South Daytona, FL 
Reed Canal Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discpilot86 Hole #1
3 / 304ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Light Fun

1    8/18/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Light, easy course tucked into a small city park is very well constructed in terms of the space available. Though all the holes are played in the same, relatively open area, it doesn't feel that way while playing.

And while the course feels open, the shots aren't. Individual palms provide most of the obstacles in your path, creating a nice vacation feel to your round. The park is maintained very well, and while there are other activities, they don't get in the way as afar as I can tell.
Cons: That said, there's not a ton of difficulty and not much length at all. While most of the holes are decent, and provide a few different looks, none are memorable and a few are just silly. I'm speaking particularly of 14 and 15, which are open looks at basket less than 150 feet away. Holes like that cheapen the potential aces in my opinion.

While most tees are withing a few feet of the previous basket, it can still be hard to locate them. Since the entire area is open, you will be looking in all directions for the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is alright. I'd go back again. It's 18 holes that can be played played quickly and doesn't demand to be taken too seriously.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/12/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is a beginner friendly rec course located in a really nice quiet beautiful park! Lots of scenery to take in!
-Tee area has Tee signs with fairway map & distance, and there are concrete tee's
-Beginner friendly; A couple of long drive shots, Numerous tight & Technical short shots; the rest are average range open field shots.
-Decent Fun Factor that does have challenging shots. Non-playing friends could have a good time here.
-Perfect for a quick round, also good to bring non-playing friends and family.
-A plethora of opportunities for an Ace here. This course could host a real nice Ace Race Tournament.
-If you have a bad or deflected shot on the tighter holes, you'll still be close enough for a run at the basket for an deuce or an upshot.
-50/50 Balance of Wooded and open field
FWIW
-Other activities and playground equipment in the park.
Cons: -Navigation was a little hard to follow. I figured it out without a map, but there was more than a few moments of "Where is it?". (Primarily a First time issue)

-The park could be crowded on weekends, and during the summer there was an apparent summer rec program happening here during the week. So there was a large group of children that ended up walking across the field. On a busy weekend, I could see the open field side of this park being very crowded.

-Could be considered too tight by some peoples standards, although I enjoyed threading the needle on some of those shots. The front 9 has some really tight lines.
-Walking/Biking path that weaves through the course. Make sure to Look before you throw.
Other Thoughts: By most Disc Golfers standards, this would be considered an easy course. Despite that, I found myself having a good time. It could be considered a pitch and putt, and you really don't need to bring a full bag. 2 or 3 discs will do fine here. It's Daytona, a place most visitors are on vacation with their families. You could definitely bring them all out for a round and have a good time! It's more of a family course, rather than Daytona's Tuscawilla Counterpart. The course is located in a really nice park, where there is a lot of things to do. So there are a lot of things you can do with your family while you are here. This is not a professional course, but a family rec course. It is a short course and it plays very quick. It does have a decent fun factor. More than I initially thought going into it.
If you are staying in Daytona, grab a couple of discs and just go play it! If you are looking for a big challenging course, go to Tuscawilla. This is the easier, fun course to play. It's still worth checking out if you're in Daytona. It's not a course I would necessarily drive out of my way to play, but if you happen to be on a road trip, and you're stopping in Daytona, then stop in and check it out. It's not too far from Tuscawilla.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the Shade!

2-4    6/12/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very first time friendly. Easy to follow course. Concrete Tees and maps at every hole. Lots of ace and birdie shots. When you finish a hole, just look around and then find the next map stand. Nice playground with bathrooms available.
Cons: Very simple course. The front nine attempts to be hard due to trees, but it really is a beginners course. Back nine gets extremely basic. No course map or scorecards available.
Other Thoughts: Look, I know it may seem like I didn't like Reed Canal, but I did! It was great fun. Easy to follow and have a good time at. Lots of shade to protect you from the beating sun, but its just not too challenging for the players reading this. Located just a stones throw from Tuscawilla, I'd have to say play there for a challenge, play Reed for a fun relaxed time. If not for the simple back nine this course would easily get a three, but as it is 2.5 is a fair rating.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Reed Canal Park DGC

1    12/22/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun and at times technical course set in a small park. It's short, ringing in at only 3746 feet, but it still has a lot going for it. A quick round can be had if you are in a hurry. It's family friendly, great for new players, and is still enjoyable for an experienced player. It can have an enchanted forest feel during the times that you're surrounded by the many varieties of trees found on the course. A lot of Spanish moss hangs from the branches and lends itself to the overall atmosphere. Besides those few heavily wooded holes, it's a moderately wooded course with even some wide open holes at the end. And with the shortness, there are ample ace opportunities. The course has reasonably easy navigation. In fact the course is so compact that there is really never a long walk to the next tee.

