Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Riverdale, UT 
Riverpark DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Justin H Hole #2
3 / 333ft.   3 / 268ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Best Course in UT north of SLC!

5+    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: 1. Good overall layout - From the launch pads to the pins, the course was designed well in creating shots that allow for skilled drives as well as the nice and open long bomb. It has a great variety and very little overap on the holes (there is a little on the front 9). They even have an out-of-the-way practice tee/meeting place.
2. Friendly locals - the course is not well marked, but it is easy to navigate, just ask anyone, they'll probably invite you to play with them.
3. Varied shots - The pins have long and short positions, and each hole has beginner, advanced, and pro tees.
4. Great course in the winter - it is nice and quiet - just make sure to wear boots.
Cons: 1. Signage - There are signs present, they have just seen better days (faded). For first timers, it is a hard course to follow, especially the transition from hole 7 to 8. Like I said before, just ask a local.
2. Poison Oak - watch out for poison oak - especially on the back 9. Many of the fairways have it and it is not uncommon to toss a disc in the bush.
3. Tee pads - the tee pads are foam, not concrete - making it really slick in the rain or snow, they also move a little each throw.
Other Thoughts: Though it is one of two courses north of SLC. This is the more technical of the two and the best one of the two for experienced players. There are lots of obstacles and it is extremely fun to play because of the variance in shots.

One other note, because it is the only course in the Ogden area, there are a lot of large groups as mentioned in a previous post. Most of these large groups are youth groups or families that are first timers. They don't know any better on the 'play through' thing. If you ask though, they will let you through, and you can even show them a thing or two and grow the sport.

One last thing, if you are visiting the area and it is even slightly windy in Ogden, expect the front nine to be blowing hard, bring the heavy plastic.

 One of my favorites

5+    9/11/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: climbingbubba
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes. 3 different tee boxes for all different levels. good mix of long and short holes.
Cons: Can't read most of the tee signs so you have no idea what the distances are. Can be confusing your first few times. Many of the holes are RHFH or LHBH friendly so if you can't do either of those then it can be difficult. Its also really easy to lose your disc in the tall weeds if you don't keep in on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course around. It has an awesome blend of wide open long holes and tight technical holes. My wife loves it because she can throw from the girl tees and stay competetive with all the guys. The only thing that would make it better is new tee signs but its not a big deal

 Riverdale

1    6/25/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Forrest
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Challenging course through the woods. The trees add a nice hazard and if you can get past them you have the opportunity to birdie most of the holes. The day I went it was a little busy but the locals are friendly and our group had a lost disc returned to us within an hour of losing it.
Cons: Navigation. We went with a local friend of ours and without him, I'm not sure we could have found all the holes. Some trail signs would be nice. Some of the tee pads are tore up also.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with lots of challenge. Bring a local or a map to navigate this one though.

 A fun course i wish i could play more

5+    7/8/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: one of my favorite 5 cources i have ever played diffrent teepads and diffrent hole positions with alot of lefty holes for advatages for some like me and alot of trees and u have to be accurateand have a bing arm to play good
Cons: the homemade baskets are very bad baskets but they are making them into new mach 5's
there are updated signs to tell u how far the hole is
Other Thoughts: if ur in town for the day play hear john adamas usu for a whole day of golfing they have doubles every thursday 5:00 -6:30 depending on the time of year

