Layout Extinct

College Station, TX 
Research Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 204ft.   3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Maroon Tee: Moved ~15' left of the original location



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Tons of Fun

1    4/6/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 49  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Long tees and short tees
- Grassy park with trees and nice scenery
- Strikes a nice balance between open and tight holes, left and right-handed lines
- Water hazards in play add some risk, but for most intermediate players, should not be a major issue
- Not terribly crowded, even on a 75 degree Saturday afternoon
- Overall, challenging and very fun!
Cons:
- No concrete tee pads
- Holes 4, 5, 6, 7, 10 are a little repetitive and play the same direction
- The road is precariously close to holes 3, 4, 5. Felt like a new player could easily shank one into a headwind and hit an oncoming car.
Other Thoughts:
- I thoroughly enjoyed this course, and found it to be more lovely than the pictures would indicate
- The long tees were a nice challenge for me, without being obnoxiously tough. I legitimately felt that I had a chance to birdie any given hole, even though I did not execute many
- Wish I lived closer to College Station so I could play this course more

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/30/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The only 18 hole course in the College Station/Bryan area
-The course has some unique shots that bend left or right around obstacles. There are big open shots, short technical shots, everything you could want in a disc golf course when it comes to hole variety.
-The course has dual tee pads with the longer of the two being MUCH longer then the shorter tee
-A few holes play over the water which gives a good excitement factor
-The park is very well maintained as well as the rest of the park.
Cons: The tee signs are falling apart and some seem like they are missing completely. I would like to see more durable, longer lasting tee signs, it would make the course easier to navigate for out of town players.
-No concrete tee pads. You would think that a course like this should have the concrete but we will take what we can get.
-It is hot in the summer. Only a few holes offer very much shade so bring water.
-If this course is crowded, I can see that parking on the road would be a mess. There is no parking lot designated for the course.
Other Thoughts: I did not comment on the fact that the course is crowded or empty, mainly because the only few times I have played here there was a football game going on which draws everyone within a 100 mile radius of CS. I am sure that this course gets a lot of use and it is apparent by the wear of the tees but I have played and I was by myself.

This being the only 18 hole course make this a definite stop for all levels of players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In College Station

5+    9/18/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: NUKE350
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes. All Par 3 varying between 250 - 500 ft. Every hole challenges any given part of ones game. The best holes are in my opinion #5, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11, #12, #13, #15, #16, #17. 3 holes present water hazard tests #1 is the first but you can easily throw it straight over the small portion closest to the throw off or throw a forehand and easily curve it up to the cage for a hole in one or birdie. I have seen rookies make a hole in one on #1. However #16 you will not make a hole in 1 unless you are gifted. You throw over about 30-40 feet of water depending on the spot but many people loose discs on this hole and #17. #16 has a TON of wind be careful if you are a rook! fun holes though #17 is my favorite because you line up on a ridge overlooking one of the 6 ponds at research and and can throw over a stretch of 20 feet to 75 feet of water. Many lost disc = alot of swimming lol Some holes are lightly wooded to heavily wooded but most are open and provide for a nice score no matter the player.
Cons: Not much shade but not that big of a deal if you can handle Texas heat. No marking for the Hero tee box only for the white and brown. Can get crowded during the school year with aggies that have never played coming out to play in groups of 5-20 people can get annoying if you don't have guts to play ahead that is ;)
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in college station because it is the only 18 hole and has a few many memorable holes

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in College Station

5+    9/1/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great 18 hole course which has some water hazards that could come into play depending on if you are throwing from the pro tee's or not. Great course to go out and play especially if you are student and have 90 minutes to kill. Great course for night disc due to lighted pathway but dark course.
Cons: Tee boxes are not always well defined. Course path crosses over some busy sidewalks which causes interference with other people in the park
Other Thoughts: Great course. Could use better signage and concrete tee pads. Great course with great and friendly golfers out there

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best 18 Hole in College Station

5+    9/1/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent tee signs and well kept area. Course offers an excellent variety in range. Multiple tee-pads for most holes with holes ranging from low 200's to 600's. great variety in terrain (not a lot of elevation change, at least nothing drastic) some holes are open with a few trees and a few hole are in moderately wooded areas. Water hazards are an issue and I have seen snakes in the creek. Most holes have a range in trajectory options and have a few opportunities for aces. A good course.
Cons: Some hole are a little too open there are a few tee-pads and areas that remain mucky even in the dry summer. Tee-pads aren't well maintained but isn't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Only 18 hole in College Station making it my favorite course, but I've played a lot better. I'd like to see the A&M disc golf club petition the city for another. Over all a fun course and worth your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Memories

5+    6/3/1997   6/3/2011
Review By: ezyrider
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Home course throughout college. I've played more rounds than I can count at this course. Relatively short course with good use of park space. Great scenery during summer months!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Great course that can be easily be played between classes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best (and Only) 18 in Hole in CStat

