St. Cloud, MN 
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Basket straight ahead through trees, avoid road to left



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/22/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a city park that has a lot of other activities present. There are horseshoes, tennis courts, a playground, and it seems pretty popular with pedestrians. For the most part, the disc golf seems pretty well separated, maybe a little waiting for people to pass by.
- Very large majority of the course is set within tall, mature trees that are scattered from start to finish here. These force good line shaping, and there are enough to make things very tough in some places. #15 is a longer hole with a large clump of trees in the middle, that continues through a grove of trees, and ends on a hyzer on a slope. #14's long basket is amongst a very thick collection of trees, #4 is a low ceiling shot under low branches, and #16 has some cool gaps.
- Most holes have a variety of lines to the basket, definitely a good number of hyzers, but there are many places to get creative as well. #8 has a mando for safety reasons that forces an anny or straight shot, #17 is RHFH hyzer friendly, and #18 is a tough hyzer line.
- Elevation changes are a constant feature here, mostly due to half the course being on top of a hill, and the other half at the bottom of the hill. #2 thru #4 play down, up, and down the hill, #8 is an elevated shot, #9 is back up the hill, and #10 is a very good downhill bomber shot. #13 is a very steep downhill hyzer with rough behind, and #14 is back up with a lot of trees. Some sloping greens as well.
- Nice teepads and baskets, very cool metal tee signs. Navigation a little tricky, I would recommend the map to avoid wandering the first time through. Practice basket at start of course by parking lot.
Cons: - Course is pretty one dimensional; almost every hole is set within the same types of trees, with the same kind of line shaping required. #4 and #17 have some gnarlier foliage, but that's about it. Elevation changes are the saving grace.
- Some of the holes are pretty wide open, with one gap to hit. #4, #5, #10, and #13 do require some shot shaping, but isn't terribly difficult.
- Only real hazards here are manmade, like the abandoned concrete parking lot on #10 and #11, a nasty fence to the left of #4, and another fence behind #6.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a fun course that lets you pick and choose your lines through the numerous trees. Elevation changes allow for uphill, downhill, and crosshill shots to keep things interesting. A few holes are pretty challenging, but it's definitely suited for beginners or intermediate players. Expert players will fly through.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely Popular And I See The Appeal!

1    7/20/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riverside Park is just a wonderful piece of land on which to have a disc golf course. The park features great terrain of undulating hills, just the right amount of scattered mature trees and very little in the way rough or hazards. Along with it's close vicinity to the local college, the welcoming and most forgiving attributes of this course are what makes it so appealing to so many. This popularity, also appears to be, probably it's biggest con. That is large groups of college students.
The baskets were fine and I understand they change the positions on a fairly regular basis. Concrete teepads were more than adequate. I love the metal tee signs. I think these small (6" x6") metal engraved signs, mounted on slanted, wooden posts just a few inches off the ground, are the best way to the go, sign wise. They're almost indestrucible and give you more then enough information.
# 10 gets a mention from everyone as being the signature hole here. It's 428' from the Long position and on the day I played the basket was slightly tucked away in the upper right position adding the challenge forcing you to put a little anhyser touch at the end of your throw. But the course is filled with enjoyable little downhill tosses like # 8. It's a simple little 200' ACE run through the trees.
The openness here through the trees makes this the perfect course for groups of college students. It plays long enough to challenge them but easy enough and wide open enough so as not to frustrate anyone. Hence, here comes the large groups.
On the few relatively flat holes here, a good roller is extremely useful tool.
Cons: Personally, I found little to complain about at Riverside. I want to wrap it and take it back to Washington with me. But upon further reflection, bases on it's close proximity to the college and it's beginner/rec friendliness, I could see it being so popular and so filled with the college crowd that, that could be construed by some as a Con.

Also players with skill levels above intermediate may find the challenge not there after playing it a few times.
Other Thoughts: It's such a perfect park, terrain wise, for a course. I guess, in some peoples eyes, it might be better if it were more isolated to help thin the crowds.
For a total Rec player such as myself, this course is a 5. It really pains me to give it the rating it deserves and not the rating that my heart tells me to.
It's everything I want in a course. It's a lovely walk in the park. The views of the mighty Mississippi are pretty special.

