Tulsa, OK
Redhawk Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 218ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Get those birds early!

1    7/20/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 46  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a very nice park setting. It is really nice to have this and Blackhawk in the same park. If you only play in the park these 2 courses are in, you will still be a very good player. Redhawk has great hole variety. The front 9 are the shorter holes, but still with plenty of trees in the way to make shot shaping fun. You need to get your birdies on this half of the course to set yourself up for the longer half. The back 9 gets a lot longer. There are several par 4's and a par 5. There are several shots that run along a creek that comes out of the Tulsa Zoo, which is also in the same park. With these long holes next to the creek and a road, you have a smaller margin of error. If you play this course a lot, you will be a master of the low shot. With lots of mature trees, you often have to throw your disc on a very low line.
Cons: This course doesn't offer as much technique as one might like. While there are trees, there is plenty of room to go around them all. Because of this, a lot of holes feel too open. Hole 13's basket was missing. This was the par 5 hole, so we played to a tree instead. The course flowed fairly well, but you don't get that feeling of being really excited for the next hole that you often feel at excellent courses.
Other Thoughts: This was a quality course, and I'm glad I played it on my way down from Kansas City. However this wasn't the best course in the park. If you only have time for one course and you are by this park, play Blackhawk.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Challenge

5+    9/30/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice challenge for advanced players. Plenty of distance and technical shots. Well kept park with decent tee signs and direction to next tee pad.
Cons: Can be crowded with people enjoying the park. Can lose a disc easily in a NASTY creek that is in play on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in Tulsa if you're looking for a challenge. Couple this with Blackhawk in same park and you've got an awesome disc golf couplet.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Redhawk

5+    2/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Big Arm course. Well maintained and fun to play if you can crush it 400+. Nowhere else in Tulsa can you find 2 back-to-back 800+ holes.
Cons: Very open - no real technical shots. Very flat. Does not drain very well. Usually you won't end up in the creek, but if you happen to - you won't find your disc. I'm not sure of the zoo's schedule but on some days they make you pay to park at the park entrance.
Other Thoughts: Good course - great complement to its more wooded sister course Blackhawk. If you like open bombers Redhawk is a pretty decent course. If you like tight wooded lines than you NEED to play Blackhawk.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very good course

2-4    7/21/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: RJDunkman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety in holes. Playable for beginners but still provides challenge for better players.

Front nine is not especially challenging as every hole is definitely a possible birdie, but there is enough strategic tree placement to still make things interesting.

Back nine provides a lot more challenge with one hole cutting through fairly dense forest, a couple really long holes (800+ feet), and a few that weave along a deep creek.

It's pretty hard to lose a disc out here unless you throw an errant shot into the creek, in which case it's gone.

The course itself is in great shape. Excellent concrete tee pads, clear signs that show distance and a simple map, although one or two of those have somehow been uprooted and are leaning against a nearby tree. The grass is generally mowed very well and it's easy to navigate and find your way.
Cons: Basically no elevation change at all, but it's hard to find much of that in eastern Oklahoma.

There can be a decent amount of people out in the park when the weather is nice, but the course generally wraps around the recreation areas so traffic is not too bad.

I've seen a decent amount of broken glass in places along the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course overall, probably my favorite in the Tulsa area. It provides good variety without requiring exceptional skill and always offers a pleasant time.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lighter Mohawk

5+    1/16/2012   1/18/2012
Review By: Chuckms
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course amenities are in good condition overall, long tee pads that are textured well, accurate and descriptive tee signs, and good discatcher baskets with painted rungs towards the next tee. The course is well groomed often as well. Many people don't like the difference between the front 9 and back 9 but I enjoy it because it focuses your mental game...you must get your birdies while you can (and there are some available on the back9) and fight for your pars on the tough holes. If you play lazy on the front 9, you will get spanked on the back 9.
Cons: As with most OK courses, this is quite flat. The creek is basically the only elevation, and you don't want to get in there. Also, on popular days, the course can be overrun with picnic-ers, etc who have no idea that they're in the middle of a course. Also again, during the warmer months on the weekends, there is a $2 parking fee for the park.
Other Thoughts: The course plays quite enjoyably in my opinion, continually getting more and more difficult as you trek further in, culminating with potentially the most difficult hole to 3 in Tulsa, hole 14. It begins to cool down from there generally. If you have to pick between this one and blackhawk and redhawk, play black, but do your best to make time for both of them, red will challenge your game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Redhawk...

1    3/26/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in a fairly open part of Mohawk park, which has another course, Blackhawk, that is just across the road from Redhawk. The holes seem fairly open, but the trees are very well placed and block some of the most obvious lines. Low branches provide a major challenge, especially in the winter when you can't see all of the branches. The mixture of holes is very good. Plenty of each kind of shot. The variety in distances is good too. There are 200 ft. ace runs and 800 ft. open bombers. The creek and woods come into play a few times. Hole 16 is very cool. You tee off and the creek is curves in front of you the veers off left and comes back behind the hole.

