San Jose, CA 
Parque De La Raza DGC Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #5 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 485ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 La Raza First Timer

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: The Ghostman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great teeboxes--with maps that are legible and not full of graffiti

complex and difficult with many doglegs that you can't see your hole from the teebox and many times not even from your second shot
Cons: Disc eating trees--we spent 20 minutes looking for a disc in a tree. Many smaller trees have ivy and oak in them making looking for a disc troublesome

the course was very dry with foxtails all over--I hate those things in my shoes

Poison oak--not in just the creek area either--it was everywhere--sometimes right in the middle of a walking path
Other Thoughts: Really a good course. I might have liked it more if I had not played Hellyer first. It is more difficult than Hellyer but not by a whole bunch. Iwent out on Memorial Day and was looking for fun. This course was definitely fun, but since it was my first time on the course, I would have had a better time knowing and being able to see the holes a little earlier. I bet I will like it a whole lot more the next time I go. I shot a 40 for 9 holes

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Biggest little coarse in the west!

2-4    4/29/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: jgrosser
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great practice/picnic area with many bench's and bbq's+decent b-room. Plenty of parking
-Very challenging holes with plenty of distance
-Down in a small creek valley so its fairly protected from the wind or heat.
-minimal crowds(didn't have to wait once)
Cons: -LOTS of poison oak!
-Water+poison oak along 3 fairways that will punish you if you go wayward
-closed in the winter
-more poison oak..
-
Other Thoughts: Whoa... super long holes. only 1 hole under 300ft. really laid back out there. no crowds, no waiting. LOTS and lots of PO. watch out. many holes have small initial windows to get through. playing here often will definitely make you a better player.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/27/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: Billym
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of trees and woods in play defending the pins. Three to four placements per hole guarantees different shaped drives for each. Pretty easy to follow although you will not see the baskets from the tees. Nice varied elevation not big up and down but never flat. Great DGA baskets and color tee signs. Nice flow out and back.
Cons: Some Poison Oak that will probably get epic in mid July. A little hard to find (go to Hellyer and ask the locals then it is easy). Probably hot and dry most of the time.

Other Thoughts: A very fun course. the Hellyer and La Raza scene is friendly.
After more rounds this course in longs (2 or more 500' holes) is amazing.
Totally worth checking out; one of the biggest nines you will ever play.
Love it!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/11/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2010
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -no easy holes what-so-ever, but none are unfairly difficult.
-good for big arms, but well placed shots will get you par. lots of risk/reward. It felt like every tee shot had a limited window to hit, calling for different throws and discs often.
-probably not too easy for any skill level.
-most entertaining and difficult 9 hole i've seen by FAR.
-Good signage and fairly easy to navigate (after 5 you will see 2 teeboxes from the basket. 6 is out of view behind a tree to the left of the visible tees)
-3 different basket positions per hole
-nice rubber teepads of satisfying length and width
Cons: -trees eat discs, but there are plenty of baseball sized rocks laying around.
-lots of poison oak in the rough.
-the teebox for 9 was near the basket for 5.
-Rubber tee pads are very slippery when wet (6 only. bailed hard.)
-no signage on 8 (over the parking lot- basket is hidden behind trees and undergrowth on small hill)
-reviews for this course seem not to be helpful to readers, even the in-depth, informative ones.
Other Thoughts: -When I look at the courses I've rated at 4, I can't bring myself to give a 9 hole a 4, even if it is about the best 9 hole you could dream up. Can't wait to return and try to better my +6.
-Can be hard to find, but i had an easy time finding it on google maps. I kind of like that its a bit hard to find.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A fine nine

5+    6/28/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: ishelost
Played: 59  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2008
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course requires almost every shot in the book. Many opportunities for overhand shots also. Great synthetic pads. Friendly locals. Centrally located bathroom. Great length without being ridiculous. I have seen every hole driven numerous ways, allows and requires a lot of creativity. It is very easy to navigate and smells good too. Great parking and group seating area. Trees for challenge but not overly technical. Love it, love it, love it.
Cons: I don't have too many. The biggest is that it is closed from October through April leaving Hellyer one's only option. There is definitely quite a bit of poison oak so figure out where it is and adjust your drives accordingly. The park ranger tries to be cool and friendly but ends up being a nuisance most often. Can be easy to lose a disc, especially to the left on number 5. The baskets are moved almost too often.
Other Thoughts: I cut my discgolf teeth on this course and can't say enough about it. I really miss it. Friday 5 PM doubles when it is open is a must for anyone looking to have a great time.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 La Raza

5+    10/30/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 81  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2011
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 9 very well laid out holes, challenging both right and left hand players. some very well placed slight elevation changes that must be worked around. great length here, with holes over 500' and 3 pin positions per hole. several holes offer different drive opportunities with only 2 mandos on the course. two very tough tunnel holes play longer than they are. on site bathrooms, water fountain, picnic tables, and BBQ pits. the course wraps back on its self and you start and finish in the same spot. great retention wall on hole 8 the keep debris off the pad.
Cons: nothing stands out. one kinda crossing fairway on 1 and 2. PO is out of bounds most of the time.
Other Thoughts: when this course is set up in all long pin placements, it has been as hard as any other nine holes i have ever played for score. very different from Hellyer only a half mile away. the course is now open all year. there will no longer be any winter shut down.


7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: tcecil
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is tough course requiring 400 foot dogleg bombs on some holes to get birdie shots. Tunnel shots are necessary for a few holes.
A good roller might do well on some of the long holes.

Terrain is wooded but not a forest so a couple holes allow you to air it out. There are no boring holes, even in short position. It is rarely crowded , but usually someone is there if you have questions about the holes.

Plenty of parking, pretty close to highway.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Some poison oak if you throw in the rough. Course may demoralize you if you think you can routinely shoot 3's on any hole under 700 feet.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  gnarly 9-hole

5+    10/3/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: drewstev
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I can't think of a tougher course out there from my west-coast perspective... Distance (check), heavily wooded (check), lots of OB (check). Despite its difficulty, this course is a ton of fun to play.
Cons: Closed during the winter. Thats the main problem. Also if you are affected by poison oak
(as I am), you have to be extremely careful and get your various scrubs and cleansers ready.
Other Thoughts: This place is especially good because it is mostly shady, has water and bathrooms as well as many picnic tables and barbeque pits. To top it all off, La Raza is usually not crowded at all.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 good alternate if you're tired of hellyer

2-4    7/26/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: benpalm
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: different scenery from hellyer and much less crowded. good variety of holes, and the one over the parking lot is fun (the vacant parking lot is counted as OB).
Cons: you can't know what you're doing unless someone shows you around. horrible signage. it's also in an obscure location, so though it's less than a mile from hellyer, it's really hard to get to. there is a LOT of poison oak very close to where you're playing

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 holes

5/19/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: evrenseven
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Secluded yet easily accessible, VERY challenging holes, a great place to greatly improve your game without going to faraway courses. Restrooms, bbq, and a good sized parking lot are available.
Cons: Closed from October to April because the city deems the park a flood plain. The SVDGC is working with the city to hopefully remove that label and keep it open year round.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.