Tulsa, OK
Redhawk Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 256ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Challenge

5+    9/30/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice challenge for advanced players. Plenty of distance and technical shots. Well kept park with decent tee signs and direction to next tee pad.
Cons: Can be crowded with people enjoying the park. Can lose a disc easily in a NASTY creek that is in play on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in Tulsa if you're looking for a challenge. Couple this with Blackhawk in same park and you've got an awesome disc golf couplet.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very good course

2-4    7/21/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: RJDunkman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety in holes. Playable for beginners but still provides challenge for better players.

Front nine is not especially challenging as every hole is definitely a possible birdie, but there is enough strategic tree placement to still make things interesting.

Back nine provides a lot more challenge with one hole cutting through fairly dense forest, a couple really long holes (800+ feet), and a few that weave along a deep creek.

It's pretty hard to lose a disc out here unless you throw an errant shot into the creek, in which case it's gone.

The course itself is in great shape. Excellent concrete tee pads, clear signs that show distance and a simple map, although one or two of those have somehow been uprooted and are leaning against a nearby tree. The grass is generally mowed very well and it's easy to navigate and find your way.
Cons: Basically no elevation change at all, but it's hard to find much of that in eastern Oklahoma.

There can be a decent amount of people out in the park when the weather is nice, but the course generally wraps around the recreation areas so traffic is not too bad.

I've seen a decent amount of broken glass in places along the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course overall, probably my favorite in the Tulsa area. It provides good variety without requiring exceptional skill and always offers a pleasant time.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Redhawk...

1    3/26/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in a fairly open part of Mohawk park, which has another course, Blackhawk, that is just across the road from Redhawk. The holes seem fairly open, but the trees are very well placed and block some of the most obvious lines. Low branches provide a major challenge, especially in the winter when you can't see all of the branches. The mixture of holes is very good. Plenty of each kind of shot. The variety in distances is good too. There are 200 ft. ace runs and 800 ft. open bombers. The creek and woods come into play a few times. Hole 16 is very cool. You tee off and the creek is curves in front of you the veers off left and comes back behind the hole.

All of the tee pads were very nice. Big enough and textured. Tee signs were very good when they were there. The maps were very accurate and looked nice. Navigation here might be the best I've seen anywhere. Mostly because part of the basket was painted to show which direction the next tee was.
Cons: The front nine was not very challenging. Most holes were between 200 and 350 ft. The front nine was also very repetitive. The trees do help make it more challenging, but it's just too easy. I think the Creek could have been used more. A few of the signs were missing. Number 13 is really confusing if you don't realize it's 820 ft. and that's one of the holes without a sign.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It wasn't very challenging, but it's an excellent complement to Blackhawk. The front nine would be a good place to bring a newer player. Out of the two courses at Mohawk, I would recommend playing Redhawk first because it's not as good as Blackhawk.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

5+    4/21/2013   6/25/2009
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 33  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really well taken care of. Front nine are makeable even for beginners which helps new people actually want to play, I doubt you have any trouble with it being too wet in the summer (The 100 degree weather will take care of it.)
Cons: If you happen to throw a disc into the woods or creek: There's a HUGE amount of poison ivy, the creek is so murky you couldn't see your hand if you barely stuck it in. April-October Mohawk park has a 2 dollar admission fee.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 are extremely fun.

Hole 11 is a gorgeous shot that will branch you off into the woods.

Hole 13 is a doozy so bust out your best driver.

Holes 14-16 are all right along the creek and if you're still a developing player like me and my friends one sliced drive could be the last one with that frisbee.

I actually lost a disc on hole 18. The tree was so thick we couldn't find the disc even when we climbed the tree.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/2/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: ericjones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: first half of the holes are fairly short making it great for lunch time play. the majority is slightly wooded. all flat tons of fun
Cons: the last half is huge and has water hazs. there are sure to be snakes in the creek in the summer. great place to loose a disc

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.