Boyne City, MI
Avalanche Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #12 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 140ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 What can we do with a Hiking trail?

1    7/20/2008   7/31/2009
Review By: rlbontrager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I tend to play the same 3-4 courses all the time, so something a little different is always a plus. This course was a little different. There are some very nice and fun holes that are easy to visualize the perfect shot for, but difficult to actualize. I like those kind of holes because they give you a lot of satisfaction when you pull it off.

Cons: The "park" has a couple small fields at the bottom of a huge hill ("mountain") and the main attraction of the park is its hiking/biking trails that make a giant circle up and back down. The course seems like it was added as an after thought and simply follows these paths for almost all of the course.

It would seem then, that you could just follow the paths and find the next hole most of the time, and most of the time this is true, but there are a few holes that randomly veer off the path with out being marked. Other places you will continue to follow the path for 10 minutes of hiking wondering if you've missed the next hole (you didn't).
Other Thoughts: Having played it last year, I would like to play it again, having a better idea of the lay out, but my friends keep rejecting the idea.

It is quite a hike, but I didn't think it was much, if any, more than Hickory Hill's in TC where I regular.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting...

1    7/23/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: kingfresh7
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some pretty impressive views, especially 18 where you overlook Lake Charlevoix. A technical course; takes a variety of shot types to complete and features some holes that are very fun because of their challenge and originality.
Cons: The course can get confusing; irregular distances between holes, hard to find tees, missing signs and the lack of a third hole. Many blind shots that are made truly blind by missing tee signs. Pin placements are challenging but odd. Not a course for a first time player.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful. Challenging. Haphazard?

1    7/24/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: rbrown87
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very picturesque course. More challenging and technical than courses I typically play in the GR area (Riverside, Brewer, etc.).

Navigating the woods is both infuriating and satisfying when you choose/execute the right throw.

Not crowded, except a couple joggers.
Cons: Not sure whether the pin placement was out of my league, or if they just weren't trying very hard.

I was surprised we didn't tee off down/up more of the hills.

Inconsistent and confusing length/direction between holes.

Dirt tee pads pretty well eroded.

Overall, course design falls short of great potential.
Other Thoughts: Most of your first throws will be blind. Generally, a fun challenge, except most of the signs on the back nine are gone, so you're blind in the strictest sense.

Quite a hike. I enjoyed the walk, felt like a work out, but I imagine this could be a detterent to some.

Would've really liked to play again. I think I would've enjoyed it more the second time, knowing what to expect.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 mmmmmm

1    5/15/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: Gmasterandy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: not bad of an course
Cons: there is to much hiking involved inbetween holes where at some spots of hiking their could be alot more holes putt in on this course not very well mapped since most of the course tee pad instructions are gone dont know any distances or how the hole runs
Other Thoughts: course isnt bad nice and clean not alot of trash laying around on the course so its a nice clean course with alot of hiking

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Coulda, woulda, shoulda!

1    5/15/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All the holes on this course were interesting and challenging with holes ranging from short little doglegs around trees to wide-open big-arm shots that required missing isolated trees and bushes in the fairway on the front 9. One hole (#8) was a veritable pinball fest with the tiniest straight fairway to the basket. Holes from #11 on are mostly wooded until you on reach #17. Both #17 and #18 are back to being mostly open, with a really nice view from #18 and 2 large decks for resting before slogging down the 400+ stairs back to the parking lot.

I felt that this course required not just a full range of shots, but also some serious consideration of "the best" shot combination for any particular hole. Bad drives on a couple of holes on the back 9 could mean chasing your disc rolling down some very large hills.

The remaining etched slate tee markers were beautiful and well constructed, although at least one (#6?) was etched backwards making it look like the hole was a dogleg right when it was actually a left. With the exception of crossing the No Trespassing signs at the now defunct hole #3, navigation was simple since the course follows the main hiking trail and Next Tee signs were installed on the longest hikes and other areas where required. The terrain was varied and amazing, and the entire park was spotless as far as trash. The restrooms at the parking lot are also quite nice.
Cons: BUT........

This park is waaay under-utilized for disc golf, with huge pointless uphill hikes between several holes, stunning terrain changes that weren't incorporated in the course, and shots along and across the main hiking trail. Huhn??? At least twice we almost hit hikers on the trail. In addition, I really can't figure out why they make you walk down 400+ stairs at the end instead of installing a signature hole with a beautiful downhill glide. This course could easily accommodate an additional and completely unique 12-18 holes without changing the basic course routing or interfering further with the hiking or biking trails.

