Kingwood, TX 
River Grove DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #10 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

5+    4/28/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: TWO CROWS
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice wooded course with lots of accuracy required to score well. There are concrete tee's troughout and all baskets are in good shape. The course layout is easy to follow and starts and ends next to the parking lot.
Cons: There are still quite a few trees laying around from storm damage. The lines here are tough to hit and take some time to figure out. This is also a good thing as it keeps you comming back to hit that perfect shot. This course is not very noob friendly. Every fairway is lined with thick brush and trees and a bad hit will see you throwing from some thick stuff.
Other Thoughts: Come check this place out soon the parks department are changing the rules on 1/1/11 and you will be required to have a parking sticker to park in the lot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded Beauty

1    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice wooded course with clean fairways and huge tee pads. Good signs and easy to navigate. Good variety of shots needed to score well. Accuracy over power here, but there is a couple longer holes that allow for some power IF you are good enough to keep it in the fairway. Tough course in places, but not so tough as to be unreasonable. Not much of a chance to lose your discs.
Cons: Not pretty in the rain. I played in the rain after weeks of rain. It was a swamp. Not the course's fault, but there are some areas that lie low, and collect water. Not sure if the listed distances on the signs are really accurate. They seem wrong to me, but then again I have no arm so maybe it was mental. The hurricane blew through some fairways so there is some old debris clogging it up a little.
Other Thoughts: I play a lot of tight, wooded courses in NC so I think I have a good feel for this kind of course. With a little bit of work I think this could be a great course. Fill in the low spots and clean up some of the old hurricane damage and it will be a great little course. Really nice coastal woods and shule. Looked cool in the rain so I would think it would be real scenic on a hot summer day. If you're in the area be sure to play this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Kinbgwood Tightness

5+    6/9/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Sambo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will Humble you quickly....A great challenge for any player. There is a lot of shade with nice big conrete tee pads, even if they are in backwords. If you are looking for a tight course, this is it. This course makes Spring Valley look wide open.
Cons: The maintance on the course is pretty poor. There are still trees down in a lot of places from IKE.
Other Thoughts: I would have like to see more choices for shot selection with risk/reward shots. Every one I have played with out there always thows the same shots at the same holes.

Again, this course will Humble you quickly, you aren't going to go out and shoot 6 down like you can on other courses.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly good

2-4    12/22/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: pineappaloupe
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the tightest course I have ever played, every drive is more of an approach. It makes you work on tricky approach shots on every hole. In the winter finding a disc is not too difficult, despite some thick understory vegetation
Cons: Tee boxes are backwards and slippery when covered in leaves. Must have a Kingwood sticker or risk being towed... but I highly doubt that is enforced much.
Other Thoughts: With some effort this course could be great. Only 2 holes are ridiculously impossible and make you just want to walk up a bit to throw. If someone got the right OK's and some help, some trees could be taken down to open the course up a bit
I still had fun playing it, and have only had 1 birdie. This course requires some side arm stunt shots, which is really fun.
If I lived in the area I would love to mobilize some people to give this course some love and make it a 4 star course (which it could be)

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.