Charlotte, NC 
Hornets Nest Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 324ft.   5 / 710ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach (web layout)



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Hornets Best

5+    9/9/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: 1978
Played: 186  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2014
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This review is not for the Web layout.
Hornet's Nest Park is litterally one of the best all around courses I have played. It has tight wooded holes, open bombs, a long pro level layout, amenities, and more. The course starts at the back of the park. 7 open (for Charlotte Standards) holes follow. A variety of shots and disc spins are needed on the first 7 holes. Hole 1 is a choice though a tight gap off the tree, right or left to a basket on some interesting dirt mounds, 2 is rip city over a grass field to a perfectly framed basket. 3-4 are great throws with OB potential with a water carry and a ball field in play. 5 is a great little lefty shot to the side of a dam with an ob road left and pond long. 6-7 are great risky long throws. Then you enter into the woods. Wow. Holes 8-18 offer just about every type of wooded shot you can dream up. Left, right, doglegs, short holes to raised baskets, long narrow tunnel shots to great 28 chain discatchers. The "Gauntlet" what a great hole, to see videos of the pro's play it like it is 80' wide, then step up to that teepad...priceless.
Direction is AWESOME, there are white signs with red "Next" and an arrow all over the place to show you to the next hole.
Holes 1 & 10 are perfectly placed next to each other creating 2 9 hole loops. In the spring and fall you can play the back 9 first, then play the open holes in the failing light, a really nice feature to the layout.
There are bathrooms at holes 1, 3, 5, 10
Tee signs are getting old but temporary signs from recent tournaments are in place on most holes.
Benches at most of the holes.
Course was not trashy and there were a few cans located around the course.
Of the 177 course I have played in 37 states, Hornets Nest is one of the few I would take with me if I moved.
Cons: There are a few cons I'd like to mention.
Because the course is maturing, there are some 2-3" drop offs around pads.
#1-#2 and #9-#10 are longer walks. Thankfully they are well marked.
Much of the front 9 plays around OB that puts you in contact with other park users. Luckly speed bumps really slow down traffic.
Park users can park on hole 7 from time to time.
Every once in a while a gazebo is rented out and plays LOUD music you may not be into around holes 2-5 Rap, Metal, country.
Sometimes hole 2 is occupied by soccer or football pick up players.
Hole 12 is a 4.5 not a par 5, and a few areas are starting to get old looking, bridge to 13, some benches, and the raised location on #17.
The course is relatively flat, so elevation is created by raised baskets. 4 of them. some might find this annoying. The biggest problem is that #9 is too high for shorter people to get their disc out.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Charlotte visit this course and see for yourself. Print a course map, they are available here. Even though they are marked, the 2 mentioned longer walks could be confusing. Be careful on the weekends in the summer. Hornets Nest is a popular park.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Charlotte's Web

1    6/6/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: St. Benedisc
Played: 32  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Almost everything you could want in a course to seriously challenge you. A fair balance of semi-open holes as well as wooded and a few tightly wooded holes. Long, very long and a few short holes make up this diverse layout.
Cons: The map layout for the Web suggested that #16's basket was not the Nest layout's #17 basket. We ended up playing it as though it were. Is it missing? Don't know, maybe not.
Other Thoughts: Thoroughly enjoyed my first ever time playing this layout. Don't let it scare you, you'll love the challenge--just not your score...unless, of course, you are Michael Johannsen, et al.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sorry, My review isn't as long as the pole on hole 9

1    10/22/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hornets Nest resideds on a multi-use park with a BMX Race Course, Play Grounds, Tennis Courts, basketball Courts amongst other things.

Great tee pads and tee signs.

Fun Factor at this place is so high, Hole 9 is one of the best examples of this,

verity, has open, to wooded, longer and shorter holes, really has everything you need,

Can start from the back of front nine as they both lead back to the same parking lot, which makes it nice if you only have time to play 9 you can pick which ones you want.

Two Layouts.

Good amount of trash cans, but could use a few more.
Cons: From what I had heard when we played (it had just rained for an hour before we got there so the park was empty) it can be super busy on the open holes 1-7.

I played the normal format but have heard and saw some of the web baskets are a bit older.

Other Thoughts: When it comes to cons here it's more of a nit picking. For what the course is it's almost perfect.

Super Fun, and great over all experience.

We came here because of a time crunch and couldn't play another course, but I am extremely happy I ended up playing this course, I would love to have this be my home course.
_____________________________________
If you do not like my review, please give me a PM on what I can improve. Thanks!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: New Basket on hole 18! I played tuesday for my 2nd time and i loved it. probably because i drive alot futher im a better putter and more accurate but it is now one of my favorite courses. mixture of through the tree's in the woods to out with very few tree's throwing decent drive fairway drives and some mid-ranges. Both were in good condition i loved it and i will be going back more often.
Cons: Just a little back up but not much at all. Maybe add a few more trashcans on the teepad's there were many but you cant go wrong with trashcans.
Other Thoughts: All around i thought it was a great course in good conditions it was dry. which is really good! the only thing i had a problem was with the leave's but when we were teeing off our second round people blew the leaves off the holes so my only problem was solved! And park rangers were nice and friendly and drove around to look around the park so it is kept on watch and very fun. If your in the charlotte area go to hornets nest it will be worth it!

