Disc Golf Store
Oshkosh, WI 
Red Arrow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Must've been really bad if this is better

1    10/3/2014   10/5/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set right along a creek for the first few holes adding a great risk factor with errant shots. They have 4x4's with the hole number serving as tee signs. They also have very nice level and grippy tee pads on every hole. These are very nice and actually point toward the basket you are shooting toward. There aren't many trees here but the water and a solid amount of elevation make for some decent challenge. The baskets are Mach 3's that are all in pretty decent shape and catch fine. The course is pretty easy to follow from hole to hole. They do a good job using the small sledding hill for a few shots going up and down. The course seemed well mowed and maintained and pretty clean. There is ample parking here too.
Cons: My number one problem at this course is that they have the numbered baskets all in the wrong spots. This is just really frustrating since they have the NUMBERS ON THEM!! This makes it very confusing for first time players. Also, they have about 5' circles of concrete underneath each basket. Why? I have no idea and have never seen this anywhere else and hope not to again. I can see this being very frustrating with a long skip into the creek with what would otherwise be a nice shot. I can imagine this course may get busy in summer months and with some of the close tees and baskets could also be dangerous. Besides the first few holes along the creek, the rest are wide open and very bland and unexciting.
Other Thoughts: If this course is upgraded so nicely from what it was it really must've been a dump before. with that being said, this isn't a terrible course by any means. It's just a decent, pretty average course as it is now. Nothing to go out of your way to play but an OK play as is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Renewed Hope

5+    9/19/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: LeftyHyzer1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of Tree lines, some good uses of the waterways, excellent baskets, excellent tee pads, good use of elevation where available.
Cons: Some incorrect hole layouts cause water to come into play where it shouldn't.

The parks department initially labeled the holes with #1 starting where the skate park is rather than the traditional start by the bulletin board.

Multi-use park areas can at time get congested, but this is expected in a park next to a high school and in the middle of town.
Other Thoughts: As an Oshkosh native it is not exaggeration to say I have played this course at least 300 times. For years it was nothing more than a place to chase an ace (rhyme very much intended) while weighing your disc's value in your mind because the water was always in play.

Hole 7 traditionally stood on an angle from some skater punks who thought it was a good idea to stomp it down, and course management always stopped at a light breezing through the fairways with a mower.

However in the last few years the parks department has done an AMAZING job restoring this course to a formidable stop and play course. With 1-2 holes that can challenge even seasoned vets and interesting lines involving the large old trees left untouched by the creek restoration project the course can be a fun venture for any level of player.

On the subject of the water holes, yes some are admittedly poorly designed however i play this course 3 times a week with the newest of am players and in an entire season have lost but 2 discs. The reason for my good numbers is due to the fact i have 4 innova dx dragons in my trunk. These discs not only fit into the arm speed of your average beginner well but also are usually easily grabbed with a branch from shore without even getting a single toe wet. Should a course require a floating disc to safely play it? no. However a 5$ used dragon is a small price for me to pay to enjoy this well transformed old course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Would be better as nine...

1    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 94  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in Red Arrow Park.

DGA baskets, all in decent repair. More below on these.

Nice, grippy concrete tee pads. The ends were somewhat arrow shaped, which helped quite a bit finding what basket to throw to.

A few interesting shots here, helped by a river that winds around the edge of the northern side of the park, and a former garbage dump hill on the south end.

Navigation was surprisingly intuitive, especially since it's mostly just baskets out in an open field.

Cons: This is mostly a short, open course. More than half the holes are basically open field shots in the 150-250' range. Hole 4 felt like it was about 100'.

No tee signs. Hole numbers are posted on 6' 4x4 posts, with no other information about the holes.

The baskets are incorrectly numbered. It's not hard to figure out where to throw, but it's a bit confusing at first. Also, the baskets are mounted in the center of 6' diameter circular concrete slabs, which is a huge bummer if you actually throw accurate shots. I had one such shot (hole 3), in which I hit the concrete under the basket and had the disc skip up and out into the river. Just a horrible idea, and completely unnecessary.

A couple of the holes play VERY close to a baseball diamond. Hole 18's line basically curves a couple feet from the outfield fence. Hole 13 also could be an issue if a drive got away from somebody.
Other Thoughts: This could be a really cool 9 holer, but instead is a pretty bland 18 hole course. Holes 3, 6, 14, and 15 are decent, but everything else is just a basket in a field, with very minimal (if any) obstacles.

There's also a nice looking bulletin board at the beginning of the course...with nothing in it. A course map would be great.

The park also has baseball diamonds, bathrooms, and a city pool in it. Decent place to take the kids to swim, while you disc.

