Merrill, WI 
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: t's kitty Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 196ft. Par / Distance:
Sharp left turn to the basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short but still still fun

1    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 132  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 10.2 Years
Pros: Its very easy to find and navigation is no problem at all. The baskets are in good shape and catch well. Signs were present at each hole with distance (though some can't be correct) and a whole map of the course. Water would come into play on hole 2 however with the dry weather it was all dried up. Although its short I still had a lot of fun and it only takes about 20 minutes a round. Probably never too busy either.
Cons: Very short. Two holes listed at 84' and 78' but i don't think they're even that. Dirt tees pretty smooth today but i could see them getting swampy with more Rainfall. Some also had a few roots sticking up as well. Only nine holes, however they did what they could in this tiny park.
Other Thoughts: All in all a fun little nine with tons of ace chances. Worth a trip since its 10 minutes off 51 if you're heading up to sandy point or Highbridge. Better than Nokomis further up 51.

EH decent

1    7/24/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: AH14203
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well Laid out and easy to understand where the next hole is. Good for practing up shots or learning to throw opposite hand
Cons: TO SHORT for disc golfer with experience.
Other Thoughts: add another 150' to every hole it would be better

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

5+    8/11/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Bushmaster
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: On an island surrounded by the Wisconsin River. Lots of ace chances. Short and quick. Not too crowded.
Cons: Some of the holes are a little too short and easy. Dirt tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: An easy course that is still pretty fun to play. Come here if your looking to get your first ace. They could have placed some of the baskets closer to the water to make it more challenging.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "Cute" little course

1    8/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: koogs
Played: 94  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Despite being in a public park, the course is separated. Most of the holes weren't ridiculously easy due to baskets being strategically placed behind trees or bushes. The park is beautiful, shady and it was a great place to practice shot-making. This would be a good place to spend an afternoon, picnicking, fishing, and disc golfing.
Cons: The dirt tees were dry, so they weren't a problem, but I could see things being ugly after a rain. The distances were too short to be seriously challenging. They range from 78 feet (yes, 78 feet!) to 198. I played everything as a par 2. They should have put some baskets closer to the river for a little risk. All the holes were either left turning or straight. The ones that were straight I anhyzered my shots, just for practice.
Other Thoughts: I was passing through and had some time to kill and I had a good time playing here. I got some nice, quiet practice in. I would play it again for the same reasons.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meh!

1    8/15/2009   3/15/2010
Review By: matrathvy
Played: 91  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short and a great course for a family to play if they have children that may be just learning or not strong enough to throw hundred plus footers. Opposite direction shots are the normal here, so some skill needed.
Cons: VERY SHORT! Right on the shore of the Wisconsin River. Gets muddy after a dampening even(not even a heavy rain)
Other Thoughts: Not far from downtown Merrill. Plenty of things to do in Merrill proper, EVEN a disc golf friendly hobby store "Fun Stuff"

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet!

2-4    6/27/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Beginner friendly because of short distance. I always like to see a course that can be fun for all. If you are a pro caliber player you may enjoyt his course too because you can gun for some aces!

2) Dry river bed was a cool feature on the few holes running along it and also across ti for the little layup 78 footer! It must be high all spring and filled with water but when the frost is out of the ground and all the snow ha melted it is dry apparently because even after a big 4 inch rain we had a few weeks earlier it was still dry. Very unique feature on this course.

3) Baskets are in good shape and tee signs are very nice. They each list the distance and they also have a map of the entire course. This is an added feature for someone new, although it would be tough to actually get lost on this course. It flows very well from hole to hole and is in a tight little area.

4) Nice park set at the bottom of a cliff along the Wisconsin River. It has other facilities including bathrooms.

5) 2 easy ace runs if you have the guts to shoot right at the basket since they are under 100'
Cons: 1) Tee pads are dirt and are completely bare. There is no grass on them. When dry they would be ok, but if it was moist it would be a mess.

2) Very short . . . not super challenging for anyone above recreational players.

3) Thick stuff can be thick in spots, but there are a lot of paths through those areas from other people looking for discs.

4) Moist location tucked beneath a cliff under densely wooded trees so the place is a mosquito haven!!!!

5) Right to left favored shot making makes this a little monotonous . . . however there are trees on every hole you have to consider so different lines are possible.

6) Too short but it looks like they ran out of real estate. No hole over 200' and two under 100' This is a positive and a negative in my opinion!
Other Thoughts: This was a nice little course. As I said it is beginner friendly which is nice, but I think good layers would still enjoy it becuse there are some great shots to make. It also would give an experienced player a chance at some aces. The maintenance of the course could use a little help like improving the teeboxes and maybe some thinning of some of the thick stuff between holes. With all of this said I enjoyed myself and would come back if I was in the area . . . because I know I could do better than -1 if I played it again!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meh...

1    7/23/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 327  Reviewed: 323  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very Quick!
-Little Traffic!
-Easy!
Cons: -Too Easy, 2-3 holes <100 feet and none over 300.
-Lotsa bugs!
-Watch out for the river on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: I agree with the previous review of this course but i gave it a lower course rating. It was designed by someone that hasnt played disc golf or the person just had extremely limited options.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short fairways with a pretty view

5+    9/14/2008   9/20/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A pretty course along the Wisconsin River. A decent mix of short and medium drives, mostly left-turning, with wooded fairways on most of the holes.
Cons: This is another example of a disc golf course as an afterthought. This course was designed not a course, but as "how can we fit a nine-hole course onto existing park property?" That having been said, the course mixes with regular park activities on only one hole (#1). The last 8 holes of the course are crammed onto an island off the park "mainland," and the result is many holes that are ridiculously short (I got my first ace here but don't really count it because it was under 100 ft).
Other Thoughts: A good place to practice left-turning up shots and short drives. Or if you have something else to do in Merrill, Wisconsin. Oh, and you've never had an ace, this might be your shot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.