Disc Golf Store
Richlands, NC
Richlands-Steed Park Share
Uploaded By: Cool Daddio Hole #10 (Taken 2/2011)
5 / --   5 / --   5 / 553ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Take the kids!

2-4    11/1/2013   12/1/2013
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Huge open fairways that really allow you to air it out.

- Clean and with plenty of trash cans to dump your refuse.

- Plenty of parking.

- Not very busy. There were only a few other chuckers out there when we played and didn't have to wait at all. Took our foursome about 45 minutes to play a round.

- Nice tee pads and relatively new baskets.

- Impeccably manicured grass. Has a real ball-golf feel to it. Fairways are mowed and the rough is, no BS, the rough -- but no real chance to lose a disc.

- Not a bad layout with a respectable use of space. Gives you enough variation between pin placements to practice not only your long arm but also have to choose between hyzers, anhyzers, and even a thumber or two.

- Nice location in a safe neighborhood. The few people we saw out on the course were very friendly too.
Cons:
- Short. Posted pars are only realistic for children and/or rank beginners who are just learning the concept of the physics behind chucking a disc. As someone else noted, #10 is the only legitimate par 4 on the course. ~350' par 5s just don't happen on an open course in the real world. It's not very challenging -- even beginners shouldn't have too much trouble scoring even on this course.

- Tee box placement on (I think) #7 is pretty ludicrous. Two bushes five feet from the end of the tee with a ~2' gap between them limit your options considerably. Kind of non-sensical, IMHO.

- #11 is a ridiculous 87' hole that's fairly gimmicky. Set in a patch of trees that offer no redeeming challenge whatsoever, it could have been better designed. Seems like it was placed as an afterthought. Just kind of difficult for the sake of being difficult. Throwing from the tee kind of reminded me of having a piece of popcorn kernel stuck in my teeth.

- Weird Parks Department peeps hovering around the course. One girl picking up trash was okay, but she seemed oblivious to the fact that people are out throwing heavy discs around and she had no compunction whatever about just walking across the fairway right in front of us 50" in front of the tee right after she acknowledged we were there and said hello. Later, a Children of the Corn-looking teenage kid saw us playing #17, *watched* me throw a disc, saw it land, and proceeded to go get it an attempt to return it to me. When I told him to just leave it he acted as if Engrish was his second or third language and started to walk off with it as if I said, "Happy Birthday!" Just a little odd.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts: Richlands is a really nice course with great equipment in a great location. They won't be holding any PDGA sanctioned events there anytime soon, but Richlands was a nice break from the wooded courses I'm used to playing in Wilmington. It's a great course to introduce people to the game though, for sure.

If it's on your way somewhere and you have a half hour to spare and feel like hucking a disc or two, you could do a lot worse than this course. It probably won't end up in your favorites, but I wouldn't mind having this course a little closer to home. Not a bad spot at all for a little break from the everyday grind. It's worth a look and, despite my inexperience, may be one of the best courses in NC to cut your teeth on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ball golfish

1    8/30/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Overall Richlands has a ball golf type feel. It is more open and the fairways where the trees come in to play are mostly wide with some pines and shule defining the path.

Going in to this course I was under the impression by looking at the pictures that shule/non mowed grass areas that define some fairways are OB. However there seems to be no mention of the course playing as such at the course and the individual tee signs have no map or mention of OB. I will still review the course as those areas playing OB.

The parts I liked about the course were some holes that made you work the disc a bit through the gaps while keeping your placement in mind.

It mixes up some long and short holes and in that sense gives you some balance.

If you like to let some discs fly and not worry about obstructions this course gives you a fair share of that. A few real bomber holes are mixed in but you still have to worry about the OB.

The back 9 is much better than the front and gives you more of a challenge overall.

With the shule OB in play and OB created by roads/farm also in mind this course gives you more of a disc placement challenge than a lot of NC courses where hitting gaps is the main concern.

A few of the greens are on knolls and the longer holes have some OB placement that makes you think twice about running at it off the tee. Good risk/reward in that aspect.

