Oshkosh, WI 
Red Arrow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 224ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not Worth it

2-4    8/23/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Basket's are OK. And it is a disc golf course. Great place to introduce someone to the sport. . That's about it. .
Cons: Very poor design, and very difficult to navigate without some help. No holes hold a challenge for experienced disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area and want to play... go drive to another park that is worth it if you can. Cuz this course probably won't do it for you.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wouldn't travel further than a mile to play this

1    8/18/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: jeepluvr81
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's close to home.
-You can throw from the top of a large hill (known as garbage hill due to it being an old garbage dump) to practice your distance shots.
Cons: -CONFUSING. There seems to be no order to the first 6 holes or so. Most of the time there was trying to figure out where the next tee was, or the next basket. Had to skip several holes due to not knowing where they were or which was next.
No map layout that I saw.
The tee is more or less a 15 inch wide rut in the ground. Sometimes it had a marker to signify that is where the tee was.
Other Thoughts: At the end of this course, I didn't feel like I had any fun. The reason I disc is to enjoy myself, and I didn't with this course. If you can walk or ride bike to this course, then it might be worth it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Red Arrow DG

1    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) uses woods and elevation well
2) water comes into play slightly
3) decent variation of distances
Cons: 1) very hard to find tee pads if you haven't been there before..i missed hole 7 and couldnt even find pads for 15 and 16
2) can be very muddy in the wooded section
3) tee pads are very poor and when it rains they pool water
4) hard to tell what basket to throw at sometimes
Other Thoughts: overall its a pretty decent park but, unless im very near by to it i dont plan on going there again. if you are looking for DG in the oshkosh area the Winnebago County Park is a far better and upkept course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ace Dreams

5+    4/26/2014   7/21/2009
Review By: JustinSane
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: April 26, 2014

I feel compelled to update my review on this course because it has changed so drastically in the last year or so.

This course used to be a beautiful, challenging, fun, and natural feeling one. It is none of those things anymore. It's a barren, hazardous, frustrating, treeless tragedy.

It's really a sad thing...

While the easily forgettable later holes remain for the most part unchanged, the first nine or so appear to have been created by a blind man who thinks disc golf is a water sport. You WILL water your discs. It's not even justifiable to have some of the holes designed as they are with the room available. But no problem, right? Just hop in the water and get it back... But wait, the once friendly, shallow creek has been steeply dredged so your disc is not only invisible to the eye, but also far beyond the reach of even the longest of toes.

I've been playing this course for over seven years and found it to be an absolutely wonderful asset to Oshkosh for families, friends, and individuals who love the sport for exercise or the beautiful aesthetic of natural elements once found there.

I feel like a piece of my heart has been bulldozed and replaced with a parking lot. Look at the pictures to see how absolutely beautiful this course was. It looks nothing like that anymore, so sad. Sorry, Red... I'll keep the better memories of you and move on to other courses.

July 20, 2009
As a local with a play-count on this course of probably near 100 rounds I can define every hole, for what it's worth with pros and cons for each. However, as a whole the pros are a decent variety of holes to throw, it'll get you throwin' in ways you don't normally toss. You'll need your very short game (hold 2 & 5) and long drives on this one, you'll be able to test your versatility as a disc golfer. First 9 are an exciting play.
Cons: July 20, 2009
Extensive amount of Hamm's Premium Light and Milwaukee's Best Ice 16 ounce cans littering certain tee's. Hole 15 doesn't have a pole to write your name on when you ace it.. and I'm often asked "where is hole 1?".
Other Thoughts: July 20, 2009
I play this course nearly every day. Feel free to tag the pole when you ace, it'll make you feel like you're great at disking after a few rounds here. Great for locals obviously, if you're from out of town you may enjoy the county park course more.
And c'mon, you may water your disc on hole 3,4,7,10 even 11; the water's dirty but shallow. Go dumpster divin'!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/15/2009   1/15/2009
Review By: shugs19_27
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are many ace runs at this park. Hole 7 is a unique shot where the river and trees come into play.
Cons: This course is too easy. You will not get better at this course, and if you are just browsing through, there is a better course not more than 10 minutes away.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a feel better course. Play this and you could easily bag an ace and a great score. But the skate park, pool, and garbage make this park nothing better than a last resort.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not planned well.

5+    9/6/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a golf course, and there are baskets to throw at. There's a pool nearby.
Cons: Anything that incorporates something called "Garbage Hill" into itself is suspect. Ironically, though, there are no trash cans on the course.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the river on a couple holes. It's not deep, but it's there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Down Size Me

7/7/2007   3/6/2008
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good location, walking distance for many young kids. Some good holes play on the side, up and down a sledding hill.
Cons: Need to make this a sweet 9 hole with multiple tee pads. Too many holes where you can lose your disc in the river.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.