College Station, TX 
Research Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #18 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 333ft.   3 / 336ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tons of Fun

1    4/6/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Long tees and short tees
- Grassy park with trees and nice scenery
- Strikes a nice balance between open and tight holes, left and right-handed lines
- Water hazards in play add some risk, but for most intermediate players, should not be a major issue
- Not terribly crowded, even on a 75 degree Saturday afternoon
- Overall, challenging and very fun!
Cons:
- No concrete tee pads
- Holes 4, 5, 6, 7, 10 are a little repetitive and play the same direction
- The road is precariously close to holes 3, 4, 5. Felt like a new player could easily shank one into a headwind and hit an oncoming car.
Other Thoughts:
- I thoroughly enjoyed this course, and found it to be more lovely than the pictures would indicate
- The long tees were a nice challenge for me, without being obnoxiously tough. I legitimately felt that I had a chance to birdie any given hole, even though I did not execute many
- Wish I lived closer to College Station so I could play this course more

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In College Station

5+    9/18/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: NUKE350
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes. All Par 3 varying between 250 - 500 ft. Every hole challenges any given part of ones game. The best holes are in my opinion #5, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11, #12, #13, #15, #16, #17. 3 holes present water hazard tests #1 is the first but you can easily throw it straight over the small portion closest to the throw off or throw a forehand and easily curve it up to the cage for a hole in one or birdie. I have seen rookies make a hole in one on #1. However #16 you will not make a hole in 1 unless you are gifted. You throw over about 30-40 feet of water depending on the spot but many people loose discs on this hole and #17. #16 has a TON of wind be careful if you are a rook! fun holes though #17 is my favorite because you line up on a ridge overlooking one of the 6 ponds at research and and can throw over a stretch of 20 feet to 75 feet of water. Many lost disc = alot of swimming lol Some holes are lightly wooded to heavily wooded but most are open and provide for a nice score no matter the player.
Cons: Not much shade but not that big of a deal if you can handle Texas heat. No marking for the Hero tee box only for the white and brown. Can get crowded during the school year with aggies that have never played coming out to play in groups of 5-20 people can get annoying if you don't have guts to play ahead that is ;)
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in college station because it is the only 18 hole and has a few many memorable holes

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/20/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: Mason65
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two tee placements, the short tees are excellent for working mids and putters all day, while the longs require more driver manipulation. If you're a real stud the locals have extra long tees marked for each hole.

The course itself has a good balance of shorter technical holes with longer open holes. Trees and bushes are presented as obstacles, but you never tee off into a forest praying to get through.
Cons: Teepads are worn especially on long tees, posts to mark long teeboxes also get in the way.
Other Thoughts: The course has water in play on four holes, but the ponds are relatively clean and shallow so bring your swim trunks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/21/2009   2/27/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set in a beautiful campus park with huge oaks and some small ponds and creeks to throw around.

This is the easiest John Houck course I have ever played with only three holes from the long tees over 300'. This gives it a high fun factor for the recreational player.

There are three holes (long tees) that have you throwing over water. #17 is fairly epicish. It has an elevation drop and it's about a 200' shot to clear the water. If your discs turns a little it's about 300' to clear the water so this hole is the most memorable on the course.

It's a fairly open course but there are a couple of nice tunnel shots, a couple of long anhyzers, and many holes with just enough well placed trees to complicate matters.
Cons: No restroom.

Dirt teepads.

There are alternate tees but with two different types of signage. The shorts are too short in my opinion and have standard tee signs and the longs have two posts to mark the front corners of the tee pad. The posts are painted Aggie maroon and have the distances stenciled on them. It makes you wonder which holes are the original Houck design and which were added later.

There was a girl sitting right in the middle of the fairway (from the long tee) on hole #12 studying. We threw from the short tee on that hole but most people just threw over her...very dangerous.

This is a very busy park on the weekends with dogs, kite flyers, students, sunbathers, and worst of all Aggie disc golfers (joke).
Other Thoughts: I rated this course slightly higher than other reviewers because I think the beauty of the park combined with the fun factor trumps the lower than average difficulty level.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.