San Jose, CA 
Parque De La Raza DGC Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #2
3 / 465ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

2-4    1/2/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
• Reasonably easy to find and navigate, although some baskets are blind
• Warm-up basket
• Nice variety of holes/throws
• Very good rubber tee pads
• Clear signage, funny graphics, and one of the coolest pin locater wheels I've seen thus far
• Friendly folks
• Bathrooms
Cons:
• A little hole/disc cross traffic
• Road/cars/people/nasty areas outside the course are in play on a couple holes. I could see one losing a disc on this course.
• I don't know if they ever use the parking lot for #8, but it has to be unplayable if they do.
• A little busy
Other Thoughts:
Tips
• Play Hellyer Park while you're here
• Look ahead one or two holes to see where baskets are since several are blind from the tee

Random Thoughts:
I called this course Jekyll and Hyde because there are some pretty extreme pin positions on this course. One hole will be in ace/birdie territory, the next will be tough to make par. You'll also notice this disparity on the potential pin locations. But…they're all fun. I also felt it was a deceivingly long course. Pins looked/seemed closer than they actually are. The course itself wraps around and through a pretty basic park from an amenities perspective with not too much elevation change. I do wonder how playable it is on a busy day with picnickers and such. Even without the picnickers it was fairly busy.

Bottom Line: This is a beautiful course with some interesting challenges in the way of shot selection and hole approach. The only thing it's missing is 9 more holes. Great job course designers!

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A shining beacon of great course design!

1    11/29/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2012
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Summary: Parque de la Raza is an extremely well-designed and thought out 9 hole course in a small community park. This course should be the "city on a hill" example of how good disc golf courses are laid out in that many designers would have found it very easy to cram in 18 holes on this property and create a really terrible course. Fortunately, the designer(s) opted for 9 great holes and it shows, I'll take this kind of quality over quantity any day!

Most holes are moderately wooded with small elevation changes. In the pins that we played, the holes varied from a short putter throw par 3 to a multishot par 4 hole. Pretty much all of the holes had multiple lines/choices off the tee and I couldn't resist throwing a few extra drives just to try out new lines. The lines themselves varied from low ceiling punches to big over-the-treetop shots to long rollers to controlled fairway driver shots. OB lurks on a few holes but its not "in your face" OB with the exception of one hole where you throw mostly over an artificial pond (parking area).

Baskets/Tees - Can't remember the specifics (think it was new Mach III's and rubber tees) but all are in great condition and look well maintained. Multiple pin placements (up to 4) on each hole look like they add quite a bit of variety to this course

Tee signs/navigation - there is one section (going back to hole 8 or 9 behind a small building) where you could get lost but the signage and fairly obvious flow makes navigation easy. The tee signs themselves are very professionally done and have a lot of creativity/heart which only adds to the course aura.

Skill level - I've only played it through once but it seemed like there were holes which provide challenge for all skill levels right up to lower gold rated players; but I think elite/top level players may find the course a bit light on the challenge side of things.

Friendly local players - We met several people on our 9 hole tour, all of which went out of their way to help show us where baskets were and what lines were best. The park just has a very relaxed feel to it, everyone is out there to have fun, socialize, and play disc golf.

Maintenance - The park was looking beautiful when we stopped by, short mowed green grass all over which made for great rollers. For the most part, it was also very clean and litter free.
Cons: Busy - When we went, it was a warm winter day with bright sunshine. This probably contributed a lot to the business of the course but it was slow going with some very large groups and some very slow casual players. All of the regulars we met were extremely friendly and helpful though!
NOTE: We played Hellyer (also a very nice course) right after Parque and found it pretty much empty in comparison, so when Parque gets busy, it looks like there is another very accessible option for good golf.

Skill level: I mentioned earlier that this course might not offer quite enough challenge for high gold and elite level players, but for the vast majority of us, its awesome!

I've "heard" that poison oak can be a problem here but we played late enough in fall that it wasn't really a problem...
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the best 9 hole courses I've ever played. If I had to choose one dream home course out of all the courses I've played, I think the Hellyer Park/Parque de la Raza combo would be high on my list.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 San Jose's toughest

5+    8/6/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great flow to this course with Plenty of challenging shots. Every hole is tough with plenty of obstacles to get in your way and many lines to throw to the basket. This course will require backhand, forehand, tommy and thumber, as well as any other way you might want to take your shot. Holes are long without being too long. Great signage and synthetic tee pads, garbage cans and benches. Practice Basket, Bathrooms and plenty of parking. Ground is great for skipping your disc. Playing this course will make you a much better player! Locals are friendly and welcoming.
Cons: Only 9 holes, but pair it with Hellyer 1/2 a mile away and you got 18. No real elevation to this course. Watch for the occasional Poison Oak. Can get a little busy but that's because this is a great course!
Other Thoughts: Great, tough course, not an easy hole here. Just recently it has been approved to stay open all year long! Very enjoyable place to play, come throw if you are in the area!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 AWSOME!

2-4    11/26/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: unitypunk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: beautiful course, Awsome teepad signs, plenty of technical shots, rubber teepads were way more comfortable then concrete. bathrooms!
Cons: 9 pins only. needs some maintnence still( tree trim/shrub cut) to make more options to get to the pins.
Other Thoughts: DONT MISS THE BACK HALF! starting at 6, they are a+++ holes, beware nessy on hole 8

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    8/20/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: mattb3
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What a great course. This is my first full year of playing Disc Golf. The one thing I like about this course is that it has a lot of obstacle's. Which i think is good to practice all different shots. Very challenging but fun and only can make you a better player.
Other Thoughts: Great 9 hole course and improves your game alot.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Parque De La Raza DGC

1    7/23/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 181  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2012
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Right as you pull in to this course you can tell how much pride the locals have and how much work has been put in to this gem of a course. The directions getting here were easy to folllow as well as the ease of navigating oneself through for the first time as this course was very well thought out.