2-4    4/9/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 85  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of holes. The course starts out with some short distance open holes. Eventually, you end up going through with some wooded shots, around holes 6 through 10. You end on doing a few more wide open power holes. Very big park, which means a lot of walking, but also means it doesn't get too crowded too easily. There is water that you have to cross over a few times, which is a nice challenge if you aren't afraid of potentially losing your disc.
Cons: The course is kind of up on a hill, so when it gets windy, Research Park will really feel it. Sometimes they will forget to cut the grass towards the back in holes-15-16, and my friend lost a couple of discs back there just because the vegetation got way too high.
Other Thoughts: There are no holes here that absolutely amaze me, or are extremely extraordinary, but there are no real bad holes either. Overall a great course to come play, and it is convenient because it is right next to campus.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/9/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 212  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tees on nearly all holes; regular signs on the short tees, dual short poles for the long tees
-Nice mix of terrain; open, spotted trees, elevation, water hazards
-Short tees are great for beginner/rec players (read: college kids) and long tees offer extra distance (but still not that long) and sometimes a different look at the fairway
-Pretty clean for how much use it gets
-On campus at A&M, great for students
-Only 18 holer in town
Cons: -Natural tees are mostly level but are a mess when wet
-Parking on street can get crowded very quickly on a nice day
-Not much variety in distance or shot type, won't force a certain shot
-No restrooms
-Not much to separate this course from the others in town
Other Thoughts: This is a very easy course on a nice plot of land on the A&M campus. The holes are short which is appropriate for a course that gets played mostly by college students. All the holes except 2,5,11,13,16,17 are easily reachable off the tee for anyone who can throw 300'. The shorter holes are just upshots to the pin through a few spotted trees and the longer ones are mostly easy par 3's. #2 is the longest on the course.

Like most of the courses in town, it is easy to shoot well here so it is fun to play. There are obstacles on most holes but there are not any forced shots. Most of the course should be duece or die for experienced players. Great course for group play in that regard.

Given how crowded it gets here, the other courses in town are just as good an option as this one. Wolf Creek is good for bigger arms and the new Southern Oaks course is a great wooded course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Research Rundown!!!

1    9/16/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice park area, and the course doesn't run in to many pedestrians.
-Shot variety, both long and short, treed and open
-Right next to the campus for your A&M goers.
-Nice water hazards
-Good windy practice course
-Clean and well kept
Cons: -Wind, if you don't like playing in it.
-No concret t-pads
-If you throw in one of their ponds, say bye bye disc...they're about 6 feet deep right on the edge, so sais my Aggie brother.
-Not a very long course, though well suited for it's location
Other Thoughts: Really cool course. Has some shot variety ranging from wide open bombs to treed shorter shots, nothing to complicated. Spotty trees through-out the entired course with spotty water hazards as well.

Fun course to play, worth your time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well Maintained College Course.

1    1/4/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Besides the new Alcorn Creek DG course being installed north of Bryan, this is really the only finished 18 hole course with in 50 miles. That alone helps it stand out from the crowd. The course has decent variations as far a length (although signage is way off), and even has four holes that incorporate water. #17 and #11 can be particularly challenging to the beginning player. There are minor elevation changes throughout the course, forcing certain throws (#9 is a good example, good uphill tight shot).

Being located on the A&M campus, the course is well maintained by the grounds crew, so you don't have to worry about high grass or losing your disc in some dense shrubbery. The course also has two tee placements - the shorts which are ideal for beginner levels, and long tees that will challenge the intermediate levels and still make advanced players work to shoot below par.

BEST HOLE/S: #17
Cons: Research Park is open, which some people may like - however, the wind will play with you on this course. In my opinion, the course is too open, and would benefit greatly from some more trees and shrubbery.

Signage is average but are not typical Houck style signs, and are more akin to the signage from Miramar Park in Houston. The tee pads are decent natural tees, but can get rutted, muddy, and unplayable after a rain. The biggest issue may be the parking however. You have two hour parking in the street, which can fill up on a busy school day, so be prepared. My suggestion to having a relaxing round is hit this course on a Sunday to limit traffic.

Finally, there are no facilities, so pack it in and pack it out. Unlike the other park courses in the area, this is more just a section of land and not refined for regular park use.

WORST HOLE/S: #13; #14
Other Thoughts: Although this course may rank the highest in terms of overall course quality, length, and usage in the area, it didn't really stand out from the nine hole courses around it - which I think is a big consideration for play when crowds are present. Granted, it's an enjoyable course, and with the short tees, a good course for beginner and intermediate levels, however it's nothing amazing or to go out of your way for to play.

Having finally played all of the current courses the Bryan/College Station area has to offer, I have made two separate lists for you to consider when making your next visit to Aggieland. I have ranked them first by overall course quality and then my personal enjoyment rating which varies a bit from the first list. Please note however, I enjoyed all of these courses, and none of them stood out as the clear favorite.

Course Rating and Quality:
1. Research Park 3.5 discs;
2. Southern Oaks Park 3;
3. Wolf Pen Creek 3;
4. Austin's Colony 2.5;
5. Oaks Park 2;
6. Bonham Park 1.5;
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC 1;
8. Tiffany Park 1.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best & 5 is worst)
1. Southern Oaks Park
2. Wolf Pen Creek;
3. Research Park;
4. Oaks Park;
5. Bonham Park;
6. Austin's Colony
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC
8. Tiffany Park

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.