South Daytona, FL 
Reed Canal Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discpilot86 Hole #9
3 / 221ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Light Fun

1    8/18/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 203  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Light, easy course tucked into a small city park is very well constructed in terms of the space available. Though all the holes are played in the same, relatively open area, it doesn't feel that way while playing.

And while the course feels open, the shots aren't. Individual palms provide most of the obstacles in your path, creating a nice vacation feel to your round. The park is maintained very well, and while there are other activities, they don't get in the way as afar as I can tell.
Cons: That said, there's not a ton of difficulty and not much length at all. While most of the holes are decent, and provide a few different looks, none are memorable and a few are just silly. I'm speaking particularly of 14 and 15, which are open looks at basket less than 150 feet away. Holes like that cheapen the potential aces in my opinion.

While most tees are withing a few feet of the previous basket, it can still be hard to locate them. Since the entire area is open, you will be looking in all directions for the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is alright. I'd go back again. It's 18 holes that can be played played quickly and doesn't demand to be taken too seriously.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/12/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is a beginner friendly rec course located in a really nice quiet beautiful park! Lots of scenery to take in!
-Tee area has Tee signs with fairway map & distance, and there are concrete tee's
-Beginner friendly; A couple of long drive shots, Numerous tight & Technical short shots; the rest are average range open field shots.
-Decent Fun Factor that does have challenging shots. Non-playing friends could have a good time here.
-Perfect for a quick round, also good to bring non-playing friends and family.
-A plethora of opportunities for an Ace here. This course could host a real nice Ace Race Tournament.
-If you have a bad or deflected shot on the tighter holes, you'll still be close enough for a run at the basket for an deuce or an upshot.
-50/50 Balance of Wooded and open field
FWIW
-Other activities and playground equipment in the park.
Cons: -Navigation was a little hard to follow. I figured it out without a map, but there was more than a few moments of "Where is it?". (Primarily a First time issue)

-The park could be crowded on weekends, and during the summer there was an apparent summer rec program happening here during the week. So there was a large group of children that ended up walking across the field. On a busy weekend, I could see the open field side of this park being very crowded.

-Could be considered too tight by some peoples standards, although I enjoyed threading the needle on some of those shots. The front 9 has some really tight lines.
-Walking/Biking path that weaves through the course. Make sure to Look before you throw.
Other Thoughts: By most Disc Golfers standards, this would be considered an easy course. Despite that, I found myself having a good time. It could be considered a pitch and putt, and you really don't need to bring a full bag. 2 or 3 discs will do fine here. It's Daytona, a place most visitors are on vacation with their families. You could definitely bring them all out for a round and have a good time! It's more of a family course, rather than Daytona's Tuscawilla Counterpart. The course is located in a really nice park, where there is a lot of things to do. So there are a lot of things you can do with your family while you are here. This is not a professional course, but a family rec course. It is a short course and it plays very quick. It does have a decent fun factor. More than I initially thought going into it.
If you are staying in Daytona, grab a couple of discs and just go play it! If you are looking for a big challenging course, go to Tuscawilla. This is the easier, fun course to play. It's still worth checking out if you're in Daytona. It's not a course I would necessarily drive out of my way to play, but if you happen to be on a road trip, and you're stopping in Daytona, then stop in and check it out. It's not too far from Tuscawilla.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the Shade!

2-4    6/12/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very first time friendly. Easy to follow course. Concrete Tees and maps at every hole. Lots of ace and birdie shots. When you finish a hole, just look around and then find the next map stand. Nice playground with bathrooms available.
Cons: Very simple course. The front nine attempts to be hard due to trees, but it really is a beginners course. Back nine gets extremely basic. No course map or scorecards available.
Other Thoughts: Look, I know it may seem like I didn't like Reed Canal, but I did! It was great fun. Easy to follow and have a good time at. Lots of shade to protect you from the beating sun, but its just not too challenging for the players reading this. Located just a stones throw from Tuscawilla, I'd have to say play there for a challenge, play Reed for a fun relaxed time. If not for the simple back nine this course would easily get a three, but as it is 2.5 is a fair rating.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun, easy course

1    3/18/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: BogeyMurder
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Simple layout. Good signage. Good for beginners. Bathroom, trash cans, and water fountains readily available.
Cons: Some holes are too short. Not a lot of variety in shots/holes.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners or people who just want to paint their some aces/birdies

