College Station, TX 
Research Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 192ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Maroon Tee: Back ~10' from the old position



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    9/30/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 117  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The only 18 hole course in the College Station/Bryan area
-The course has some unique shots that bend left or right around obstacles. There are big open shots, short technical shots, everything you could want in a disc golf course when it comes to hole variety.
-The course has dual tee pads with the longer of the two being MUCH longer then the shorter tee
-A few holes play over the water which gives a good excitement factor
-The park is very well maintained as well as the rest of the park.
Cons: The tee signs are falling apart and some seem like they are missing completely. I would like to see more durable, longer lasting tee signs, it would make the course easier to navigate for out of town players.
-No concrete tee pads. You would think that a course like this should have the concrete but we will take what we can get.
-It is hot in the summer. Only a few holes offer very much shade so bring water.
-If this course is crowded, I can see that parking on the road would be a mess. There is no parking lot designated for the course.
Other Thoughts: I did not comment on the fact that the course is crowded or empty, mainly because the only few times I have played here there was a football game going on which draws everyone within a 100 mile radius of CS. I am sure that this course gets a lot of use and it is apparent by the wear of the tees but I have played and I was by myself.

This being the only 18 hole course make this a definite stop for all levels of players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in College Station

5+    9/1/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great 18 hole course which has some water hazards that could come into play depending on if you are throwing from the pro tee's or not. Great course to go out and play especially if you are student and have 90 minutes to kill. Great course for night disc due to lighted pathway but dark course.
Cons: Tee boxes are not always well defined. Course path crosses over some busy sidewalks which causes interference with other people in the park
Other Thoughts: Great course. Could use better signage and concrete tee pads. Great course with great and friendly golfers out there

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best 18 Hole in College Station

5+    9/1/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent tee signs and well kept area. Course offers an excellent variety in range. Multiple tee-pads for most holes with holes ranging from low 200's to 600's. great variety in terrain (not a lot of elevation change, at least nothing drastic) some holes are open with a few trees and a few hole are in moderately wooded areas. Water hazards are an issue and I have seen snakes in the creek. Most holes have a range in trajectory options and have a few opportunities for aces. A good course.
Cons: Some hole are a little too open there are a few tee-pads and areas that remain mucky even in the dry summer. Tee-pads aren't well maintained but isn't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Only 18 hole in College Station making it my favorite course, but I've played a lot better. I'd like to see the A&M disc golf club petition the city for another. Over all a fun course and worth your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best (and Only) 18 in Hole in CStat

2-4    4/9/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of holes. The course starts out with some short distance open holes. Eventually, you end up going through with some wooded shots, around holes 6 through 10. You end on doing a few more wide open power holes. Very big park, which means a lot of walking, but also means it doesn't get too crowded too easily. There is water that you have to cross over a few times, which is a nice challenge if you aren't afraid of potentially losing your disc.
Cons: The course is kind of up on a hill, so when it gets windy, Research Park will really feel it. Sometimes they will forget to cut the grass towards the back in holes-15-16, and my friend lost a couple of discs back there just because the vegetation got way too high.
Other Thoughts: There are no holes here that absolutely amaze me, or are extremely extraordinary, but there are no real bad holes either. Overall a great course to come play, and it is convenient because it is right next to campus.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/9/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tees on nearly all holes; regular signs on the short tees, dual short poles for the long tees
-Nice mix of terrain; open, spotted trees, elevation, water hazards
-Short tees are great for beginner/rec players (read: college kids) and long tees offer extra distance (but still not that long) and sometimes a different look at the fairway
-Pretty clean for how much use it gets
-On campus at A&M, great for students
-Only 18 holer in town
Cons: -Natural tees are mostly level but are a mess when wet
-Parking on street can get crowded very quickly on a nice day
-Not much variety in distance or shot type, won't force a certain shot
-No restrooms
-Not much to separate this course from the others in town
Other Thoughts: This is a very easy course on a nice plot of land on the A&M campus. The holes are short which is appropriate for a course that gets played mostly by college students. All the holes except 2,5,11,13,16,17 are easily reachable off the tee for anyone who can throw 300'. The shorter holes are just upshots to the pin through a few spotted trees and the longer ones are mostly easy par 3's. #2 is the longest on the course.

Like most of the courses in town, it is easy to shoot well here so it is fun to play. There are obstacles on most holes but there are not any forced shots. Most of the course should be duece or die for experienced players. Great course for group play in that regard.

Given how crowded it gets here, the other courses in town are just as good an option as this one. Wolf Creek is good for bigger arms and the new Southern Oaks course is a great wooded course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well Maintained College Course.

1    1/4/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Besides the new Alcorn Creek DG course being installed north of Bryan, this is really the only finished 18 hole course with in 50 miles. That alone helps it stand out from the crowd. The course has decent variations as far a length (although signage is way off), and even has four holes that incorporate water. #17 and #11 can be particularly challenging to the beginning player. There are minor elevation changes throughout the course, forcing certain throws (#9 is a good example, good uphill tight shot).

Being located on the A&M campus, the course is well maintained by the grounds crew, so you don't have to worry about high grass or losing your disc in some dense shrubbery. The course also has two tee placements - the shorts which are ideal for beginner levels, and long tees that will challenge the intermediate levels and still make advanced players work to shoot below par.

BEST HOLE/S: #17
Cons: Research Park is open, which some people may like - however, the wind will play with you on this course. In my opinion, the course is too open, and would benefit greatly from some more trees and shrubbery.

Signage is average but are not typical Houck style signs, and are more akin to the signage from Miramar Park in Houston. The tee pads are decent natural tees, but can get rutted, muddy, and unplayable after a rain. The biggest issue may be the parking however. You have two hour parking in the street, which can fill up on a busy school day, so be prepared. My suggestion to having a relaxing round is hit this course on a Sunday to limit traffic.