Equipment - Large concrete pads that are level with the ground. The teesigns give you the distance. Baskets in good condition.

Atmosphere - It's a pretty nice park and the area where the course is located is kept away from other park areas. The course is well kept and does give you a ball golf type feel a tad bit like I mentioned.

The park has a playground and bathrooms and the way the course is setup I think it's a good place to bring your family.

Cons: Layout - If you know anything about Schwarz courses this is a classic example. It gives you some good solid holes mixed in with a bunch of head scratchers that really throw off the entire thing.

You start off with 3 boring mostly wide open holes on one side of the road that are to short to be interesting. Then #4 continues that trend across the street.

7 is a weird hole and I don't really know what to think about it but my first impression was bad. There are two holly bushes offset vertically right in front of the pad. The gap between them is maybe 3' at most however you can easily thumber over the entire thing and make the hole pretty boring. I threw a BH second through the gap and hit my hand on the holly bush and my hand didn't appreciate that.

10 is the only legit par 4 on the course and it's pretty much wide open, the only challenge is the road and shule lining the fairway but it's so wide it doesn't really matter. If you have decent length this hole is an easy 3.

Now this course was my 111th course played so when I say #11 may be the absolute dumbest hole I've ever seen it's not from a lack of sample size. 87 feet is all I need to say.

The rest of the course is decent but as with a majority of the course most shots are pretty much straight on with a pretty wide gap to hit. There are some good holes on the back 9 but it all kind of runs together.

Now as I said I played this course as the shule being OB. However the course seemed to make no mention of that and if played as those areas not being OB this course would be even more boring.

To me this is a course that would of benefited greatly from being designed as a 9 holer with a long and short pad. That would of cut out all the terrible boring holes and still given the possibility of playing 18 holes by playing both pads.

It's not a confusing layout but there are places where you have to stop and think a bit due to some places where multiple baskets and pads are visible.

The pars listed on the signs are in my opinion way off. 10 is the only true par 4 and only hole not a par 3.

Equipment - Teesigns are basic with hole distance listed and no map. Normally I wouldn't really make that a con but if this course is intended to be played with shule OB a map of the hole would be beneficial.

Atmosphere - The course doesn't give you a secluded feeling at all if that's what you like. You play near some roads on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: The course is a nice change of pace from most NC courses however it's another case of a Schwarz course where I'm left completely unfilfilled. So much more could of been done with it than was. There's to many forced holes where an overall solid design was sacrificed for some good longer holes with challenge.

Again I think this course would of been much better served with 9 holes and multiple pads but it is what it is. There is some fun factor to it but overall I don't recommend this course and see it as highly over rated at present.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bring some sunscreen!

1    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: jeditden
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice and open. So you can't hit too many trees.
-Fairly easy course, that makes it simple to get par or better.
-Well maintained facilities.
-Change of pace from almost every other course close by.
Cons: -Wind is rough! That's really the only thing preventing you from dominating . Not necessarily a con. But one hole is only 86 feet. We though it was a joke. But only 1 out of us 4 hit par on it from the wind.
-Being so open, most holes play very similar to each other. Toss it as far as you can, repeat until under the basket.
-No benches or garbage cans at any hole. Pack out your own trash.
-Some tee boxes are real close to each other and almost intersect.
-Almost no tree cover to speak of. It will get hot in the summer months...
Other Thoughts: -It's an odd course for sure. So very open. But it's the only place I have ever birdied 2 par 5's so take it as you will. Worth driving the 1.5 hours it take us every few months, so long as we do Northeast Creek Park as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Steed Park

2-4    5/10/2013   5/10/2013
Review By: willhoit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not very busy- Easy to navigate
Cons: Not too challenging- If you know how to manipulate the wind this course gets boring.. With such other challenging courses in the area I can see why this one is never very crowded. I would choose NE creek or White Oak River over Richlands, unless I was trying to teach a newbie the game.
Other Thoughts: Very clean and well maintained- Bugs are bad in the summer.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/25/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: chainbangers
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good Signage
-Easy
-Amenities on site
-Trash cans at every hole
-Normally not very busy
-Well defined fairways
Cons: -Wind can really get going hard due to it being so open
-Sometimes it is too easy
-Plastic devouring OB