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Nest = 1 of the Best

2-4    3/19/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - I can't say enough about how much I love this course. It combines a ton of elements that make disc golf fun and challenging.

First of all there are two different layouts stacked in to one course with some shared holes. The original layout is more suited for Blue level players but has elements that accomodate even beginners. The web layout will challenge the best of the best and is more suited for experienced players.

Both layouts combine short and long technical holes that weave in and out of the woods. The front 9 for both is more of park style golf while the back 9 is mostly in the woods.

The web layout trades in some of the more manageable holes from the original for some extremely technical par 4's and 5's.

The mixture of hole types here is great. There's some short holes with tricky greens and long par 3's that require you to hit tight gaps.

The par 4/5's here come in different shapes and sizes. Some require you to be very precise with a placement shot off the tee to set you up at a turn while some dare you to rip a driver down a tight corridor while working the disc or playing it smart biting off a bit less.

All of this combines for a course that has huge risk/reward. There's so many holes where your mental game is challenged to a high degree. You'll need the ability to hit tons of shots and different lines to score well here.

There's not a lot of elevation change here but it's used well on the greens. There's also some places where OB comes in to play that adds more dimensions to the holes.

The flow of the course can be a bit tricky at times but for the most part it flows well and mixes up the shorter/longer holes.

As tough as the harder holes can be I don't think there's one hole on the course that can be considered unfair or where luck plays more of role than skill.

Equipment - The original layout baskets are in really good shape, the web layout baskets are older but still seemed to catch decently. I like how the two baskets are different colors so it's easy to tell.

The pads here are getting a bit old but are large and get the job done. Signs on every hole with distance and a map of the hole. Directional signs throughout the course guiding you to each layout.

Benches and trashcans throughout the course as well. There's also other amenities at the park such as fields, bmx track, bathrooms...

Atmosphere - I've yet to play it when it was crowded so that's a plus. The wooded section is nice and secluded from the rest of the park. While the front part which flows throughout other parts of the park isn't as secluded it's landscaped very well and taken care of.
Cons: Layout - Not much to complain about here. On the original layout you will play what some may consider some filler holes on the front 9, there's a few that don't offer much of a challenge other than a risky green.

A few of the baskets that are either raised or perched on a hill have some erosion problems and it makes it a bit unfair because of the rollaway factor; I'd like to see something done about that.

Park roads do come in to play on a few holes which isn't really a problem due to the low traffic in that part of the park.

Equipment - Some of the web baskets weren't in which is kind of a letdown when you go to play that layout specifically, could confuse some as well that don't have a guide.

Some of the traschans were overflowing with trash.

Atmosphere - The course doesn't drain particularly well, some soggy areas. Some of the rough in places is very thick and full of briars.
Other Thoughts: Out of the courses I've played in Charlotte so far this is by far my favorite. It's just fun, it's hard not to enjoy your round here. On top of that it's one of the best designed courses I've yet to play. What more can you ask for?

IMO as well known as this course is it's still highly underrated. Go play this course if you haven't and if you have go play it again and again. It's one I want to play everytime I go to Charlotte.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Dont get content on the Front 9

5+    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 225  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice signs, teepads and benches.

I absolutly love the design and how it starts out in the open or semi open and seems to lul you to sleep and then BAM Tight and Technical with a raised basket!

The course always looks nice and is well beat in. Its usually not too crowded and things move smoothly as you play.

I love the risk reward of the raised baskets and the fast greens that the course has.
Cons: Wow this is a first for one of my reviews but I cannot think of any cons.
Other Thoughts: This Course is absolutly Amazing. It is my favorite course to play because it is very tough but fair and offers a great variety of shots from open to tight woods(and I mean Tight). Newer players will not find it to be as much of a beat down as renny and veterans will find it to be a fun challenge.

The Fun factor and atmospere here is just great!

This is a must get if you are visiting Charlotte!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Fairytale of a course

1    12/17/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 72  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hornets Nest and in particular the Charlotte's Web layout that we played is a nasty wooded, take it to you type of course. It demands consistent play and punishes errant tee shots.

Elevation, OB, woods, tight fairways: It has pretty much everything that will challenge you. This is why a lot of quality disc golfers live in the Charlotte area. They get to play these types of courses year round!

Like I mentioned earlier, The Charlotte's Web layout is quite different from the original Hornet's Nest.- The Web is longer and more difficult. There were longer tees on some holes, longer pin placements on some holes, and sometimes BOTH. The Web smacks you in the face with seemingly impossible fairways that force players out of their comfort zone. More experienced players will find this Par 70, 9000'+ layout a solid challenge. Less experienced players beware.

