Tulsa, OK 
Redhawk Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #15 (Taken 4/2014)
4 / 495ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Good Course

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice Signs.
- Nice Tee pads.
- It was easy to navigate.
Cons: - Pretty wet, it looks like this course could hold water for a few days. Wasn't bad when I played, you had to just avoid some large puddles.
- The Park can get pretty crowded especially on a weekend. When I played, I started early but by the time I got towards the end of the round, I had to play very cautiously on some holes. I didn't enjoy having to do that.
- Holes 13 and 14 don't seem to belong. There are a lot of holes between 250 - 300ft., and then all of a sudden you get to back to back holes almost 900ft. To me they could have made these around 600ft, and it would have been more in line with the course.
- Had to pay to park. You don't always have to do this but probably mainly on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: - All in all a pretty nice course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun park course

1    8/16/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large flat multi-use park with scattered mature trees and a nice stream. Though the park is pretty open, the trees are used very well to take away obvious lines on many holes, and force the use of different shots. The creek adds a great hazard on a couple holes, and a nice risk/reward option.

There is a really nice mix of lengths here, from aceable short holes, to 800+ foot bomb shots. The design also keeps things interesting by mixing up straight holes with left and right turning shots. A couple holes have nice tight windows off the tee, which was a fun surprise on a park style course.

There are excellent concrete tees on all holes, that were level with a good brushed surface. The tee signs were placed well behind the tees, and were easy to read with hole distance and layout, along with the location of the next tee. The baskets also had painted rungs indicating the direction of the next tee, making navigation extremely easy and obvious here.

The park was well taken care of, with well mowed grass, and plenty of facilities and trash cans. Despite the heavy use of the park, it was clean and pretty, clearly a lot of work goes into taking care of the park.
Cons: The one thing really bringing my rating down is the heavy use of the park by non disc golfers. A lot of the holes had families picnicking right on the fairways or around the holes. The park is full of picnic tables and grills, and all were in use. This meant that a large number of holes were close to unplayable without chancing hitting small unsupervised children.

The course also crosses roads and paths in a few places, meaning that there is a good chance you'll end up waiting for cars and pedestrians (and children on atvs without any kind of parental supervision).

In terms of the actual course design, the only real complaint I had was that the woods and stream weren't used quite enough. Where they were used, the designers made some great holes, I would have liked to have seen more like this. Otherwise, the space was used well, and the design was good.
Other Thoughts: I really wish I could have played the course on a weekday, I'm guessing that the park is less crowded with other uses. I would recommend for anyone who wants to play here, don't do it on a nice weekend or afternoon.

It's a great course for beginners, with easy navigation and no real chance of losing a disc. More experienced players will need to use a variety of shots to score well here, and will enjoy the challenge.

I really enjoyed playing this course and would definitely recommend it if you're in the area. I didn't have a chance to play the other course on site, but it looked like another nice course, making it even more worth it to make a stop here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

5+    4/21/2013   6/25/2009
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really well taken care of. Front nine are makeable even for beginners which helps new people actually want to play, I doubt you have any trouble with it being too wet in the summer (The 100 degree weather will take care of it.)
Cons: If you happen to throw a disc into the woods or creek: There's a HUGE amount of poison ivy, the creek is so murky you couldn't see your hand if you barely stuck it in. April-October Mohawk park has a 2 dollar admission fee.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 are extremely fun.

Hole 11 is a gorgeous shot that will branch you off into the woods.

Hole 13 is a doozy so bust out your best driver.

Holes 14-16 are all right along the creek and if you're still a developing player like me and my friends one sliced drive could be the last one with that frisbee.

I actually lost a disc on hole 18. The tree was so thick we couldn't find the disc even when we climbed the tree.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Challenge!

5+    1/8/2009   1/8/2009
Review By: RC51ManSam
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short front and technical 8 holes for warm up to get prepared for the back nine which leads into mostly longer distance holes.
Cons: Last half of the back ten follows a creek that is infamous for swallowing up discs.
Other Thoughts: Front 8 are great for lunch time play. Good all around course that will challenge you in many ways.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/2/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: ericjones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: first half of the holes are fairly short making it great for lunch time play. the majority is slightly wooded. all flat tons of fun
Cons: the last half is huge and has water hazs. there are sure to be snakes in the creek in the summer. great place to loose a disc

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5/1/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: jfraosu
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty nice course front 9 have more obstacles that challenge while the back nine uses distance to challenge
Cons: I have played it twice each time it was holding entirely too much water and the grass was too high, not alot of water sits on the front 9 but the grass seems higher, on the back nine there seems to be a little less grass but a ton more water, probably partly due to the faucets that are located all through the back nine that anyone can just go and turn on for any period of time

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 thigh high creek

5/24/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: Highryder
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: good pads/ signs
good course layout
variety of distances
Cons: paying to park
mosquitos, water in fairways
Other Thoughts: a great park, especially when mowed and dry

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Red Walk

5/1/2008   5/2/2008
Review By: ixcptmorganxi
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 are short and back 9 are long so you get a warm up before you move on to the harder holes. Course has a few challenging shots around a few of it's trees and there are some nice drives. Good signs and pads.
Cons: Ground always seems to be wet. Take some shoes you don't mind getting dirty or some muck boots as you will be walking through some. Otherwise the course just needed some mowing when we played but they should be on top of that with such a nice park.
Other Thoughts: Nice park with fewer trees than Blackhawk but enough still for a challenge. Lost a few discs on the creek so be careful around it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Warm up that arm!

4/22/2008   4/22/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course naturally warms you up for the longer throws. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Too many distance shots for me. Sometimes they charge you to park!!!
Other Thoughts: If you never played there, don't get cocky because you've birdied the first couple holes. You will really have to work to birdie later on. The course is more open than blackhawk if you're a tree hater. The two courses together could make for a nice day.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.