Owatonna, MN 
River Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: sheepweevil Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 395ft.   3 / 430ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good looking course, but a bit complicated.

2-4    6/9/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: nelson22
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: River comes into play on the first hole, concrete dual teepads, some narrow wooded holes, beautiful park.
Cons: Teepads were a little short for my liking, no signs so I had no idea where I was going(followed the group ahead of me). Almost cut a guy's head off because you have to walk right into the fairway on hole 6(I think it was?). and it is very wooded for two holes so I never saw him til the last second. Rest of the holes are fairly open.
Other Thoughts: It says the river comes into play on a few holes but really you throw over it on holes 1 and 3, and then it just runs beside you on the other holes. Anyone with a little experiece should be able to keep it out of the drink. and its only a couple feet deep anyway. Overall nice course, but could use some money put into a little refresh.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad.. But It Could Be Better

5+    5/26/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: natemaze
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Most boxes are paved
*Each hole has short and long tees
*Well maintained
*You should never loose a disc as the "river" is only about 3ft deep most of the year
*It's a fast 9 so you can easily throw the short then the long in about an hour and a half on your own
*Nice to see wildlife throughout the course (today I saw 4 whitetails) rabbits, squirrels, birds, deer, frogs, fish..
*Plenty of benches for resting between holes
*Nice park adjacent to this for kids to play on if needed (con-also can make it loud if busy)
Cons: *It's a large park and they could have easily made it 18 holes or made some of the holes longer.. If that's not a possibility, then they could at least move the baskets on a few to add some level of difficulty
*There are two holes that go into the woods but you come back out in the same spot and have to cross another hole
*Not enough garbage cans
*On a busy day there are many non players (in fact last year there were two sun bathers just laying on towels about 30 feet from the basket)
*No mosquitoes yet, but there will be very soon
*They are mostly short holes with a few trees to throw around
*Not much for a view
*Baskets are not bad but not great either
*No nearby shops (that is not the fault of the course, just the lack of a market for it in Owatonna)


Other Thoughts: It is a great beginners course, as this is the course I have pretty much learned on. While I am far from a pro, I have since gone to dozens of other courses and seen much better (baskets, boxes, variations, views, levels of difficulty etc).

This course, if the money was there to put into it, could be much better. There is a nice hill on the far side of 1 and it would be nice to go up in there and then later have a hole going down the hillside. The woods could use another hole or two, and you shouldn't have to walk back across another hole and backtrack.

With all that said, I like this course as a "home" course, and it is nice to be able to just quick throw 9 (or even 6) in under an hour. The level of difficulty is what it is, and this is a great course to practice on, but I think it could be better. I also think that if the money was put into it, people like me would be willing to pay a couple bucks to play it..

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

River Roc

1    11/10/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Unique name. . .quite honestly I picked this course because of the name. I quickly figured out where it came from. I chose the name as the theme for a few courses include Bear Cave Park . . . I was really hoping I played through a Bear Cave and was disappointed I missed the opportunity, but River Rock did not disappoint with an incredible 10' round boulder in the middle of the river.
2) The river comes into play but also visually is a nice feature creating some aesthetics to play around.
3) Nice big dual trapezoidal concrete tees are always a positive in my eyes. The best of the best in terms of tee surface and shape and size.
4) Old concrete structures including walls, river retention, etc. It simply is something I can always appreciate and disc golf courses are popular places to leave old concrete and hard-scapes in place even when they are decades old or when disc golf comes through the property. I suppose it reminds me of the character of these small towns.
5) DGA mach baskets in pretty good shape.
6) Map and kiosk available at the first tee, try and remember the map for your general flow.
7) There are some benches available but they are not necessarily intended for the disc golf course.
8) Distance variation is great for a 9 hole park course. There are 100's, 200's, and 300's to make sure you throw a little bit of everything.
9) Hole #, distance, and sponsor on the board in the ground by the tees. It does not help navigation
10) This course is fairly beginner friendly because it is mostly open, but they will be challenged.
11) Good use of elevation going up and down the hills plus throwing over the river was slightly downhill.
Cons: 1) No tee signs to help navigation, it is only tough to figure where you are going once or twice, but I always like to see tee signs for direction, but also for the information.
2) While this course is beginner friendly, I could imagine beginners being very frustrated if they keep throwing in the river. There are only a couple tight wooded holes and those might be tough but at east beginners won't lose their discs.
3) No garbage cans when I played but that could very well be just a seasonal thing for the disc golf course. I have no information otherwise so I am leaving this is a con even if it is just a seasonal change.
4) Slight safety issue with other park users . . . there just seemed to be places where other park users might congregate and get in the way. There was noon there when I was there, but I am sure a lot of people come down to check out the river rock.
5) Routing is goofy from #6 to #7 because you have to walk across #4. This is only a minor con because they could not really lay this out much different to avoid crossing a fairway. They could have turned #4 around and thrown over the river the other way allowing #5 and #6 to become #4 and #5 and then play #6 (the reverse of #4).
Other Thoughts: I am so happy I decided to come here because of the course name. I wanted to see what the River Rock was all about and I saw it. I took a picture of it and it will forever be a part of my blog. This is one of my favorite 9 hole courses I have ever played. It had a little bit of everything including water, tight woods, forced carries, elevation, and shot shaping. I even got to throw a roller on the long hole along the fairway. There is not much to say other than for a 9 hole course this is pretty great. It becomes one of my top 5 nine hole courses and is pushing the 3.75 limit to make it in my top 100 courses. I cannot quite give it that high of a rating because of no tee signs and the general condition of the turf. I know I went in fall, but the turf looked like it had seen a lot of play over the season.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little 9 holer

