Richmond, TX
River Pointe Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6/15 (Taken 9/2008)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 500ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cute Course

1    4/12/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: DG Drunken Master
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well kept course and in good setting. chance for ace on a few holes and some open long bombs as well.
Cons: I only have one CON...hole 1 is located in an area where people could be in the way if they are at the lake or volleyball court.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/5/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The atmosphere feels very good here. The first five holes were very peaceful and a lot of fun to try and hit that elusive ace.

Every time I have come here the grass has been mowed so there is no worrying about losing a disc in the tall grass.

Holes 6-8 are long bombs over a field while the other 6 holes have a bit more strategy with trees involved, a very good mixture.

This place does not see much traffic I am guessing, I have never come and had other people playing, it's a pretty well kept secret.

The tee signs are very nice and animated. The course is very easy to navigate without a map and for a first timer.
Cons: There is a big lake but is not in play unless you have a really bad shot, which is a shame being that courses that have water are usually more exciting.

The natural tees can be wet and rutted after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: This has to be my favorite 9 hole course I have ever played at. With a good mixture of open and wooded shots this course is designed very well. this place has a nice feel to it.

This is the best course to go to in the SW side of town. If this course ever installed concrete tee pads this course would be golden.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent, Well-Kept Course

5+    10/13/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: NTexas2010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes 1-5 & 9 are technical and challenging that allow for multiple approaches, while holes 6-8 add length for those who appreciate a good drive.
- Well kept grounds and very little, very rare non-disc golf traffic on the course.
- Water comes into play occasionally but for the most part shouldn't pose as a threat to losing your discs.
Cons: - Some would probably say 7 & 8 are rather uninspired straight shots over an open field, and I can see the merit in that.
- Tees on holes 1-5 and the entire length of 9 can get very muddy.
- No elevation changes, but as I mentioned about Imperial Park, that is pretty much a geographical norm for this area.
Other Thoughts: I want to try the alternate holes some time (they are unofficial and can only be interpreted with the aid of a map, like the one found on this website). I've played this one at least a dozen times, usually multiple times through on each occasion. It's one of the better courses in the Sugar Land / Richmond area, but nothing more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    12/15/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: DMC89
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grounds are well kept. Trees are trimmed. Holes 1 through 5 through the trees are enjoyable. The tree lined 9 is probably the signature hole. Once I found the 1st hole, nice flow, easy to follow.
Cons: Hole 6 somewhat uses the lake but it would be great if it could have been used more. Holes 7 and 8 are flat and boring especially after playing 1-5 through the trees. I would not play after a rain due to the flatness of the course, it does not look like it would drain well.
Other Thoughts: Not bad, I'd go back. The grounds are nice. I parked by the chicken coop maintenance barn and walked back to hole 1. Hole 9 ends by where I parked. The hum of the cars from Hwy 59 could be annoying to some. The tee of hole 8 is near the on ramp to the highway.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The alternate tees make this course

2-4    6/1/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: BigJim
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of trees
Good mixture of wooded and open holes
Great beginner / family course. Appropriate for church setting
The alternate holes really make the course interesting.
Nice setting, well manicured.
Cons: Water not in play. It's a shame that the design does not incorporate that great natural hazard.
The alternate holes make the course much more challenging, however they cris-cross the front 9, so they're awkward to play when there are other players on the course.
More trees in the big open field/pasture area would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Solid addition to the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Weak "Good" Course

1    5/20/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent length for a nine hole course logging in at just over 3000' - there are a good mix of old growth trees to provide obstacles and shade in the hot Texas summer. Water comes into play a little on three of the holes, but conservative play will keep you dry. The markers are average to good on the Houston comparison scale, and the course is easy to navigate.

Make sure you print of an alternate tees map, because the "back nine" is much more challenging and interesting due to a lot more integration of water. Beginners may want to stay away from attempting the alternate tees because you do have a real chance to lose a disc here.

