Radcliff, KY 
Radcliff Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #3 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 KY (jelly and the state) = always smooth!

1    2/4/2010   2/5/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large concrete tees. They grip pretty well when dry but can be a little slick when wet. Either way they are necessary for this course because of the slops around the tee areas.

2) DGA signs in good shape and DGA baskets and all are in good shape.

3) Elevation is a huge factor on this course. The slopes are up and down and across, even throwing over a couple valley from one ridge to another. These make for a wonderful variety of shots. Some need to be thrown low and some need to go high in the air, and some go high in the air naturally because of the slopes. These throws all act differently and add to the challenge.

4) Wonderful mature Oak trees and other hardwoods. These trees make for a big part of the challenge of this course. There are a lot of them and there are many areas where they are grouped tightly together to force specific lines. There are no s shots through them, you need to stay inside or outside of a lot of these areas or you will be hitting one of them.

5) The combination of the trees and slopes is simply Kentucky disc golf. This setup is prevalent in many of the course I have played in Kentucky . . . and elsewhere. Armco, Lincoln Ridge, Charlie Vettiner, Fun Farm, are all very much like this course . . . and that is a good thing. I love the challenge and I love the setting of this course.

6) Cool park with only a few other activities. It is nice to have the DG course to ourselves. There is a skate park, a few swingsets, a pavillion and that is about it. There is no walking trail through the park to worry about hitting passersby. Sure there is a road, but it is only for people inside the park so you likely won't have to worry about cars very frequently.

7) This course has 2 nine hole loops which is always nice for those that want to play 9 and not have to walk all the way across the park.

8) Shot shaping is essential and you do need to be able to work the disc both directions. The front 9 has more of a hyzer focus, and the back 9 has a good variety of hyzers and anhyzers and some straight shots. Bring all your shots and you should feel fortunate if you have backhand and forehand shots in your bag!

9) Although hole distances do not vary by much, the effective distances change a lot. Most of the holes are 200-275 but those effective distances might play more like 150'-350 or 400. There is a hole over 300' in raw distance but the elevation really makes the holes play differently than their distance. This variety also allows for a lot of different disc selection which is integral to a good course in my opinion.

10) The use of the slopes by putting baskets where they are was done very well. There is enough challenge from basket placement, but nothing to unfair that a rollaway would be too devastating.

11) The fun of this course is picking your favorite lines and watching the disc sail. The downhillers are a lot of fun and although the uphillers are tough you have to pick some lines and make good upshots to get your pars.
Cons: 1) No room for runup on many holes because the level concrete pad is simply built into the hill. Starting on the teepad is you only option on some holes because of the severe slope around the teepad. It isnt a huge issue because the holes are generally not TOO long so you shouldnt need a full runup.

2) Erosion around the tees is both dangerous and disappointing. It is going to happen sure, but a better design of a little bigger area around each concrete tee would go a long way to making these stand up to the test of time and erosion would be less of an issue. One of the teepads is sloped downhill substantially. This is not only dangerous but annoying.

3) Road is in play in a few areas. I do not like the use of manmade features as OB and I think they should not be on the course. Sure I understand they needed a road, but holes could have been designed differently in my opinion.

4) Navigation is not horrible but there are a few points to be mentioned. Generally you can see the next tee from the previous basket, but the problem is tht you can see multiple tees from a handful of the baskets. Another issue is that you can easily see more than one basket from multiple holes and this can be the most confusing thing. WIthout the # plates on the DGA baskets sometimes figuring out which one is the one to throw at can be a little difficult. Finding #6 tee is tough because the sign is behind a tree and the concrete tee is not visible because it is above eye level. Hole 16 is in its own corner of the park, and #17 and 18 are also in their own corner. But at least most of this is only an issue the first time you play. A few directionals would be helpful in the trickiest of spots like 5-6 and 16-17.

5) I know I played this course after it had recently received some significant snow. It had mostly melted but many spots still had some snow on the ground. That isnt surprising because the slope doesnt all get sunlight and the trees are dense enough to shade the snowy areas even in wnter. This seems like it would be slick and muddy during the winter, and also after any rains. In the woods the turf isnt the best and the soil is visible and bare in many spots. This could lead to slippery and slick muddy areas. Just something worth mentioning.

6) Not very beginner friendly because of the slopes and the density of the trees. There would be some serious frustrations I am sure.