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Goosefraba
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Multiple water holes, and the water isn't very deep, so not much of a chance of losing a disc
*Nice use of the little elevation possible
*Multiple opportunities for an ace
*Couple of holes in the woods
*Fairly easy to navigate, just finding 7 after 6 was the trickiest
*Nice tee pads with hole and distance in the board at the end of it
Cons: *Only has 9 holes
*Not many garbage cans on the course
Other Thoughts: *Hole 1: Nice starter going over creek to basket
*Hole 2: Longer hole along creek
*Hole 3: Back across the creek while avoiding a large pine tree
*Hole 4: Nice ace opportunity as long as you don't hit the trees on the bank
*Hole 5: Tight wooded shot
*Hole 6: Another tight wooded shot
*Hole 7: Longer hole going up a slight incline
*Hole 8: Fun hole going over a small hill with the basket on the downside of the hill
*Hole 9: Good ace opportunity if you can avoid the trees around the basket
*Overall a fun course with a little of everything
*Definitely will play if I'm in the area again

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun short course

1    10/8/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a well-maintained city park. There are restrooms and an outhouse, and multiple benches/picnic tables. It is a multiuse park, so watch out for pedestrians. The tees are all concrete with wooden planks at the front listing the hole number, length, and a sponsor.

The park was very naturally beautiful, with the trees, creek, and fallen leaves. All the holes have a moderate amount of scattered trees, forcing you to think about your shot and vary it for each hole.

My favorite hole was #7. The drive is guarded by many mature trees and the fairway slopes upward and narrows to the basket at the top of the hill.
Cons: Except for #2 and #6, all the holes are short.
Getting to the basket on hole #1 is annoying - you have to go across a bridge to the left and then down a steep path.
The holes across the creek are all similar; short holes with the creek right in the middle.
Other Thoughts: It's called River Rock due to the giant rock in the middle of the creek, but it's located in Mineral Springs Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short but good

1    6/28/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Creek provides obstacle on many holes
-Woods on 2 holes, tight and challenging shots
-Signs are pretty good with distance, map and par
-Good elevation comes into play on holes 7-8. 8 can be very tricky if you overshoot it
-Good parking and bathrooms
-Pretty scenic, lots of trees, very nice park.
-This part of the park is used only for disc golf
-Lots of ace/birdie runs
-Nice baskets
-Dual tees on some holes
-Risk/reward shots on most holes
Cons: -A little short, only one "long" hole
-Discs can be lost in the creek and I saw a very professional disc hunter searching the creek with waders and a piece of PVC pipe. He found about 10 discs and probably isn't going to call the numbers.
-Bugs were pretty bad when I played
-Layout wasn't the best, it was hard to find the way from 6-7 especially the first time you play
-Park can be busy with golfers and non-golfers alike
Other Thoughts: This course had a lot of fun factor for me. Birdie and ace runs but at the same time if you mess up it can be bad. The park looked very nice and it was a nice, quiet place to be. This place is worth a stop for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: NateC
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course,very well spaced out.
Some holes really make you think how you should throw it because on hole #8 there is a massive hill right behind the basket, and if you miss your disc goes rolling down the hill.
Cons: If you dont like wooded holes then i dont think you would like holes #5, #6.
A few water holes like #1,#3,#4
Be careful on hole #9 if you over throw your disc goes into the water.
Other Thoughts: Great place to disc golf.
Can get a quick game in.
Some holes hard to make par.
Fun place to get a nice quick game in.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Got 30 minutes to kill?

2-4    8/1/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -multiple concrete tees
-lots of water
-lots of trees
Cons: -can get congested on a nice day
Other Thoughts: A good course for the beginning player or to work on your approach game. For the most part, the holes can be reached with a putter or mid-range. #2 is 400+ feet. Small creek comes into play on 5 of the holes. Nice variety of shot shapes and tight/open holes.

If it's not busy, you can knock this course out in less than half an hour.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hope you have a floater!

5+    7/20/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course weaves alongside and across a small river/large creek for some tough risk/reward shots. In nine holes, they incorporate water, elevation, distance, and tight tree lines. There are also two teepads, shorts and longs, for every hole. The course itself is in a very beautiful park with walking paths, bathrooms, picnic tables, and everything is well maintained and cleaned. The course has you throw over the water three times, but it comes into play on 5 holes.

Tons of Ace opportunities on this course, but there is also the risk factor.

The course designers and locals are very passionate about this course, and the townspeople are very passionate about keeping their parks beautiful and clean.
Cons: The only cons I see here are the fact that it's a busy city park. Families will bring their kids down to splash around in the water,and can produce waits or hazardous throws, nobody wants to clock a kick upside the head with a disc.
Other Thoughts: I played this course 3 times the way it is always, and twice as an 18 hole temp course. I believe that if this course were to be set up at least similar to the temp tourney course then this course could be a 4 or 4.5 where the only problem would be the cons I stated above.

The 18 hole temp course was one of the most difficult courses I've ever played in tourney. The course had us weaving back and forth even moreso than the original, having O.B. areas on 16 holes, and a 575 foot mando double O.B. island shot on one hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Impressive

5+    10/12/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: discers
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well balanced course for beginners and professionals alike. Dual tees on many of the holes. Mixes in water, hills, trees, and open fairways very well.
Cons: Very difficult course. All par 3's making the long holes (2, 6 and 7) very difficult to par. Could add more holes.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful park!!!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.