As the course winds its way through the park, you'll notice a fair mixture of shot types. Both left and right turning are represented without being too partial to one or the other. A few holes offer more than one route to satisfy both orientations. Out of bounds walking paths that weave their way through the course add some challenge to this otherwise tame course too.

Concrete tees, great signs, and good baskets all are here too. The park has ample parking near the course and you'll also find clean bathrooms nearby.
Cons: The shortness is sure to get some complaints. After all, 13 of the 18 holes are less than 250 feet. To make matters worse, the last four holes, which do leave a lasting impression, are pretty much wide open and barely hit the 150 feet mark. The walking paths are nice but they do offer an opportunity to hit a pedestrian. I played on a weekday morning at a little after 7am and still had to wait a few times for passersby. Because the course is packed in pretty tightly, I would use extreme caution if there were other players on the course throwing anywhere near where I'm playing.
Other Thoughts: I'm torn between giving it a 2 or a 2 ½ disc rating. My gut says 2 but based on the fun factor, the expectations of a short course, and all of the amenities, I'll have to give it the extra half point. 2 ½ it is…

As others have stated, this not a championship caliber course. But the course is a nice compliment to the other course in town, Tuscawilla Park. I suggest using Reed Canal for a warm up and then head over to Tuscawilla for a longer, more challenging round. On the other hand if you just want to get away for a while, Reed Canal is perfect for a nice, relaxing, casual round. Either way, if you know what to expect going in, you should have a good time. Enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The only place I went under PAR

2-4    6/14/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Daddy_Dragon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 23.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a what I call a good pitch and putt course. What I mean by that is this is not a good place for people with "GUNS". I found the course easy to read, signs clearly marked baskets and next tee off. The tees were cemented. It was in a park environment so it is good for families.
Cons: Too easy. This was the only place that I have played under PAR every time I played. Several of the baskets were so close that I used my putter off the tee to make it a little more challenging.
Other Thoughts: For being a short course, my family hated the trees. They kept getting "Tree Love" through most of the course. I would tell them that if they could control their throws and aim, it wouldn't be that much of a problem. I would bring my novice family to play again, and if I needed an ego boost, I would play as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Putt Putt

2-4    6/28/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: I3ooI3oo
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained. It is a city park that is normally not too busy. Typical hole length is 125-200' which make is great as a 2 disc course.
Cons: No long holes.
Other Thoughts: We use this course as a putting warm up before playing another course locally. You can play this whole course with your putter if you can drive with it. The possibility of acing a hole is high as many are under 150'/

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Summer Vacation Discin`

1    4/25/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.9 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course itself is very easy to navigate and the tee signs a very clear as to where the baskets are. The fairways on the back nine holes are grass, which is fairly often mowed and well groomed. The hole assortment is amazing. You have shots that are wide open (1, 15, and 16 for example), tight and wooded like 2 and 3, and very small narrow alleys like 4. The design is great for people learning to play or just as a vacation round, which is what I used it for. The coordinates bring you right to the front of the park so it is easy to find. Probably the best part for families is there are several pavilions with benches and a nice playground for children.
Cons: The entire course is played next to/on a walking path through the park. So teeing off you have to be very careful not to peg a small child or elderly jogger. The tee boxes are made of loose fill dirt and could defiantly use some work (holes where plant foot goes for example). If you're not careful you can skip holes six and seven as there is no signage for the next tee at the end of 5. They are tucked away in between 11 and 12 and 4 and 5.
Other Thoughts: When you enter the park make sure to take a right hand turn and go until you can't drive anymore. Hole 1 tee box is right there on your left. Very nice park that is mostly shaded and easily accessible. If you play in the summer bring extra water as I went through almost two liters in one round.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.