Tulsa, OK 
Redhawk Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #3 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 420ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Get those birds early!

1    7/20/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a very nice park setting. It is really nice to have this and Blackhawk in the same park. If you only play in the park these 2 courses are in, you will still be a very good player. Redhawk has great hole variety. The front 9 are the shorter holes, but still with plenty of trees in the way to make shot shaping fun. You need to get your birdies on this half of the course to set yourself up for the longer half. The back 9 gets a lot longer. There are several par 4's and a par 5. There are several shots that run along a creek that comes out of the Tulsa Zoo, which is also in the same park. With these long holes next to the creek and a road, you have a smaller margin of error. If you play this course a lot, you will be a master of the low shot. With lots of mature trees, you often have to throw your disc on a very low line.
Cons: This course doesn't offer as much technique as one might like. While there are trees, there is plenty of room to go around them all. Because of this, a lot of holes feel too open. Hole 13's basket was missing. This was the par 5 hole, so we played to a tree instead. The course flowed fairly well, but you don't get that feeling of being really excited for the next hole that you often feel at excellent courses.
Other Thoughts: This was a quality course, and I'm glad I played it on my way down from Kansas City. However this wasn't the best course in the park. If you only have time for one course and you are by this park, play Blackhawk.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Redhawk

5+    2/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Big Arm course. Well maintained and fun to play if you can crush it 400+. Nowhere else in Tulsa can you find 2 back-to-back 800+ holes.
Cons: Very open - no real technical shots. Very flat. Does not drain very well. Usually you won't end up in the creek, but if you happen to - you won't find your disc. I'm not sure of the zoo's schedule but on some days they make you pay to park at the park entrance.
Other Thoughts: Good course - great complement to its more wooded sister course Blackhawk. If you like open bombers Redhawk is a pretty decent course. If you like tight wooded lines than you NEED to play Blackhawk.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lighter Mohawk

5+    1/16/2012   1/18/2012
Review By: Chuckms
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course amenities are in good condition overall, long tee pads that are textured well, accurate and descriptive tee signs, and good discatcher baskets with painted rungs towards the next tee. The course is well groomed often as well. Many people don't like the difference between the front 9 and back 9 but I enjoy it because it focuses your mental game...you must get your birdies while you can (and there are some available on the back9) and fight for your pars on the tough holes. If you play lazy on the front 9, you will get spanked on the back 9.
Cons: As with most OK courses, this is quite flat. The creek is basically the only elevation, and you don't want to get in there. Also, on popular days, the course can be overrun with picnic-ers, etc who have no idea that they're in the middle of a course. Also again, during the warmer months on the weekends, there is a $2 parking fee for the park.
Other Thoughts: The course plays quite enjoyably in my opinion, continually getting more and more difficult as you trek further in, culminating with potentially the most difficult hole to 3 in Tulsa, hole 14. It begins to cool down from there generally. If you have to pick between this one and blackhawk and redhawk, play black, but do your best to make time for both of them, red will challenge your game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flat but very fun

1    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well groomed, Tulsa Zoo next door, pavilions.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. DiscCatcher baskets in good condition. Tee signs are present and are adequate to navigate the course. It is very easy to find the next tee from the basket, as a bar on the bottom of each basket in the direction of the next tee is painted red.

The course has a pretty open layout, lots of mature trees to throw around, especially on the front 9. The front and back 9 seem to have different, very distinct personalities.

My memorable holes:
4 - Tough shot with lots of big trees guarding the basket, and no clear line, but with several workable opportunities. I put a dent in several trees on this one.
6 - Right off the tee, you have to stay left of a mando tree on the right of the fairway with some low-hanging branches. I was first tempted to tomahawk over them, but a well thrown low shot got right up to the basket.
11 - Throw from the open to some semi-dense woods, very neat looking shot, requiring precision to get a great lie.
13, 14, 15 - All tolled, 2183 feet of holy %$&# (you do realize that is just shy of half a mile right?), which is about a third of the length of an average 18 hole course. OB on 13 is rough, if you fade out early, trouble. 14 and 15 have OB creek on left, besides the penalty, you do NOT want to go in there.

The back nine is quite a challenge, I really enjoyed the difficulty of some of the latter holes.
latter latter.
Cons: As I said above, the front and back 9 have very different personalities. The front is the con, very repetitive, and an average player should be about to deuce two-thirds of them. Only a couple holes that somewhat posed a threat.

The entire course has almost no elevation change, but that is to be expected in this area, although I think that does detract from the overall DG experience.
Other Thoughts: My rating of 3.5 is up from what would have been a 3 because I simply really enjoyed the back 9. It was a welcome relief after playing 1-9. The park is very nice, and the day I went you didn't have to pay admission (per the sign in the guard shack at the entrance).

Also very handy location since it is right next to the airport. If that weren't enough, there is an awesome woods-type course on-site (right across the road!) that you can hit up at the same time, Blackhawk. I do highly suggest playing Redhawk first, so that you build up to the better course, rather than playing the better one first and perhaps are let down by playing the lesser afterward.

If you are in the Tulsa area, there is not excuse not to experience this course, and it's big brother too!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Spackler
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee pads and signs are great and course is part of a large park with the much more difficult Blackhawk course next door. Mostly open and flat with a couple of very long holes this course is a good course for less experienced players to work on thier game without too much fear of losing a disc while still presenting enough challenge to make it fun. Higher level players will likely find this course a little on the mild side.
Cons: Only real con would be that the only real difficulty on the course is a couple of long holes in the 800' range. They are open so a long arm can just bomb them. A couple of holes had standing water/mud in the fairway and it appears that this could be normal in the spring months. I played without having to pay for entrance to the park but that is a possibility on weekends/holidays.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed the course. It's not terribly challenging but it has good pads, signs and baskets and offers a significantly different experience than the much more challenging Blackhawk course next door.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Challenge!

5+    1/8/2009   1/8/2009
Review By: RC51ManSam
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short front and technical 8 holes for warm up to get prepared for the back nine which leads into mostly longer distance holes.
Cons: Last half of the back ten follows a creek that is infamous for swallowing up discs.
Other Thoughts: Front 8 are great for lunch time play. Good all around course that will challenge you in many ways.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5/1/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: jfraosu
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty nice course front 9 have more obstacles that challenge while the back nine uses distance to challenge
Cons: I have played it twice each time it was holding entirely too much water and the grass was too high, not alot of water sits on the front 9 but the grass seems higher, on the back nine there seems to be a little less grass but a ton more water, probably partly due to the faucets that are located all through the back nine that anyone can just go and turn on for any period of time

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Red Walk

5/1/2008   5/2/2008
Review By: ixcptmorganxi
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 are short and back 9 are long so you get a warm up before you move on to the harder holes. Course has a few challenging shots around a few of it's trees and there are some nice drives. Good signs and pads.
Cons: Ground always seems to be wet. Take some shoes you don't mind getting dirty or some muck boots as you will be walking through some. Otherwise the course just needed some mowing when we played but they should be on top of that with such a nice park.
Other Thoughts: Nice park with fewer trees than Blackhawk but enough still for a challenge. Lost a few discs on the creek so be careful around it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.