Boyne City, MI 
Avalanche Preserve Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #13 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Mountain Golf Awesomeness

2-4    10/10/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great maintenance all around including baskets.
- Excellent use of existing topography.
- Great flow from one hole to the next.
- BEAUTIFUL tee signs. Something I've never considered before but having the signs in such a low placement - about 2 feet off the ground prevents hitting them with a follow-through. This is a great idea.
- An awesome club that looks after this place. In fact, Boyne Valley DGC is a model for how a club ought to be run. Their ability to forge such a fantastic relationship with the City shows brilliantly on this course.
- Navigation really isn't too bad with nifty little next tee signs everywhere.
- The view between 17 and 18 is breath-taking. Makes the long trip up to the summit WELL worth it.
- On the completed teepads the carpet surface believe it or not is as grippy as a concrete pad. Absolutely a fantastic solution to areas that are tough to get to with a concrete truck.
- Liked the benches that made use of downed trees.
Cons: - Tee pads. Not all of them are complete. Just something to keep in mind prior to playing here.
- Never really got a chance other than one or two holes to just grip it and rip it down the fairway. Would love to have had a hole to throw down hill a long ways. Then again, without the massive removal of trees I'm not sure theres a place to make a hole like that.
- The walk between 15 and 16 is LONG. But I asked one of the fellas who installed the course stated that there was no place to put a hole here. The slopes on either side of the path are just too steep to be safe.
- Two of the shorter holes play thought tight woods (7 and 12). I don't really care for poke and hope holes with ridiculously narrow openings between the trees.
- Many of the fairways follow a footpath that is frequently occupied by walkers and joggers. Exercise caution when throwing.
Other Thoughts: This is a unique disc golf experience. If you are ANYWHERE near here...PLAY IT. You won't regret it. The view of Lake Charleviox at the end of the round makes it all worthwhile. I have never seen a view like that on any disc golf course anywhere.

There are a few things to consider prior to playing here. Like a lot of courses in this area this is a physically demanding course. Supportive and quality footwear are a necessity. If it is at all hot bring water. There are some really long walks between holes as previously mentioned.

As Boyne Valley DGC makes improvements to this course I see no reason why this cannot be a 4.5 in my opinion. What a great disc golfing experience.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Glad we played

1    8/18/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: dalenoel
Played: 160  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.4 Years
Pros: Tee pads were mostly good with a couple that need repair/replacement/installation. Signs were the best I've seen anywhere but don't think they will last. (Hope they do)

Holes were interesting and used the terrain to good use. Next tee signs were used alot and aided in the navigation.
Cons: The only complaint was the distance between the holes. Another 18 would exist if using the space between holes. At times we wondered if we were lost the distance was so great.
Other Thoughts: Seems this course is under development but it could be a great asset to the area if some tedious features were changed.

Local Club Making Big Improvements

5+    8/5/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: forrestomland
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Baskets: all Discraft Chainstar. The front 9 were replaced in 2014 and a practice basket was also added.

Tee Signs: all of the vandalized signs were replaced in 2015 by the local club.

Log Benches, Next Tee Posts, and Trash Barrels: on every hole. Some also have picnic tables.

Tee Pads: while still waiting for city approval on concrete, several improvements have been made. The log frames are being replaced with 4"x6" treated lumber boxes packed with baseball diamond dust (crusher fines), many of which are also covered with carpet. Concrete pavers are installed on special signature holes.
Cons: Lots of potential for additional holes. Hopefully someday soon we'll get approval to add more baskets too.
Other Thoughts: Huge thanks to Boyne City and the Boyne Valley Disc Golf Club for getting together and improving this great course. The mowing has been much better these past two years as well, and the amazing view at the top is worth the walk.

 Fantastic Northern Course

2-4    6/20/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: TonyR
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The setting is a beautiful. The course includes a number of forest types, as well as some old field/meadow holes. It has great variety, ranging from very technical wooded to open meadow holes. The course includes some long walks and takes a while to play, but the walk is very enjoyable. The course was clean and well maintained (except for the tee pads as described below).
Cons: The tee pads. Almost all of the tee pads are sandy/gravel, and many were hollowed out when I played. This is a bit dangerous, and it is tough to focus on making a good throw when you're worried about your footing.
Other Thoughts: This quickly became one of my favorite courses. I played it three times during a week-long vacation in the area. The addition of rubber tee pads (concrete would be tough to install because of the remote pad locations) would do A LOT to improve the play. Even with the sub par tee boxes this is a must play course if you find yourself in northern Michigan!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Far better than some of these reviews

1    5/20/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 261  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Aesthetic-- plays through an extinct ski mountain. shares most of the terrain with hiking trails. be careful to watch for walkers.

