Oroville, CA 
Riverbend Park - North Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
I'd play it again now that I know

1    5/28/2015   5/31/2015
Review By: GuidoPero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: Mostly open
Shot to medium length wholes
Cons: No signs showing basket placement or where to go to next tee
Front 9 plays away from back 9
Had to ask other disc golfers where to go and what basket to play
Tee 7 to basket 7 and tee 9 to basket 9 cross and aren't clearly labeled
Had to walk 1/2 mile from basket 9 to tee 10
Other Thoughts: I got lost from tee 11 to 12
Tee 12 is under a tree and covered in leaves

my Favorite of the two

5+    7/9/2014   3/20/2014
Review By: blazer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2015
Pros: I have been playing this coarse for going on 2 years now, when I started disc golf. I am still at the hit or miss stage of the game where you could go -8 in a doubles round, or +10 individually on a very unlucky day. No matter what, I always have fun, and that is the greatest pro of them all. My Favorite hole is #2, just a thumber with my destroyer, usually gets me parked for a birdie, or just a simple hyser with my quasar will do it too. Hole # 4, I can park it on the front of the hill with the thumber also man. I don't mind the "long walk" from 9-10, I like walking, and nature, and the women always wear bikinis at the beach on the walk way! he he, also a good pro, but disc golf related, the back nine, is where I seen it more challenging, mostly cause the holes seemed to be longer, but they never change the pins on any of them , except for 7, I have seen it short, long, and longer, also was a par 4 I was told, but wasn't sure where they came up with that Idea
Cons: Random bums is one con, I see the same ones usually, and sometimes they can be okay, but mostly annoying to play with. The fairways could be mowed, but I don't think anyone is going to, because it has been star thistles and stickers for awhile now. This makes it easy to loose discs, which sucks, I usually write my name and number on mine just in case, and I have had 4 people call and return them out of 20+ lost. I have lost 2 Terns on 14 to the river, and 2 quasars 17 on hole 17 in the river. My Friend lost his Tern on hole 16, so that would be a huge con, is getting your discs lost for crappy throws. Waiting on people can be an issue, because it gets crowed in the summer with the beach and the soccer fields, which are used a lot after noonish. not really good water faucets, it's hot, remeber to bring water.
Other Thoughts: The tag weekly's are posted on the billboard by the club house on 1, and they are having an ace race. watch for snakes.

Not very exciting

1    11/26/2013   12/13/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through the spaces between and around other park activities, so it's a little more well-groomed than the south course. There are a few holes with enough trees to make you hit a specific line. There are a couple small elevation changes that add some fun shots including a nice little downhill shot and a couple rollaway greens.

The tees are nice concrete pads with fine grip. The baskets (that are there) are in good shape. The holes that do force a line have a mix of left and right turning fairways. A couple spots have some brush that can punish errant shots.
Cons: The course is very short and not very challenging. Most of the shots are reachable with a putter or mid for many players, and with how open much of the course is you don't have very many real tests. Normally I wouldn't ding a course for missing baskets, but it seems like this is a long-term issue here with the two that are missing.

Most of the signage is damaged or missing. On top of that, the course routing is not at all intuitive. That makes navigation a little frustrating without a map or local guide. The long walk from 18 to 1 and the even longer walk from 9 to 10 really break up the flow. It's a little odd to have two courses on site that don't start in the same spot. There are a bunch of conflicts with other park uses including soccer fields, walking paths and picnic areas.
Other Thoughts: This course is a little more beginner friendly than the south course, with shorter shots and less technical challenges or punishment for errant shots. Experienced players won't find much challenge or variety here. It's an ok warmup for the tougher south course but not worth going out of your way to play in it's own right.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Skip this course.

1    1/8/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: FatBrad64
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Open course for newer players.
-Good mix of shorter and medium length holes.
-Front 9 is fun and has some tricky tight shots.
-Great warm up for the south course.
Cons: -2 missing baskets, not sure why.
-Plays around fields and next to walking path causes slow play.
-TERRIBLE course design, no continuity whatsoever.
-No long holes.
-Designed by and for RHBH throwers.
Other Thoughts: The course as a whole was pretty fun. I would have hated the day had I not played the South course along with the north course. Alone the North course is not very fun, hard to find the next tee, missing baskets, entirely too many bystanders, and too easy. I would recommend passing up this course and just playing the South course through twice to get in your 36.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Discing in O-town