While I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again, I have to imagine some cool safari holes could be worked out here. Don't go out of your way, but if you happen to be next door, you could do worse.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: kscannon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Other Thoughts: This course is under construction and looks to be in the process of getting new signs, tee pads, and baskets. The brook was dredged and the city hasnt taken over the site from the construction company yet, stupid reason for the course not being completed is the construction company needs to mow once

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Worth it

2-4    8/23/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Basket's are OK. And it is a disc golf course. Great place to introduce someone to the sport. . That's about it. .
Cons: Very poor design, and very difficult to navigate without some help. No holes hold a challenge for experienced disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area and want to play... go drive to another park that is worth it if you can. Cuz this course probably won't do it for you.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wouldn't travel further than a mile to play this

1    8/18/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: jeepluvr81
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's close to home.
-You can throw from the top of a large hill (known as garbage hill due to it being an old garbage dump) to practice your distance shots.
Cons: -CONFUSING. There seems to be no order to the first 6 holes or so. Most of the time there was trying to figure out where the next tee was, or the next basket. Had to skip several holes due to not knowing where they were or which was next.
No map layout that I saw.
The tee is more or less a 15 inch wide rut in the ground. Sometimes it had a marker to signify that is where the tee was.
Other Thoughts: At the end of this course, I didn't feel like I had any fun. The reason I disc is to enjoy myself, and I didn't with this course. If you can walk or ride bike to this course, then it might be worth it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Red Arrow DG

1    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) uses woods and elevation well
2) water comes into play slightly
3) decent variation of distances
Cons: 1) very hard to find tee pads if you haven't been there before..i missed hole 7 and couldnt even find pads for 15 and 16
2) can be very muddy in the wooded section
3) tee pads are very poor and when it rains they pool water
4) hard to tell what basket to throw at sometimes
Other Thoughts: overall its a pretty decent park but, unless im very near by to it i dont plan on going there again. if you are looking for DG in the oshkosh area the Winnebago County Park is a far better and upkept course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/4/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: thecoyotekitchen
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has baskets.
Cons: Short. Very short. So short, you think your playing to wrong hole most of the time.
Trash.
Bottles.
Disc Poachers.
Missing baskets.
Confusing layout.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy hitting up pitch n putt courses every once in a while, and I'm always glad to see disc golf being introduced to the public... However, I was not very fond of this place, at all. Won't go back and I won't recommend it for anybody else.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not That Bad

2-4    10/7/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: suprnva
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different hole types. Lots of chances to get an ace.
Cons: Tee boxes are crap. Hard to navigate if you've never been there before. Some holes are a little too short.
Other Thoughts: Red Arrow is the closest course to me so I've started playing it over the last couple weeks. My first time out I lost a disc on the 3rd hole and got pissed and left. lol. I've been back twice and played it through it twice today. So, after a total of 3 1/6 rounds (lol) I can say that the course isn't that bad at all. Yeah, it has it's downfalls, but it could be much worse that in really is. I'm actually thinking about getting together with some people I know that might be willing to donate some money and get some nice tee boxes and signs up which would make the course pretty nice in my opinion.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ace Dreams

5+    4/26/2014   7/21/2009
Review By: JustinSane
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: April 26, 2014

I feel compelled to update my review on this course because it has changed so drastically in the last year or so.

This course used to be a beautiful, challenging, fun, and natural feeling one. It is none of those things anymore. It's a barren, hazardous, frustrating, treeless tragedy.

It's really a sad thing...

While the easily forgettable later holes remain for the most part unchanged, the first nine or so appear to have been created by a blind man who thinks disc golf is a water sport. You WILL water your discs. It's not even justifiable to have some of the holes designed as they are with the room available. But no problem, right? Just hop in the water and get it back... But wait, the once friendly, shallow creek has been steeply dredged so your disc is not only invisible to the eye, but also far beyond the reach of even the longest of toes.

I've been playing this course for over seven years and found it to be an absolutely wonderful asset to Oshkosh for families, friends, and individuals who love the sport for exercise or the beautiful aesthetic of natural elements once found there.

I feel like a piece of my heart has been bulldozed and replaced with a parking lot. Look at the pictures to see how absolutely beautiful this course was. It looks nothing like that anymore, so sad. Sorry, Red... I'll keep the better memories of you and move on to other courses.

July 20, 2009
As a local with a play-count on this course of probably near 100 rounds I can define every hole, for what it's worth with pros and cons for each. However, as a whole the pros are a decent variety of holes to throw, it'll get you throwin' in ways you don't normally toss. You'll need your very short game (hold 2 & 5) and long drives on this one, you'll be able to test your versatility as a disc golfer. First 9 are an exciting play.
Cons: July 20, 2009
Extensive amount of Hamm's Premium Light and Milwaukee's Best Ice 16 ounce cans littering certain tee's. Hole 15 doesn't have a pole to write your name on when you ace it.. and I'm often asked "where is hole 1?".
Other Thoughts: July 20, 2009
I play this course nearly every day. Feel free to tag the pole when you ace, it'll make you feel like you're great at disking after a few rounds here. Great for locals obviously, if you're from out of town you may enjoy the county park course more.
And c'mon, you may water your disc on hole 3,4,7,10 even 11; the water's dirty but shallow. Go dumpster divin'!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center