Disc Golf Store
Boyne City, MI 
Avalanche Preserve Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #16 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 347ft. Par / Distance:
Next tee sign at 16



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 what a hike

1    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: douglat2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very scenic and challenging. lot's of wooded shots with good amount of obstacles. the view from the top of the "mountain" after you play 18 is gorgeous.
Cons: the second half of the course is up hill and at some points very steep (pack light). should really be another alternate hole after 18 to let you throw down the mountain.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Should be a 24 hole course.

5+    4/10/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
There are easily birdied holes, and holes which will strain par for many. Being very close to Lake Charlevoix (and in turn Lake Michigan), there can be very high winds and it's almost always gusty somewhere on this course.

I cannot say this park is ever trashy, or in disrepair (aside from the tee signage). Overall, it is very pleasant, and when the wind is blowing and the leaves are in bloom, it is extremely challenging. Don't let the short distances fool you. The elevation coupled with the trees make you need to hit specific lines on most holes, and one false move will mean double-bogey at best..

The scenery here is quite impressive, especially during fall colors. While it is unfortunate that the course follows the main road access for the majority of the round, it means that surrounding animal habitats have remained intact. Less common birds like woodpeckers can often be sighted.

There are two nice observation decks at the top of the hill, so you can chill and look at the bay when you finish. Lots of pleasant locals use this for all sorts of training. Local kids hang around the front 9, while the back 9 is usually less crowded.
Cons:
The tee signage has been destroyed on the later holes and the old 18th hole, which used to end opening to a dead shot of the lake, was removed and rerouted to the side of the summit. I guess people sitting on the deck got hit, as it was a blind drive. (don't people know what FORE! means?)

The long (and I mean long) distances between many of the back 9 holes severely disrupt any rhythm you may have developed, and you spend a lot of time wondering as you walk and look at the land, "why isn't there a hole here...or here...or here?" There is sooooo much more room on the back 9 to easily add another 6+ holes, that I cannot conceive an acceptable reason for this to be only an 18 hole course.

There are no water holes, but if you bring your dog, that is sometimes a plus.

The tees are dirt/gravel, in rather poor condition, and can be very loose after rain. The majority of the baskets are old rusted single chain design, but a few new Chainstars are on the back 9.
Other Thoughts:
This course is close to my home, and although it isn't my Local course, I have chosen to drive and play this one dozens and dozens of times. I started playing frequent rounds on defunct ski hills, and really like the elevation changes and workout. Although there is not a big bomber down the hill to end the course (it is EXTREMELY steep. There is a reason there are hundreds of stairs down), this is my favorite course in the area. And after you finish the stairs, there is still a respectable place to stop and empty your bag.

Note: when I searched for courses in my area, this was categorized by DGCR as "moderately hilly" rather than "very hilly" like Hickory Hills. I must disagree, as the back 9 is a long hike up a big hill. Be prepared to work.

***UPDATE
There is another hole that has been installed after #9 to replace the old missing hole #3, returning the course to 18 holes total.
***

If there were 6 more holes installed on the back 9, this course would immediately improve to a 3.5 rating. The blantant waste of perfectly usable land is quite unforgivable.

Further adding a practice basket to warm up at the bottom, adding concrete tees, and replacing the tee signage would elevate Avalanche to a 4 rating, without hesitation. The core of the course has a sound fun/challenge factor, but the execution of the course is underwhelming.

This course is 5 minutes from Boyne Mountain which houses another nice 18 hole course. Playing both is a fantastic workout. However, if I have limited time, I choose to play Avalanche. Although it is roughly the same workout, climbing Boyne Mtn just to get to hole 1 always makes me choose Avalanche.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/27/2006   10/27/2008
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful area with Lake Charlevoix views, Nice Chainstar baskets. Has a variety of different holes. Fairly private park.
Cons: Very hard to navigate on back nine, with a tough uphill walk that's not really fun. Couldn't find hole 18 tee, but the basket has a breathtaking view of Lake Charlevoix. Supposedly missing some baskets.
Other Thoughts: Slight improvement would make this course first rate. However, it does need a little more work to make easier to follow.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Challenge

5+    9/6/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 8/17/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes requiring an arsenal of shots.

By far, the most beautiful course I've had the privilege of playing.

Never busy.

Great exercise walking from start to finish.

Nearly impossible to lose a disc.
Cons: The 3rd hole was removed due to constant damage to an apartment complex, leaving only 17 holes.

For someone who is out of shape, getting all the way to the 18th hole could be extremely difficult without lots of breaks to rest.

Occasional delays waiting for walkers.

No markings on the majority of the holes so getting lost your first time around can be easy.

LOOOONG walk between the 15th and 16th holes. Probably at least 2000 feet of walking with no indication of where the next hole is.

The tee marking on the 6th hole is misleading. The basket is actually to the left, not to the right.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course over 50 times and it is by far my favorite course.

WARNING: The apartment complex that used to share the 3rd hole has put up no trespassing signs that make it seem like the disc golf course ends. Simply follow the path to the other set of no trespassing signs to get to the 4th hole.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 80  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2008
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of wooded holes, view from hole 18 is amazing,
Cons: Hard to navigate at times, long walks between some of the back 9,several holes share fairways with a hiking trail watch out for people walking through and not realizing their on a DGC,walk down from 18 is a steep 10-15 minutes of stairs
Other Thoughts: A course map would be great for your 1st time,course is pretty long with a lot of up and down walking bring water,

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.