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    7/15/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: chuckrcp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has lots of shade.
The finishing holes allow for some good ace runs.
You get to try lots of different shots.
Cons: Front nine is tough for a beginner, lots of trees.some holes changes and signs are wrong.
Other Thoughts: Nice park not to busy had a fun time. My son is only 11 and has been playing as long as me and he had fun.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 LOTS OF FUN

1    1/27/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 153  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the funnest course in the Daytona area IMO. There are plenty of birdie opportunities and some great ace opportunities. Despite being a short course, there are a variety of different challenges presented. The front 9 or so deal in a heavily wooded area that requires a multitude of technical shots... some of which you most likely have never seen. Most of the holes are <250', but the thick trees make for amazing risk/reward shots. This course is easy to score well on.
Cons: -Lots of kids playing in the park near a few holes.
-Possibly too short, only 2-3 holes that really stretch ya out. A couple holes are merely long putts from the teepad.
-Flat, no elevation change. No water.
Other Thoughts: Incredible use of a small space in Florida! Play this course and go home feeling good.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local player review

5+    3/17/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: badams
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for the recreational player and beginning golfer. Also may challenge the regular player with some of the holes. Every hole is a potential birdy with virtually all an ace run
Cons: plays short for the everyday player, especially 3 of the last four holes
Other Thoughts: Lots of ace runs, assortment of hyzer and anhyzer shots, regular players should always be under par with the more skilled reaching double digits under. A fun little course and a great complement to the other local course.
The course has been recently renumbered with the original # 4 removed and a new hole 17 designed and in play.

1.Short, under two hundred ft. straight shot between a couple of trees gaurding the basket.

2. 300' open, basket tucked in behind a large tree to the left. easy birdy

3. anhyzer to relatively short pin, lots of trees to get in the way, tomahawk can be successful. great pin placement, add strokes if you go past out of the woods.

4. short and to the left, gaurded by trees, alot of righties prefer a flick

5. straight down a narrow opening with the basket a little to the left.

6. another shot straight down a narrow corridor, ace run if you hit your line.

7. short anhyzer, easy bird.

8. anhyzer or flick, get around the growth in the middle for a birdy.

9. nice hole, straight but early trouble with lots of trees to hit.

10. straight with a little fade through a hole or an anhyzer or flick will do the job here.

11. straight just short of 300' there is an ouside route with a disc that will come back.

12. straight at it with a little bit of arm. getting to the log or or around either side is desired

13.straight shot, also an outside route with a disc that will come back.

14. anhyzer with a fair amount of glide will get you parked.

15.run it!

16. run it again!

17. new addition, go straight at it with something that does not fade much and you've got a birdy!

18. short shot, basket gaurded by a couple of trees.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Reed Canal Park DGC

1    12/22/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun and at times technical course set in a small park. It's short, ringing in at only 3746 feet, but it still has a lot going for it. A quick round can be had if you are in a hurry. It's family friendly, great for new players, and is still enjoyable for an experienced player. It can have an enchanted forest feel during the times that you're surrounded by the many varieties of trees found on the course. A lot of Spanish moss hangs from the branches and lends itself to the overall atmosphere. Besides those few heavily wooded holes, it's a moderately wooded course with even some wide open holes at the end. And with the shortness, there are ample ace opportunities. The course has reasonably easy navigation. In fact the course is so compact that there is really never a long walk to the next tee.

As the course winds its way through the park, you'll notice a fair mixture of shot types. Both left and right turning are represented without being too partial to one or the other. A few holes offer more than one route to satisfy both orientations. Out of bounds walking paths that weave their way through the course add some challenge to this otherwise tame course too.

Concrete tees, great signs, and good baskets all are here too. The park has ample parking near the course and you'll also find clean bathrooms nearby.
Cons: The shortness is sure to get some complaints. After all, 13 of the 18 holes are less than 250 feet. To make matters worse, the last four holes, which do leave a lasting impression, are pretty much wide open and barely hit the 150 feet mark. The walking paths are nice but they do offer an opportunity to hit a pedestrian. I played on a weekday morning at a little after 7am and still had to wait a few times for passersby. Because the course is packed in pretty tightly, I would use extreme caution if there were other players on the course throwing anywhere near where I'm playing.
Other Thoughts: I'm torn between giving it a 2 or a 2 disc rating. My gut says 2 but based on the fun factor, the expectations of a short course, and all of the amenities, I'll have to give it the extra half point. 2 it is

