Vicksburg, MS 
Redbone Road DGC Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 88ft.   3 / 115ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Tight short hole along the lake with a right dogleg.



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Redbone Delivers

2-4    5/10/2013   5/10/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Two tees on every hole
-Benches on almost every hole
-Plenty of trash cans
-Superb use of limited space
-Unique everything!
-Beautiful, peaceful & well maintained private course
Cons: -No bathrooms
-Some of the terrain is a little rough. It was wet when we played & some areas were quite slippery and hard to traverse
-Only 9 holes

Other Thoughts: Not the most challenging course I've ever played, but WOW, the fun factor and the personal touches make this one as memorable as any I've ever played. If you're passing through Vicksburg DON'T pass up Redbone Road!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Redbone Rules !!!

2-4    6/30/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: Golf Guru
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Separate tee boxes/lengths serving ALL Disc Golfers. A fun & relaxing course with enough trees to keep a player comfortable even in 100+ degree weather. Although there are only a couple of "long" holes, the "shorter" holes pose difficulty with the creative shots necessary to birdie them. I had a GREAT time.
Cons: The only negative is that there are ONLY 9 holes. However, an industrial player can ALWAYS make their own tee boxes and/or play the course backwards. Use your imagination...
Other Thoughts: I had the opportunity to meet the owner of the house that separates a number of the holes. He put in the course and is a TRUE LOVER of the game of Disc Golf. Of course I am "old" and have already forgotten his name. Regardless, IF there were MORE individuals that loved this game as this homeowner, I predict that there would be MORE players involved in OUR sport because of the fun & camaraderie as opposed to the competition. Don't get me wrong !!! I LOVE competition. The bottom line is: ENCOURAGE EVERYONE TO HAVE FUN !!!!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Redbone Rocks!

1    2/27/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -awesome terrain and design!
-fun, challenging shots
-elevation, a pond, and mostly very wooded
-great place to stop when you're on the road on I-20
-really cool "in the family" atmosphere at this free, private course
-tee signs for longs & shorts on each hole with distance & line to basket
-trash can nearby holes 2 & 8
Cons: -very small space for the course
-the homemade baskets are in decent shape but they obviously don't catch like a professional basket, better hit dead center! (basket 2 is in pretty bad shape)
-the pond is dark, looks like it would be hard to retrieve a disc
-no long shots to really open up but you don't really miss it
Other Thoughts: What an awesome course! Easily a contender for my favorite 9 holes. It is very well designed to make the most of the limited size without feeling cramped and taking advantage of the pond and elevation to make some really fun shots. Much thanks to the owners for making it available to us!

The holes may look short and easy but there are all sorts of things out there to trip you up. A bad kick off the tight woods on holes 6 or 7 can easily land you in the pond, there are some tricky basket placements on hillsides or with drop offs or water behind them, and there are low ceilings on most of the holes too. I assume the fence is OB on hole 3?

This course is amazing for what it is: a private course on a very small plot of land. While it is a fantastic place to stop and play if you're on a long drive on I-20, it is not a destination course. I might not drive an hour just to play here but I will stop here every time I drive by it. One of the reviews below says it best: it is like mini-golf, really fun but not to be taken too seriously.

Directions are easy and I just parked on the side of the road. I dug the kiosk with all the names and dates. Thanks again to the owners!
(BTW, you don't need to call for permission to play)


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Not Worth It

1    2/18/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: jbarthol
Played: 94  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Considering the amount of land that the course is on, it is fun. A very creative and efficient design. The land is beautiful and pretty well taken care of.
Cons: Not enough space for a 4+ star disc golf course. Several holes feel squeezed in, which is worse because its only 9 holes. It has different tee pads, but mostly the shots shape out the same.
The course is right next to pretty busy road. I brought my dog, and was kind of nervous while we were on the few road holes.
Other Thoughts: I was disappointed because of all the positive reviews on this website. This is definitely not a 4+ star course. It is fun, but certainly not worth traveling to. I was in Jackson for the weekend and we played several other courses that were all more fun than this.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A gem in disguise!!

1    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Madmoojuice
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Outstanding use of the terrain & elevation! Watch the pond behind #5's basket and the ravine behind #6's basket! This course is short but plays like a longer course because of the creative use of the land. Some have mentioned the homemade baskets in previous reviews. They are nearly identical to the common commercial baskets, so I didn't notice much of an effect on game play. Holes are easy to follow and tee's are easily identified.
Cons: I cant really think of any con on this course. If I 'had' to choose, I would say "spider webs"! lol Seriously, the only con would be that one or two holes have a short tee area (#7 was one that could have used a bit more room). But I cant really list these as a con, because the tee's used the available real estate.
Other Thoughts: We drove in from Little Rock to meet some friends and play disc golf for the weekend. This was our first stop. It snuck up on us, we almost drove past it. As stated in other reviews, this is in someones backyard. We showed up, played and absolutely loved it! I would make the 5 hour drive again just to play this course! Great course sir!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course!

