San Jose, CA 
Parque De La Raza DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #1 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 415ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid Nine Holes

1    9/19/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Start out with a multi-chain DGA practice basket surrounded by distance marker stones. There are restroom facilities and a water fountain by the parking lot. The parking lot is large enough that it probably never fills even when the course is overflowing with players. There are three or four pin positions with multi-chain baskets per hole that can give the course a significantly different feel on long vs. short. Pin position dials located on tee sign posts (see Cons). Fantastic yellow cord marking OB lines on park boundaries and paths; not sure if that's there all the time or just left over from a recent tourney. Rubber tee pads here are done right with properly levelled foundations they seem to be holding up well. Nice, accurate map online here. The park looks to be exclusive to disc golf so you shouldn't get much interference from non-golfers. The golf here is good, there aren't any "throw away" holes. Players from beginners to top Advanced players should all have fun here.
Cons:
Many of the different pins don't really change the throwing lines just the distance. Some new pin positions have been added that are not on the map or tee signs, e.g. #5's D position. Most of the pin position dials on the tee sign posts were incorrect or freely rotating, and thus useless and frustrating. Lots of blind baskets making first timers walk ahead to see where they're throwing. Several pairs of holes throwing back and forth on each other can make for dangerous conditions when the park is full of golfers.
Other Thoughts:
There's a hidden creek that runs along the left side of #5, beware of discs fading out early getting wet/lost. This course is closer to the upper end of the challenge range (especially with the OB); after only one round here that beat me up pretty good I want another crack at this one knowing where the baskets are.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Objective

5+    9/1/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Tory
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its the best course in San Jose. the locals are plentiful and courteous. Seems like there is an organized event every afternoon.
Cons: Can get crowded in the afternoon. Seems like there is an organized event every afternoon.
Other Thoughts: This is the finest 9 hole course I've ever played. They could have crammed in 9 more holes but it would have sucked. Instead its 9 very unique, long, tight and challenging holes. I would have given it a higher rating but it is what it is. With 9 holes it can be very crowded, so much so that sometimes I show up to play and pass on it and go over to Hellyer instead.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: masterlurk
Played: 72  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -good variation of holes
-plays quickly
-lots of different shots
-maybe best 9 hole course ive played
Cons: -not much to say, wish it was longer
-didn't look as green as the pictures(reaching)
Other Thoughts: -if in the area play it. great quick round
-much better than hellyer. prolly give that place a 2

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  fun nine holer, friendly locals

2-4    6/14/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: thechad
Played: 76  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good signage, well-marked OB. Locals were really friendly. No boring holes, good mix of distance and lines! A great nine-holer!
Cons: Course is closely monitored by park staff and a smoking ban is in effect. They close the course promptly at sundown and will kick you out.
Other Thoughts: It's advisable to either play with a local or walk the course first as a few of the pins and tees are a little hard to find. Beware of the hidden creek/pond along the left side of 5's fairway, I almost lost a disc in there!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging & Entertaining (Course Map Attached)

5+    10/26/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: RocRing
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played about 80+ rounds on this course. Holes with plenty of shot variety. Different pin positions changed every so often (5-10 days). Always someone on the course, but not too packed on non-tournament days. I am very new and this was a great starter course, but also has lots of challenges for my partner, who is seasoned. c:
Cons: Trees ...TREES!!! Not too many tree's but they are inconveniently placed and not maintained (drooping down to ~3-5 off the ground in fairways ie #5/#9 & some what #1/#3/#6). Disc thieves & random non disc golfers wandering through. Park rangers! Make sure you leave 15m prior to sunset or face a ticket & harassment :c
Other Thoughts: Check out my google map for flight paths and hole distances here: http://maps.google.com/maps/m....001,44.995,0

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 De La Radical!

2-4    10/15/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Right off the freeway in a friendly and clean public park. Not as intimidating as I expected. A very charming layout with some longish 3s. Plays with an smooth and even flow. About 5-6 sidearm fairway/tunnel shots which are very rewarding if executed properly.
Cons: Minimal elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: For my first time out, I luckily hooked up with a very friendly group of guys, and they helped show me around. Now that I know the layout, I can't wait for my next round there. The first tee is at the very end of the parking lot, and the last hole ends around the front/middle of the lot.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (great use/variation of terrain in older park setting)
Difficulty: B+ (flat; good mix of long & medium; good amount of trees)
Fun factor: A (good variation of shots and holes)
Aesthetics: A- (very clean; nice design and use of trees)
----------------------
Overall: A-

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge You This Course Will!

1    8/21/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the case of course designers thinking slightly outside the box and designing a challenging first class nine hole course when most other designers would have gone the more traditional way and stuck in a nice little 18 hole recreational course. Everything here is done well from the signs to the excellent rubber teepads to the baskets with 3-4 locations at each hole. The pin locater wheels on the post help immensely with the long distances (three over 500 ft. and four more 400 ft.) and at least half of those in blind positions the day we played. Tight fairways, downed trees, low tunnels and some nasty rough all help add to the challenge. Restrooms, ample parking and practice baskets are available near hole # 1.
Cons: Not many. We played in late August and the course was hot, brown and dry not green like in the photos. I'd say everyone up to and including the pro players will enjoy this course. I, as a almost 60 year rec player had a great time pitting myself against it challenges. I was helped out seeing how it's flat and only nine holes.
Other Thoughts: The local club, SVDC, does a great job here, obviously takes a great deal of pride in this course and when combined with Hellyer less than a mile away makes for a great 18 holes of golf. Like everyone says, this is easily one of the best nine hole courses you're ever going to experience!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Nine-Hole

5+    4/26/2011   8/12/2010
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 68  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a really fun and challenging nine hole course. The signage is helpful for finding the pin, which you might not see from the tee since there are a few holes with basket positions that are 500 feet or more! The most difficult setup has 7 over 400ft! All the holes are well designed, and the baskets are frequently moved to positions that change the difficulty and shot selection. I also like the large rubber tee pads. The locals I met there were friendly and were happy to show me around.
Cons: It is sometimes busy, but large groups usually let you play through or join them.
Other Thoughts: Anyone that thinks all nine hole courses are easy should try this one. And anyone in the area should definitely check it out. I imagine a lot of folks play this along with the 9 at Hellyer Park around the corner to make a round of 18.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9-Hole Course

1    7/15/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: Twinskulls
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: *I played 200+ courses, this was best 9-hole course I ever played.
*Plenty and lot of technical shots and accurate shots.
*Has plenty parking, water and restroom.
*Plenty of trees for shade (away from sun)
*Course is well designed!
*Cool and very clear tee signs and easy to navigate.
Cons: *This course is not recommend for beginners.
*Many trees can swallow your disc.
Other Thoughts: *7 out of 9 holes are 400+ feet away!
*I was glad that designer chose quality over quantity. This course can easily design smaller and crowded 18 hole course. But they chose better and challenging 9-hole course instead. Kudos to them!

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 not so bad

5+    5/2/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: chipper408
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2010
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: lots of parking, water fountain, BBQ grills, restrooms, lots of shade, benches, rubber pads are pros for some/cons for others...lol, left and right shots, good detailed signs and measurements, well maintained landscaping
Cons: restrooms near hole #8/9 non-operable, most shots are pretty long (400-500ft), and mostly flat, yet still technical. rubber pads are ok, i like concrete much more.
Other Thoughts: nice course... many long and technical shots, you need experience to play here if you plan on getting anywhere near par. i love the parking lot shot on hole #8. lots of trees so its easy to get a disc stuck for some people...lol

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.