
Cons: The course layout was a little confusing for an out of towner to follow. Some holes we thought we were throwing to were the wrong ones. Need benches.
Other Thoughts: Had a good time playing a different course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    12/31/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: surge99
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice looking course. I enjoyed playing through the mature trees. Short but technical so it can be enjoyed by big and small arms. Teepads and baskets are in good shape and seem to be maintained. Nice elevation changes and ob's also add to this course.
Cons: A couple of the teepads were somewhat decieving as to which direction to throw. There was a basket both directions that was about the right distance in accordance with the tee sign. Also there were a few baskets that were extremely low to the ground, the bottom part of the basket where the disc comes to rest was literally lower than my knees. There is a little bit of a walk from hole 16 to hole 17 and was somewhat hard to find for a first time player.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really liked this course and was worth the 3 hour drive to play it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/3/2011   12/11/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 214  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a small park with big hills and lots of mature trees. It has concrete tees, signs on every hole and the baskets are in good condition. The course loops back to the parking lot after hole 9.

Most of the holes aren't very long but they make up for it in character. Every single one has good sized elevation changes on it. The park road is OB and while it's only a major feature on a few holes, it does come into play on about half of them. The road gets very little traffic and it's easy to see from the tee so it's a fairly minimal safety concern.

There's a decent shot variety here, the two holes that force turnover shots for RHBH players are tough shots with OB road on the left. There are some other holes with multiple routes to the basket and on a few of those a turnover shot is the higher percentage shot, but there are definitely options which is nice.

There are lots of trees on this course, but you're never actually in the woods at any point and there is no rough to deal with. So the only time you have to worry about losing a disc is in the fall when there are leaves all over the ground.
Cons: If you're not familiar with the layout, it can be a little tough to find hole 6 which is across the road in the corner of the park. There are a couple times where you might not be completely sure which pin you're throwing at or have a little difficulty locating the basket amongst the trees.

This course can be a real workout; on every hole you're walking up and down hills. I don't consider this a real con because it's what makes this course so unique, but it is worth mentioning for anyone not used to playing hilly courses.

There isn't a lot of space in this park so there are a few places where tees are a bit too close to baskets so watch out for errant drives.
Other Thoughts: While this course isn't a much of challenge for a more advanced golfers (SSA is about 46), newer players will enjoy the challenge this course and it's hills present. No matter who you are, it is fun course to play and this hills help to make it one of the more unique courses in the area. If you're in the area it's definitely worth stopping to play a round.

***UPDATE***
The baskets for holes 2 and 3 have both been moved to the left away from the fence. This really helps to keep the fence out of play, reduce the possibility of lost discs and keep the neighbors happy.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/10/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Radcliff course is a well designed course that is a lot of fun to play. The course is laid out over a varying terrain with lots of mature trees, appropriate size boxes for the length of the course, and signs on everyhole. There is no dense overgrowth anywhere, and the course is typically very clean and well maintained. Although there are a lot of trees, most holes offer a clearly defined path, or variety of paths to throw at the basket with a good mix of hyzer and anhyzer throws. The holes are relatively short given the small area in which the course was installed, so players with limited distance off the box like myself will enjoy the opportunity to sneak in several 2's as you play through the course.

A winding road that runs through the park plays as OB on over half of the holes on the course which may alter your decision on which path to take off of the box. Watch out for the fence along 2 and 3, it may be difficult to retreive a disc that strays OB over the fence.
Cons: Although signs are post on every hole, someone unfamiliar with the layout may have a little trouble navigating around the course due to several tees and baskets in close proximity to each other. Due to some lower elevations throughout the course, and the installation of a natural ampitheatre, roughly a year ago, there are a few areas of the course that are sloppy when it rains, mostly left of 11's fairway and through the fairway on12 and 13.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great little course, well designed, and very fun to play.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Decent mature wooded Course

1    10/19/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of large mature trees on every hole but it is not in thick woods at any point. Just nice spread out large trees. There is elevation changes on almost every hole. There are decent sized concrete pads and signs at every hole.
Cons: Most holes are in the 220-280 range with only a couple shots that require anything over a midrange. I only threw driver 4 times on the whole course and teed off with a midrange on every other whole. Many of the wholes feel the same with either being partially wooded 250 up a hill or partially wooded down a hill. You can also see other baskets close by on every tee shot. You have to make extra sure you are throwing at the correct basket. The course is very packed into a small area. You also have to through across a road a couple times.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course to play that doesn't require any long throwing and it's not real difficult. It makes good use of the samll area they had to work with. You can also play it very quickly. But if your in the area Freeman lake is a much better course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rad

2-4    10/18/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite course to date! All grass and old trees, no underbrush. Drastic terrain changes that worked to keep the course interesting and challenging. Great design and long concrete tee pads. I loved the lay-out and really enjoyed playing this course. I can't wait to play it again, maybe tomorrow.
I'll post pictures next time I play.
Cons: I had to climb a fence to retrieve a bad throw and spotted a disc on someone's roof.
We threw at the wrong basket on one hole.
Other Thoughts: I like upfromtheashes idea of playing Freeman Lake back to back with Radcliff. We were going to, but ran out of time. Next time for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Multiuse Park.

1    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful use of elevation changes in a small area as was said. Some long nice holes with just enough trees to make it challenging. Hill are abundant and big in some places. A roller will get you in to deep trouble as most of the park is in a bowl shape. Trees play a major role in this park, some test your accuracy some it takes a little luck. I enjoy palying this course. A well thought out design.
Cons: For me, 45 minute drive from Louisville. For you, several holes are right by a fence line behind homes. This would not be a problem but the owners do not understand why we want our discs back.They have No Trespassing signs everywhere and dogs to boot. If they put gates in there would be no problem, otherwise their fenses will continue to take beatings. Like yesterday when my 220 lbs butt went over one. Several holes go over park streets, watch for traffic before shooting. Several baskets are close, it was a little tricky to figure out which one to shoot at the first time. Other then that it was a lot of fun to play and I will again.
Other Thoughts: Whole lot of wooded area by 18, might be a good spot to move the holes that are in folks backyards. JMO

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Compact and hilly

5+    5/31/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My hat is off to the designer who was able to shoehorn an 18 hole course onto this plot of land. More elevation change than any other course in the area, and the course design makes good use of it. Lots of uphill/downhill play, but rarely an excessively steep angle to walk on.

Mature trees provide lots of shade, which is welcome because those hills will have you sweating!

Signs and teepads are good.
Cons: None, really, aside from the shortness of the holes as dictated by the land available.

Some people might think that this course has too many trees, but there are never so many that you just have to throw your disc and hope it gets through cleanly.
Other Thoughts: Freeman Lake is just down the road and provides a great contrast in style when you play them back to back.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.