Amenities:
Good long concrete tees with a grippy surface.
Color coded baskets although a map would be helpful.
Park restrooms and scenery.
Cons: Charlotte's Web tee signs need to be updated. They are falling apart compared to their Hornet's Nest counterparts. Signs would help newer players and non locals navigate better.Although each hole for both the Nest and the Web have signs, it's not always immediately clear what's going on with the multiple baskets, tees, etc.
Other Thoughts: One amazing course that probably would punish me more often than not. BUT I can say I shot an 82 for the one and only time playing from the longs. I'll take that score.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Crazy Nest!

5+    12/1/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: lmwolfso
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course has a variety of open and closed holes. The length, while challenging, is one of the best features of the course. It also has decent signage, great baskets, and concrete pads. The Web alternative is significantly more difficult, featuring tighter, longer fairways.
Cons: The only cons are that it can get crowded on weekends and evenings. The maps are ok, but they need to be updated to reflect newer changes to the course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Queen City's Crown Jewel

5+    8/15/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: Toro71
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Design
-- I love this type of course, schizophrenic, with some tight technical woods and some more open bomber holes. You'll need about every disc for this course. Has all the elements of a Stan McDaniel challenge: thoughtful distance, clever use of OB, tight-line shot-making, tricky basket locations. You know you're playing one of his courses when you have more than one birdie putt that turns into a 5, or like you go OB twice on one hole (looking at you, 7!)

Maybe 5-9 signature holes here, take your pick, I feel like 7 is the one, but 12 works. 15 may be the most intimidating tee shot in NC. I 5 that thing like every time. The basket placement on 5 makes it one of the toughest par 3s in town.

The two layouts are great, with the Web having more of a location golf feel, more par 4s and more demanding lines to hit from hand to landing.

--Just a pretty course, especially at the right time of year. Though some of the holes are situated near other park-going activities (like active picnic/bar-b-q areas,) this is one of the most scenic layouts in town.

--A Charlotte standard, thousands of rounds have been played here, so the rough is reasonable, the course is beat-in, but nowhere near beat-up, if you take my meaning.

--Restrooms, parking, water right next to #1 and #10 (which are back-to-back.) Web 18's island green is right there, too, and is the ipso facto practice basket.
Cons: --On busy park days, like big weekends/holidays, there may be some interference from other park-goers on the last half of the front 9.

--It is deceptively easy to blow up on a round, and score high. I've always felt like the Nest layout can play much harder than it seems. Be prepared.

--As noted in other reviews, a few holes (like 6, especially) offers a player the best chance they'll have in Charlotte to hit a moving vehicle.

--Navigation can be a bear if you don't know the course, especially if you're giving the Web layout a go. Map's a must, or glom on with a local. Couple of long transitions, particularly between 1 and 2. You can, if you're there at the right time, take in a little BMX action on that walk, if you're so inclined.
Other Thoughts: Arguably Charlotte's best all around disc golfing, though I know that's a bold statement. I'd personallly give this one a 5 if there werent' a couple of occasions where other park-goers really screwed up rounds by walking out on a fairway and picking up a disc out of curiosity, like they couldn't figure out where it came from.

So many top players from this area have cut their teeth on this course. Pretty layout, not a bad hole, two layouts. I want to go out there right now! If you travel to the area, and really want to get your butt handed to you, Nevin is about 7 minutes away from Hornet's Nest, making for a great, if tiring, day of golf.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Get Stung!

1    3/31/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Hornets Nest has a (mostly) park-style front nine, while the back nine works its way through much tougher wooded areas. Elevation changes are fairly slight throughout, but all elevation was used to its full potential, especially with the artificially elevated baskets. Worn, established fairways with minimal schule throughout. Although a "park" vibe definitely exists in places, much of the back nine offers a more intimate and removed feel.
- The variety of shots here captured my attention. Tightly wooded, long bombers, a few ace runs, and a mixture of open and wooded keeps each hole fresh and exciting.
- The Web is the longer, more difficult layout. Some Web holes have longer tees, a second longer pin placement, a mix of both, or share the same tee and basket. The Web offers long, improbably shaped fairway designs that force players to shoot for defined landing zones in order to set up properly for the next shot. More experienced players will find this Par 70, 9000'+ layout a solid challenge.
- Above average amenities. Good long concrete tees, color-coded baskets (to distinguish The Web layout from the Nest's), restrooms, trashcans/recycling, and benches all located in a multi-purpose park.
Cons: - One or two spots might suffer from "crowded park" syndrome, although nothing stood out as a particular problem.
- Some scattered trash; again, this is being pretty nit-picky. The remains of some barb-wire fencing exists on #3.
- The main con to this course is the navigaton. Although each hole for both the Nest and the Web have signs, it's not always immediately clear what's going on with the multiple baskets, tees, etc. The Web's signs generally have less information than the Nest's.
Other Thoughts: - My rating takes into account both the Web and the Nest layouts.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.