7) Only 1 or maybe 2 garbages on the course and no benches. Walking those hills would leave me wanting a bench from time to time.
Other Thoughts: I was very disappointed in my score on this course because I was struggling with my drives. I had recently figured out a technique that added like 30-50' to my average drive. I had been grabbing the disc (with my left hand) before starting my pull through, thus inhibiting the full pull back. I figured it out just a few weeks before, but apparently reverted to that grabbing of the disc. I really think if my drive was on I could have been around par or slightly better. I simply hit too many trees and missed too many lines. I did not let this affect my review or my rating. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and the challenge is presented. I would play this cours every day and I can guarantee that playing this course over and over could easily drop a handful of strokes from anyones game. There simply are intangibles you need to learn about this course and each drive you are faced with. The factors of the slope and the altitude that the disc flies play a major role in the challenge. All in all this is just Kentucky disc golf. It isn't the finest course I have played in KY but it is just what I view as KY DG. Hills, woodes, ridges, and valleys. It is just unique land that other states would be jealous of!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Radcliff course much elevation and OB

5+    10/10/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Radcliff is a course close to Ft. Knox. This course has lots of elevation changes, many mature trees, and many OB with which to contend. The course leads back to the parking lot after the 1st 9 and again after the 18th hole. All of the holes are guarded by mature trees with the last two holes going through a wooded area. There are anhyzer shots, hyzer shots, and straight shots.
Cons: There aren't any benches near any of the tee-pads. There may be some trash cans near some of the holes, but they are few and far between. Most of the holes are under 300 ft; you can leave your long range game at home and still come up with a good score. The tee signs can be misleading at times.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is great for beginners to test their accuracy; errant drives do not rule out a par.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, technical, course

2-4    1/23/2009   1/24/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Note: I played this course just after a light snow had melted, so it was SLOPPY, in case that inadvertently influences any of my comments.

Great facilities, and the park seems well maintained. I believe the baskets are all DGA, and in excellent condition. All Tee Pads are concrete and also in great condition. Tee signs are present on all holes and well marked.

There is great use of the rolling hills to give a nice elevation change on most holes, no boring, flat, open holes here! Also, the variation of shots is great, holes that require anhyzer as well as hyzer, or give the option for either.

A lot of the holes have many obstacles (trees), and offer very tight fairways that will require accuracy to place your shot well, which I love in a course.

My favorite holes were:
7 - Tight anhyzer alley between OB on left, and trees and dropoff on right, and slightly uphill. LHBH with a nice turnover and recovery does very nicely, and proved very rewarding for me.
11 - Another anyhyzer (or hyzer if you want) hole, again uphill and right. Perhaps I just like this type of hole, or maybe because I deuced it.
14 - Have to keep the shot in a tight right-turning fairway with trees right, and OB road left, nice challenging shot.
16 - Throw over a big bowl dropoff, to a basket on the slope of the far side, and clear trees on the way.
17 - Very narrow path through a heavily treed fairway, with a ravine that goes from side to side, creating a neat drop then rise in the fairway.
Cons: The ground REALLY retains water. I can't count how many times I almost took a mud bath. But this is likely due to how much snow had just melted. Regardless of this, wear boots, as even dry this is a little bit of a hike.

Getting from hole to hole by someone who hasn't played the course before would be a little difficult. Tee signs are the saving grace, but next tee arrows would be nice, since it is not always intuitive. Luckily I played with a few guys who has played it before, so no problem for me. Also as mentioned in some reviews before, some baskets are close together, and if you didn't know better you might end up throwing at the wrong one.

I'm not a fan of hole 2 and 3 running RIGHT next to people's yards, who are quite obviously NOT DG fans! Threw my Roc over the fence on 3. Luckily it was very close to the fence, and the MEAN sounding German Shepard was tied to a tree on the other side of the yard.

Other than the above, the only other thing I can think of as a con is that it could be hard to find the entrance to the park. There is a decent sign, but if you aren't paying attention you could drive right past it, as I almost did.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course, and the pros FAR outweigh the cons. But as it stands, i can only give 3.5 stars, since it is somewhat short, even if quite technical, and could use a few improvements.

This course also seems to be slightly biased to a LHBH or RHFH player as far as fairway turns, and perhaps that is meant to be a challenge to the majority (we RHBH throwers).

Definitely be ready for a little mild hiking, and bring your accurate shots. Oh, and be careful if you have to go fence-hopping!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/1/2009   1/1/2009
Review By: dgjunky27
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Liked the tight fairways with the mature trees.
Cons: The course layout was a little confusing for an out of towner to follow. Some holes we thought we were throwing to were the wrong ones. Need benches.
Other Thoughts: Had a good time playing a different course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    12/31/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: surge99
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice looking course. I enjoyed playing through the mature trees. Short but technical so it can be enjoyed by big and small arms. Teepads and baskets are in good shape and seem to be maintained. Nice elevation changes and ob's also add to this course.
Cons: A couple of the teepads were somewhat decieving as to which direction to throw. There was a basket both directions that was about the right distance in accordance with the tee sign. Also there were a few baskets that were extremely low to the ground, the bottom part of the basket where the disc comes to rest was literally lower than my knees. There is a little bit of a walk from hole 16 to hole 17 and was somewhat hard to find for a first time player.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really liked this course and was worth the 3 hour drive to play it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/3/2011   12/11/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a small park with big hills and lots of mature trees. It has concrete tees, signs on every hole and the baskets are in good condition. The course loops back to the parking lot after hole 9.

Most of the holes aren't very long but they make up for it in character. Every single one has good sized elevation changes on it. The park road is OB and while it's only a major feature on a few holes, it does come into play on about half of them. The road gets very little traffic and it's easy to see from the tee so it's a fairly minimal safety concern.