This is a church course, so there is access to facilities depending on the days and hours. The course is well manicured too, especially through the first five holes. Big arms will also enjoy the wide open expanse of holes six through eight. Finally, the course is dead flat, so it is family, beginner, and stroller friendly if that is something you factor.

BEST HOLE/S: #9; #13 (Alt)
Cons: While a few lines force a certain throw like on hole five versus hole two, mostly everything is dead straight with not much thought. The tees are natural, and the place is in a low area, so you're going to get muddy after a rain. Hole nine is a good example of unplayable tee if any water is around. Sad too, since nine is one of the best holes on the course.

Why not use the water more? - the thought that kept going through my head through the regular nine holes. There is a perfect pond with outcroppings of land that are screaming put a basket on me. Thankfully the alternates help this problem, but you won't know how to play them unless you have the map off this site.

WORST HOLE/S: #7; #8
Other Thoughts: Having the cover of trees is always a plus, and given the length, and the mix of alternate tees that provide a real challenge, this place barely ekes out a three disc rating. You take out the alternates and it's a very solid two and half disc rating. Sadly, it's one of the stronger nine holes in the southwest area, which isn't saying too much.

Given all of that though - I'm always happy to have another course to choose from, and always thankful a church is willing to spend money to promote disc golf. Plus, they did a decent job with design given the land limitations, so I am grateful - but just understand you're not going to get your socks blown off by this place.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 At the Watering Hole

1    5/19/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: Adam281
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good variety of holes, and the property seemed well kept. There was no one there but us, so we didn't have to worry about competing with our neighbors. Relatively new course with great hole layout signs and quality baskets.
Cons: I don't know what it was, but I've never really had the urge to go back. So to me that says something of it's replay value. The holes can be tricky to navigate. And good luck finding hole one. I would reccomend not going after recent rain... swamp lands. The last hole was terribly muddy- more like a slip n' slide : ) Also, some of the holes smelled like death and pooh. Weird I know.
Other Thoughts: It was one giant circle around a small lake, so when we went, we were literally nuked by mosquitos. Our discs quickly became mosquito smashers, oh the blood! Not a direct complaint on the course, but something to consider.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Day of Disc Golf

5+    1/29/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: jlow54
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of open, wooded, and water holes. Not very long but just long enough to pull out the driver. Couple of possible ace holes for the righthanders. well kept and clean.
Cons: sunday church but whos going to complain about someone doing something positive?
Other Thoughts: I like this course alot. It is about an hour and a half from my house so i dont play it so often but it is worth it if you are in Rosenberg. One of the better kept courses i have played

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 mini macgregor

5+    4/11/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: Omega SuperSloth
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: mowed grass,safe neighberhood,clean grounds,hard to lose disc here. water holes add challenge but are easily avoided for better players, all holes can be reached in three by making consertive shots but birdies are hard to come by on most holes and watch out for trees you might get some negative yardage. this place is alot like macgregor without the bums. this place is all meat know potatoes its got a little of everthing finesse and distance plus not alot of walkin between holes you can play alot of holes in short time. had alot of fun i wish it was closer to my house id play here everyday.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: i played on sunday after 3 and it was a ghost town, #3 is one of my favorite holes please dont change a thing yall have a great course here thank you.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of available space

5+    9/20/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Lots of trees on six of the nine holes make you play very careful lines. One hole plays over/around a small lake. Two open holes battle the wind. A nice balance of technical and power holes. The final hole plays ~360' perfectly straight down a heavily tree-lined fairway.

Good tee signs with accurate distances. Once you find the first tee the course is very easy to navigate and flows well. Neon orange bands around the basket poles helps to spot the baskets.
Cons:
First hole fairway is more like a swamp after rain. No easy access to a warm-up basket prior to teeing off on #1. Favors RHBH throwers as there are mostly straight or right-to-left shots. Hole #3 could be trimmed a bit to give a more realistic fairway.
Other Thoughts:
On church property so be conscious of playing on Sundays. Holes #6-8 play over the expansion parking area and may be unplayable during some church events. After playing this course a few times now I appreciate it more. Though there's no hole out here that a good INT-ADV player should bogey.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.