Richmond, TX 
River Pointe Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8/17 (Taken 9/2008)
3 / 438ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cute Course

1    4/12/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: DG Drunken Master
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well kept course and in good setting. chance for ace on a few holes and some open long bombs as well.
Cons: I only have one CON...hole 1 is located in an area where people could be in the way if they are at the lake or volleyball court.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent, Well-Kept Course

5+    10/13/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: NTexas2010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes 1-5 & 9 are technical and challenging that allow for multiple approaches, while holes 6-8 add length for those who appreciate a good drive.
- Well kept grounds and very little, very rare non-disc golf traffic on the course.
- Water comes into play occasionally but for the most part shouldn't pose as a threat to losing your discs.
Cons: - Some would probably say 7 & 8 are rather uninspired straight shots over an open field, and I can see the merit in that.
- Tees on holes 1-5 and the entire length of 9 can get very muddy.
- No elevation changes, but as I mentioned about Imperial Park, that is pretty much a geographical norm for this area.
Other Thoughts: I want to try the alternate holes some time (they are unofficial and can only be interpreted with the aid of a map, like the one found on this website). I've played this one at least a dozen times, usually multiple times through on each occasion. It's one of the better courses in the Sugar Land / Richmond area, but nothing more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The alternate tees make this course

2-4    6/1/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: BigJim
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of trees
Good mixture of wooded and open holes
Great beginner / family course. Appropriate for church setting
The alternate holes really make the course interesting.
Nice setting, well manicured.
Cons: Water not in play. It's a shame that the design does not incorporate that great natural hazard.
The alternate holes make the course much more challenging, however they cris-cross the front 9, so they're awkward to play when there are other players on the course.
More trees in the big open field/pasture area would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Solid addition to the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Weak "Good" Course

1    5/20/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent length for a nine hole course logging in at just over 3000' - there are a good mix of old growth trees to provide obstacles and shade in the hot Texas summer. Water comes into play a little on three of the holes, but conservative play will keep you dry. The markers are average to good on the Houston comparison scale, and the course is easy to navigate.

Make sure you print of an alternate tees map, because the "back nine" is much more challenging and interesting due to a lot more integration of water. Beginners may want to stay away from attempting the alternate tees because you do have a real chance to lose a disc here.

This is a church course, so there is access to facilities depending on the days and hours. The course is well manicured too, especially through the first five holes. Big arms will also enjoy the wide open expanse of holes six through eight. Finally, the course is dead flat, so it is family, beginner, and stroller friendly if that is something you factor.

BEST HOLE/S: #9; #13 (Alt)
Cons: While a few lines force a certain throw like on hole five versus hole two, mostly everything is dead straight with not much thought. The tees are natural, and the place is in a low area, so you're going to get muddy after a rain. Hole nine is a good example of unplayable tee if any water is around. Sad too, since nine is one of the best holes on the course.

Why not use the water more? - the thought that kept going through my head through the regular nine holes. There is a perfect pond with outcroppings of land that are screaming put a basket on me. Thankfully the alternates help this problem, but you won't know how to play them unless you have the map off this site.

WORST HOLE/S: #7; #8
Other Thoughts: Having the cover of trees is always a plus, and given the length, and the mix of alternate tees that provide a real challenge, this place barely ekes out a three disc rating. You take out the alternates and it's a very solid two and half disc rating. Sadly, it's one of the stronger nine holes in the southwest area, which isn't saying too much.

Given all of that though - I'm always happy to have another course to choose from, and always thankful a church is willing to spend money to promote disc golf. Plus, they did a decent job with design given the land limitations, so I am grateful - but just understand you're not going to get your socks blown off by this place.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 At the Watering Hole

1    5/19/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: Adam281
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good variety of holes, and the property seemed well kept. There was no one there but us, so we didn't have to worry about competing with our neighbors. Relatively new course with great hole layout signs and quality baskets.
Cons: I don't know what it was, but I've never really had the urge to go back. So to me that says something of it's replay value. The holes can be tricky to navigate. And good luck finding hole one. I would reccomend not going after recent rain... swamp lands. The last hole was terribly muddy- more like a slip n' slide : ) Also, some of the holes smelled like death and pooh. Weird I know.
Other Thoughts: It was one giant circle around a small lake, so when we went, we were literally nuked by mosquitos. Our discs quickly became mosquito smashers, oh the blood! Not a direct complaint on the course, but something to consider.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.