St. Cloud, MN
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Best St. Cloud Area course

5+    9/1/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: westondj
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Both long and short holes
-Challenging while staying fun
-Great views along the Mississippi
-Not many places to lose a disc
-League plays here
-2 practice baskets, great when busy
-Great Location
-Baskets change positions lots
Cons: -Gets busy at times and have to watch out for people.
-Lots of beginners play in very large groups
-Lots of trees
Other Thoughts: Awesome course to play. If you are in the St Cloud area check it out. Sometimes there are loads of college kids so go during the times of school and you will have plenty of time to throw extras. Trees make course very tough but worth it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent park...

1    8/3/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: pallen03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Long course, good workout
-Cement tee boxes, clean engraved signs, multiple tee locations.
-No real hazards except hole 3 near the woods.
-Hole 10 is awesome
-Up and down hill holes add variety
-Not a whole lot of frustrating trees
-Navigation is easy, you flow right to the next tee
Cons: -There was a couple noobs when I went, a lot of bad errant throws out of them.
- Nothing out of the ordinary or amazing except hole 10
-If you throw your disc over the fence and into the woods on hole 3, there is an entrance by the hole 3 basket, no need to jump it and cut our arms like we did (we learned this after the fact)
-Noobs abound
Other Thoughts: I think that this is a very nice course conveniently located close to SCSU. It was easy to get around and play and it seemed to offer a different type of challenge at each hole. Slightly challenging par-wise but easy to get under par if you have experience. The scenery is nice as you go along, it is definitely a nice "stroll in the park". I would highly recommend to anyone in the area. This park and Calvary make a trip to STC worth it if you play both of them when you go.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Johnson
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice scenery, good elevation changes, 2 putting baskets, well maintained, good mix of long to midrange holes.10 is killer going down a huge hill. Cement tee pads are in good condish, baskets are too. Good view of river.
Cons: Busy, lot of walking, gotta watch out for discs flying at you, it gets a little bunched up. Gotta watch out for two holes, easy to lose discs. Can get confusing, they change basket location almost weekly.
Other Thoughts: Great overall, a true test of your power and technical ability.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Typical Course

5+    5/26/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Mopbrothers
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course for experienced players and a true test. There is a drinking fountain and bathroom building which is nice. The course flows fairly well too.
Cons: Some of the holes (particularly #4 with the razor sharp fence) have some pretty bullshit ways to lose your disc and then spend a lot of time trying to recover it. It's not terrible, but it could be a little less annoying. Another con you walk up and down hills constantly and it can get irritating after a while.
Other Thoughts: It's a bit of a drive for most disc golfers, but overall the course is pretty good. It's not the most memorable course, but it offers a challenge for players of all levels.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: ejsandstrom
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes and differing layouts. Multiple pin placements. Great parking and easy to find. Baskets are well maintained. There are a lot of throws that need to be used. You have to plan shots with some being raw power and others strategy. 10 is a fun hole as its the most wide open and down hill for the most part. Signage is great.
Cons: BUSY. We drove there once only to see a parking lot full of cars and 4 groups waiting. I have heard that often times large groups (8+) will play as well and slow things down. We got there at 8AM on a Sunday and there were still a few people playing. A few of the holes cross or are very near other tees and pins. Several of the holes are blind and with multiple pin placements, it can be impossible to see where to throw. You almost have to throw and walk closer to see where a second or third shot needs to go. 15 was a nightmare to find. We actually threw at 17 because it was the only basket in sight. Some of the Tee pads (while concrete) are various sizes (2 is set into a hill) and a few are not level and could be swept.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course for beginners and advanced players. There is one hole possibly 3. That is a par 3 and rather long with lots of trees, but other shorter holes with just as many or less trees are Par 4s. Not a big deal but interesting. There is another hole that follows a ridge and a wrong shot could have you in the river or walking down a very steep hill and still loose the disc.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ahhh the memories

