Disc Golf Store
San Jose, CA
Parque De La Raza DGC Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #9
3 / 500ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Compliments the easier 9 hole across the freeway..

5+    2/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: geoblime
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice lay out. Has a mixture of longer holes with dog legs and shorter wooded holes.
-Multiple pin positions.
-Good tee boxes.
-Course well taken care of.
-Practice basket
Cons: -Can get really busy at times.
-Couple fairways come very close to each other
-Parking can be tight if busy.
Other Thoughts: -This is a great 9 hole course which compliments the Helleyer course across the freeway.
-Much more difficult with lots of trees.
-Great course for the San Jose area

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun for n00bz.

1    4/8/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: sillyDUCK
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging (think trees!), requiring a wide range of throwing skills to successfully navigate the course.
Available bathrooms!
Practice basket very useful to warm up on.
Shadier than its neighbor in Hellyer Park, with less wind (still subject to gusts, though).
Great use of parking lots as OB.
Cons: Poison oak. Be careful retrieving errant throws.
Other Thoughts: Trees do a fine job of humbling the proud.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love the Lake

1    3/19/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 154  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Navigation is good-signs provided, Shaded-wooded with good challenges. Good use of space and well designed.
Cons: The first hole sets the tone-you'd be lucky to get par here. Most were long shots and plenty of trees to stand in your way. First-timers and some beginners may not be ready for this.
Other Thoughts: Locals showed me the course and the best placement here was #7 the "lake". Honestly it was just an old parking lot but we played as if it was a water hazard. A unique challenge. Play in combo with Hellyer around the corner for a great round! I have played many courses across the US and I agree; this is one of the best 9's I've ever played. Check this place out!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch 9

5+    9/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: BADman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Multiple basket positions, most positions change weekly *
* Great mix of shot types required *
* Rubber teepads *
* Well maintained tee areas with stumps and a couple with benches and trashcans *
* Locals are friendly and outgoing, many pickup groups *
* Best 9-hole course I've ever played, the SVDGC did an excellent job with the space provided *
* Bathrooms + Water Spicket + Shady pick nick tables *
Cons:
* Can get crowded, and very hot *
* Hole 4, 5, and 6 have OB on the left, and if you hook it bad out there you can loose your discs *
Other Thoughts:
This course is a fantastic 9 hole, great practice for many types of shots. Its a high quality course with all the amenities - except a pro shop - however Mel Cottons (15 min further into SJ) has a fantastic selection of manufacturers and Xouts and Misprints.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: masterlurk
Played: 71  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -good variation of holes
-plays quickly
-lots of different shots
-maybe best 9 hole course ive played
Cons: -not much to say, wish it was longer
-didn't look as green as the pictures(reaching)
Other Thoughts: -if in the area play it. great quick round
-much better than hellyer. prolly give that place a 2

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging & Entertaining (Course Map Attached)

5+    10/26/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: RocRing
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played about 80+ rounds on this course. Holes with plenty of shot variety. Different pin positions changed every so often (5-10 days). Always someone on the course, but not too packed on non-tournament days. I am very new and this was a great starter course, but also has lots of challenges for my partner, who is seasoned. c:
Cons: Trees ...TREES!!! Not too many tree's but they are inconveniently placed and not maintained (drooping down to ~3-5 off the ground in fairways ie #5/#9 & some what #1/#3/#6). Disc thieves & random non disc golfers wandering through. Park rangers! Make sure you leave 15m prior to sunset or face a ticket & harassment :c
Other Thoughts: Check out my google map for flight paths and hole distances here: http://maps.google.com/maps/m....001,44.995,0

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 De La Radical!

2-4    10/15/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Right off the freeway in a friendly and clean public park. Not as intimidating as I expected. A very charming layout with some longish 3s. Plays with an smooth and even flow. About 5-6 sidearm fairway/tunnel shots which are very rewarding if executed properly.
Cons: Minimal elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: For my first time out, I luckily hooked up with a very friendly group of guys, and they helped show me around. Now that I know the layout, I can't wait for my next round there. The first tee is at the very end of the parking lot, and the last hole ends around the front/middle of the lot.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (great use/variation of terrain in older park setting)
Difficulty: B+ (flat; good mix of long & medium; good amount of trees)
Fun factor: A (good variation of shots and holes)
Aesthetics: A- (very clean; nice design and use of trees)
----------------------
Overall: A-

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge You This Course Will!

1    8/21/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the case of course designers thinking slightly outside the box and designing a challenging first class nine hole course when most other designers would have gone the more traditional way and stuck in a nice little 18 hole recreational course. Everything here is done well from the signs to the excellent rubber teepads to the baskets with 3-4 locations at each hole. The pin locater wheels on the post help immensely with the long distances (three over 500 ft. and four more 400 ft.) and at least half of those in blind positions the day we played. Tight fairways, downed trees, low tunnels and some nasty rough all help add to the challenge. Restrooms, ample parking and practice baskets are available near hole # 1.
Cons: Not many. We played in late August and the course was hot, brown and dry not green like in the photos. I'd say everyone up to and including the pro players will enjoy this course. I, as a almost 60 year rec player had a great time pitting myself against it challenges. I was helped out seeing how it's flat and only nine holes.
Other Thoughts: The local club, SVDC, does a great job here, obviously takes a great deal of pride in this course and when combined with Hellyer less than a mile away makes for a great 18 holes of golf. Like everyone says, this is easily one of the best nine hole courses you're ever going to experience!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Nine-Hole

5+    4/26/2011   8/12/2010
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 66  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a really fun and challenging nine hole course. The signage is helpful for finding the pin, which you might not see from the tee since there are a few holes with basket positions that are 500 feet or more! The most difficult setup has 7 over 400ft! All the holes are well designed, and the baskets are frequently moved to positions that change the difficulty and shot selection. I also like the large rubber tee pads. The locals I met there were friendly and were happy to show me around.
Cons: It is sometimes busy, but large groups usually let you play through or join them.
Other Thoughts: Anyone that thinks all nine hole courses are easy should try this one. And anyone in the area should definitely check it out. I imagine a lot of folks play this along with the 9 at Hellyer Park around the corner to make a round of 18.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 AWSOME!

2-4    11/26/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: unitypunk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: beautiful course, Awsome teepad signs, plenty of technical shots, rubber teepads were way more comfortable then concrete. bathrooms!
Cons: 9 pins only. needs some maintnence still( tree trim/shrub cut) to make more options to get to the pins.
Other Thoughts: DONT MISS THE BACK HALF! starting at 6, they are a+++ holes, beware nessy on hole 8

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.