Boyne City, MI
Avalanche Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #8 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
This course is way better than its given credit for!

1    7/3/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: nickrockey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Absolutely beautiful
+I really enjoyed the tee to hole placements
especially on 5, 14 and 17
+I suppose there are some good Ace holes
not for me, but good deuce holes for sure!
+A lot of tight wooded holes
+Awesome elevation changes everywhere
+Normally I would downgrade for gravel
tees, but they played really well here had
just been raked and where firm and level
+Nice and clean, new trash cans
+A lot of benches, not everywhere but
enough where needed I guess
+I could tell a lot of care has been put into
this course recently
+Really easy to navigate, nice flow
+Good mix for all types of throwers
+Close to town, easy to find even off
highway
+Hole 18 you get a beautiful lake view!
Cons: -Between 14 and 15 and 16, there is ALOT
of hiking-mostly uphill, it would seem more
holes, possibly ALT holes would be nice.
-Signs were all removed, I was told they are
being remade right now and will go in soon
Other Thoughts: ^I feel like maybe this course gets knocked alittle unfairly, possibly due to all the hiking. NO, you are not going to play this course quickly. You could play just the front 9 if that is what you are looking for.
^Bug Spray
^Good hiking shoes
^Just to the left of basket 9 there was a TON of bees, bring an epi-pen if needed
^Some of the holes are located on jogging /
hiking / biking paths, so you have to share
^I highly recommend this course for sure, I don't think this course deserves the low score it is getting!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/20/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Honelstly i thought this would be alot of pro thoughts but needs alot of work with the whole layout.. Hopefully one day can go back when they improve on the course
Cons: Didnt have signs except on hole 1-4, no hole 3, no tee pads, horrible baskets, to long of walks to next hole, could make more baskets holes when u walk 900 yards to next hole..
Other Thoughts: didnt know if we were going the right way to the next tee

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of Two Nines

2-4    8/3/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: fastrodger
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Front nine or actually front 8 is fun and challenging. You get to use all the discs in your bag except the big drivers. Back nine is a good workout as you play your way up the hiking trail to a glorious view of the lake.
Cons: Tee pads are gravel and loose dirt, tough to get good drives. Back nine tees are missing hole information and in some cases are hard to find. Back nine holes are all along the trail up the hill but the basket placements makes for some variety.
Other Thoughts: Backwoods disc golf at it's finest or worse? Worth playing if you are in the area like we were on vacation or if you need a break from the intense mountain bike trails. You can get the great view of the bay by climbing the stairs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 what a hike

1    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: douglat2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very scenic and challenging. lot's of wooded shots with good amount of obstacles. the view from the top of the "mountain" after you play 18 is gorgeous.
Cons: the second half of the course is up hill and at some points very steep (pack light). should really be another alternate hole after 18 to let you throw down the mountain.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/22/2008   6/22/2010
Review By: kcRhyno
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: BEAUTIFUL, what more can be said, this course is one of the nicest courses in the country. it is kept up and very clean and well manicured.
Cons: the only Con is that there is no hole that plays the LARGE hill after 18.
Other Thoughts: play this course if you are anywhere near it.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A long hike

1    5/18/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Kent18
Played: 114  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging holes. Beautiful area and fun little town. Baskets are in good shape. Some holes are just excellent numbers 4,7 and 17 to name a few.
Cons: Missing basket on hole 3, and on the back nine its literally a hike to each subsequent hole. Some of the holes in the forrest feel like the course designer got lazy and threw a tee pad here and 150 feet down the hiking trail threw a basket there. With some time and I guess some money this course has so much potential.
Other Thoughts: Some great holes if you can take the hike it takes to play them. Avalanche park on the whole leaves me wanting more after working so hard.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Should be a 24 hole course.

5+    4/10/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 62  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
There are easily birdied holes, and holes which will strain par for many. Being very close to Lake Charlevoix (and in turn Lake Michigan), there can be very high winds and it's almost always gusty somewhere on this course.

I cannot say this park is ever trashy, or in disrepair (aside from the tee signage). Overall, it is very pleasant, and when the wind is blowing and the leaves are in bloom, it is extremely challenging. Don't let the short distances fool you. The elevation coupled with the trees make you need to hit specific lines on most holes, and one false move will mean double-bogey at best..

The scenery here is quite impressive, especially during fall colors. While it is unfortunate that the course follows the main road access for the majority of the round, it means that surrounding animal habitats have remained intact. Less common birds like woodpeckers can often be sighted.

