St. Cloud, MN 
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #10 (Taken 6/2009)
5 / 500ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A beloved course in central minnesota

5+    5/29/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: bensiren
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a great variety of shots
Great for beginners and fun for experienced players
Park maintenance keeps the course clean and changes the basket location frequently.
Cons: You can count on the course being busy weekends and in the afternoon.
The first 9 holes are packed tight and there's risk of getting hit by drives from a different hole.
Pedestrians walk through the course.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that got me into disc golf. It is well designed for the space it occupies. It's the first course I play for a weekend of discing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great all-around course

5+    7/23/2012   3/29/2013
Review By: Schanen11
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great variety of holes (left, right, uphill, downhill, flat, short, long, etc.)
-Trees with the high canopy provide obstacles without the risk of losing your disc in the brush (with the exception of maybe two holes on the south side)
-Great separation between front and back 9, can play either easily from the main parking lot. Sometimes I'll play 10-18 and go back to play 1-9 just to mix it up a bit.
-Unique holes (#10 is my absolute favorite hole on any course. #4, #8, #11 and #18 also have a real different feel to them...)
Cons: -Gets busy in the afternoon/weekends
-Plenty of beginners and casual disc golfers (slower pace)
-A few of the holes overlap on the front 9 (watch out for discs and be sure to yell 'fore' on a wayward shot!)
Other Thoughts: Going to SCSU for 5 years, I learned to play on this course and will forever consider it to be my home course even though I now live very far away. The overall disc golf experience you get playing a round here is second to only the very best courses (Blue Ribbon Pines, Bryant Lake, etc.) in my opinion. An absolute must-play if in the area and definitely worth a trip up from the Twin Cities.. Come early to avoid the crowd!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun course

5+    9/4/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 71  Reviewed: 24
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of trees make for different possible lines to shape. The elevation makes for a good round. Cement teepads. Good distance holes, not too short not too long holes. Different basket placement keeps it interesting. The river looks awesome!
Cons: Sometimes hard to figure out what hole is next. Sometimes we found the teepad but threw at the wrong basket. Also could lose discs over the small brick backing fence next to the river, as I drilled the fence off a drive.
Other Thoughts: This and calvary make a great set of close courses together. Worth a days trip up to st cloud

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Riverside

1    8/17/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: WOTI
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome tee boxes.
Great variation of up and down hills.
Multiple basket locations.
O.B. on a few holes.
They had the 30' circles around every basket.
Free to play.
Cons: Not always easy to tell where to head after every hole for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was an awesome course. Had a lot of fun and it was well worth the hour drive to play it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely Popular And I See The Appeal!

1    7/20/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riverside Park is just a wonderful piece of land on which to have a disc golf course. The park features great terrain of undulating hills, just the right amount of scattered mature trees and very little in the way rough or hazards. Along with it's close vicinity to the local college, the welcoming and most forgiving attributes of this course are what makes it so appealing to so many. This popularity, also appears to be, probably it's biggest con. That is large groups of college students.
The baskets were fine and I understand they change the positions on a fairly regular basis. Concrete teepads were more than adequate. I love the metal tee signs. I think these small (6" x6") metal engraved signs, mounted on slanted, wooden posts just a few inches off the ground, are the best way to the go, sign wise. They're almost indestrucible and give you more then enough information.
# 10 gets a mention from everyone as being the signature hole here. It's 428' from the Long position and on the day I played the basket was slightly tucked away in the upper right position adding the challenge forcing you to put a little anhyser touch at the end of your throw. But the course is filled with enjoyable little downhill tosses like # 8. It's a simple little 200' ACE run through the trees.
The openness here through the trees makes this the perfect course for groups of college students. It plays long enough to challenge them but easy enough and wide open enough so as not to frustrate anyone. Hence, here comes the large groups.
On the few relatively flat holes here, a good roller is extremely useful tool.
Cons: Personally, I found little to complain about at Riverside. I want to wrap it and take it back to Washington with me. But upon further reflection, bases on it's close proximity to the college and it's beginner/rec friendliness, I could see it being so popular and so filled with the college crowd that, that could be construed by some as a Con.

Also players with skill levels above intermediate may find the challenge not there after playing it a few times.
Other Thoughts: It's such a perfect park, terrain wise, for a course. I guess, in some peoples eyes, it might be better if it were more isolated to help thin the crowds.
For a total Rec player such as myself, this course is a 5. It really pains me to give it the rating it deserves and not the rating that my heart tells me to.
It's everything I want in a course. It's a lovely walk in the park. The views of the mighty Mississippi are pretty special.

For me it's just the right blend of:

beautiful park + workout + challenge =

Enjoyment.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent park...