As others have stated, this not a championship caliber course. But the course is a nice compliment to the other course in town, Tuscawilla Park. I suggest using Reed Canal for a warm up and then head over to Tuscawilla for a longer, more challenging round. On the other hand if you just want to get away for a while, Reed Canal is perfect for a nice, relaxing, casual round. Either way, if you know what to expect going in, you should have a good time. Enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The only place I went under PAR

2-4    6/14/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Daddy_Dragon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 23.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a what I call a good pitch and putt course. What I mean by that is this is not a good place for people with "GUNS". I found the course easy to read, signs clearly marked baskets and next tee off. The tees were cemented. It was in a park environment so it is good for families.
Cons: Too easy. This was the only place that I have played under PAR every time I played. Several of the baskets were so close that I used my putter off the tee to make it a little more challenging.
Other Thoughts: For being a short course, my family hated the trees. They kept getting "Tree Love" through most of the course. I would tell them that if they could control their throws and aim, it wouldn't be that much of a problem. I would bring my novice family to play again, and if I needed an ego boost, I would play as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kind of a letdown, but not unplayable

2-4    8/2/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: Anger Monsoon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 8-9 interesting holes that require technical skill. Accuracy is required, and correct shots are rewarded with ace runs or birdies. The park is nicely landscaped, and the front nine are pretty solid, if not incredibly difficult. Each offers a challenge. The fountain and water behind hole 2 aren't in play, but they are pretty to look at. OB is employed on nearly every hole to add difficulty.

As others have mentioned, this is not a particularly long course. I don't think a course has to be long to be good, and about 8-10 of the holes here are interesting, have difficulty and variety. The palms will knock discs down. There are fairways (more lefty/forehand shots than righty backhand shots), and there's some risk/reward. The trees and OB will punish bad shots on the front nine in particular. And some of the deep rough/foliage is pretty nasty, so there's real risk involved. There are quite a few fun holes to be played.

Hole 2 is particularly picturesque, finishing against the backdrop of the fountain in the pond.

And Hole 12 is a biggish hole, 356' or so, dogleg right, with the basket very nicely positioned behind a big fallen log, which adds something to think about for your upshot.

The signage was good. New tee signs, very clear on where to go (mostly). Baskets modern and in great shape. Things seemed well groomed to me, especially for Florida.
Cons: However, the finish--especially the last four holes, which are among the worst holes I have ever played--is really awful. 15, 16, 17, and 18 are less than 150', straight ahead in the field, not an obstacle in sight. They have no difficulty, and no challenge for players. They are ace holes, but no one's going to be proud of those aces if they've been playing for longer than 6 weeks. This is particularly disappointing since the course was otherwise interestingly laid out, and relatively challenging. To my mind, the last few holes (particularly the last hole) are the most crucial part of a disc golf (or ball golf) course. You want major risk and reward on the last couple holes, some real difficulty, because then scores can change, and the outcome of the round, especially if you're playing against someone, remains in jeopardy until the end. You will remember this finish, and you won't remember it well. I would recommend just skipping 15 through 18 and playing another round.

Yes, the tee boxes need some work.

Yes, the pedestrians offer a little bit of a challenge. Let them walk by before you throw.
Other Thoughts: As someone mentioned it can be a little tricky to find a few of the tees after you finish out, but if you watch the tee signs, each of them lists which way the next tee is, so it's pretty straightforward if you're paying attention.

Big arm players won't love this course, but it does level the playing field for the rest of us, and we can all enjoy technical holes among the palms. Two of the holes are 300 feet or more, so you can get a little drive on for those. I don't know what the situation was with how much of the rest of the park the designers were able to use, but it's a real pity they didn't expand further into the other half of the park (and especially that they couldn't--or wouldn't, perhaps--use the water a little bit more). Even as a recreational course, I don't think this is a good 18 hole course. It is a decent 14 hole course, and you'd be smart to play it as such. I agree with the other commenter who suggested that this could be a quite good 9 hole course if they'd gone that way with it. But sometimes you're stuck with what you have to work with, and they did a good job with the first half.

If you come to play, keep the discs low. If they get wedged up in the palms, they're very hard to get down. I saw some dudes with a ladder and a pole trying to get a disc from the crown of a 60' palm. Good luck with that, guys.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.