All of the tee pads were very nice. Big enough and textured. Tee signs were very good when they were there. The maps were very accurate and looked nice. Navigation here might be the best I've seen anywhere. Mostly because part of the basket was painted to show which direction the next tee was.
Cons: The front nine was not very challenging. Most holes were between 200 and 350 ft. The front nine was also very repetitive. The trees do help make it more challenging, but it's just too easy. I think the Creek could have been used more. A few of the signs were missing. Number 13 is really confusing if you don't realize it's 820 ft. and that's one of the holes without a sign.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It wasn't very challenging, but it's an excellent complement to Blackhawk. The front nine would be a good place to bring a newer player. Out of the two courses at Mohawk, I would recommend playing Redhawk first because it's not as good as Blackhawk.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flat but very fun

1    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well groomed, Tulsa Zoo next door, pavilions.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. DiscCatcher baskets in good condition. Tee signs are present and are adequate to navigate the course. It is very easy to find the next tee from the basket, as a bar on the bottom of each basket in the direction of the next tee is painted red.

The course has a pretty open layout, lots of mature trees to throw around, especially on the front 9. The front and back 9 seem to have different, very distinct personalities.

My memorable holes:
4 - Tough shot with lots of big trees guarding the basket, and no clear line, but with several workable opportunities. I put a dent in several trees on this one.
6 - Right off the tee, you have to stay left of a mando tree on the right of the fairway with some low-hanging branches. I was first tempted to tomahawk over them, but a well thrown low shot got right up to the basket.
11 - Throw from the open to some semi-dense woods, very neat looking shot, requiring precision to get a great lie.
13, 14, 15 - All tolled, 2183 feet of holy %$&# (you do realize that is just shy of half a mile right?), which is about a third of the length of an average 18 hole course. OB on 13 is rough, if you fade out early, trouble. 14 and 15 have OB creek on left, besides the penalty, you do NOT want to go in there.

The back nine is quite a challenge, I really enjoyed the difficulty of some of the latter holes.
latter latter.
Cons: As I said above, the front and back 9 have very different personalities. The front is the con, very repetitive, and an average player should be about to deuce two-thirds of them. Only a couple holes that somewhat posed a threat.

The entire course has almost no elevation change, but that is to be expected in this area, although I think that does detract from the overall DG experience.
Other Thoughts: My rating of 3.5 is up from what would have been a 3 because I simply really enjoyed the back 9. It was a welcome relief after playing 1-9. The park is very nice, and the day I went you didn't have to pay admission (per the sign in the guard shack at the entrance).

Also very handy location since it is right next to the airport. If that weren't enough, there is an awesome woods-type course on-site (right across the road!) that you can hit up at the same time, Blackhawk. I do highly suggest playing Redhawk first, so that you build up to the better course, rather than playing the better one first and perhaps are let down by playing the lesser afterward.

If you are in the Tulsa area, there is not excuse not to experience this course, and it's big brother too!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Spackler
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee pads and signs are great and course is part of a large park with the much more difficult Blackhawk course next door. Mostly open and flat with a couple of very long holes this course is a good course for less experienced players to work on thier game without too much fear of losing a disc while still presenting enough challenge to make it fun. Higher level players will likely find this course a little on the mild side.
Cons: Only real con would be that the only real difficulty on the course is a couple of long holes in the 800' range. They are open so a long arm can just bomb them. A couple of holes had standing water/mud in the fairway and it appears that this could be normal in the spring months. I played without having to pay for entrance to the park but that is a possibility on weekends/holidays.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed the course. It's not terribly challenging but it has good pads, signs and baskets and offers a significantly different experience than the much more challenging Blackhawk course next door.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The homlier Mohawk sister, but still a decent play

2-4    11/3/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 312  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good intermediate to advanced level course at almost 7000', but lesser skilled players can still enjoy many of the holes without getting worn out or risk losing their discs (they should avoid 13-16, which advanced players will like). As long as you don't go OB, errant shots can be recovered from. Signage is good and very descriptive, and the course flows very logically. Painted radials on the baskets lead you to the next tee.
Cons: Flat as a pancake. I mean incredibly flat. It does not dissipate water well. After a heavy rain there is absoultely nowhere for it to go, so it goes...nowhere. You have to pay to get into Mohawk Park on certain days, and those will probably be the days the park is crowded with non-players. I kind of wish Tulsa parks would try to get some of the non-DG amenities away from the course considering how huge this park is.
Other Thoughts: This would be an awesome course in most towns if it was on its own, but since it has an incredible sister course next to it, Redhawk probably gets demerited a little more than it deserves. Compared to Blackhawk, this is more your standard fare open park golf, plenty of which can be found in Tulsa, albeit with two 800+ holes. Early or weekday play recommended. Again, not as impressive as the black course, but if you're paying to get into the park, you might as well get your money's worth and play both courses.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice Signs.
- Nice Tee pads.
- It was easy to navigate.
Cons: - Pretty wet, it looks like this course could hold water for a few days. Wasn't bad when I played, you had to just avoid some large puddles.
- The Park can get pretty crowded especially on a weekend. When I played, I started early but by the time I got towards the end of the round, I had to play very cautiously on some holes. I didn't enjoy having to do that.
- Holes 13 and 14 don't seem to belong. There are a lot of holes between 250 - 300ft., and then all of a sudden you get to back to back holes almost 900ft. To me they could have made these around 600ft, and it would have been more in line with the course.
- Had to pay to park. You don't always have to do this but probably mainly on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: - All in all a pretty nice course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.