1    8/3/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: pallen03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Long course, good workout
-Cement tee boxes, clean engraved signs, multiple tee locations.
-No real hazards except hole 3 near the woods.
-Hole 10 is awesome
-Up and down hill holes add variety
-Not a whole lot of frustrating trees
-Navigation is easy, you flow right to the next tee
Cons: -There was a couple noobs when I went, a lot of bad errant throws out of them.
- Nothing out of the ordinary or amazing except hole 10
-If you throw your disc over the fence and into the woods on hole 3, there is an entrance by the hole 3 basket, no need to jump it and cut our arms like we did (we learned this after the fact)
-Noobs abound
Other Thoughts: I think that this is a very nice course conveniently located close to SCSU. It was easy to get around and play and it seemed to offer a different type of challenge at each hole. Slightly challenging par-wise but easy to get under par if you have experience. The scenery is nice as you go along, it is definitely a nice "stroll in the park". I would highly recommend to anyone in the area. This park and Calvary make a trip to STC worth it if you play both of them when you go.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Johnson
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice scenery, good elevation changes, 2 putting baskets, well maintained, good mix of long to midrange holes.10 is killer going down a huge hill. Cement tee pads are in good condish, baskets are too. Good view of river.
Cons: Busy, lot of walking, gotta watch out for discs flying at you, it gets a little bunched up. Gotta watch out for two holes, easy to lose discs. Can get confusing, they change basket location almost weekly.
Other Thoughts: Great overall, a true test of your power and technical ability.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ahhh the memories

5+    5/4/2002   4/5/2010
Review By: vikes_rule84
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Favorite holes: 5, 6, 10, 13
-Nice elevation changes throughout the course.
-This course has a lot of trees but they are spaced well so it allows for a lot of options in shot selection.
-Great course for both beginners and more advanced players.
-Upkeep is good
Cons: -Severely disappointed when I visited St Cloud on Memorial Day weekend a couple years ago and the baskets weren't out yet!
-Doesn't pose a great challenge
-Can get busy, slows play down
Other Thoughts: This was the course I started playing Disc Golf on so it will always hold a special place and a lot of special memories. Can't wait for the next opportunity to throw the discs around on this course again!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Along the Great River

1    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: revmatty
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 23.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This park is almost similar to Calvary, with the elevation changes, just not as wooded.
-Cement tees that are pretty well maintained.
-Baskets are is pretty good shape for the frequent use this course gets.
-Signs for every tee and holes. (They appear to be on stainless steel and are lazer engraved)
-Practice / Putt Basket
-Multiple pin placements (up to 3 on most holes)
-Hole 10 similar to hole 5 at Calvary (nice downhill slope, so even little arms get distance), but you tee into a valey, and have to go up a small steep incline to the basket.
-A few holes could be a challenge for lefties, as they play along a fence that leads to the Mississippi below it.
-Great work out climbing up and down the hill.
-Variety of shots can come into play here, under trees, around them, short (one hole plays over a service road thats OB), long.
Cons: -Pretty crowded, many people yelling fore, as some baskets are grouped close to eachother and a few errant throws or people wandering into your fairway to get their discs.
-Could have some confusion on the signs and pin placement, especially on a few blind shots.
-Parking can be a hassle, especially on busy weekends.
-Noticed lots of trash at the tees, did pick some of it up, but only had a small Wal-Mart bag that filled up after about 4 holes.
Other Thoughts: -Close to a garden and conservetory.
-Plus SCSU is on the other side of the river from the park, so lots of college kids.
- #10 wont forget it, as I tee'd off the disc drifted left, down the hill and bounced off the tree's and back into play resting on the upslope to the basket. And a great view from up there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It just feels right

1    8/15/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: Moffwicket
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very beautiful park. Hundreds of mature trees scattered around the entire park give the place a very comfortable and cozy feeling.
-Signs at every teebox.
-Most holes have 2 or 3 pin placements.
-Cement teeboxes.
-Good use of elevation and especially trees to make some difficult obsticals. Some holes have baskets near cliffs, forcing you to throw short or wide for fear of losing a disc.
-Well maintained park, very little litter. Even just from my one visit there, it seems like the locals have a little more pride, a little bit more invested in their course than most.
-Wide variety of holes. Up, down, left, right, long, short, guarded by trees, etc.
Cons: -The layout is a little bit goofy. At one point we weren't sure which basket we were shooting at, because there were 3 within 120 ft or so of each other. Also annoyed me how one hole (13 I think) you have to walk up a hill just to throw right down again.
-Directions to the next tee box would be nice, but for the most part you can figure it out. The hole I just mentioned was an exception.
-Some teeboxes are shorter than usual.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really love this park. I feel right at home playing here. Any complaints I had are superficial. Bottom line is I had a lot of fun playing here, even though it was a miserable drizzly day. If I lived in St. Cloud I would play here several times a week.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.