There's a decent shot variety here, the two holes that force turnover shots for RHBH players are tough shots with OB road on the left. There are some other holes with multiple routes to the basket and on a few of those a turnover shot is the higher percentage shot, but there are definitely options which is nice.

There are lots of trees on this course, but you're never actually in the woods at any point and there is no rough to deal with. So the only time you have to worry about losing a disc is in the fall when there are leaves all over the ground.
Cons: If you're not familiar with the layout, it can be a little tough to find hole 6 which is across the road in the corner of the park. There are a couple times where you might not be completely sure which pin you're throwing at or have a little difficulty locating the basket amongst the trees.

This course can be a real workout; on every hole you're walking up and down hills. I don't consider this a real con because it's what makes this course so unique, but it is worth mentioning for anyone not used to playing hilly courses.

There isn't a lot of space in this park so there are a few places where tees are a bit too close to baskets so watch out for errant drives.
Other Thoughts: While this course isn't a much of challenge for a more advanced golfers (SSA is about 46), newer players will enjoy the challenge this course and it's hills present. No matter who you are, it is fun course to play and this hills help to make it one of the more unique courses in the area. If you're in the area it's definitely worth stopping to play a round.

***UPDATE***
The baskets for holes 2 and 3 have both been moved to the left away from the fence. This really helps to keep the fence out of play, reduce the possibility of lost discs and keep the neighbors happy.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/10/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Radcliff course is a well designed course that is a lot of fun to play. The course is laid out over a varying terrain with lots of mature trees, appropriate size boxes for the length of the course, and signs on everyhole. There is no dense overgrowth anywhere, and the course is typically very clean and well maintained. Although there are a lot of trees, most holes offer a clearly defined path, or variety of paths to throw at the basket with a good mix of hyzer and anhyzer throws. The holes are relatively short given the small area in which the course was installed, so players with limited distance off the box like myself will enjoy the opportunity to sneak in several 2's as you play through the course.

A winding road that runs through the park plays as OB on over half of the holes on the course which may alter your decision on which path to take off of the box. Watch out for the fence along 2 and 3, it may be difficult to retreive a disc that strays OB over the fence.
Cons: Although signs are post on every hole, someone unfamiliar with the layout may have a little trouble navigating around the course due to several tees and baskets in close proximity to each other. Due to some lower elevations throughout the course, and the installation of a natural ampitheatre, roughly a year ago, there are a few areas of the course that are sloppy when it rains, mostly left of 11's fairway and through the fairway on12 and 13.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great little course, well designed, and very fun to play.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Decent mature wooded Course

1    10/19/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of large mature trees on every hole but it is not in thick woods at any point. Just nice spread out large trees. There is elevation changes on almost every hole. There are decent sized concrete pads and signs at every hole.
Cons: Most holes are in the 220-280 range with only a couple shots that require anything over a midrange. I only threw driver 4 times on the whole course and teed off with a midrange on every other whole. Many of the wholes feel the same with either being partially wooded 250 up a hill or partially wooded down a hill. You can also see other baskets close by on every tee shot. You have to make extra sure you are throwing at the correct basket. The course is very packed into a small area. You also have to through across a road a couple times.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course to play that doesn't require any long throwing and it's not real difficult. It makes good use of the samll area they had to work with. You can also play it very quickly. But if your in the area Freeman lake is a much better course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rad

2-4    10/18/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite course to date! All grass and old trees, no underbrush. Drastic terrain changes that worked to keep the course interesting and challenging. Great design and long concrete tee pads. I loved the lay-out and really enjoyed playing this course. I can't wait to play it again, maybe tomorrow.
I'll post pictures next time I play.
Cons: I had to climb a fence to retrieve a bad throw and spotted a disc on someone's roof.
We threw at the wrong basket on one hole.
Other Thoughts: I like upfromtheashes idea of playing Freeman Lake back to back with Radcliff. We were going to, but ran out of time. Next time for sure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Multiuse Park.

1    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful use of elevation changes in a small area as was said. Some long nice holes with just enough trees to make it challenging. Hill are abundant and big in some places. A roller will get you in to deep trouble as most of the park is in a bowl shape. Trees play a major role in this park, some test your accuracy some it takes a little luck. I enjoy palying this course. A well thought out design.
Cons: For me, 45 minute drive from Louisville. For you, several holes are right by a fence line behind homes. This would not be a problem but the owners do not understand why we want our discs back.They have No Trespassing signs everywhere and dogs to boot. If they put gates in there would be no problem, otherwise their fenses will continue to take beatings. Like yesterday when my 220 lbs butt went over one. Several holes go over park streets, watch for traffic before shooting. Several baskets are close, it was a little tricky to figure out which one to shoot at the first time. Other then that it was a lot of fun to play and I will again.
Other Thoughts: Whole lot of wooded area by 18, might be a good spot to move the holes that are in folks backyards. JMO

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.