Disc Golf Store
Loudonville, OH 
Rainbow Springs Camp Share
Uploaded By: JoseCafe704 Hole #16 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 292ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Potential

1    1/7/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: bassgod9
Played: 177  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: Elevation changes
A few lengthy holes
Hole 14 in particular is fun to unload your bag on
Easy to follow
Cons: Baskets are very close to the next tee box
Baskets are rather old, slim and with one row of chains
Other Thoughts: WINTER CLOSURE:
If you head up in the winter months, be sure to call ahead and get permission. The camp ground is closed during this time, and technically, the course is, too. A couple friendly guys with shotguns made it over our way on a golf cart to inquire how we got in. They were fine with letting us finish but requested we call for all future rounds. Here is the number: (419) 994-5095 Also, in the winter, bring exact change - $3.00

Some fun holes here with some easy opportunities for great holes. The potential island shot as well as incorporating some of the woods/giant boulders into play would really help lift this course out of the average category. Worth a stop if you're in the area.

 

1    9/10/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This DGC hasn't changed much over the years and still to this day the DGC is challenging enough even for a more experienced player like me.

I really liked # 8, this hole will fool ya, it looks longer than it is, plays around a barn, a small pond, and the basket is under an oak tree behind a bush. I also liked # 12, narrow fairway with trouble on both sides <more on the right side> with the basket on a slight slope that drains downward if your shooting at the basketif you miss <I didn't> and I also like # 14. This is probally their signature hole. It's a 600' plus bomb downhill. Ya throw over a newer small grove of pines and then its downhill all the way baby <still an easy 3, but its a fun hole to crank it out>. I also liked #15, for a RHBH player this hole is easier than for me as I had to throw a anhyzer through a small gap over a pile of logs.

Camping available (either seasonal or nightly, no reservation needed)
Cons: grass tees

old mach 1 baskets

some teeing areas are to close to baskets.

Other Thoughts: Wish they use the island in some capicity, but understand the liability issues that would come with it. cost $ 3.00 to play (all day for non campers??) Which isn't that much considering the hosts are keeping the DGC in good shape.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great workout as most of the course is up and down hillsides for the back nine. Tees signs and cages are painted a aqua green like color, making them easy to spot all along the course. Open fairways throughout the entire course allow you to definitely grip and rip most of your drives. Great views of the surrounding area.
Cons: Not sure what brand of cage is used on this course, but they are definitely worse for wear. Single layer chains force the player to be spot on with putts, or the disc will more than likely skirt right past. The tee signs also lack info and seem to be a bit off with distance and par on a few holes. There are no tee pads.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a great course. With a pay to play course though, I would expect a bit more maintenance, even if only routine. There's an island on a small pond between 7 and 8 that would make for a great water hazard hole (which, by the way, doesn't exist at #5 as stated in Hole Info).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Open Course

1    9/4/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: agapedad
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of length of holes, including the 628 foot hole 14.
-Great elevation changes starting at hole 8.
-Open layout makes it great to take beginners to.
-Friendly people in office and campground.
-Well maintained course.
Cons: -Tee signs only had length
-No defined spot to tee off (wasn't really a problem though)
-Not a lot of technical shots necessary (except the approach on 5)
-No indicator of where next tee is.
-Handmade map was sometimes misleading.
-Single layer of chains on baskets beginning to rust
Other Thoughts: Grass has obviously been mowed since the last reviewer played there - didn't ever have to look long for any discs.
Remember that 12 is tucked back in the alley, and 13 is an anhyzer shot around the trees- other than that, most of the basket locations were obvious.
The picture of 14 is misleading - it is a huge drop down hill for the 628 feet.
$6 and my 11 year old and I had a blast!

Oh yeah - don't pull out a straight mid-range to finish out 6 and hope it turns, and pray when it doesn't that a car doesn't run over it on Rte 3!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course Adverse Coniditions

1    6/20/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, nice tee signs with distance and par. Course Map available at office, along with a multitute of disc golf stories. Easy to find with stunning views of the Mohican Valley all around. Good flow to the course - very intuative.
Cons: No throwing pads. The basket are nice but with only one layer of chains, I had two putts go right through them. I played during and after a pretty strong storm, and so had some serious wind issues. Every once in a while you would get a wind gust full of the smell of manure. Some holes play awfully near occupied campsites, # 10 in particular.
Other Thoughts: Definite theme going on here - wide open drive to a guarded tee position. Signature holes possibly # 12 - up and over 2 small hills into a wooded alley, or # 14 a lloonngg downhill into a row of pines. Acouple other holes on the back nine had interesting shoot-the-gap aspects to them. I'm sure it was just the storm, but some times my disc would gain a life of its own, catching the wind and going wildly astray on a drive, or floating up-up-and-away on a simple putt. All in all a fun experience

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very friendly people. Great for Long drives . The back 9 is pretty much up and down every other hole. There are tee signs with par and distance. Pretty much a grip and rip type course.
Cons: Who pays to play ? Well i did . It was worth it. The front was very easy and uneventful. Hole 3 plays way to close to State RT 3. Lots of bugs.
Other Thoughts: Could be a gem in the middle of nowhere if multiple tee pads were added. The grass and fields seem to be well maintained. There are ditches and culverts that run the fields which could provide water hazards at any given time

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.