Disc Golf Store
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 
Ralph M. Lewis Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 3/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great practice spot

1    1/18/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
Pros: The baskets are set in a grassy bowl with some scattered bushes and trees around the area. You can play from concrete teeing areas at either end, or just throw from pin to pin for tons of different shot options. Some of the baskets are on side hills offering uphill and downhill putting opportunities and a chance to practice sticking upshots on trickier greens. There are various distances between the pins, so you can work on anything from upshots to longer drives in this area.
Cons: There are no obstacles to any of the shots offered here, so it's not a great place to work on specific line shaping or hitting gaps. The area seems to get used for dog walking and picnics, so it might not always be usable or you might not be able to use some of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Beginners and more experienced players can all find uses for this practice area. It's well laid out to use the space and offer as many different kinds of shots as possible in a wide open area. If I had something like this near my house I would use it all the time, but don't travel to it expecting a full disc golf course.

 Great For Practice

5+    12/20/2011   1/17/2012
Review By: scrowl92
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: -great for practice
-can build your own course in a way by simply choosing which basket to play towards
-park is well kept with very nice green grass
-innova discatcher baskets
Cons: -only one physical tee pad on west side of "course"
-its a regular public park area that is sometimes used by sports teams or people with dogs and they can get in the way
-no trees or obstacles that add a challenge. its simply an open field
Other Thoughts: mostly great for practice or playing a simple pick up game with your buddies.

 Nice Pitch and Putt

2-4    6/21/2010   1/1/2011
Review By: Tomveeh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros: -Small course with no crowds.
-Get place to practice your short game.

Nice 7 hole course with open area to practice your game. There is a big field that is usually empty to throw drives. The
Cons: -No signs
-No trees or obstacles

There is no course map or tee pads, but a good place to just throw around and work on your game or try new disc

 

2-4    8/1/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: p4warrior
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
Pros: -Usually empty

-Only practice course in the area

-Good opportunity for safari golf, plenty of lines you can create yourself

-Room to air out the driver

-Free
Cons: -Could have been a 9-holer with more careful planning in the design phase of this park

-Very few obstacles, pretty much just an open field, though some of the tees are on slopes or near the edges of the park
Other Thoughts: I live about 5 minutes from this park, and hit it up constantly for a DG fix before / after work. Yeah, it's kind of a bummer that with our lack of DG courses in the area this wasn't planned as a 9 holer from the start. There's really no way to convert it to a full course at this point aside from expanding the park and planting some trees, so I'm not holding out hope.

All the same, great practice course for those who live in the area.

 

1    3/27/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice DISCatcher baskets
-Fantastic facility for zeroing in on strategy and practicing
-Instructions listed at large circle
-Endless safari options, as that is kind of the point here
Cons: -Not a course
-Not DG exclusive
-Parking lot was very busy
Other Thoughts: OK first off, I rated this course for what it is. It advertises itself to be a practice facility, not a course; and as the only practice facility in all of Southern California, I rated it as 'good' because its just that, 'good.'

This is a large grass field surrounded on 3 sides by about 15 foot tall, lightly wooded hills. Most of the pins rest on these hills, and a few are on the flat area. All pins are obtainable from the large, circular driving platform, and some are far enough to require a driver.

At the opposite end of the park, near the more distant pins, there is what we presumed to be another 'normal sized' tee pad near the base of the stairs. This was great for driving back to the pins closer to the front of the park.

While the pins are numbered, there are no holes. You pick wherever you want to play from, to whatever basket. That's it! With the area's lack of exclusivity, this worked out great as we were able to snake our way around other park goers without thinking we were missing out on any particular lines.

Others have suggested a 9 hole course setup here, but the fact of the matter is, is that there is not enough room for that. It would be too cramped, and without any DG exclusivity, it would be impossible to play. Being a practice course, you play until you are done playing.

I actually really liked this facility and wish they were all over the place. I mean, it is designed for you to empty your bag on the same shot. You are never in anybodies way, you can relax, and you are practicing with REAL pins in a public area. Residents of Rancho Cucamonga have a great opportunity to hone in on their throws here before going to any of their 18 hole courses, all of which require a fee. I would be proud to have this if I lived in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A double bogey at Ralph M. Lewis Park

2-4    11/23/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: rnrmurse
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park, nice baskets.
Cons: This is the best the I.E. has to offer?!? 6 baskets. Would be cooler if there were more tee areas to make this into a short course. Usually half the area is taken up by some jack-hole with his girl soccer team. Kinda creepy...full grown man coaching an all teen girl soccer team...(*shiver*)
Other Thoughts: Half decent practice area. I came up with my own 9 basket course using landmarks around the area and repeating 3 baskets to make a full 9.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 PRACTICE COURSE

1    8/12/2008   8/21/2009
Review By: dj cabron
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful California Weather!!! I miss this place! Tried it out while I was on vacation there last summer. It was quite hot, but I enjoyed thoroughly to practice my drives, mids and putting. It was good just to get out and have this empty open area to practice in. Back in New England, we don't really have any places like this, so it was a treat.
Cons: It is, just like the title says, only a PRACTICE COURSE. It is large enough to get your drives in shape and all that, but to consider any type of real game is near impossible. Just one big concrete section by the entrance. I didn't happen to notice the tee pads that others have said are there, that must be a new addition, or maybe I personally did not venture too far away to find them. In the hot CA sun, you'll be looking for a bit of shade to cool off, not much to be found on the practice course. Bring Water!
Other Thoughts: All in all, it is a sweet little place to throw your discs around and work out your game. I would recommend to anyone to try out and especially to bring a beginner or kids to start off with and get used to throwing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 practice

1    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: open area, good baskets, baskets on slopes, good for practicing midrange and approach shots, can make up your own course, free
Cons: not a course(some people wouldnt want to make it up as they go), dogs like firsbees
Other Thoughts: the one tee was the giant cement circle and across the grass by the giant stairs was a small cement tee.

you can probably make this a decent course by standing at different locactions on the park to make up a course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for practice

2-4    2/20/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: victorvillesports
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's designed as a practice course. There is one cement area which acts as the tee box for all 6 holes. There is a very nice playground attached, so bring the kids. Great beginner "course." Not crowded. Good area of town.
Cons: No tee boxes for normal play. Just 6 holes. Numbers are gone.
Other Thoughts: You can bring you whole bag and treat this like a driving range

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Huge Putting Green

1    4/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: julrich
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park, green grass, no worries about hitting people, and very open shooting.
Cons: This is not a course that has tee pads, instructions to any specific hole, or any organization.
Other Thoughts: It is open grass area with 6 chains put in different areas. This is more of a area for practice shots. Long enough for long driving between 2 of the 6 pins, and everything else is mid-range.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.