Finally, there are no facilities, so pack it in and pack it out. Unlike the other park courses in the area, this is more just a section of land and not refined for regular park use.

WORST HOLE/S: #13; #14
Other Thoughts: Although this course may rank the highest in terms of overall course quality, length, and usage in the area, it didn't really stand out from the nine hole courses around it - which I think is a big consideration for play when crowds are present. Granted, it's an enjoyable course, and with the short tees, a good course for beginner and intermediate levels, however it's nothing amazing or to go out of your way for to play.

Having finally played all of the current courses the Bryan/College Station area has to offer, I have made two separate lists for you to consider when making your next visit to Aggieland. I have ranked them first by overall course quality and then my personal enjoyment rating which varies a bit from the first list. Please note however, I enjoyed all of these courses, and none of them stood out as the clear favorite.

Course Rating and Quality:
1. Research Park 3.5 discs;
2. Southern Oaks Park 3;
3. Wolf Pen Creek 3;
4. Austin's Colony 2.5;
5. Oaks Park 2;
6. Bonham Park 1.5;
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC 1;
8. Tiffany Park 1.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best & 5 is worst)
1. Southern Oaks Park
2. Wolf Pen Creek;
3. Research Park;
4. Oaks Park;
5. Bonham Park;
6. Austin's Colony
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC
8. Tiffany Park

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 18 Holes in Aggieland

5+    11/11/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: Clark
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the only course in the Bryan/College Station area with a full 18 holes, so it is also one of the most played.

The holes demand a variety of shots, but none are extremely challenging. The player must make a confident drive of 200' or more to clear the lakes on #11 and #17.

Hole 5 is particularly interesting for the RHBH player because the marsh on the left catches many fading discs. The wall and trees to the right prevent a long hyzer shot (from the short tees).

There is very little trash on the course, and the course are maintained by the Texas A&M grounds crew.
Cons: Lots of people use the park for running their dogs. Sometimes they venture onto the fairways.

When the wind blows, many of the holes are exposed.

Drainage is very poor on some holes, especially around the basket and tees. Shooting from the actual tee after a rain is a no-go.

There are no facilities, and the nearest convenience store is more than a mile away.
Other Thoughts: This is the nucleus of the disc golf scene in Aggieland, and it will be until another 18-hole course is installed in the B/CS area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Aggieland alright

2-4    6/1/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Some wide open shots. Big oak tress winding throughout course. Not crowded during the week in the morning. Multiple tee boxes.
Cons: Not well marked, but had a nice lil aggie show me the back 9. Dirt tee boxes! UUGGHHH! What is wrong with laying some concrete and having something that will last so much longer and not erode.
Other Thoughts: I was a little lost the first round I played from the shorts and still shot 3 over. Then I played the longs, which are completely different on some holes. Water is fairly easy to get over if you have half an arm, I don't but had a floating disc. hahaha

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Track

1    3/27/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Campus courses are hit or miss, and this one is a hit. With gorgeous shots over man-made ponds on the campus of Texas A&M University, this disc golf course caters to all skill levels. Alternate tees offer relief of water for novice players, though water shots from the long tees do not require much distance.

Parking is available on the street right near the 1st tee & the 18th basket.

Though this course is open, the designers made excellent use of the trees that are available.
Cons: I played on a damp day, and the tee pads were unplayabe. We found suitable footing around the pad, but the tee pads themselves were flooded and often rutted.
Other Thoughts: Though it is not the courses fault, it's more a Texas fault, there are fire ants all over the course so watch your step.

I did not see any restroom facilities, but this does not mean they don't exist.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 College Station's Favorite Course

5+    2/14/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Some of the baskets are leaning a bit and a couple of the trays are tilted, but in general the double chain baskets are in playable shape.

I'd rate this course as a lightly wooded course, most of the trees tend to be in clusters. There's some minor elevation on a few holes, most noticeably on #6 (long), #8, #13 (short), and #16.

The short tees are very well suited for beginners and those with shorter throwing arms, i.e. ideal for a college campus course. The short tees aren't boringly easy (okay... some are) but most offer a decent challenge for recreational golfers.

If playing the short tees, the course flows very well for the first ten holes. After that the transitions from #10 to #11, #12 to #13, and #16 to #17 may not be obvious for first timers. Print a map. The transitions for the long tees are all pretty obvious.

This is the only permanent 18-hole course within 25 miles of College Station.
Cons:
Being a park on a college campus there can be multiple instances of interference by other park patrons participating in different activities such as football, studying, jogging, dog walking, sun bathing, etc.

The tee signs are missing for the short tees on at least #12 and #13; and #5 is blank. The short tee location #12 is obvious from the worn dirt area, but #13 was much less obvious.

Depending on your approach to the tee the long tee markers can sometimes get in the way.

The distances on many of the tee signs can be pretty far off from reality. I've updated DGCR with laser accurate distances.
Other Thoughts:
Everyone seems to park on the road on the course side of Technology Loop.

Short tees are marked with traditional signs on posts with rudimentary individual hole maps. Long tees are marked with dual 2' tall posts in the ground.

For the experienced player from the short tees any decent shot will have you putting for a '2' on just about every hole with the possible exception of #18.

Again for an experienced player, from the long tees just about every hole can realistically be birdied with the exception of #2 and possibly #17.

Hole #5 is probably the best/trickiest hole on the course if you play the swamp area to the left of the fairway as OB.

The map that was on DGCR was outdated in terms of the new long tee positions for water crossing on #11 and #17. I've uploaded a new map.

It can be funny watching noobs throwing discs all over the place on the ~600' #2 taking eight or nine strokes to hole out... knowing that you should be there in two drives putting for a '3'. But remember we all started there at some point. :-)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.