Disc Golf Store
Oroville, CA 
Riverbend Park - North Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
beginner course

2-4    4/2/2014   3/20/2014
Review By: blazer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2014
Pros: great for beginners, short, non challenging drives, open, no playing fees, local hang out, easy to play for me and my childeren, concrete tees, they replaced the two missing baskets!!!! yay!!!!!! looks like they are mowing and cleaning it up a little, not as much litter either, long walk does present a great work out:) if you get hot in summer, just jump in the river!!!:)
Cons: long walk between first 9 and back 9, have to be careful for people before you throw, hard to find holes because the maps are vandilized and broken, trees need pruning, bad
Other Thoughts: vandilism, and random people, and transients you would see i like playing this course, because its free and easy, maybe they are in the process of fixing it up, I am definately going to be back on a regular basis

Discing in O-town

1    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: zofo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: challenging as you have to have a varitey of shots and be good in the woods. Nice integration into the park and river area. Has concrete pads which were in good shape. Baskets were decent and from what I was told moved recently. Good to see that they are changing it up adding difficulty and length to the course. The course had a lot of variety. long pars, short possible aces or birdies, trees , and even a river on left of first hole. Benches and trash cans were strewn about which was nice. Played fast for first time visiting course. It is nice that Oroville has a place to throw that is at the park but not in it.
Cons: Oroville can be very hot in the summer bring water! Very rocky, lots of ankle breakers wear good outdoor shoes. Hole markers have seen better days. First couple were missing directions just the holder left. Had to go scout and guess at baskets. There was some trash on the first holes mostly discarded clothing? Very woodsy and the underbrush ate up a lot of our throws. Finding the discs cost some blood ,sweat, and tears. Course was crowded as they had a city league going on. The course also crosses a well used walking path near the river.
Other Thoughts: The course was real challenging. Being a beginner I had to learn to just put it straight and not risk losing a disc to mother nature. I did put one in deep overgrowth on rivers edge maybe even in the water with first drive. That taught me to slow down and wasn't going to be able to bomb without really thinking about accuracy. The holes were a little beat at the beginning but got better as we moved through the course. Make sure you are good at throwing straight and low as I said tons of trees and narrow approaches. Watch out for the brass plaques on the tees. One of my buddies almost ate it as they are real slippery if you hit during a run up or standing drive. The locals playing the league were really cool. Just more crowded than expected. Good thing holes are not close together to worry about hitting each other. I was told this is the more difficult of the 2 courses that are in Riverbend Park. I enjoyed the challenge and having to celebrate getting a par! looking forward to revisiting and playing other course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 18 baskets finally!

5+    3/26/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement tee pads
-Mach II baskets
-Trash can and benches at most holes.
-Dog friendly
-BBQ/picnic areas
-Restrooms nearby
-Below par score are very achievable
-Friendly locals
Cons: -Park can be busy with DGers and other recreational folks.
-River can flood holes 14-18
-Oroville summers are HOT
-Not as many trees as the south course
-You can lose your disc into the river on a few holes
-Only a couple of holes have alternate pin positions

Other Thoughts: For a long time this course only had nine permanent baskets but have recently had the full installation of baskets. A super loop can now be accomplished starting at hole one on the north course, hooking up at hole 8 of the south play the south course, then finish the last nine of the north course (This would make you very tired). The final nine of the course is rarely populated making for nice rounds. This is a fun course to visit and well worth your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Front Prepares You

5+    1/20/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 77  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Orovilles first golf course!
The Front 18 at Oroville is still one of my favorite shorter courses to play even though it's mostly short holes with a few technical ones.
Great long tees with Mach 2 baskets
New Bathrooms and Pavilion on the Back 9!
Signature Hole 10 (Bowl Hole) Love this hole! Fairway is giant hole, Pin is on the other side and the wind is always impossible to read! Great challenge!
I always enjoyed Hole 11 & hope it continues to play from where the Tees at... it was a righty forehand or a turnover shot around a giant rock pile with O.B. on the left (path) & a sweet grassy green!
Hole 13 was another one of my favorites! Elevated tee that descended 40-60ft to the Pin(300ft) with an awesome view of the river on the right side!
It'll be interesting to see how Hole's 14-16 are played when construction is finished, Hole 15 was a fun shorty through the trees!
Hole's 17 and 18 are 2 very nice Holes that play alongside the river and make for a nice scenic ending to the fun round!
Cons: Not many trees/bushes
Other Thoughts: Its not the most technical course but it's definitely enjoyable! I love the fact that you can play two totally different courses on the same piece of land. It's a nice warmup for the Back 18 which will challenge your skills a bit more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I like the South course better

5/26/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: Matt_Kelly
Played: 159  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: When the holes play through the woods, they are interesting and challenging.
Cons: The wide open holes were nothing special. The 9 holes (front? back?) near the other course used to be much more challenging (I was told) - but the powers-the-be keep removing trees and hills or putting up bathrooms in fairways.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.