San Jose, CA 
Parque De La Raza DGC Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #6 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 295ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
First Timer

1    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: Crazyteacher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free
Nice lay out
Great 9 holes
Signage was exceptional and so helpful for a first visit.
Locals were cool and helped point out 1st tee (end of the parking lot)
Good use of the little elevation they had to work with.
Cons: Poison Oak
500 feet on hole 9 in furthest position is a little far for a week arm like mine.
Other Thoughts: Didn't get to pair it with Hellyer since 3 relatives I was playing with were all first timers and burned out after De La Raza 9.
Trees of all kinds will eat up poor shots.
Really fun course that I wish I could play more to get a handle on.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Parque it in the fairway

1    6/17/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off you have to love the design here: nine very well planned holes spread out through the area in what many other designers would have tried to cram in 18 baskets. Luckily for us they looked at this piece of land and put the best nine holes in that they could. The designer(s) also put in multiple basket locations to keep the fresh course over time for frequent users.

This course utilizes the trees and small hills and you have multiple options of routes off the tee. For only having nine holes here you will still be challenged to throw many different throws from the shorter putter/mid range straight/turnover to a long par four hole in which you have to throw a controlled hyzer either at the tee or at the landing area. The roped out of bounds area on the side was interesting, not sure how I feel about it really. Going into the out of bounds section really putts you into a tough spot and is punishing enough on its own and teaches people how to get out of trouble.

The course is mostly flat (good for older players, knee problems, severely hot days) and the baskets are in good shape for being an older course. Even the tee signs have only been vandalized at a minimum and the pads are all nice long concrete pads. Navigation is very simple and you can see most baskets from the tee pad.
Cons: Hole number 8 was really the only hole on the course that felt like a bad hole to me but that may be due to my skill level. You're throwing over this large piece of concrete (which is out of bounds, played like water) with the basket on the green with the concrete in front of it, in bounds fairway on the left and mostly wide open. A RHBH player really has no problem throwing a skip shot off of this 'water hazard' and landing it in bounds. There is no penalty for throwing long on this hole either. Maybe a LHBH player might be more challenged on this hole. Again this may be a challenge for someone of a higher skill level than me but I can't reach the green from the tee so I throw two boring throws and make my putt.

Other than that there really are not a lot of cons for this course.
Other Thoughts: This and the nearby Hellyer course are a real good one-two punch with PDLR being more technical and not as many hills as the Hellyer (or Hell Yeah as I refer to it as) course. This really is a challenging but fun course for just about everyone from first timers to lower level gold players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 holer!

5+    9/22/2013   1/27/2014
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great 9 hole course that is challenging and fun. Tee pads are nice with good tee signs. Alternate pin locations make for excellent different shots off of the tee pads. There are plenty of trees to provide shade in the summer with benches at most
tee pads. There good amount of parking that is very close to tee pad one.
Cons: Can get crowded with so few courses in the area. If wind is a con (which I don't think it is) then it can make play challenging. Can get hot in the summer but there is water at the practice basket.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course when I come to the area. I prefer playing it over Hellyer any day but both in a day makes for some good DG. Most of the locals I have played with at the course were friendly and invited me to play with them. Defiantly worth playing if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Compliments the easier 9 hole across the freeway..

5+    2/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: geoblime
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice lay out. Has a mixture of longer holes with dog legs and shorter wooded holes.
-Multiple pin positions.
-Good tee boxes.
-Course well taken care of.
-Practice basket
Cons: -Can get really busy at times.
-Couple fairways come very close to each other
-Parking can be tight if busy.
Other Thoughts: -This is a great 9 hole course which compliments the Helleyer course across the freeway.
-Much more difficult with lots of trees.
-Great course for the San Jose area

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

great 9 hole coarse

5+    1/14/2013   1/15/2013
Review By: disc cogg
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: - great locals willing to help out
- amazing hole selection.
-restrooms and drinking fountain
- plenty of parking
- multiple pin position
Cons: - rangers can be dicks at closing time
- rubber pads get slick in the winter
Other Thoughts: come pretty much anytime from noon on and you can find a group of locals to play a pickup game with. this is the best 9 hole coarse i have played. they could have easily put a 18 hole coarse here but instead chose to make the best 9 holes as possible.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: lrghmn
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Really quite a bit packed into 9 holes. There are some really interesting holes for a small course that's set on a relatively small, flat area.
-A good benchmark for your abilities.
-Always some people to play a round with.
-Right off the freeway
-Love the art work on the tee signs.
Cons: -Kind of Dusty
-It's only 9 holes, but with Hellyer right there it makes it worth a trip. You just wish there were another nine with this same feel on the same location.
Other Thoughts: Even though it's flatter. I prefer this spot to Hellyer (which I think is fun too)

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 EHHHH....

1    6/23/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: poorredz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Lots of trees to test accuraccy....
-Several blind holes..
Cons: -Rubber mats are short for big wind-ups....
-Most of the course is a mixture of dirt /rock/gravel that really chew up a disk.....
-Lots of side by side holes left me ducking from players coming the other way...
-Some of the holes had riddiculus hole placements after a long fairway the basket was jammed into a small pocket of trees way of to the side..
Other Thoughts: Just wasn't to thrilled with this course...maybe its better in the winter/spring, but the summer is just dusty and rocky

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Fun for n00bz.

1    4/8/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: sillyDUCK
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging (think trees!), requiring a wide range of throwing skills to successfully navigate the course.
Available bathrooms!
Practice basket very useful to warm up on.
Shadier than its neighbor in Hellyer Park, with less wind (still subject to gusts, though).
Great use of parking lots as OB.
Cons: Poison oak. Be careful retrieving errant throws.
Other Thoughts: Trees do a fine job of humbling the proud.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love the Lake

1    3/19/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 162  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Navigation is good-signs provided, Shaded-wooded with good challenges. Good use of space and well designed.
Cons: The first hole sets the tone-you'd be lucky to get par here. Most were long shots and plenty of trees to stand in your way. First-timers and some beginners may not be ready for this.
Other Thoughts: Locals showed me the course and the best placement here was #7 the "lake". Honestly it was just an old parking lot but we played as if it was a water hazard. A unique challenge. Play in combo with Hellyer around the corner for a great round! I have played many courses across the US and I agree; this is one of the best 9's I've ever played. Check this place out!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch 9

5+    9/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: BADman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Multiple basket positions, most positions change weekly *
* Great mix of shot types required *
* Rubber teepads *
* Well maintained tee areas with stumps and a couple with benches and trashcans *
* Locals are friendly and outgoing, many pickup groups *
* Best 9-hole course I've ever played, the SVDGC did an excellent job with the space provided *
* Bathrooms + Water Spicket + Shady pick nick tables *
Cons:
* Can get crowded, and very hot *
* Hole 4, 5, and 6 have OB on the left, and if you hook it bad out there you can loose your discs *
Other Thoughts:
This course is a fantastic 9 hole, great practice for many types of shots. Its a high quality course with all the amenities - except a pro shop - however Mel Cottons (15 min further into SJ) has a fantastic selection of manufacturers and Xouts and Misprints.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.