Disc Golf Store
Tulsa, OK 
Redhawk Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #9 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 367ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The homlier Mohawk sister, but still a decent play

2-4    11/3/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good intermediate to advanced level course at almost 7000', but lesser skilled players can still enjoy many of the holes without getting worn out or risk losing their discs (they should avoid 13-16, which advanced players will like). As long as you don't go OB, errant shots can be recovered from. Signage is good and very descriptive, and the course flows very logically. Painted radials on the baskets lead you to the next tee.
Cons: Flat as a pancake. I mean incredibly flat. It does not dissipate water well. After a heavy rain there is absoultely nowhere for it to go, so it goes...nowhere. You have to pay to get into Mohawk Park on certain days, and those will probably be the days the park is crowded with non-players. I kind of wish Tulsa parks would try to get some of the non-DG amenities away from the course considering how huge this park is.
Other Thoughts: This would be an awesome course in most towns if it was on its own, but since it has an incredible sister course next to it, Redhawk probably gets demerited a little more than it deserves. Compared to Blackhawk, this is more your standard fare open park golf, plenty of which can be found in Tulsa, albeit with two 800+ holes. Early or weekday play recommended. Again, not as impressive as the black course, but if you're paying to get into the park, you might as well get your money's worth and play both courses.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice Signs.
- Nice Tee pads.
- It was easy to navigate.
Cons: - Pretty wet, it looks like this course could hold water for a few days. Wasn't bad when I played, you had to just avoid some large puddles.
- The Park can get pretty crowded especially on a weekend. When I played, I started early but by the time I got towards the end of the round, I had to play very cautiously on some holes. I didn't enjoy having to do that.
- Holes 13 and 14 don't seem to belong. There are a lot of holes between 250 - 300ft., and then all of a sudden you get to back to back holes almost 900ft. To me they could have made these around 600ft, and it would have been more in line with the course.
- Had to pay to park. You don't always have to do this but probably mainly on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: - All in all a pretty nice course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun park course

1    8/16/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large flat multi-use park with scattered mature trees and a nice stream. Though the park is pretty open, the trees are used very well to take away obvious lines on many holes, and force the use of different shots. The creek adds a great hazard on a couple holes, and a nice risk/reward option.

There is a really nice mix of lengths here, from aceable short holes, to 800+ foot bomb shots. The design also keeps things interesting by mixing up straight holes with left and right turning shots. A couple holes have nice tight windows off the tee, which was a fun surprise on a park style course.

There are excellent concrete tees on all holes, that were level with a good brushed surface. The tee signs were placed well behind the tees, and were easy to read with hole distance and layout, along with the location of the next tee. The baskets also had painted rungs indicating the direction of the next tee, making navigation extremely easy and obvious here.

The park was well taken care of, with well mowed grass, and plenty of facilities and trash cans. Despite the heavy use of the park, it was clean and pretty, clearly a lot of work goes into taking care of the park.
Cons: The one thing really bringing my rating down is the heavy use of the park by non disc golfers. A lot of the holes had families picnicking right on the fairways or around the holes. The park is full of picnic tables and grills, and all were in use. This meant that a large number of holes were close to unplayable without chancing hitting small unsupervised children.

The course also crosses roads and paths in a few places, meaning that there is a good chance you'll end up waiting for cars and pedestrians (and children on atvs without any kind of parental supervision).

In terms of the actual course design, the only real complaint I had was that the woods and stream weren't used quite enough. Where they were used, the designers made some great holes, I would have liked to have seen more like this. Otherwise, the space was used well, and the design was good.
Other Thoughts: I really wish I could have played the course on a weekday, I'm guessing that the park is less crowded with other uses. I would recommend for anyone who wants to play here, don't do it on a nice weekend or afternoon.

It's a great course for beginners, with easy navigation and no real chance of losing a disc. More experienced players will need to use a variety of shots to score well here, and will enjoy the challenge.

I really enjoyed playing this course and would definitely recommend it if you're in the area. I didn't have a chance to play the other course on site, but it looked like another nice course, making it even more worth it to make a stop here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 thigh high creek

5/24/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: Highryder
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: good pads/ signs
good course layout
variety of distances
Cons: paying to park
mosquitos, water in fairways
Other Thoughts: a great park, especially when mowed and dry

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Warm up that arm!

4/22/2008   4/22/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course naturally warms you up for the longer throws. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Too many distance shots for me. Sometimes they charge you to park!!!
Other Thoughts: If you never played there, don't get cocky because you've birdied the first couple holes. You will really have to work to birdie later on. The course is more open than blackhawk if you're a tree hater. The two courses together could make for a nice day.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.