 Good solid 3.5 course

5+    4/21/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: mrstiggy
Played: 78  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1.) Friendly locals always willing to help out, a very good disc golf community here. Several times while I was playing this course I saw people returning lost discs.
2.) Nice balance of challenging holes, several birdie ops, a handful of ace runs, and quite a few bombers. This course favors the RHFH throwers or people that can punch out a decent anhyzer, however, there are quite a few opportunities for RHBH precision shots.
3.) Considering the crowds, the park is relatively well kept. I did see quite a bit of litter, however, it was picked up by the next days. Again, I think this has something do to with the local scene.
4.) Multiple tee pads allow (some holes had as many as 4) for any caliber of player to play, well set up for someone to learn the game.
5.) Practice basket, also used as an added hole. The locals here seem to favor the putters at the practice basket, as that is what it is used for, however, there are plenty of times it is open when you finish 18 and can take a shot at it..
6.) Engaging mountain views.
7.) Dining, and stores to get drinks very close by.
8.) Good fun factor.
Cons: 1) Aside from the course on the military base here, there is not another course that is with in 20 miles. If you want to play multiple courses in one day here, you must go to Salt Lake City. Next really good disc golf, 2 hours away, Pocatello Id.
2) Congestion. Being that it is the only course close, and disc golf seems very popular here, this course becomes very congested during the day.
3) Aside from the locals doing most everything right, they did seem to have one flaw. Many times during the day playing solo, I ran into groups of as many as 8 and not offering to play through. This course may have had a better rating based on this one.
4) Although the pin placement is great as far as shot quality, many baskets are placed close to the fairway on the front half of the course. This could pose a danger to other players on congested windy days.
5) The rough is rough in places. There is a river that winds around the back half of the course, it does not come into play unless you have a very uncontrolled drive. Again, there is also a swamp that follows on the back 3 holes, but does not come into play unless a very uncontrolled drive is released. There are several places where there is too much brush to track a disc if let go of wrong.
6) This is only a small one for night golfers, but, there is a Walmart right behind the course that has very bright streetlights. The lights can over power the ones on your disc and never allow the eyes to adjust to the darkness.
7) Multiple basket types. The practice basket is an Disc Catcher. The rest of the course is a mix of Mach 5s, and homemade. For being homemade, the baskets seem decent, however, there are non-regulation chains on many of them that are too small and do not properly catch the disc.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had a fantastic time playing this course. I found that night play was much easier based on congestion. Because of the popularity of the area, I was trying to get the locals to try to get more organized and get some more course in the area. With a following this large, a city must see the need to install another course if a letter to them is well written.
Even with their altered etiquite, I if more of a focus was put on discgolf here, I am sure with how good the folks are, they would let you play through.
Certainly worth a play if you are in the area for a while.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course tucked away from riverdale.

5+    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: NWcityguy2
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cool course with well designed holes to challange everyone. Baskets are well placed among trees or by water to test those who feel the need to constantly bomb shots. Some baskets are homemade while others have been replaced by new DGA ones.
Cons: Even the longest holes aren't that long, nothing there required using a driver twice and my midrange only came out 3-4 times unless I was using it off the tee. Some of the rubber tee pads were lacking as well.
Other Thoughts: This is a very cool course with a awesome following of locals who take care of it and work to improve it. I showed up a day before a tournament to get a feel for it and played with some friendly locals who took me around and gave me tips. I probably played with 3 different groups who passed me off from one to another as they left and I stuck around. There are a number of tournaments this year with the goal of improving the tee pads and baskets so if you can go to one they are worth every penny.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Riverpark disc golf course, Ogden Utah

5+    10/10/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 153  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bathrooms, High participation from locals to maintain course. 27 holes.
Cons: Homemade basket spitouts on some of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course plays near and along the Weber river, without the river coming into play on any of the holes. The terrain is fairly flat, with half the course playing in a relatively open area, the other half playing in semi-dense foliage. Some of the fairways are riverbottom, with sandy and rocky loose conditions. Most other fairways are dirt, hard pack which will give you the opportunity to skip shots a long ways. The average hole length is 300 feet. The technical factor is good on this course. You need to place your drives down the fairway for birdie opportunities. Both beginner and pro players will like this course as the course has multiple teepads on just about every hole. You can effectively play three different courses by playing three sets of teepads, although the shorter teepads will be a birdiefest for the pro players.
There is a walk from the parking lot to the first teepad, about 100 yards. Teesigns are on every hole, though some of the teesigns are missing information like hole length. The baskets are homemade, and the sweetspots are small so allow for a higher frustration factor when playing this course. Teepads are rubber, a thinner variation from flypads, but definitely improve the course playability. There is obvious excellent course maintenance from the local club members. No trash to speak of, and every bit of the course was installed and paid for by the locals. There has been a few course re-designs over the years, and each re-design has improved the course technically, and helped the playability especially for beginners. It is not crowded, maybe on a Saturday afternoon there will be big groups, but for the most part at any given time, you will have the course to yourself. The course is centrally located near all kinds of shopping, so taking a break for lunch is quick and easy. This is the best course in the Ogden area, a pretty fun course easily accessible from the freeway so should be a stop for anyone travelling through the area.
10-10-10: update on the course, it is now 27 holes. from hole 10, the course now stretches out southward to include 9 more holes before hooking back up to the original 18 hole course at hole 11, now hole 20. the extra holes are a bit on the short side but a very good addition to the original 18.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Riverdale

