Oroville, CA
Riverbend Park - North Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
beginner course

2-4    4/2/2014   3/20/2014
Review By: blazer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2014
Pros: great for beginners, short, non challenging drives, open, no playing fees, local hang out, easy to play for me and my childeren, concrete tees, they replaced the two missing baskets!!!! yay!!!!!! looks like they are mowing and cleaning it up a little, not as much litter either, long walk does present a great work out:) if you get hot in summer, just jump in the river!!!:)
Cons: long walk between first 9 and back 9, have to be careful for people before you throw, hard to find holes because the maps are vandilized and broken, trees need pruning, bad
Other Thoughts: vandilism, and random people, and transients you would see i like playing this course, because its free and easy, maybe they are in the process of fixing it up, I am definately going to be back on a regular basis

Not very exciting

1    11/26/2013   12/13/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through the spaces between and around other park activities, so it's a little more well-groomed than the south course. There are a few holes with enough trees to make you hit a specific line. There are a couple small elevation changes that add some fun shots including a nice little downhill shot and a couple rollaway greens.

The tees are nice concrete pads with fine grip. The baskets (that are there) are in good shape. The holes that do force a line have a mix of left and right turning fairways. A couple spots have some brush that can punish errant shots.
Cons: The course is very short and not very challenging. Most of the shots are reachable with a putter or mid for many players, and with how open much of the course is you don't have very many real tests. Normally I wouldn't ding a course for missing baskets, but it seems like this is a long-term issue here with the two that are missing.

Most of the signage is damaged or missing. On top of that, the course routing is not at all intuitive. That makes navigation a little frustrating without a map or local guide. The long walk from 18 to 1 and the even longer walk from 9 to 10 really break up the flow. It's a little odd to have two courses on site that don't start in the same spot. There are a bunch of conflicts with other park uses including soccer fields, walking paths and picnic areas.
Other Thoughts: This course is a little more beginner friendly than the south course, with shorter shots and less technical challenges or punishment for errant shots. Experienced players won't find much challenge or variety here. It's an ok warmup for the tougher south course but not worth going out of your way to play in it's own right.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Skip this course.

1    1/8/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: FatBrad64
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Open course for newer players.
-Good mix of shorter and medium length holes.
-Front 9 is fun and has some tricky tight shots.
-Great warm up for the south course.
Cons: -2 missing baskets, not sure why.
-Plays around fields and next to walking path causes slow play.
-TERRIBLE course design, no continuity whatsoever.
-No long holes.
-Designed by and for RHBH throwers.
Other Thoughts: The course as a whole was pretty fun. I would have hated the day had I not played the South course along with the north course. Alone the North course is not very fun, hard to find the next tee, missing baskets, entirely too many bystanders, and too easy. I would recommend passing up this course and just playing the South course through twice to get in your 36.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Discing in O-town

1    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: zofo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: challenging as you have to have a varitey of shots and be good in the woods. Nice integration into the park and river area. Has concrete pads which were in good shape. Baskets were decent and from what I was told moved recently. Good to see that they are changing it up adding difficulty and length to the course. The course had a lot of variety. long pars, short possible aces or birdies, trees , and even a river on left of first hole. Benches and trash cans were strewn about which was nice. Played fast for first time visiting course. It is nice that Oroville has a place to throw that is at the park but not in it.
Cons: Oroville can be very hot in the summer bring water! Very rocky, lots of ankle breakers wear good outdoor shoes. Hole markers have seen better days. First couple were missing directions just the holder left. Had to go scout and guess at baskets. There was some trash on the first holes mostly discarded clothing? Very woodsy and the underbrush ate up a lot of our throws. Finding the discs cost some blood ,sweat, and tears. Course was crowded as they had a city league going on. The course also crosses a well used walking path near the river.
Other Thoughts: The course was real challenging. Being a beginner I had to learn to just put it straight and not risk losing a disc to mother nature. I did put one in deep overgrowth on rivers edge maybe even in the water with first drive. That taught me to slow down and wasn't going to be able to bomb without really thinking about accuracy. The holes were a little beat at the beginning but got better as we moved through the course. Make sure you are good at throwing straight and low as I said tons of trees and narrow approaches. Watch out for the brass plaques on the tees. One of my buddies almost ate it as they are real slippery if you hit during a run up or standing drive. The locals playing the league were really cool. Just more crowded than expected. Good thing holes are not close together to worry about hitting each other. I was told this is the more difficult of the 2 courses that are in Riverbend Park. I enjoyed the challenge and having to celebrate getting a par! looking forward to revisiting and playing other course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Eh...

