Eugene, OR 
Westmoreland DGC Share
Uploaded By: dg_hudlow Hole #7
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Basket in the long position.



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Eugene Disc Golf

2-4    5/5/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Teepads are fine
-Tee signs work
-Multiple pin positions
-Well taken care of city park
Cons: -Extremely muddy
-Crowded
-Not much variety
-Only 9 holes
-Bathrooms?
Other Thoughts: Situated in a beautiful city park in the middle of Eugene. The flow of the course is awesome. Hole one you throw straight through a row of trees with the basket sitting right between the last row. The course is actually set up really well with the land that it uses. It can get a tad bit busy being the only course in city limits. Matter of fact there was a wait time at every tee when I played. It was fine I enjoyed the company I had so I was in no rush. There are multiple pin locations. All were in position A when I played. I will definitely play this course again in the summer.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Feel Good Course

5+    8/19/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Discorilla
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, open fairways
Easy holes that make for a "feel good" score
All but one basket is visible from the tee
Good easy course to play glow golf
Cons: Too many people on nice days
Alot of bums!
Open field shots make for a hard game in the wind
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my house making it my home course. It is a perfect practice course to work on your game and test new discs. parking is easy and its close to stores. It can get packed and there may be bums, but normally everybody is really chill and i meet a new friend every time!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Training grounds

5+    8/16/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: adiscted
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Wide open holes
-Chance of losing discs as minimal as possible
-Close to stores
-Not many garbage cans, however, you can toss recyclables by the tee posts and the bum brigade does collection nightly
Cons: -Crowded on nice days
-Large groups are a regular sight
-Wait times can be pretty bad
-Shared park with a walking path through it
-Non-golfers don't seem to realize where not to chill
-Bums bums bums!
-The bums aren't as bad as the tweakers
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I play it all the time. As much as I love this course, there's plenty of trash to talk about it. Yes, pedestrians and non-golfers can pose an issue, but it's not really out of control, they just make you wait an extra minute or so for them to get out of the way. This course is like a training ground for me. There aren't really any technical shots or long holes, just 8 wide open drives and one tree-tunnel fairway. I love this course, I just wish I didn't get asked for change, lighter, drinks, etc. Every time I showed up

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Muddy but Fun!

1    4/14/2013   4/20/2013
Review By: discomatic
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Quick, good course
- Close to town
- Hard to lose a disc
- All par 3's have Hin1 potential
- Great for novices
Cons: - Mud
- Poor maintenance on tee boxes
- No outdoor restrooms
- Might boor advanced players
Other Thoughts: - Wear boots /clothes you don't care about
- The Boys/Girls club will let you use their restrooms, in a pinch

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chip and Putt

5+    11/10/2012   2/8/2013
Review By: Corvallischarlie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy, fun and plenty of free parking
Good for practicing fairway drives and putting.
Easy to get on, not crowded
Good for beginners
Cons: Conflicts with runners sometimes
short distances
not very challenging holes
hard to find that private place to get out of the way of others

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nice for a quick game

5+    5/12/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: Buffettlife
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Baskets are in good shape. Close (Eugene & Springfield). Nice open short course (great for beginners). Can be played relatively quickly (if you go early).
Cons: Very poor conditions when wet (Nov-May). Some holes become unplayable. Can get crowded in the afternoon/evenings when the weather's nice. May find a few homeless folks sleeping under trees if you get their before 9 am. Never had any beef, just hate to wake someone up when their sleeping. May not be challenging enough for advanced players (I wouldn't know).
Other Thoughts: I'm a novice, so I still find this course fun. It's downtown, so I can get there quick and play 9 holes in 35-45 minutes. I often play twice. If you don't mind getting there in the morning, it's rare to have to wait for anyone. Afternoon or evening when the weather's good can sometimes cause a line up, but most everyone is friendly so it's not bad.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Westmoreland Park is in Eugene

5+    8/30/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Centrally located in Eugene
-Concrete tee pads
-Tee signs
-Good baskets
-Practice basket
Cons:
-Short
-Overcrowded
-Plays at and around bike/walking path and road
-Very poor drainage in Winter
Other Thoughts:
Westmoreland is the only disc golf course in the City of Eugene. It is well loved and has been since 1988. Unfortunately the park is so small that a re-design to keep up with modern players and equipment is not possible. All of the holes are short and there are not enough design elements in the park to make the course all that interesting. It is truly a pitch and putt course and a great place to practice your short game. Poor drainage over a large part of the course make it very unpleasant in rainy periods, some teepads actually under water, and a LOT of mud.

Because of the lack of courses in Eugene and the beginner friendly nature of this course it suffers from overcrowding and overuse. The course plays at, along and over a walking jogging path, and a sidewalk and busy road are also in danger of being in play. With both of these things being said it's pretty amazing that there aren't more conflicts and dangerous situations. For the most part, common sense and safety prevail. Westmoreland is sort of stuck in the past and a little over-loved. Not a destination course, but good for beginners looking for a course in town.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/27/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: plastic cannon
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, trying new shots, cool locals, great CTP course.
Cons: short. theres not a hole on this course over 420ft. it can get pretty swampy as well. on nice days expect to wait in line for a little while.
Other Thoughts: all in all this is a great little course thats well maintained. I play here almost everyday, and love it. its not the most challenging course ever, but if you need your disc golf fix, its not far from home.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and putt

1    6/16/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great course for working the short game
- Open, but the few obstacles on the course make it mildly challenging
- Warm-up basket before the 1st tee
Cons: - Very short, with little variety in holes
- Extremely crowded. I played on a Thursday afternoon and there were close to 20 people queueing at the beginning of the course.
- People don't seem to respect the rule of "don't drive when somebody else is playing the hole"
Other Thoughts: Small pitch-and-putt course. Drivers are completely unnecessary; bring your midrange and putters and work on the short game. I would also recommend trying to play at off-peak hours, unless you're okay with crowds.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

1    7/7/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Westmoreland is a course designed for newer players in mind at least that is what it has become. Originally put in the ground in 1988, I can image this course was a little harder throwing Aviars and XD's unfortunately disc technology has made this course closer to a pitch and putt. Still there is some fun little throws and no glaring design flaws holding it back too much. The course plays around an open field closer to the trees and has some entertaining shots. Hole one is an easy yet fun tunnel shot with a giant road sign style mandatory sign, pretty funny actually. This is also one of the only courses that has a practice basket and the around nine game metal plate on the top and several standing areas for the game, very neat! Also there are multiple pins that mix it up for frequent players.
Cons: No major flaws other than being short and not challenging. I did have a major problem with all of the garbage and vandalism found all over the course, it just looks as though there isn't a local club looking after it very well or at all. Holes six and seven has uneven tee pads, six was slanting uphill and seven was slanting downhill.
Other Thoughts: I was playing at about noon on a Thursday and the course was already packed with people, kind of crazy, can't imagine what a beautiful Summer Saturday would look like! This isn't a must play and is actually pretty vanilla but it is a short course perfect for travelers looking to stretch theirs legs or course baggers like myself as you can get a fairly quick nine that isn't too bad.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.