Kingwood, TX 
River Grove DGC Share
Uploaded By: Midnightbiker Hole #18
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Ehh, Ok

5+    1/13/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: Forbes
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is the closest one to me when I am home from college. I play it quite often. It is a fun, challenging course because of the tight fairways and tons of trees to hit.
Cons: It gets really muddy after it rains. And after the hurricanes, there are trees knocked down that get in the fairway and make it hard to get to discs.
Other Thoughts: Be careful! I saw a snake that looked like a 10 foot cobra swimming in the water right next to the course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly good

2-4    12/22/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: pineappaloupe
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the tightest course I have ever played, every drive is more of an approach. It makes you work on tricky approach shots on every hole. In the winter finding a disc is not too difficult, despite some thick understory vegetation
Cons: Tee boxes are backwards and slippery when covered in leaves. Must have a Kingwood sticker or risk being towed... but I highly doubt that is enforced much.
Other Thoughts: With some effort this course could be great. Only 2 holes are ridiculously impossible and make you just want to walk up a bit to throw. If someone got the right OK's and some help, some trees could be taken down to open the course up a bit
I still had fun playing it, and have only had 1 birdie. This course requires some side arm stunt shots, which is really fun.
If I lived in the area I would love to mobilize some people to give this course some love and make it a 4 star course (which it could be)

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Confusing

1    10/20/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Reyrey01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2013
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is out of the way of pedistrians so you don't have to worry about hitting someone or having any cross play
Cons: Since the Hurrican ( IKE) the park has not been cleaned up of debree's and the pads are un accessable. Debree is in the way of every hole so it made it extremly difficult to play the entire course. When finishing with hole number 1 you are cut off to go to hole number 2 inless you walk around the piles of down tree's

BEWARE OF TOW TRUCKS.. inless you live or have friends in kingwood I would not suggest this course.. I went on 6/20/13 and almost got towed away because I was not a resident of the kingwood community. B/S
Other Thoughts: Im going to wait again intill this course is cleaned up. It'll make the experience more enjoyable and challanging. When at Oct 20 2008 @ 11 AM

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, spiders, and bees

2-4    8/9/2008   8/12/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.6 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
First of all this review applies to the course as it stands after the Aug 2008 clean-up and trimming that was done by some players and the Kingwood Parks department.

This is a prime example of a technical course. There are zero holes on which you can grip-and-rip. Every hole has you thinking of how you're going to carefully avoid the trees on your way to the basket. The sharp dog-leg holes are balanced with two to the right and two to the left.

The course map posted at the start is adequate for navigating the course when combined with the fact that each basket has one spoke painted yellow to point towards the next tee. The course is essentially two loops, one for first 9 and one for the last 9. Each loop starts and ends near the parking lot.

Large concrete tee pads. Ample parking. No chance of pedestrian interference on the course. For the most part, the course was very clean and there were a couple trash cans available.

Shade! The abundance of trees provide a nice break from the hot Texas sun and a change from most of the other Houston courses.
Cons:
After the course trimming and clearing that was done there are still a couple holes that could be cleared out further. #5 and #18 come to mind. #18 is a short 201' hole, but has the player teeing off almost directly into a maze of trees. Making it through is more luck than skill.

The course is literally covered with Banana Spiders... big 6-8cm Banana Spiders. While you're walking with your head down to avoid tripping over tree stumps and looking for discs it's very easy to walk right into one of the frequent eye-level webs. There's also a bee hive in the ground off to the right of fairway #17; be careful.

The tee pads were installed backwards (on the map too!). The pads are wider in the front than the back, but overall they're large enough that it shouldn't matter on this short course.

No maps on tee signs, just hole number and distance. Several blind holes require you to scout the fairway the first few times you play.

To balance the course it would benefit from a few longer and more open holes.
Other Thoughts:
Kingwood Parks department has now budgeted for course maintenance and as of Aug 2008 did some major cleaning of the course fairways and tree cutting. I hadn't played the course before it was cleared, but from everything I read from people who had it was a nightmare of a course before with no reasonable fairways. I'd imagine the course now plays muuuuch better. I encourage previous nay-sayers to give this course another chance now.

This is not the best course for first timers as the frustration level will be high after hitting tree after tree.

16 of the 18 holes are between 200-300 feet. At those short distances a well controlled drive by most any player can lead to a birdie opportunity. But with a lot of trees you really need to control your throws.

I would definitely play this course again if I'm on the North side of town.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 The Kingwood,TX Course

1    6/26/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2009
20 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of trees giving you shade on 90% of the course. Also, trees block the wind on windy days. Very challenging to play. Concrete tee boxes. Nice sign with a map. Restrooms. Great to play on a hot or windy day. A nice change from normal courses.
Cons: Not a good course to take beginners. Snakes and Spiders can be a problem. No holes over 325ft. Can be a little hard to find the course if its your first time at the park. Course can be a little hard to navigate if its your first time there.
Other Thoughts: A very challenging course to play. Can be fun but a little frustrating at the same time. A great course to really challenge your skills. I have played this course about 100 times, and each time, its very challenging. It can be a little tricky finding your way around, but each basket is marked with orange paint on one of the spokes on the basket, pointing to the next tee box.
If you a looking for a different kind of course that will challenge your skills, give River Grove Park a try. Also, the signs at the parking lot say, "you must have a "K" sticker or you will be towed.". This is only if you are towing a boat trailer. Disc Golfers have never been towed.

20 of 23 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.