St. Cloud, MN
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #16 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great all-around course

5+    7/23/2012   3/29/2013
Review By: Schanen11
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great variety of holes (left, right, uphill, downhill, flat, short, long, etc.)
-Trees with the high canopy provide obstacles without the risk of losing your disc in the brush (with the exception of maybe two holes on the south side)
-Great separation between front and back 9, can play either easily from the main parking lot. Sometimes I'll play 10-18 and go back to play 1-9 just to mix it up a bit.
-Unique holes (#10 is my absolute favorite hole on any course. #4, #8, #11 and #18 also have a real different feel to them...)
Cons: -Gets busy in the afternoon/weekends
-Plenty of beginners and casual disc golfers (slower pace)
-A few of the holes overlap on the front 9 (watch out for discs and be sure to yell 'fore' on a wayward shot!)
Other Thoughts: Going to SCSU for 5 years, I learned to play on this course and will forever consider it to be my home course even though I now live very far away. The overall disc golf experience you get playing a round here is second to only the very best courses (Blue Ribbon Pines, Bryant Lake, etc.) in my opinion. An absolute must-play if in the area and definitely worth a trip up from the Twin Cities.. Come early to avoid the crowd!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth Playing

5+    6/2/2011   3/2/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 43  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is always fairly clean and well taken care of. Brings elevation into play and some decent distances on each hole. Definately worth a play if you like large, scattered park trees as your primary obstacle.
Cons: Too many people. I lived in Cloud for 3 years and if you wanted to play after 4pm you would have to typically deal with a fair amount of people on the course since it is right off SCSU campus. Im not the type of player that likes to have to sit and wait at each box for the group or groups ahead of me. Also, plan to come out here and deal with groups of people bringing first timers/Still learning. Im all for everyone getting involved in the sport, just dont have the patience for a course packed with beginners and people who in general are out manned by the course. im more than happy this course is a great disc golfer breeder and tend to leave it as that. I stay away from Riverside strictly for these reasons as well as no water.
Other Thoughts: In general this is what i always pictured as a standard city park course. Large trees, benches, kids playground and grass that is kept up on. Its a great course to play but i would recommend playing it in the morning when you have a chance at being 1 of the few people on the course unless you like a party of people playing around you. Thats not really my style which is why i rated it a 3. Decent course, just nothing spectacular that you couldnt get somewhere else. There really isnt anything about this course that will take your breathe away, leaving it somewhat monotonous to me. If in the area give it a shot, but for no reason would i travel anything beyond a half hour to play it. Millstream is just down the road about 15 minutes as well as Sportsman Hill and Hidden Lake. All offer considerably more than Riverside in my opinion. If you like to pull around a cooler of beer and have a party on the course with random others, this course will definately cater to your taste on the right days.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun course

5+    9/4/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 54  Reviewed: 24
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of trees make for different possible lines to shape. The elevation makes for a good round. Cement teepads. Good distance holes, not too short not too long holes. Different basket placement keeps it interesting. The river looks awesome!
Cons: Sometimes hard to figure out what hole is next. Sometimes we found the teepad but threw at the wrong basket. Also could lose discs over the small brick backing fence next to the river, as I drilled the fence off a drive.
Other Thoughts: This and calvary make a great set of close courses together. Worth a days trip up to st cloud

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Course w/ a Variety of Shots

5+    5/10/2012   12/20/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Riverside is a great course that offers a variety of holes and opportunities to throw a multitude of shots and is in an awesome location along the Mississippi. There are plenty of short and long holes and a few holes with some nice elevation change. Pretty much every hole has some large trees to contend with, which offers plenty of opportunities to try different throwing lanes and different shots from hyzers to anhyzers. It's a great course to work on your accuracy and shaping of your shots. If you can avoid the large trees, there are plenty of birdie opportunities to be had. The tee pads, signs, and fairways are also kept in good condition.
Cons: The course is usually always busy, which is expected with a nice course and the fact that it's located near campus.
Other Thoughts: It's the best course to play in the area. This course would be awesome if it was pay to play and could possibly help with cutting down on some of the foot traffic.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very nce

1    10/23/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Great variety of uphill, downhill shots.
•Beautiful setting, on the banks of the Mississippi in a stand of mature oak and pine.
•Great tee signs, with all possible pin settings mapped out with par and footage info.
•Nice location near SCSU.
•Few worries about hitting cars or pedestrians. This is pretty much disc golf country.
•Hole variety is decent, given the changes in elevation, woods, and distance.
•Like the concrete tee boxes
•It was nice to play with large trees in play, bit not the underbrush.
Cons: •Could also be a pro, but the pars seem extremely generous. I'm as rubber-armed and amateur as can be, and I shot 3 under with many horrid drives.
•¨Constructon on the field at this moment.
•Tee 4 seemed to be missing.
•Map is essential to finding your way around.
Other Thoughts: I had the opportunity to play this course after a long, dull conference in St. Cloud. Needless to say, the drive home was a snap after a round here. It is a nice round of golf with the opportunity to shape some shots and get a decent workout in between. I played on a warm, foggy day, which made spotting some of the pins difficult. Still, the placement on this day was good, if not devilish in certain holes, like #18, lodged in the middle of a stand of mature pine.