1    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: Freqe C
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very creative course. You aren't really traveling very far,and I think the longest shot is hole 5 at 270 feet. Hole 2 is SO amazing! You get to throw over a huge ravine and have two HUGE elevation changes. This course is great for a challenge, but oddly, it is nearly impossible to lose a disc, which makes it good for newer players. The holes are laid out well and this is a very fun course. If anyone is passing through Vicksburg, MS, I suggest making a pit stop in here to try it out. You won't spend all day, but you will get a great workout!

I like the fact that there seemed to be a trash can at every other hole. It made the course seem very clean to play on.
Cons: The course is not very handicap friendly. My buddy had his mom with us and she needed a a wheelchair, but the course is not made for wheelchairs, and she was willing to hang out on one of the many benches that left a good view of the natural surroundings.
Other Thoughts: Don't overthrow number 6. =D

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Crazy, enjoyable disc course with almost a funhouse approach to discing

2-4    7/29/2002   4/29/2010
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Biggest pros:
* Fun factor is amazing
* Great location close to I-20 if you're driving laterally through the south.
* Quick to play
* You'll remember this little course forever

This course is pure fun to play, you just have to go into it realizing that it's not a typical course. It feels a little more like a mini golf course with the clowns and windmills... you don't take it seriously, but you have a blast anyway.

Most baskets are homemade and some are devilish to play on -- one that sticks in my memory is more like a large mixing bowl than a basket, with slick sloped sides that can launch a fast putt out the back like a halfpipe... and that particular basket is on the edge of a steep slope heading down through thick trees... this might be a con for some people, but it fits the fun factor of the course.

The holes are short, just over 200' apiece, but there are places where you've got a 90-degree dogleg on a 200' hole with trees so thick it's a blind shot to the basket. Again -- on some courses, this would be a con, but here it just fits in perfect.

Lots of elevation for a short course, beautiful terrain and trees, lovingly maintained, easy to navigate... And you feel welcomed and like you've escaped from the world to some wonderful paradise in miniature.

Cons: My biggest regret is that I didn't get a chance to meet the owner and designer of this quaint little course.

Sure, the course lacks the amenities of most courses. It's only 9 holes. It doesn't have "real" baskets on a lot of the holes, teepads are a mixed bag. Signage is minimal... and holes are so short you rarely need more than a putter. But when you're there, none of that really matters.

For me, it's harder to find cons for private courses as long as the course is fun to play. And this course is fun, and makes great use of the land available.

The biggest risk to frustration is that the course can feel unfair if you take it too seriously. The homemade baskets will spit all kinds of stuff that would have stuck on PDGA baskets. The tight fairways and dense trees and sloping hills can turn a 200' hole from what seems like an easy deuce into a five or six if you're not careful and get a bad break. If you're hyper-competitive and take yourself seriously, you'll be upset. But if you relax and just enjoy the round, you'll be happy to be here no matter what your score.

Other Thoughts: A friend and I played this course several years ago on a cross-country roadtrip. At the time, we were using the printed PDGA course guide, well-before online databases and google maps. Redbone Road looked like we could get there from I-20, and there wasn't much else in the area back then.

We pulled into this place in the early morning, not realizing it was a private course (not mentioned in the guide at that time). No one was around, so we went ahead and played through a couple of times, and it was one of the most enjoyable courses we played in an epic disc golf journey of Southern courses from Texas to the Carolinas. I don't think it's changed a bit since, and is a loving personal, backyard tribute to an amazing sport. Definitely worth the detour if you're ever on I-20 passing through Vicksburg.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Most unique 9 hole course that I have ever played!

1    3/20/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two different tees on every hole. Wooded with elevation on some holes. It actually has a signature hole,#2 and the picture doesn't do it justice as you can't really see the elevated beauty of the shot. Most 9 hole courses that I have played and some 18's are parks with a bunch of baskets thrown or crammed in after the park was designed which most of the time produces total crap. Not this one. This is a 9 hole disc golf course with no tennis courts, baseball fences or WALKERS. It is Herman Cochran's backyard which is not really a yard. It has trees, elevation and a POND! The course is well designed and makes good use of its limited acres. It is just under 1900, but only a couple of the holes feel short and you will be to blown away by the fact that you are playing a 9 holer like this. Herman moved here from the midwest in the early 80's. The number of existing courses was nothing like today. Lucky for Herman, he bought a house with a "backyard" like this. No charge to play and no permission needed. If Herman is home he will probably play a round with you. He did with me and I will definitely go back again. There is a place to sign your name, hometown and date that you first played it. You will never play a private homemade course quite like this one.

Cons: If I was alone I might have a little trouble navigating. Not very long. only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Herman gave me permission to post his numbers to contact him. Just call him and ask him his address so you can just look for the mailbox. People were playing there today. They pulled in his driveway and immediately parked on the left. If not you have to park on the shoulder of the road. There was room today for me to park also, but I didn't know that it was OK to do so. Two numbers. 601-638-2451 & 601-631-1500. Enjoy this one of a kind course you will definitely tell your friends about. One more time, you do not have to call for permission to play. It is just past the fire station on the right. There is a rust colored disc catcher (hole3) you can see from the road. His house and driveway follow immediately.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center