Teepads-- not bad, not good. gravel, set apart from the paths. Some held water after rain but overall they served their purpose and were adequate.

Baskets-- the first 5-6 holes had old single chain baskets (I believe they were home made) but the later holes had chainstars. all in good shape.

Teesignage-- the first few holes had really sweet signs. I'm guessing that with the deletion of hole 3 and the addition of the newest hole they needed editing and repair.

challenge-- great challenge here. the shorter holes are crazy tight and provide a nice challenge. the meadow holes are a needed break to air your arm out a bit.

Variety-- Nicely done. a little something for everyone. short, long, left, right, up, down, all around a nice course!

Long walks-- 15 to 16 is a quarter mile (at least) walk. 14 to 15 is a brutal uphill hike.

Wasted opportunities-- with the long walks, there is room for a LOT more holes here. the fact that there isn't a throw down the mountain is inexcusable.
Other Thoughts:
Great course, seriously. I really enjoyed this course. It's beginner friendly and you spend a ton of time getting up the mountain rather than walking straight up it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This course is way better than its given credit for!

1    7/3/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: nickrockey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Absolutely beautiful
+I really enjoyed the tee to hole placements
especially on 5, 14 and 17
+I suppose there are some good Ace holes
not for me, but good deuce holes for sure!
+A lot of tight wooded holes
+Awesome elevation changes everywhere
+Normally I would downgrade for gravel
tees, but they played really well here had
just been raked and where firm and level
+Nice and clean, new trash cans
+A lot of benches, not everywhere but
enough where needed I guess
+I could tell a lot of care has been put into
this course recently
+Really easy to navigate, nice flow
+Good mix for all types of throwers
+Close to town, easy to find even off
+Hole 18 you get a beautiful lake view!
Cons: -Between 14 and 15 and 16, there is ALOT
of hiking-mostly uphill, it would seem more
holes, possibly ALT holes would be nice.
-Signs were all removed, I was told they are
being remade right now and will go in soon
Other Thoughts: ^I feel like maybe this course gets knocked alittle unfairly, possibly due to all the hiking. NO, you are not going to play this course quickly. You could play just the front 9 if that is what you are looking for.
^Bug Spray
^Good hiking shoes
^Just to the left of basket 9 there was a TON of bees, bring an epi-pen if needed
^Some of the holes are located on jogging /
hiking / biking paths, so you have to share
^I highly recommend this course for sure, I don't think this course deserves the low score it is getting!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/20/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Honelstly i thought this would be alot of pro thoughts but needs alot of work with the whole layout.. Hopefully one day can go back when they improve on the course
Cons: Didnt have signs except on hole 1-4, no hole 3, no tee pads, horrible baskets, to long of walks to next hole, could make more baskets holes when u walk 900 yards to next hole..
Other Thoughts: didnt know if we were going the right way to the next tee

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of Two Nines

2-4    8/3/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: fastrodger
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Front nine or actually front 8 is fun and challenging. You get to use all the discs in your bag except the big drivers. Back nine is a good workout as you play your way up the hiking trail to a glorious view of the lake.
Cons: Tee pads are gravel and loose dirt, tough to get good drives. Back nine tees are missing hole information and in some cases are hard to find. Back nine holes are all along the trail up the hill but the basket placements makes for some variety.
Other Thoughts: Backwoods disc golf at it's finest or worse? Worth playing if you are in the area like we were on vacation or if you need a break from the intense mountain bike trails. You can get the great view of the bay by climbing the stairs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 what a hike

1    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: douglat2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very scenic and challenging. lot's of wooded shots with good amount of obstacles. the view from the top of the "mountain" after you play 18 is gorgeous.
Cons: the second half of the course is up hill and at some points very steep (pack light). should really be another alternate hole after 18 to let you throw down the mountain.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/22/2008   6/22/2010
Review By: kcRhyno
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: BEAUTIFUL, what more can be said, this course is one of the nicest courses in the country. it is kept up and very clean and well manicured.
Cons: the only Con is that there is no hole that plays the LARGE hill after 18.
Other Thoughts: play this course if you are anywhere near it.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.