For me it's just the right blend of:

beautiful park + workout + challenge =

Enjoyment.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/15/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: Scronz17
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: this is a great place to just let it out have fun and chill with people, they move the pin offten.
Cons: there are some bugs avoide going late. and some holes have a smell to them haha
Other Thoughts: Great place I play here 6-7 times a week!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/1/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 110  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Multiple Pin positions
- Great tee boxes
- Wonderful mix of elevation changes, long and short holes.
- Very good upkeep
Cons: - Needs garbages
- Can get a bad wafting smell near 4, 5, 6
- Can get extremely crowded, leading to slow play

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best St. Cloud Area course

5+    9/1/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: westondj
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Both long and short holes
-Challenging while staying fun
-Great views along the Mississippi
-Not many places to lose a disc
-League plays here
-2 practice baskets, great when busy
-Great Location
-Baskets change positions lots
Cons: -Gets busy at times and have to watch out for people.
-Lots of beginners play in very large groups
-Lots of trees
Other Thoughts: Awesome course to play. If you are in the St Cloud area check it out. Sometimes there are loads of college kids so go during the times of school and you will have plenty of time to throw extras. Trees make course very tough but worth it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent park...

1    8/3/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: pallen03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Long course, good workout
-Cement tee boxes, clean engraved signs, multiple tee locations.
-No real hazards except hole 3 near the woods.
-Hole 10 is awesome
-Up and down hill holes add variety
-Not a whole lot of frustrating trees
-Navigation is easy, you flow right to the next tee
Cons: -There was a couple noobs when I went, a lot of bad errant throws out of them.
- Nothing out of the ordinary or amazing except hole 10
-If you throw your disc over the fence and into the woods on hole 3, there is an entrance by the hole 3 basket, no need to jump it and cut our arms like we did (we learned this after the fact)
-Noobs abound
Other Thoughts: I think that this is a very nice course conveniently located close to SCSU. It was easy to get around and play and it seemed to offer a different type of challenge at each hole. Slightly challenging par-wise but easy to get under par if you have experience. The scenery is nice as you go along, it is definitely a nice "stroll in the park". I would highly recommend to anyone in the area. This park and Calvary make a trip to STC worth it if you play both of them when you go.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Johnson
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice scenery, good elevation changes, 2 putting baskets, well maintained, good mix of long to midrange holes.10 is killer going down a huge hill. Cement tee pads are in good condish, baskets are too. Good view of river.
Cons: Busy, lot of walking, gotta watch out for discs flying at you, it gets a little bunched up. Gotta watch out for two holes, easy to lose discs. Can get confusing, they change basket location almost weekly.
Other Thoughts: Great overall, a true test of your power and technical ability.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Typical Course

5+    5/26/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Mopbrothers
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course for experienced players and a true test. There is a drinking fountain and bathroom building which is nice. The course flows fairly well too.
Cons: Some of the holes (particularly #4 with the razor sharp fence) have some pretty bullshit ways to lose your disc and then spend a lot of time trying to recover it. It's not terrible, but it could be a little less annoying. Another con you walk up and down hills constantly and it can get irritating after a while.
Other Thoughts: It's a bit of a drive for most disc golfers, but overall the course is pretty good. It's not the most memorable course, but it offers a challenge for players of all levels.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: ejsandstrom
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes and differing layouts. Multiple pin placements. Great parking and easy to find. Baskets are well maintained. There are a lot of throws that need to be used. You have to plan shots with some being raw power and others strategy. 10 is a fun hole as its the most wide open and down hill for the most part. Signage is great.
Cons: BUSY. We drove there once only to see a parking lot full of cars and 4 groups waiting. I have heard that often times large groups (8+) will play as well and slow things down. We got there at 8AM on a Sunday and there were still a few people playing. A few of the holes cross or are very near other tees and pins. Several of the holes are blind and with multiple pin placements, it can be impossible to see where to throw. You almost have to throw and walk closer to see where a second or third shot needs to go. 15 was a nightmare to find. We actually threw at 17 because it was the only basket in sight. Some of the Tee pads (while concrete) are various sizes (2 is set into a hill) and a few are not level and could be swept.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course for beginners and advanced players. There is one hole possibly 3. That is a par 3 and rather long with lots of trees, but other shorter holes with just as many or less trees are Par 4s. Not a big deal but interesting. There is another hole that follows a ridge and a wrong shot could have you in the river or walking down a very steep hill and still loose the disc.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ahhh the memories

5+    5/4/2002   4/5/2010
Review By: vikes_rule84
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Favorite holes: 5, 6, 10, 13
-Nice elevation changes throughout the course.
-This course has a lot of trees but they are spaced well so it allows for a lot of options in shot selection.
-Great course for both beginners and more advanced players.
-Upkeep is good
Cons: -Severely disappointed when I visited St Cloud on Memorial Day weekend a couple years ago and the baskets weren't out yet!
-Doesn't pose a great challenge
-Can get busy, slows play down
Other Thoughts: This was the course I started playing Disc Golf on so it will always hold a special place and a lot of special memories. Can't wait for the next opportunity to throw the discs around on this course again!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.