1    2/15/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy to find.
-Decent baskets, concrete teepads.
Cons: -Trash on course (see other thoughts).
-Like any north valley course, it gets HOT in the summer.
Other Thoughts: A few holes had a bit more trash than I'm used to seeing. Suppose it could have been an anomaly, but some of it like broken glass mixed into the dirt and rocks looked like it had been there a while. I may play it again but it just doesn't compare to other courses nearby.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    2/22/2012   2/22/2012
Review By: sjones
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great tee pads. fun course easy to navigate except jump from 9 to 10 across parking lot from # tee club house some fun ace run looks. Very clean nice bathrooms
Cons: foot traffic paths cross the fairways some holes a little to easy
Other Thoughts: we traveled 1:20 to play north and south and defiantly worth the drive course moved nice the non playing residents were friendly and not to many mosquitoes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 18 baskets finally!

5+    3/26/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 106  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement tee pads
-Mach II baskets
-Trash can and benches at most holes.
-Dog friendly
-BBQ/picnic areas
-Restrooms nearby
-Below par score are very achievable
-Friendly locals
Cons: -Park can be busy with DGers and other recreational folks.
-River can flood holes 14-18
-Oroville summers are HOT
-Not as many trees as the south course
-You can lose your disc into the river on a few holes
-Only a couple of holes have alternate pin positions

Other Thoughts: For a long time this course only had nine permanent baskets but have recently had the full installation of baskets. A super loop can now be accomplished starting at hole one on the north course, hooking up at hole 8 of the south play the south course, then finish the last nine of the north course (This would make you very tired). The final nine of the course is rarely populated making for nice rounds. This is a fun course to visit and well worth your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Front Prepares You

5+    1/20/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Orovilles first golf course!
The Front 18 at Oroville is still one of my favorite shorter courses to play even though it's mostly short holes with a few technical ones.
Great long tees with Mach 2 baskets
New Bathrooms and Pavilion on the Back 9!
Signature Hole 10 (Bowl Hole) Love this hole! Fairway is giant hole, Pin is on the other side and the wind is always impossible to read! Great challenge!
I always enjoyed Hole 11 & hope it continues to play from where the Tees at... it was a righty forehand or a turnover shot around a giant rock pile with O.B. on the left (path) & a sweet grassy green!
Hole 13 was another one of my favorites! Elevated tee that descended 40-60ft to the Pin(300ft) with an awesome view of the river on the right side!
It'll be interesting to see how Hole's 14-16 are played when construction is finished, Hole 15 was a fun shorty through the trees!
Hole's 17 and 18 are 2 very nice Holes that play alongside the river and make for a nice scenic ending to the fun round!
Cons: Not many trees/bushes
Other Thoughts: Its not the most technical course but it's definitely enjoyable! I love the fact that you can play two totally different courses on the same piece of land. It's a nice warmup for the Back 18 which will challenge your skills a bit more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Here's one for the beginers, or the kids

1    1/23/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Long concrete teepads, you can get a full run up on them.
- Nice baskets on every hole
- All of the holes are ace-able
- Friendly locals
- Beter for beginers
- A little bit of lefts and rights
- Right off the highway
Cons: - Realy Short
- More Crowded than the longer and more fun south course
- Not much elevation change, but what is there, is used well
- Not many tee signs left
- Not very challenging
- There are a couple places that were a little hard to find the way from hole to hole
- Only 9 holes
- Right next to the highway
- Long walk from hole 9 to hole 1
Other Thoughts: This is the shortest and most beginer friendly of the two courses on site here. It's 9 holes and ends right next to the middle of the south course. The holes are almost all wide open with only a few trees and bushes around The freeway neerby makes for a bit of noise while your playing. There seemed to be more people around on this course as well. There's one hole with an elevated teebox that shoots to a basket reachable with a putter, it's a fun little hole, but there is a gazebo in the distance that kind of reminds me of the gazebo hole from the PS3 Move DG game. If there was no one around like a rainy day or tourny or something you might be able to set up a temp basket in there for a longer funner shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Under Construction

5+    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: DaWizard
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: Will be a nice addition once the repairs are done. Currently 9 holes are available but are played with the 18 holes of south course making a 27 holes course. Other half still have some baskets just not marked well at all and there is construction or Soccer fields going on right now. So when they are done the course should be finished up and back to permanent..
Cons: Only have 9 holes so rough to give it a real rating.. Like i said South course has been played as a 27 hole course for most people.
Other Thoughts: Once done should be up and really good again, with the river on the right hand side for most back 9 shots and with the Grass Fields will be very nice. But Riverbend Park is outstanding for people coming out with Garbage cans,walking paths, pavillions, grass, swimming you name it with food and lodging very close by.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.