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great For Newbies Like Me

1    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: Jonathan Apple
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My girlfriend and I are new to the sport and the "openness" of this course has added confidence to her game especially after playing Castle Haynes course. Clearly defined holes, Clean no trash on or around course, not very busy. A lot of straight shots and just enough trees to keep it challenging. Also Bathrooms clean and there were trash bins in several spots around the course which I really liked.
Cons: The openess lends itsself to bring in alot of wind. In the rough the grass was over three feet high in some placess so it made finding one of my drivers a half hour task. White disks seemed to blend in with the tall sun burned grass.
Other Thoughts: In the beginning of our round first shot a guy walking his dog picked up my girlfriends disk and threw it back to her!! ? ha ha

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Richlands

5+    2/20/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: Cool Daddio
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One my favorite courses I have played and a great antidote to all the heavily wooden courses in North Carolina. Open does not mean easy if you play the OB and I can't imagine playing Richlands without treating all the rough as OB. The wicked wind and the OB is what makes Richlands memorable. If you are pretty much backhand only or flick only this is a brutal course in the wind and it is almost always windy. Often windy enough that you have to consider more atypical approaches to the mound like sliding it in upside down etc. I recently added the photos which has the OB marked in red and should make it clear this is no bunny course when played in tournament mode. Also #11 I could not photograph in a way to get the feel of it but it is played as an island where any disk NOT on the island is OB. It has ruined some days for players :-)
Cons: There are several birdie 'guarantees' which usually help balance out that double circle seven that snuck on the card but certainly could be improved with a strategic planting or two. There are two places the tees are pretty close together though never truly in the way.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is quite clean and well maintained with real bathrooms. Bring your best decision making and everything you thin you know about wind, play all the OB, count all your penalties and give it a go :-)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not as easy as it may appear

5+    12/31/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course for beginners because most of it is wide open. However, still challenging enough for intermediate players, especially on the back 9.

Great atmosphere at this park, lots of families, etc. Clean bathrooms.
Cons: Wind can wreak havoc with discs on this course.
Other Thoughts: Love playing this course, especially when time is limited because I can play the front 9 fairly quickly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT PARK

2-4    12/31/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: KUJO13
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has nice concrete tee pads, good signage at each tee pad and good directional signage between holes. park is relatively flat with some tree's to add some challenge. Hole #11 was really short, only 87', but has tree's right in front of the basket which is on top of a mound. Mounds were used on several other holes which adds an extra challenge.
Cons: The only con i could come up with is that some holes are close to each other and a bad throw might end up on another holes fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is a full amenity park with playgrounds,sport fields,restrooms and picinic areas. This would be a good park for the whole family. Most of the holes are short and would be ideal for beginners. For the more advanced Richlands is an excellent place to practice different shots. This would be an excellent course to have an ace race tournament.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best groomed

2-4    9/25/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 63  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most defined fairways I have ever seen.
Taking a course from a barren field to this is quite a feat and the designers should be proud.
Cool mounds to keep your putts interesting.
Great placement of trees and bushes to provide a little challenge.
Great tees and adequate signage.
Awesome place to learn how to tame the wind.
Cons: First 3 holes don't have the same character as the rest of the course.
Hole 11 without the island OB is kind of lame but is still memorable.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. On a calm day it would be an absolute birdie fest but it would still serve to be an excellent confidence builder. On a windy day it could make you cry if you do not know how to manage your wind game.
The Hole 4-18 area reminded me of a hedge maze the way it was laid out and it was just a cool kind of atmosphere.
While I listed 1-3 as cons they are great warmups and huge opportunities for an ace run and 3 is a good primer for the elevated baskets you will find throughout the course.
Others have said that the rough was really rough and we found it to be not too bad (though we never went deep into it) and it looks like all the trees and bushes are growing up well and will really add to the course.
For a course that was a flat piece of cotton field it was turned into a really sweet course and is something different than what most courses have to offer...the ball golf comparison is close but with some disc golf flair added.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.