Disc Golf Store
San Jose, CA 
Parque De La Raza DGC Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #4
3 / 500ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great 9 holer!

5+    9/22/2013   1/27/2014
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great 9 hole course that is challenging and fun. Tee pads are nice with good tee signs. Alternate pin locations make for excellent different shots off of the tee pads. There are plenty of trees to provide shade in the summer with benches at most
tee pads. There good amount of parking that is very close to tee pad one.
Cons: Can get crowded with so few courses in the area. If wind is a con (which I don't think it is) then it can make play challenging. Can get hot in the summer but there is water at the practice basket.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course when I come to the area. I prefer playing it over Hellyer any day but both in a day makes for some good DG. Most of the locals I have played with at the course were friendly and invited me to play with them. Defiantly worth playing if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: lrghmn
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Really quite a bit packed into 9 holes. There are some really interesting holes for a small course that's set on a relatively small, flat area.
-A good benchmark for your abilities.
-Always some people to play a round with.
-Right off the freeway
-Love the art work on the tee signs.
Cons: -Kind of Dusty
-It's only 9 holes, but with Hellyer right there it makes it worth a trip. You just wish there were another nine with this same feel on the same location.
Other Thoughts: Even though it's flatter. I prefer this spot to Hellyer (which I think is fun too)

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 not so bad

5+    5/2/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: chipper408
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2010
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: lots of parking, water fountain, BBQ grills, restrooms, lots of shade, benches, rubber pads are pros for some/cons for others...lol, left and right shots, good detailed signs and measurements, well maintained landscaping
Cons: restrooms near hole #8/9 non-operable, most shots are pretty long (400-500ft), and mostly flat, yet still technical. rubber pads are ok, i like concrete much more.
Other Thoughts: nice course... many long and technical shots, you need experience to play here if you plan on getting anywhere near par. i love the parking lot shot on hole #8. lots of trees so its easy to get a disc stuck for some people...lol

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

2-4    1/2/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
• Reasonably easy to find and navigate, although some baskets are blind
• Warm-up basket
• Nice variety of holes/throws
• Very good rubber tee pads
• Clear signage, funny graphics, and one of the coolest pin locater wheels I've seen thus far
• Friendly folks
• Bathrooms
Cons:
• A little hole/disc cross traffic
• Road/cars/people/nasty areas outside the course are in play on a couple holes. I could see one losing a disc on this course.
• I don't know if they ever use the parking lot for #8, but it has to be unplayable if they do.
• A little busy
Other Thoughts:
Tips
• Play Hellyer Park while you're here
• Look ahead one or two holes to see where baskets are since several are blind from the tee

Random Thoughts:
I called this course Jekyll and Hyde because there are some pretty extreme pin positions on this course. One hole will be in ace/birdie territory, the next will be tough to make par. You'll also notice this disparity on the potential pin locations. But…they're all fun. I also felt it was a deceivingly long course. Pins looked/seemed closer than they actually are. The course itself wraps around and through a pretty basic park from an amenities perspective with not too much elevation change. I do wonder how playable it is on a busy day with picnickers and such. Even without the picnickers it was fairly busy.

Bottom Line: This is a beautiful course with some interesting challenges in the way of shot selection and hole approach. The only thing it's missing is 9 more holes. Great job course designers!

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Kid Frost

1    7/17/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros:
Absolutely excellent colour signs at teepad, showing the 3-4 possible basket positions and their distances, indication of the current position, where the trees and other obstacles are relative to the positions, and directions to next tee location. Long, wide, and flat rubber teepads. Practice basket, bathroom, water fountain, park solely dedicated to disc golf. A perfect complement to shorter-but-more-varied Hellyer just a few minutes away.
Cons:
Only 9 holes/single tee location per hole.
Other Thoughts:
The landscape is gently undulating, and when combined with the scattered trees that come into play on every fairway, makes nearly every tee-shot blind - I think #6 was the only basket I could see from the tee. Rather than create 18 short holes, the developers of this course opted to create 9 lengthy holes (the day I played, seven holes were 400'+), which makes the typical second shot very challenging, vice a straight/simple/short toss. In addition to the length, every shot will require a turn, or two, to reach the basket. There seems to be a bit more left-turning shots than right/S-turning, which makes sense because the course primarily plays in a clockwise direction.

The current map is a little deceiving - there are indeed 3-4 basket positions per hole, not just two. Hole #1 starts at the end of the leftmost parking lot. The rightmost parking lot is closed, and serves as a large OB area for hole #8.

Adding a second tee location and/or a second set of baskets on each hole would greatly improve this already solid course; Until then, play this and Hellyer back-to-back, and you'll enjoy a great variety of disc golf that day.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 good alternate if you're tired of hellyer

2-4    7/26/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: benpalm
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: different scenery from hellyer and much less crowded. good variety of holes, and the one over the parking lot is fun (the vacant parking lot is counted as OB).
Cons: you can't know what you're doing unless someone shows you around. horrible signage. it's also in an obscure location, so though it's less than a mile from hellyer, it's really hard to get to. there is a LOT of poison oak very close to where you're playing

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.