Eugene, OR 
Westmoreland DGC Share
Uploaded By: dg_hudlow Hole #4
3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    4/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: soulsuit
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short, par-3 course that's great for beginners or people who want to work on their short game. Nice, roomy, concrete teepads and baskets with varied pin locations. Everything is well marked and signage seems to be pretty accurate.
Cons: During the off-season it becomes very marshy. The course also isn't manicured very well or often so when the nice weather rolls in, grass lengths can be up to 4 feet in some areas which makes it difficult to locate discs. This does tend to improve as the season goes on.

There is an ever-increasing number of players in the area and it's reflected by large wait-times at the course. Often times there is a 5-10 minute wait in between drives during peak times.
Other Thoughts: Because it's a beginner-friendly course, many players are unaware of common etiquette. I've had a couple discs picked up and stolen literally in front of my eyes. The most recent time I played here I was struck on the top of the head with a distance driver with no warning.

Also, because trees are fairly sparse it gets moderately windy a lot of the time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent city park course

5+    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: DiscAddict22
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is manicured well, good use of trees and elevation change making it a fun quick course. Every hole has a sign that is fairly accurate, and every tee is easy to find from the next basket.
Cons: The wind can become a big factor on this course, especially 3 through 7. Gets very muddy after a rain or in the winter. Can get very backed up on weekends as its only 9 holes. Most holes are pretty short, (but nothing too short)
Other Thoughts: For a city park this course was well designed. A fun course to get some short game practice, since most holes are less than 250.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginners course

5+    8/16/2010   1/17/2011
Review By: ScottyZ
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes with trees placed strategically to keep them from being total ace runs. Fun 9 hole course and enjoyable bunch of locals. I think that #4 is the only "long" hole, but has a wide, open fairway. I played this course a few times each day that I played here and my worst score was +2. At the time I had only been playing for 8 months.
Cons: It gets a bit muddy after rain and very busy in the afternoons. If you want to throw long, this is not the course for you. I threw mostly midranges and putters from the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This course is enjoyable if you are in Eugene and want to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Homeless Guys Play Too

5+    8/1/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Ghetto B
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is Very open, Not as many trees as most OR, DGC's. SUPER SUPER friendly Local Crew. Eugene Bomb Squad!!
Cons: They dont call it Westmoreland WINDS for nothing. It's not un common to have a mild breeze that shifts direction on every hole. But im from Wyoming and this really was'nt an issue.
Other Thoughts: I spent 20 days in Eugene and played 2 or 3 times a day at this course. It became home quick. I love the locals. the homeless guys are alot of fun. They will hang on to a lost disc for months to give it back to ya. Plus they all play, and play well! Go play this course!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/15/2009   2/27/2010
Review By: Bobby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are a lot of open shots. If you go early in the morning before class there are not very many people around and you can get through two or three rounds fairly quickly. Good course to get your confidence up.
Cons: muddy during the rainy season. It can get to be easy after playing it a few times.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Duck and cover

1    8/18/2005   1/31/2010
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice park setting, easy to follow course. Great for beginners.
Cons: Locals are mostly "throw and go", with little or no "golf etiquette". No fore warnings and no waiting for you to clear the green either. Safari players are equally as dangerous. Really distracts from the potential fun level.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lazy September Afternoon

1    9/24/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 55  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out for the space provided. Multiple pin locations. Concrete tee pads with a black rubber pad extension at the front for your follow through. Professional signage. Practice basket. A well landscaped park that includes small rolling hills. Friendly locals.
Cons: Baskets are pretty old and at least one has been abused and repaired, maybe multiple times. There is suppose to be a restroom in the park. Couldn't find it. Not a good situation. I even asked a local resident.
Other Thoughts: I stopped in Eugene on other business and decided to check this course out. This is a typical city park with a 9 basket short course. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course, but if I was a local this is the only game in the city. I could see myself playing here at least once a week if my location was near. Dexter is 17 miles away outside the city.
No matter what others say this course fills a need and by the number of people playing it everyday it fills it very well. It really is shame that Eugene only has 2 courses in the local area. This is a busy course; walkers, bikers, school kids, and of course disc golfers. Safari is also played here, don't be surprised if the group behind you starts throwing from the previous tee to the basket you just threw your drive on.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 will ease your DG pain for awhile

5+    9/9/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course is the baskets are changed quite often, which makes for somewhat of a challenge. Other than that it is just your typical 9 hole course
Going in the morning is the best thing about this course because there is literally no one there.
Cons: Extremely busy if you don't play in the morning, and their are some locals who believe to know everything so watch out for them. That being said there are also some really awesome locals with tips and fun to chat with
Muddy sometimes..
no bathrooms
walking paths all through course
Other Thoughts: there are only 2 holes above 300 so the "experienced" player won't need more than a buzz/roc on almost all the holes.

Overall it is a nice little course to get your disc golf fix if you need it. But if you come in the afternoon onwards it will be very busy and will take you well over an hour to play just 9 holes..

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: hevyevie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course to begin on. Very open and hard to lose a disc. Friendly locals. Easy to navigate. Centrally located. And most of all fairly clean.
Cons: Almost too easy of a course. Hardly any challenges. No water, no elevation changes, and few trees. Course was crowded in the afternoon. Only 9 holes to choose from, and pedestrians seem to be oblivious to the fact that they're in a fairway. Not a scenic course either.
Other Thoughts: Good course to practice on. Wouldn't want to partake in a tourney here. Good to go out and throw a few discs at a basket but that's about it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Place to Learn

5+    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: ismic1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Centrally located and easy to get to, good place for beginners as the holes are short and straight forward, almost no chance of losing discs
Cons: very uninteresting holes, crowded in summer, only nine holes, muddy in winter and even in places in the summer, tee box info is unclear
Other Thoughts: this is a pretty unremarkable course, but does have advantages for someone learning how to play or just looking for recreation

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.