Would happily play here again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Riverside

1    8/17/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: WOTI
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome tee boxes.
Great variation of up and down hills.
Multiple basket locations.
O.B. on a few holes.
They had the 30' circles around every basket.
Free to play.
Cons: Not always easy to tell where to head after every hole for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was an awesome course. Had a lot of fun and it was well worth the hour drive to play it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/22/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a city park that has a lot of other activities present. There are horseshoes, tennis courts, a playground, and it seems pretty popular with pedestrians. For the most part, the disc golf seems pretty well separated, maybe a little waiting for people to pass by.
- Very large majority of the course is set within tall, mature trees that are scattered from start to finish here. These force good line shaping, and there are enough to make things very tough in some places. #15 is a longer hole with a large clump of trees in the middle, that continues through a grove of trees, and ends on a hyzer on a slope. #14's long basket is amongst a very thick collection of trees, #4 is a low ceiling shot under low branches, and #16 has some cool gaps.
- Most holes have a variety of lines to the basket, definitely a good number of hyzers, but there are many places to get creative as well. #8 has a mando for safety reasons that forces an anny or straight shot, #17 is RHFH hyzer friendly, and #18 is a tough hyzer line.
- Elevation changes are a constant feature here, mostly due to half the course being on top of a hill, and the other half at the bottom of the hill. #2 thru #4 play down, up, and down the hill, #8 is an elevated shot, #9 is back up the hill, and #10 is a very good downhill bomber shot. #13 is a very steep downhill hyzer with rough behind, and #14 is back up with a lot of trees. Some sloping greens as well.
- Nice teepads and baskets, very cool metal tee signs. Navigation a little tricky, I would recommend the map to avoid wandering the first time through. Practice basket at start of course by parking lot.
Cons: - Course is pretty one dimensional; almost every hole is set within the same types of trees, with the same kind of line shaping required. #4 and #17 have some gnarlier foliage, but that's about it. Elevation changes are the saving grace.
- Some of the holes are pretty wide open, with one gap to hit. #4, #5, #10, and #13 do require some shot shaping, but isn't terribly difficult.
- Only real hazards here are manmade, like the abandoned concrete parking lot on #10 and #11, a nasty fence to the left of #4, and another fence behind #6.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a fun course that lets you pick and choose your lines through the numerous trees. Elevation changes allow for uphill, downhill, and crosshill shots to keep things interesting. A few holes are pretty challenging, but it's definitely suited for beginners or intermediate players. Expert players will fly through.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely Popular And I See The Appeal!

1    7/20/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riverside Park is just a wonderful piece of land on which to have a disc golf course. The park features great terrain of undulating hills, just the right amount of scattered mature trees and very little in the way rough or hazards. Along with it's close vicinity to the local college, the welcoming and most forgiving attributes of this course are what makes it so appealing to so many. This popularity, also appears to be, probably it's biggest con. That is large groups of college students.
The baskets were fine and I understand they change the positions on a fairly regular basis. Concrete teepads were more than adequate. I love the metal tee signs. I think these small (6" x6") metal engraved signs, mounted on slanted, wooden posts just a few inches off the ground, are the best way to the go, sign wise. They're almost indestrucible and give you more then enough information.
# 10 gets a mention from everyone as being the signature hole here. It's 428' from the Long position and on the day I played the basket was slightly tucked away in the upper right position adding the challenge forcing you to put a little anhyser touch at the end of your throw. But the course is filled with enjoyable little downhill tosses like # 8. It's a simple little 200' ACE run through the trees.
The openness here through the trees makes this the perfect course for groups of college students. It plays long enough to challenge them but easy enough and wide open enough so as not to frustrate anyone. Hence, here comes the large groups.
On the few relatively flat holes here, a good roller is extremely useful tool.
Cons: Personally, I found little to complain about at Riverside. I want to wrap it and take it back to Washington with me. But upon further reflection, bases on it's close proximity to the college and it's beginner/rec friendliness, I could see it being so popular and so filled with the college crowd that, that could be construed by some as a Con.

Also players with skill levels above intermediate may find the challenge not there after playing it a few times.
Other Thoughts: It's such a perfect park, terrain wise, for a course. I guess, in some peoples eyes, it might be better if it were more isolated to help thin the crowds.
For a total Rec player such as myself, this course is a 5. It really pains me to give it the rating it deserves and not the rating that my heart tells me to.
It's everything I want in a course. It's a lovely walk in the park. The views of the mighty Mississippi are pretty special.

For me it's just the right blend of:

beautiful park + workout + challenge =

Enjoyment.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/15/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: Scronz17
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: this is a great place to just let it out have fun and chill with people, they move the pin offten.
Cons: there are some bugs avoide going late. and some holes have a smell to them haha
Other Thoughts: Great place I play here 6-7 times a week!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/1/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 80  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Multiple Pin positions
- Great tee boxes
- Wonderful mix of elevation changes, long and short holes.
- Very good upkeep
Cons: - Needs garbages
- Can get a bad wafting smell near 4, 5, 6
- Can get extremely crowded, leading to slow play

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.