Disc Golf Store
Oshkosh, WI 
Red Arrow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 140ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: kscannon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Other Thoughts: This course is under construction and looks to be in the process of getting new signs, tee pads, and baskets. The brook was dredged and the city hasnt taken over the site from the construction company yet, stupid reason for the course not being completed is the construction company needs to mow once

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Worth it

2-4    8/23/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Basket's are OK. And it is a disc golf course. Great place to introduce someone to the sport. . That's about it. .
Cons: Very poor design, and very difficult to navigate without some help. No holes hold a challenge for experienced disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area and want to play... go drive to another park that is worth it if you can. Cuz this course probably won't do it for you.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wouldn't travel further than a mile to play this

1    8/18/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: jeepluvr81
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's close to home.
-You can throw from the top of a large hill (known as garbage hill due to it being an old garbage dump) to practice your distance shots.
Cons: -CONFUSING. There seems to be no order to the first 6 holes or so. Most of the time there was trying to figure out where the next tee was, or the next basket. Had to skip several holes due to not knowing where they were or which was next.
No map layout that I saw.
The tee is more or less a 15 inch wide rut in the ground. Sometimes it had a marker to signify that is where the tee was.
Other Thoughts: At the end of this course, I didn't feel like I had any fun. The reason I disc is to enjoy myself, and I didn't with this course. If you can walk or ride bike to this course, then it might be worth it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Red Arrow DG

1    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 29  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) uses woods and elevation well
2) water comes into play slightly
3) decent variation of distances
Cons: 1) very hard to find tee pads if you haven't been there before..i missed hole 7 and couldnt even find pads for 15 and 16
2) can be very muddy in the wooded section
3) tee pads are very poor and when it rains they pool water
4) hard to tell what basket to throw at sometimes
Other Thoughts: overall its a pretty decent park but, unless im very near by to it i dont plan on going there again. if you are looking for DG in the oshkosh area the Winnebago County Park is a far better and upkept course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/4/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: thecoyotekitchen
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has baskets.
Cons: Short. Very short. So short, you think your playing to wrong hole most of the time.
Trash.
Bottles.
Disc Poachers.
Missing baskets.
Confusing layout.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy hitting up pitch n putt courses every once in a while, and I'm always glad to see disc golf being introduced to the public... However, I was not very fond of this place, at all. Won't go back and I won't recommend it for anybody else.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not That Bad

2-4    10/7/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: suprnva
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different hole types. Lots of chances to get an ace.
Cons: Tee boxes are crap. Hard to navigate if you've never been there before. Some holes are a little too short.
Other Thoughts: Red Arrow is the closest course to me so I've started playing it over the last couple weeks. My first time out I lost a disc on the 3rd hole and got pissed and left. lol. I've been back twice and played it through it twice today. So, after a total of 3 1/6 rounds (lol) I can say that the course isn't that bad at all. Yeah, it has it's downfalls, but it could be much worse that in really is. I'm actually thinking about getting together with some people I know that might be willing to donate some money and get some nice tee boxes and signs up which would make the course pretty nice in my opinion.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ace Dreams

5+    4/26/2014   7/21/2009
Review By: JustinSane
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: April 26, 2014

I feel compelled to update my review on this course because it has changed so drastically in the last year or so.

This course used to be a beautiful, challenging, fun, and natural feeling one. It is none of those things anymore. It's a barren, hazardous, frustrating, treeless tragedy.

It's really a sad thing...

While the easily forgettable later holes remain for the most part unchanged, the first nine or so appear to have been created by a blind man who thinks disc golf is a water sport. You WILL water your discs. It's not even justifiable to have some of the holes designed as they are with the room available. But no problem, right? Just hop in the water and get it back... But wait, the once friendly, shallow creek has been steeply dredged so your disc is not only invisible to the eye, but also far beyond the reach of even the longest of toes.

I've been playing this course for over seven years and found it to be an absolutely wonderful asset to Oshkosh for families, friends, and individuals who love the sport for exercise or the beautiful aesthetic of natural elements once found there.

I feel like a piece of my heart has been bulldozed and replaced with a parking lot. Look at the pictures to see how absolutely beautiful this course was. It looks nothing like that anymore, so sad. Sorry, Red... I'll keep the better memories of you and move on to other courses.

July 20, 2009
As a local with a play-count on this course of probably near 100 rounds I can define every hole, for what it's worth with pros and cons for each. However, as a whole the pros are a decent variety of holes to throw, it'll get you throwin' in ways you don't normally toss. You'll need your very short game (hold 2 & 5) and long drives on this one, you'll be able to test your versatility as a disc golfer. First 9 are an exciting play.
Cons: July 20, 2009
Extensive amount of Hamm's Premium Light and Milwaukee's Best Ice 16 ounce cans littering certain tee's. Hole 15 doesn't have a pole to write your name on when you ace it.. and I'm often asked "where is hole 1?".
Other Thoughts: July 20, 2009
I play this course nearly every day. Feel free to tag the pole when you ace, it'll make you feel like you're great at disking after a few rounds here. Great for locals obviously, if you're from out of town you may enjoy the county park course more.
And c'mon, you may water your disc on hole 3,4,7,10 even 11; the water's dirty but shallow. Go dumpster divin'!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Most Diverse Course I have ever played

1    4/20/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This course has the ultimate in variety. It has a handful of really short technical holes through tight wooded areas. It has a couple long open holes. It has elevation up, down and on baskets on or near slopes. It has some wooded holes, a couple with some length too!

2) Although it is called "Garbage Hill" the sledding hill adds some character to 3 or 4 holes on what would otherwise be a very level park.

3) Tight wooded holes add some character and give you some risk/reward shots.

4) All tees have a post by them, but some of the signs are missing.
Cons: 1) Maintenance is lacking. It is obvious this course gets a lot of use or has in the past with little to no maintenance.

2)Tees are rutted out. All paths in the wooded areas are wore down to clay soil.
3) Underbrush is evident on some holes, but that really defines the fairways on the technical holes.

4) Trash is really evident along the river, which happens on all rivers, but regardless takes away from the course.

5) Course could use some signage directing which hole is next in a couple places.The design took the smallest amount of space and made the most of it, but that can lead to some confusing routing!
Other Thoughts: I give this course a 3 overall in technicality, variety, and fun factor. The maintenance takes the overall grade down to a 2 though. That means the maintenance would be rated 0. It is by far the worst course I have played in terms of tee areas, signage, garbage, and overall turf quality.


I am glad I played this course, but if maintenance isn't improved I might not ever go back. Although if I wanted a variety or practice I would certainly play this course again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/15/2009   1/15/2009
Review By: shugs19_27
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are many ace runs at this park. Hole 7 is a unique shot where the river and trees come into play.
Cons: This course is too easy. You will not get better at this course, and if you are just browsing through, there is a better course not more than 10 minutes away.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a feel better course. Play this and you could easily bag an ace and a great score. But the skate park, pool, and garbage make this park nothing better than a last resort.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not planned well.

5+    9/6/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a golf course, and there are baskets to throw at. There's a pool nearby.
Cons: Anything that incorporates something called "Garbage Hill" into itself is suspect. Ironically, though, there are no trash cans on the course.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the river on a couple holes. It's not deep, but it's there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.