There are two nice observation decks at the top of the hill, so you can chill and look at the bay when you finish. Lots of pleasant locals use this for all sorts of training. Local kids hang around the front 9, while the back 9 is usually less crowded.
Cons:
The tee signage has been destroyed on the later holes and the old 18th hole, which used to end opening to a dead shot of the lake, was removed and rerouted to the side of the summit. I guess people sitting on the deck got hit, as it was a blind drive. (don't people know what FORE! means?)

The long (and I mean long) distances between many of the back 9 holes severely disrupt any rhythm you may have developed, and you spend a lot of time wondering as you walk and look at the land, "why isn't there a hole here...or here...or here?" There is sooooo much more room on the back 9 to easily add another 6+ holes, that I cannot conceive an acceptable reason for this to be only an 18 hole course.

There are no water holes, but if you bring your dog, that is sometimes a plus.

The tees are dirt/gravel, in rather poor condition, and can be very loose after rain. The majority of the baskets are old rusted single chain design, but a few new Chainstars are on the back 9.
Other Thoughts:
This course is close to my home, and although it isn't my Local course, I have chosen to drive and play this one dozens and dozens of times. I started playing frequent rounds on defunct ski hills, and really like the elevation changes and workout. Although there is not a big bomber down the hill to end the course (it is EXTREMELY steep. There is a reason there are hundreds of stairs down), this is my favorite course in the area. And after you finish the stairs, there is still a respectable place to stop and empty your bag.

Note: when I searched for courses in my area, this was categorized by DGCR as "moderately hilly" rather than "very hilly" like Hickory Hills. I must disagree, as the back 9 is a long hike up a big hill. Be prepared to work.

***UPDATE
There is another hole that has been installed after #9 to replace the old missing hole #3, returning the course to 18 holes total.
***

If there were 6 more holes installed on the back 9, this course would immediately improve to a 3.5 rating. The blantant waste of perfectly usable land is quite unforgivable.

Further adding a practice basket to warm up at the bottom, adding concrete tees, and replacing the tee signage would elevate Avalanche to a 4 rating, without hesitation. The core of the course has a sound fun/challenge factor, but the execution of the course is underwhelming.

This course is 5 minutes from Boyne Mountain which houses another nice 18 hole course. Playing both is a fantastic workout. However, if I have limited time, I choose to play Avalanche. Although it is roughly the same workout, climbing Boyne Mtn just to get to hole 1 always makes me choose Avalanche.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth It!!

1    4/18/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: Pickles
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You get a great workout while playing this course. The scenery is really something special. The course can be rather unforgiving, given that there are trees througout the fairways on a few holes, but mostly that just made it more challenging and competitive. The holes are marked well in about the first 2/3 of the course. Its also really easy to find this course as opposed to the Boyne Mountain course. Hole 7 was awesome and I almost aced it and if you've seen that hole then you know how lucky I almost got.
Cons: No signage for the final holes. The pads are treacherous to say the least. Long hikes between holes at times, but was worth it. If you're out of shape big time like me, this course will kick your butt. Long downward hill behind basket on hole 18 made me nervous. Also, no hole 3 so don't go looking for it. We just played hole 18 twice to make up for it though.
Other Thoughts: There are many pedestrians hiking through the woods so you should watch out for them because the trails sometimes run through the course fairways. No big deal, just a heads up. Also, no bathrooms anywhere so keep that in mind until they unlock the building in the parking lot for the summer. I will definetly go back to this course despite the 400 some stairs you have to walk down to get off the mountain. Tiring course, but you'll sleep well the night after playing ;)

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    4/18/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The view from hole 18 was just breath taking. This course had a little something for everyone. You have holes with short little dog legs that have ace possibilities, then there are some wide open bombs. There are holes that have you weave through tight lil fairways through the trees aswell. The signs that are there are pretty good with the hole layout, the distance, and hole #. Navigation for the most part wasn't a problem. You did have a long hike on the trail between a couple holes, don't worry you didn't miss it just keep following the trail. With the wide veriety of hole layouts, the cool hole placements, and beautiful scenery this course is a MUST PLAY!
Cons: There is no hole# 3 :( The signage was great for the first half of the course, but after a certain hole the rest of the signs were either stolen or vandalized. The pads were just basically a pile of gravel.
Other Thoughts: Even without hole 3 and with the missing signs, this course is still one of my favorite courses. You will be hiking up the mountain and it is a work out, but for the most part you really didn't have to navigate through anything too steep.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing scenery!!

1    7/27/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Jayl3ird
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fantastic variety of holes. Picturesque hiking followed by a jaw-dropping view of a massive lake stretching off into the horizon.
Cons: About 4.5 miles of mountain hiking from basket 1 to 18. Then 450ish stairs down to parking lot. Follow a local group if you have not been here, hole signage is less than adequate.
Other Thoughts: Great local players. Super friendly attitudes. Groovy artwork. Hell-of-a-hike!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.