1    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: zofo
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: challenging as you have to have a varitey of shots and be good in the woods. Nice integration into the park and river area. Has concrete pads which were in good shape. Baskets were decent and from what I was told moved recently. Good to see that they are changing it up adding difficulty and length to the course. The course had a lot of variety. long pars, short possible aces or birdies, trees , and even a river on left of first hole. Benches and trash cans were strewn about which was nice. Played fast for first time visiting course. It is nice that Oroville has a place to throw that is at the park but not in it.
Cons: Oroville can be very hot in the summer bring water! Very rocky, lots of ankle breakers wear good outdoor shoes. Hole markers have seen better days. First couple were missing directions just the holder left. Had to go scout and guess at baskets. There was some trash on the first holes mostly discarded clothing? Very woodsy and the underbrush ate up a lot of our throws. Finding the discs cost some blood ,sweat, and tears. Course was crowded as they had a city league going on. The course also crosses a well used walking path near the river.
Other Thoughts: The course was real challenging. Being a beginner I had to learn to just put it straight and not risk losing a disc to mother nature. I did put one in deep overgrowth on rivers edge maybe even in the water with first drive. That taught me to slow down and wasn't going to be able to bomb without really thinking about accuracy. The holes were a little beat at the beginning but got better as we moved through the course. Make sure you are good at throwing straight and low as I said tons of trees and narrow approaches. Watch out for the brass plaques on the tees. One of my buddies almost ate it as they are real slippery if you hit during a run up or standing drive. The locals playing the league were really cool. Just more crowded than expected. Good thing holes are not close together to worry about hitting each other. I was told this is the more difficult of the 2 courses that are in Riverbend Park. I enjoyed the challenge and having to celebrate getting a par! looking forward to revisiting and playing other course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    2/15/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy to find.
-Decent baskets, concrete teepads.
Cons: -Trash on course (see other thoughts).
-Like any north valley course, it gets HOT in the summer.
Other Thoughts: A few holes had a bit more trash than I'm used to seeing. Suppose it could have been an anomaly, but some of it like broken glass mixed into the dirt and rocks looked like it had been there a while. I may play it again but it just doesn't compare to other courses nearby.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    2/22/2012   2/22/2012
Review By: sjones
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great tee pads. fun course easy to navigate except jump from 9 to 10 across parking lot from # tee club house some fun ace run looks. Very clean nice bathrooms
Cons: foot traffic paths cross the fairways some holes a little to easy
Other Thoughts: we traveled 1:20 to play north and south and defiantly worth the drive course moved nice the non playing residents were friendly and not to many mosquitoes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 18 baskets finally!

5+    3/26/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 107  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement tee pads
-Mach II baskets
-Trash can and benches at most holes.
-Dog friendly
-BBQ/picnic areas
-Restrooms nearby
-Below par score are very achievable
-Friendly locals
Cons: -Park can be busy with DGers and other recreational folks.
-River can flood holes 14-18
-Oroville summers are HOT
-Not as many trees as the south course
-You can lose your disc into the river on a few holes
-Only a couple of holes have alternate pin positions

Other Thoughts: For a long time this course only had nine permanent baskets but have recently had the full installation of baskets. A super loop can now be accomplished starting at hole one on the north course, hooking up at hole 8 of the south play the south course, then finish the last nine of the north course (This would make you very tired). The final nine of the course is rarely populated making for nice rounds. This is a fun course to visit and well worth your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Front Prepares You

5+    1/20/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 85  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Orovilles first golf course!
The Front 18 at Oroville is still one of my favorite shorter courses to play even though it's mostly short holes with a few technical ones.
Great long tees with Mach 2 baskets
New Bathrooms and Pavilion on the Back 9!
Signature Hole 10 (Bowl Hole) Love this hole! Fairway is giant hole, Pin is on the other side and the wind is always impossible to read! Great challenge!
I always enjoyed Hole 11 & hope it continues to play from where the Tees at... it was a righty forehand or a turnover shot around a giant rock pile with O.B. on the left (path) & a sweet grassy green!
Hole 13 was another one of my favorites! Elevated tee that descended 40-60ft to the Pin(300ft) with an awesome view of the river on the right side!
It'll be interesting to see how Hole's 14-16 are played when construction is finished, Hole 15 was a fun shorty through the trees!
Hole's 17 and 18 are 2 very nice Holes that play alongside the river and make for a nice scenic ending to the fun round!
Cons: Not many trees/bushes
Other Thoughts: Its not the most technical course but it's definitely enjoyable! I love the fact that you can play two totally different courses on the same piece of land. It's a nice warmup for the Back 18 which will challenge your skills a bit more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Here's one for the beginers, or the kids

1    1/23/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 123  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Long concrete teepads, you can get a full run up on them.
- Nice baskets on every hole
- All of the holes are ace-able
- Friendly locals
- Beter for beginers
- A little bit of lefts and rights
- Right off the highway
Cons: - Realy Short
- More Crowded than the longer and more fun south course
- Not much elevation change, but what is there, is used well
- Not many tee signs left
- Not very challenging
- There are a couple places that were a little hard to find the way from hole to hole
- Only 9 holes
- Right next to the highway
- Long walk from hole 9 to hole 1
Other Thoughts: This is the shortest and most beginer friendly of the two courses on site here. It's 9 holes and ends right next to the middle of the south course. The holes are almost all wide open with only a few trees and bushes around The freeway neerby makes for a bit of noise while your playing. There seemed to be more people around on this course as well. There's one hole with an elevated teebox that shoots to a basket reachable with a putter, it's a fun little hole, but there is a gazebo in the distance that kind of reminds me of the gazebo hole from the PS3 Move DG game. If there was no one around like a rainy day or tourny or something you might be able to set up a temp basket in there for a longer funner shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.