5+    5/4/2002   4/5/2010
Review By: vikes_rule84
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Favorite holes: 5, 6, 10, 13
-Nice elevation changes throughout the course.
-This course has a lot of trees but they are spaced well so it allows for a lot of options in shot selection.
-Great course for both beginners and more advanced players.
-Upkeep is good
Cons: -Severely disappointed when I visited St Cloud on Memorial Day weekend a couple years ago and the baskets weren't out yet!
-Doesn't pose a great challenge
-Can get busy, slows play down
Other Thoughts: This was the course I started playing Disc Golf on so it will always hold a special place and a lot of special memories. Can't wait for the next opportunity to throw the discs around on this course again!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/7/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the first things that struck me about this course is the variety of shots needed. No two holes look anywhere near the same. There are large amounts of elevation change on a few holes and small amounts on most.
There are at least a couple different pin placements for each hole here, so make sure you find out where it is before you throw or you could be adding a few strokes.
The signs are somewhat informative, they have distances and pin locations but they're a foot off the ground.
Nice ammenities, picnic area nearby, restrooms.
There's a good amount of trees that force you to choose your lines carefully. The amount of trees plus the elevation change make for very interesting shots.
Very beautiful park.
Cons: It is a little complicated to navigate around the course if it is your first time playing. This includes trying to find where the next tee is as well as where the hole you're trying to throw at is.
Very crowded if it's a nice day. Good luck finishing in less than an hour and a half if it's crowded. Along with having a lot of people use the park, there are a lot of really bad players that play, which increase your chance of getting hit by errant throws.
Other Thoughts: There is some really nice natural beauty on a few holes. Behind the 8th tee I think is a spectacular view of the Mississippi.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun but dangerous

1    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 40.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many fun shots under a canopy of mature oak trees. Elavation changes add alot of flavor. Great view of the Ole Miss.
#10 is a great signature hole. Very fun course and easy walk. Good beginner course as there is no losing discs and plenty of reachable holes.
Cons: Tee pads are way to small and slippery with gravel. Most of the holes are very dangerous and FORE is rampent out there. Crowded especially when school is in session.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course, wear a hard hat.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Along the Great River

1    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: revmatty
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This park is almost similar to Calvary, with the elevation changes, just not as wooded.
-Cement tees that are pretty well maintained.
-Baskets are is pretty good shape for the frequent use this course gets.
-Signs for every tee and holes. (They appear to be on stainless steel and are lazer engraved)
-Practice / Putt Basket
-Multiple pin placements (up to 3 on most holes)
-Hole 10 similar to hole 5 at Calvary (nice downhill slope, so even little arms get distance), but you tee into a valey, and have to go up a small steep incline to the basket.
-A few holes could be a challenge for lefties, as they play along a fence that leads to the Mississippi below it.
-Great work out climbing up and down the hill.
-Variety of shots can come into play here, under trees, around them, short (one hole plays over a service road thats OB), long.
Cons: -Pretty crowded, many people yelling fore, as some baskets are grouped close to eachother and a few errant throws or people wandering into your fairway to get their discs.
-Could have some confusion on the signs and pin placement, especially on a few blind shots.
-Parking can be a hassle, especially on busy weekends.
-Noticed lots of trash at the tees, did pick some of it up, but only had a small Wal-Mart bag that filled up after about 4 holes.
Other Thoughts: -Close to a garden and conservetory.
-Plus SCSU is on the other side of the river from the park, so lots of college kids.
- #10 wont forget it, as I tee'd off the disc drifted left, down the hill and bounced off the tree's and back into play resting on the upslope to the basket. And a great view from up there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It just feels right

1    8/15/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: Moffwicket
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very beautiful park. Hundreds of mature trees scattered around the entire park give the place a very comfortable and cozy feeling.
-Signs at every teebox.
-Most holes have 2 or 3 pin placements.
-Cement teeboxes.
-Good use of elevation and especially trees to make some difficult obsticals. Some holes have baskets near cliffs, forcing you to throw short or wide for fear of losing a disc.
-Well maintained park, very little litter. Even just from my one visit there, it seems like the locals have a little more pride, a little bit more invested in their course than most.
-Wide variety of holes. Up, down, left, right, long, short, guarded by trees, etc.
Cons: -The layout is a little bit goofy. At one point we weren't sure which basket we were shooting at, because there were 3 within 120 ft or so of each other. Also annoyed me how one hole (13 I think) you have to walk up a hill just to throw right down again.
-Directions to the next tee box would be nice, but for the most part you can figure it out. The hole I just mentioned was an exception.
-Some teeboxes are shorter than usual.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really love this park. I feel right at home playing here. Any complaints I had are superficial. Bottom line is I had a lot of fun playing here, even though it was a miserable drizzly day. If I lived in St. Cloud I would play here several times a week.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.