Oshkosh, WI 
Red Arrow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 140ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Most Diverse Course I have ever played

1    4/20/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This course has the ultimate in variety. It has a handful of really short technical holes through tight wooded areas. It has a couple long open holes. It has elevation up, down and on baskets on or near slopes. It has some wooded holes, a couple with some length too!

2) Although it is called "Garbage Hill" the sledding hill adds some character to 3 or 4 holes on what would otherwise be a very level park.

3) Tight wooded holes add some character and give you some risk/reward shots.

4) All tees have a post by them, but some of the signs are missing.
Cons: 1) Maintenance is lacking. It is obvious this course gets a lot of use or has in the past with little to no maintenance.

2)Tees are rutted out. All paths in the wooded areas are wore down to clay soil.
3) Underbrush is evident on some holes, but that really defines the fairways on the technical holes.

4) Trash is really evident along the river, which happens on all rivers, but regardless takes away from the course.

5) Course could use some signage directing which hole is next in a couple places.The design took the smallest amount of space and made the most of it, but that can lead to some confusing routing!
Other Thoughts: I give this course a 3 overall in technicality, variety, and fun factor. The maintenance takes the overall grade down to a 2 though. That means the maintenance would be rated 0. It is by far the worst course I have played in terms of tee areas, signage, garbage, and overall turf quality.


I am glad I played this course, but if maintenance isn't improved I might not ever go back. Although if I wanted a variety or practice I would certainly play this course again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/15/2009   1/15/2009
Review By: shugs19_27
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are many ace runs at this park. Hole 7 is a unique shot where the river and trees come into play.
Cons: This course is too easy. You will not get better at this course, and if you are just browsing through, there is a better course not more than 10 minutes away.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a feel better course. Play this and you could easily bag an ace and a great score. But the skate park, pool, and garbage make this park nothing better than a last resort.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not planned well.

5+    9/6/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a golf course, and there are baskets to throw at. There's a pool nearby.
Cons: Anything that incorporates something called "Garbage Hill" into itself is suspect. Ironically, though, there are no trash cans on the course.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the river on a couple holes. It's not deep, but it's there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I've seen worse

8/17/2007   4/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly open after the front 9, some finesse and water hazards on the early holes, but short yardage to make up for it. Some elevation challenges on the last few holes.
Cons: some of the holes on the front 9 looked a bit trashy, and ill conceived, built on and around a public park in the middle of a subdivision, so there appears to be a lot of 'other use' traffic
Other Thoughts: surprised by the poor reviews this course was given by others. we only played it once on a tour of eastern wisconsin last summer, and while it wasn't the highlight of our trip, it wasn't really all that horrible, either.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Down Size Me

7/7/2007   3/6/2008
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good location, walking distance for many young kids. Some good holes play on the side, up and down a sledding hill.
Cons: Need to make this a sweet 9 hole with multiple tee pads. Too many holes where you can lose your disc in the river.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Red Arrow Park Review

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for beginners. Towards the end it has a few nice longer, open throws that you can really launch on.
Cons: Holes are too short. Layout is confusing. Holes along the creek are VERY muddy.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend hitting this one up

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good old red arrow

1    10/13/2007   2/22/2008
Review By: rusch_bag
Played: 52  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is the closest course to the UW-Oshkosh campus and you can take a bus there. Lots of ace run holes. That is really all I like about it.
Cons: Tons of really short open holes. There has got to be at least 5 holes that are exactly 240 feet on flat ground. There are also plent of over holes around that same length. The course is right by a high school so there are a lot of kids on the course smoking and breaking baskets and signs on the teepads. The park is also used by a lot of other things as listed in the description so you always have to watch out for other people. Water is almost always sitting on the first 5 holes and the teepads are trenches in the ground so they get very muddy and are not very safe. The park is also full of trash and the river that runs by a fourth of the holes is very gross. Unless you are playing with someone who knows the course, you will probably miss several holes and if not, you will probably be playing them in the wrong order. Most of the tee signs are broke and they offer no direction to the next hole anyway. I would avoid this course at all costs and drive the extra 5 minutes to county.
Other Thoughts: Just stay away.

It has been renamed the Red Dragon to make it sound cool at least.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.