The rubber tee pads are fantastic! With wooden frames surrounding the mats to prevent erosion, these pads are very well thought out and constructed. Tee signs are very creative and artistic, showing very colorful illustrations of the layout and distance making it easy to see what lies ahead. The little washer below each sign informing you where the current pin is located is a major plus as well!

Bathrooms are located near hole #2's basket, #9's basket, and the practice basket. On the wall of the bathroom you will also find a hole by hole breakdown (identical to the tee signs) making it easier to follow for those whom are unfamiliar with the course.

The layout loops around nicely on this pro caliber course and each hole is very challenging including some if not all of the elements including elevation, tunnel shots, obstacles i.e. trees, bushes, asphalt, O.B.'s, restrooms, etc. Due to the distance of each hole and the amount of elements present, accuracy and shot selection is key to scoring well on this course.

Weather, although very hot during the summer because of the location (San Jose) is absollutely beautiful, especially during the morning and late afternoon.

Last, the locals. The people were very friendly and inviting when I came with my buddy. They had no problem pointing things out and answering my questions.
Cons:
There was not a lot that stood out to me that needed to be improved when I played the course as everything seemed very well thought out and maintenance of the course was present. However, I would recommend staying on the course and not throwing out of bounds because there were definately some hot spots (poison oak) in some of the areas but fortunately it was very easy to spot (three- leaved and red) this time of year. Also, getting there the neighborhood felt a little rough and intimidating at times if you are not familiar with the area although it didn't bother me as much as it did my friend (you just may not want to be there when the sun goes down).
Other Thoughts:
This is the best nine hole course I have played yet! With over 100 courses under my belt in 12 states and 3 countries, I stand by my comment. It is very challenging and requires even the best out there think carefully before throwing.

Although I still prefer De Laveaga if in the area, I would highly recommend playing this course second if you have time. If you add Hellyer in after playing here you will have yourself the perfect DG trip. My hats off to the locals here because they have done one hell of a job and I will be back!

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Kid Frost

1    7/17/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros:
Absolutely excellent colour signs at teepad, showing the 3-4 possible basket positions and their distances, indication of the current position, where the trees and other obstacles are relative to the positions, and directions to next tee location. Long, wide, and flat rubber teepads. Practice basket, bathroom, water fountain, park solely dedicated to disc golf. A perfect complement to shorter-but-more-varied Hellyer just a few minutes away.
Cons:
Only 9 holes/single tee location per hole.
Other Thoughts:
The landscape is gently undulating, and when combined with the scattered trees that come into play on every fairway, makes nearly every tee-shot blind - I think #6 was the only basket I could see from the tee. Rather than create 18 short holes, the developers of this course opted to create 9 lengthy holes (the day I played, seven holes were 400'+), which makes the typical second shot very challenging, vice a straight/simple/short toss. In addition to the length, every shot will require a turn, or two, to reach the basket. There seems to be a bit more left-turning shots than right/S-turning, which makes sense because the course primarily plays in a clockwise direction.

The current map is a little deceiving - there are indeed 3-4 basket positions per hole, not just two. Hole #1 starts at the end of the leftmost parking lot. The rightmost parking lot is closed, and serves as a large OB area for hole #8.

Adding a second tee location and/or a second set of baskets on each hole would greatly improve this already solid course; Until then, play this and Hellyer back-to-back, and you'll enjoy a great variety of disc golf that day.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Favorite home course

5+    5/30/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: gripit
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Technical yet accessible. 9 holes, yet does not get boring; always full of challenges.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Course closes in winter, however, it has been open longer. There is not really any space for more holes, however I wish the course were 18.
Other Thoughts: Having played this course since it's inception I am continually challenged and entertained by this course. Whether playing a quick 9 or two rounds, the course is always full of new lines and challenges. Playing this course a lot has seemed to have improved my game.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 La Raza First Timer

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: The Ghostman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great teeboxes--with maps that are legible and not full of graffiti

complex and difficult with many doglegs that you can't see your hole from the teebox and many times not even from your second shot
Cons: Disc eating trees--we spent 20 minutes looking for a disc in a tree. Many smaller trees have ivy and oak in them making looking for a disc troublesome

the course was very dry with foxtails all over--I hate those things in my shoes

Poison oak--not in just the creek area either--it was everywhere--sometimes right in the middle of a walking path
Other Thoughts: Really a good course. I might have liked it more if I had not played Hellyer first. It is more difficult than Hellyer but not by a whole bunch. Iwent out on Memorial Day and was looking for fun. This course was definitely fun, but since it was my first time on the course, I would have had a better time knowing and being able to see the holes a little earlier. I bet I will like it a whole lot more the next time I go. I shot a 40 for 9 holes

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Biggest little coarse in the west!

2-4    4/29/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: jgrosser
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great practice/picnic area with many bench's and bbq's+decent b-room. Plenty of parking
-Very challenging holes with plenty of distance
-Down in a small creek valley so its fairly protected from the wind or heat.
-minimal crowds(didn't have to wait once)
Cons: -LOTS of poison oak!
-Water+poison oak along 3 fairways that will punish you if you go wayward
-closed in the winter
-more poison oak..
-
Other Thoughts: Whoa... super long holes. only 1 hole under 300ft. really laid back out there. no crowds, no waiting. LOTS and lots of PO. watch out. many holes have small initial windows to get through. playing here often will definitely make you a better player.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.