Vandalism has robbed the course of any tee markings after hole 9, and the dirt tee pads with nice rock edging, while beautiful and perfect for this rustic setting, were not well tended, with dangerously rutted loose dirt.
Other Thoughts: This course coulda, woulda, shoulda been an amazing experience (on a par with Myles Kimmerly), but a serious lack of planning during course design and deficient continuing course upkeep makes this merely a strenuous uphill hike with some discing thrown in.

Once we were back at the parking lot, locals told us there are three alternate holes in the build process, accessible by hiking back up the trail from #18 toward #17, then a right turn and follow the new trail. We didn't feel like clambering all the way back up, so we skipped them this time, but I'll report back on them next time we go.

If you're a mountain biker, definitely take your bike. The bike trail parallels much of the DG course and it looks to be quite a ride with big climbs, plenty of off-camber and side-hill stuff, whoops, switchbacks, climbs, and rockin' downhills......riding the bike trail should offset the disappointment of the DG course (oh, and I didn't see any obvious sand pits!).

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/27/2006   10/27/2008
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful area with Lake Charlevoix views, Nice Chainstar baskets. Has a variety of different holes. Fairly private park.
Cons: Very hard to navigate on back nine, with a tough uphill walk that's not really fun. Couldn't find hole 18 tee, but the basket has a breathtaking view of Lake Charlevoix. Supposedly missing some baskets.
Other Thoughts: Slight improvement would make this course first rate. However, it does need a little more work to make easier to follow.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 ready for a hike?

5+    9/9/2008   9/10/2008
Review By: taxman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the front half of the course has a little more variety than the back 9 with holes alternating between nice fields with good but avoidable obstacles to wooded shots with narrow shot passages. if you want a very nice short course play the first 9 and then take a short walk back to your car.

if you continue on to the back 9 the rest of the course winds up the back side of an old local ski hill. the trail continues on a steady incline from hole to hole. where the front 9 is more congested with smaller diameter trees the back is much more wooded with larger trees. although the fairways are narrow disc loss is not a large worry as there is little ground cover other than some leaves. once you reach the top of the course you are treated to a wonderful view of the southern end of town and the lake. there are two large decks built so that you can relax on a bench and watch a beautiful sunset. then walk down a set of stairs and your back to the parking lot and your car.
Cons: the only real detraction for the course would be the shear amount of walking that is required to finish the course. the front 9 is fairly flat, but the back 9 is a steady climb up the back of an old ski hill. if you are out of shape and don't like walking you may not enjoy it. but if you do stick with it the view is to much to put in words.
Other Thoughts: there are quite a bit of blackberry bushes near holes 6 & 7 and it can be a little trouble to find a disc thrown in the thick of the thorns. the trail you follow along the disc golf course is shared with other people walking, riding mountain bikes, and the occasional person on horseback. so you will sometimes need to wait for people to pass.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Challenge

5+    9/6/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 8/17/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes requiring an arsenal of shots.

By far, the most beautiful course I've had the privilege of playing.

Never busy.

Great exercise walking from start to finish.

Nearly impossible to lose a disc.
Cons: The 3rd hole was removed due to constant damage to an apartment complex, leaving only 17 holes.

For someone who is out of shape, getting all the way to the 18th hole could be extremely difficult without lots of breaks to rest.

Occasional delays waiting for walkers.

No markings on the majority of the holes so getting lost your first time around can be easy.

LOOOONG walk between the 15th and 16th holes. Probably at least 2000 feet of walking with no indication of where the next hole is.

The tee marking on the 6th hole is misleading. The basket is actually to the left, not to the right.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course over 50 times and it is by far my favorite course.

WARNING: The apartment complex that used to share the 3rd hole has put up no trespassing signs that make it seem like the disc golf course ends. Simply follow the path to the other set of no trespassing signs to get to the 4th hole.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 66  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2008
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of wooded holes, view from hole 18 is amazing,
Cons: Hard to navigate at times, long walks between some of the back 9,several holes share fairways with a hiking trail watch out for people walking through and not realizing their on a DGC,walk down from 18 is a steep 10-15 minutes of stairs
Other Thoughts: A course map would be great for your 1st time,course is pretty long with a lot of up and down walking bring water,

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fatal flaw

5/1/2006   5/16/2008
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The one highlight hole truly is spectacular. It offers a view that you'd be hard pressed to match just about anywhere - a spectacular vista of Lake Charlevoix.

Beyond that, there's some good variety and a couple of interesting holes, but...
Cons: The one time I played this course, my partner and I got lost multiple times. The markings are so poor we literally had no idea where the next hole was - several times.

When we finished, we actually felt like we were lost in some deep woods. We managed to find a road, and after following it for a long, long time, we stumbled onto the parking lot again.

Other Thoughts: If you have a cell phone with a camera, take a picture of the course map - it's posted near the parking lot. You're going to need it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.