5+    8/27/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: successwarrior
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the way the course is spread out over a large area. Some of the courses I've played seem like they jammed them together too tightly. This course is spacious.

The baskets are set up to be challenging. It is possible to get birdies on most of the baskets if you can sneak past the trees.

There are three sets of tee boxes so you can choose your level of difficulty.
Cons: Finding the next tee can be very difficult if you aren't familiar with the course. I would suggest playing the first couple of times with a local or you're bound to get lost.

Even finding the red tees can be a challenge. Everyone on the course has been nice and when we played there last year, the locals were kind enough to show us around.
Other Thoughts: Some of the baskets are impossible to see from the tee box so it might take a round or two to dial in your drive on some of the baskets. Luckily, it's pretty easy to find your disc on nearly every basket even if you throw it out of view.

This has been my favorite course played this year and would be rated as excellent by me if there were clear directions to the next tee.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 7/6/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tees, many with rubber mats for the run up.

A nice natural setting, but doesn't necessarily mean you'll spend all day looking for your discs in the rough (just keep those wild shots under control).

Many creative, and challenging shots, but yet still a course where you should be able to get a good score.

Lots of nice people, good thing too, I needed directions a couple times.
Cons: Very little elevation change. Sometimes hard to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I must admit, I came into this one with low expectations, but was pleasantly surprised. Holes 8 through 15 are "hidden gems," don't miss them.

To get to hole 8, after hole 7 go back to the paved pathway, go a couple hundred feet, you'll see a path headed down to a clearing by the river, this will lead you to holes 8 through 15.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course, needs some work

1    6/13/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a solid 3 disc course that the locals can be proud of. It plays quite challenging and long from the long tees. There are three sets of tees that are pretty well marked. The main yellow ones on long mats, some longer red ones on short mats, and some short blue ones on grass/dirt. It was tough to find the holes at times, but once you find one tee the other ones are too hard to find. If you're having trouble, check the nearby asphalt road running through the park. Several of the tees are marked in paint on the road. I was skeptical of the mats at first, but they were fine and just as good as playing on concrete tees.

Most of the holes are really fun and require good disc golf skills. There are several risk/reward holes as well. Shots require anhyzer/hyzer/forehand/backhand to get birdies. Playing from the long tees, you'll need a good arm to card many birdies. I throw 250-315 and I only had a handful of real birdie attempts, finishing +7 on my round. The course makes excellent use of the trees around. There are also several blind shots to the basket, which are fun.
Cons: I was surprised that the entire course was flat given that it is in Utah in the bottom of a valley with a raging river in it and serious mountains just a few miles away. That's not anyone's fault, just the way the park is set up. All the hills are on the other side of the railroad tracks, so no changing that. The Weber River really doesn't come into play either, but it is fun to look at.

The course gets REALLY muddy after a rain. Being in the valley bottom, it is sheltered from much wind and has lots of trees, which is different from many Western courses. That probably should be in the pro column.

Lastly, the signage was horrible. Really. At times there are mysterious trails off into the woods you have to find, walking up to 200 yards to the next hole, but you'd never know it unless you luck into another player.

The homemade baskets have really small chains, so cut-throughs are pretty easy to get. Careful!
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'd suggest better signs, maybe even a little concrete for the tees (or at least longer pads on the red tees and some kind of pad on the blue tees) and bigger chains on the baskets, but all in all, a great course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.